With its blend of French and Spanish flavors and abundance of fresh regional produce, Basque cuisine has earned itself a reputation as one of Spain’s top gastronomic destinations over the last few decades. And there are few better places to sample ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tomas was amazing and he took us to a nice variety of restaurants to try pintxos and wine. We loved the wine so much that we purchased some today from a food market he showed us! Tomas also gave us history of this beautiful city. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maria was charming, warm, and lively! We learned a lot about the Basque culture and visited several neighborhoods that we would not have discovered on our own. A wonderful introduction to pintxo culture.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thomas was interesting, lively and a great host. He introduced us to local drinks and pintxos which were great. He recommended a lovely picnic area with fantastic views which we did today.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Taking this tour was the single best decision I've made on any vacation. Our guide Tomasz was priceless. He was full of historical information about the city and social background on the food culture not to mention he's hilarious. We went to three different bars and tried several pintxos and drinks throughout the night. Tomasz knows the bars very well and thus, ordered us several things off-menu that you just had to know to ask for. This was a great experience.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour with Tomasz.
He has a great spirit, we had many laughs.
Tomasz provided valuable information whilst also making it intetesting. Our Pintxos was great and so was the wine. This is s great tour when you first arrive, so you learn how and where to eat Pintxos.
Thanks to Tomasz

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a perfect blend of history on the city and wonderful food and drinks. Thomaz was an amazing tour guide! Highly recommend!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tomasz was full of fun information, made everyone comfortable. The pace was relaxed, the variety was nice, the food was fun. We returned to one if the bars the next night to eat dinner. Good choice!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tomas was wonderful, adding lots of history to delicious Pinxtos--and had a great sense of humor!
Fun evening!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Tomasz, was very personable and knew how to get everyone involved. He's married to a local and had lots of inside tidbits to give us about life in San Sebastian, as well as giving us a great pintxos and wine tour. We went to three different pintos bars and sampled, among other things, kobi beef sliders accompanied by txakoly a local young white sparkling wine pork cheeks sounds horrible but is delicious!! and brie coated in poppy seeds accompanied by a young red wine and spider crab mousse and tortilla española accompanied by a local cider wine,w which seems to me to be a cross between beer and wine. The best offerings were the kobi slider and txakoly at Fuego Negro. Delicious! It was a fun tour. Great guide, fun tour participants and good food and drink. We had a great time and highly recommend this tour and this guide!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic tour! Our tour guide, Tomacz, was very knowledgeable. It was a tour about more than pintxos. We learned about the history of San Sebastián, the history of gastronomie clubs and the love of food in this Basque area of Spain. He brought humor and passion to the tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Ellie our guide was fantastic! She showed us around local food markets explaining all sorts of intricate, exotic foods and information. Then went to a private members club to prepare and cook some authentic Pintxos, matched with local wines. A great day getting into the food culture of San Sebastian!

Doing what: San Sebastián Cooking Class: Pintxos and Basque Cuisine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great day. The staff at San Sebastian Food were lovely, and very helpful, which created a friendly atmosphere amongst the participants. The food was delicious and we left with lots of new ideas.

Doing what: San Sebastián Cooking Class: Pintxos and Basque Cuisine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had the most amazing tour with Tomasz on our recent trip to San Sebastian. 3+ hours full of history, delicious pintxos in a variety of styles from several different bars, local wines and cider, and lively conversation about San Sebastian's culture. We enjoyed everything we tried and were very impressed with the structure and content of the tour -- Tomasz was able to include SO much and still keep things exciting rather than overwhelming. We got several suggestions for other activities for the rest of our trip and just had the best time. This tour was the highlight of our time in San Sebastian and I can highly recommend it! Start your trip with this tour!!! Big thanks to Tomasz!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful experience, Eli was a blast to be around and she was very knowledgeable about the food and culture of the basque people. We love the food in San Sebastian.

Doing what: San Sebastián Cooking Class: Pintxos and Basque Cuisine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide, Lourdes, was WONDERFUL. She taught us a bit about San Sebastian as we walked to the market, then to the gastronomic society. She did a lovely job interpreting for our chef, though just through his gestures alone, he did a fine job communicating with us, as well.

The three of us had a fantastic time shopping for food, then making it, then finally sitting around the table with Lourdes laughing and enjoying the delicious meal we had all made together.

We would HIGHLY recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Sebastián Cooking Class: Pintxos and Basque Cuisine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic, delicious and very informative tour, Amaya was a wonderful guide and went into such detail.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. Ali was great and we had a local pintxo gastronomic chef taking the class. The class was very hands on and we got to cook/try local dishes. The tour of the local food market was good as well.

You can buy cookbooks from their store at the front of the hotel. Highly recommend .

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

GREAT EXPERIENCE - THE GUIDE (THOMAS) WAS GREAT, FUN, AND VERY INFORMATIVE. IN ADDITION TO THE FANTASTIC PINTXOS EXPERIENCE, HE INTRODUCED US TO THE BASQUE LOCAL SPORTS, CULTURE, AND HISTORY. HE ANSWERED ALL OF OUR QUESTIONS (LANGUAGE, ECONOMY, CULTURE, POLITICS, ETC...). HE HAS A GREAT PERSONALITY AND VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. TOTALLY WORTH IT IF YOU GET THE CHANCE. RAMI and ZAINA

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A perfect first evening for our Basque Country holiday. Amaia was a fabulous guide who included everybody and shared her knowledge with us in an interesting and entertaining way. One tip I would offer is to eat during the day...The food on this tour is wonderful, but there's not a great deal of it.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A really nice night where there were 5 of us plus Amaia our guide. She gave us some history of the old town, a lesson on the foods and kept it interesting the whole time. I'm sure her husband Tomas is a good man and we all know fron the reviews that he doesxa great job, , but Amaia, his wife did a fabulous job ensuring we had a social night as well ensuring we got food that we liked.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tomasz is an excellent guide; highly recommend this on your first night in SS (as we did), to get a sense of SS's history and your pintxos bearings. Tomasz really does a great job of going beyond just a food tour, and takes care to relate some history and color commentary along the way to fill out the three hours; he has planned it well. Our tour was private, as we were the only bookings that evening, but I met someone else the next night who also went on his tour, and had a group of 11 - so, the personalization we felt may certainly be subject to group size. There's another pintxo tour available - with more bar stops I think, but that sounds more hectic and rush; Tomasz's is a good pace and takes you out of Old Town.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tomas has an enthusiasm for San Sebastian's that is infectious. This is not only an introduction to pintxos hopping, but to San Sebastian's history and culture. I attended on the first night of my stay, which I highly recommend, as it helped set the stage for the rest of the trip. Our 3+ hour journey lead us through the Old Town and Gros. A unique, exciting and fun gastronomic adventure. I might add that everything we ate and drank was adventurous and delicious. Book with Tomas! Highly, highly recommend.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The program is terrific. The guide was very well informed and added a lot of colorful commentary. She was a perfect complement to the shops and the Market. Really enjoyed the on hands cooking. Great all around.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Karen B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic! Thomasz was an excellent guide and I loved the fact we left the old town and ventured into less touristy spots. Tomasz shared lots of information about the local area and about what we were eating and drinking. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message