Kyoto ATTRACTIONS See all

Tenryu-ji Temple

Ranked number one of Kyoto's five great temples, Tenryu-ji celebrates a history dating back to 1339 and stands in dedication and memory to an ancient emperor. Many of the temple buildings have been destroyed over the centuries, but the temple's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had the most amazing tour with Tomasz on our recent trip to San Sebastian. 3+ hours full of history, delicious pintxos in a variety of styles from several different bars, local wines and cider, and lively conversation about San Sebastian's culture. We enjoyed everything we tried and were very impressed with the structure and content of the tour -- Tomasz was able to include SO much and still keep things exciting rather than overwhelming. We got several suggestions for other activities for the rest of our trip and just had the best time. This tour was the highlight of our time in San Sebastian and I can highly recommend it! Start your trip with this tour!!! Big thanks to Tomasz!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful experience, Eli was a blast to be around and she was very knowledgeable about the food and culture of the basque people. We love the food in San Sebastian.

Doing what: San Sebastián Gastronomic Society Cooking Class: Pintxos and Basque Cuisine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide, Lourdes, was WONDERFUL. She taught us a bit about San Sebastian as we walked to the market, then to the gastronomic society. She did a lovely job interpreting for our chef, though just through his gestures alone, he did a fine job communicating with us, as well.

The three of us had a fantastic time shopping for food, then making it, then finally sitting around the table with Lourdes laughing and enjoying the delicious meal we had all made together.

We would HIGHLY recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Sebastián Gastronomic Society Cooking Class: Pintxos and Basque Cuisine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic, delicious and very informative tour, Amaya was a wonderful guide and went into such detail.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. Ali was great and we had a local pintxo gastronomic chef taking the class. The class was very hands on and we got to cook/try local dishes. The tour of the local food market was good as well.

You can buy cookbooks from their store at the front of the hotel. Highly recommend .

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

GREAT EXPERIENCE - THE GUIDE (THOMAS) WAS GREAT, FUN, AND VERY INFORMATIVE. IN ADDITION TO THE FANTASTIC PINTXOS EXPERIENCE, HE INTRODUCED US TO THE BASQUE LOCAL SPORTS, CULTURE, AND HISTORY. HE ANSWERED ALL OF OUR QUESTIONS (LANGUAGE, ECONOMY, CULTURE, POLITICS, ETC...). HE HAS A GREAT PERSONALITY AND VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. TOTALLY WORTH IT IF YOU GET THE CHANCE. RAMI and ZAINA

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A perfect first evening for our Basque Country holiday. Amaia was a fabulous guide who included everybody and shared her knowledge with us in an interesting and entertaining way. One tip I would offer is to eat during the day...The food on this tour is wonderful, but there's not a great deal of it.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A really nice night where there were 5 of us plus Amaia our guide. She gave us some history of the old town, a lesson on the foods and kept it interesting the whole time. I'm sure her husband Tomas is a good man and we all know fron the reviews that he doesxa great job, , but Amaia, his wife did a fabulous job ensuring we had a social night as well ensuring we got food that we liked.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tomasz is an excellent guide; highly recommend this on your first night in SS (as we did), to get a sense of SS's history and your pintxos bearings. Tomasz really does a great job of going beyond just a food tour, and takes care to relate some history and color commentary along the way to fill out the three hours; he has planned it well. Our tour was private, as we were the only bookings that evening, but I met someone else the next night who also went on his tour, and had a group of 11 - so, the personalization we felt may certainly be subject to group size. There's another pintxo tour available - with more bar stops I think, but that sounds more hectic and rush; Tomasz's is a good pace and takes you out of Old Town.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tomas has an enthusiasm for San Sebastian's that is infectious. This is not only an introduction to pintxos hopping, but to San Sebastian's history and culture. I attended on the first night of my stay, which I highly recommend, as it helped set the stage for the rest of the trip. Our 3+ hour journey lead us through the Old Town and Gros. A unique, exciting and fun gastronomic adventure. I might add that everything we ate and drank was adventurous and delicious. Book with Tomas! Highly, highly recommend.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The program is terrific. The guide was very well informed and added a lot of colorful commentary. She was a perfect complement to the shops and the Market. Really enjoyed the on hands cooking. Great all around.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Karen B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic! Thomasz was an excellent guide and I loved the fact we left the old town and ventured into less touristy spots. Tomasz shared lots of information about the local area and about what we were eating and drinking. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This may have been the highlight of our honeymoon. We picked Spain for our honeymoon because we LOVE food. It's probably our biggest expense when we're at home, and we were so excited to go to San Sebastian after hearing so much about the food culture there. Our tour guide was Tomas. He was AMAZING. He took us to 3 different Pinxchos spots in Gros and in the Old Town. Not only did he show us 3 amazing locations, but we got to try different wines and ciders, and Tomas gave us background information about the history of Pinxchos as well as the history of the Basque region. It really gave us a full perspective of the area. He also gave us recommendations for dinners for the rest of our trip and encouarged us to hike Mount Urgell and Monte Igueldo which were fantastic. I highly recommend this tour. Ask for Tomas though!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Alexandra was our guide. She was punctual, knowledgeable of San Seb and its history, and spoke good english. We had been to San Seb before, and I did think we would see places we had already visited, especially the old quarter, but she took us to 3 new bars, 1 near the cathedral and 2 in Gros. The Gros area was especially lively and worth getting to know.

She asked our food preferences and delivered some pintxos that we would not normally have tried but were tasty. We also tried the local wines, which are an acquired taste, plus the local cidre which I definately wouldn't have again.

It was my wife's 50th birthday on the day of the tour, and she organised a cake with candle and a loud rendition of 'happy birthday' - nice touch!

The tour is possibly a touch expensive, but Alexandra did tell us some very interesting bits about San Seb that I didn't see in any guide books that made it worthwhile.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Bottom Line: AWESOME. The other 2 people booked for our tour canceled so we really got a private tour! Our tour guide, Tomasz, was amazing. His enthusiasm was contagious. I could really feel the passion he had for SS - not only in the food, but the entire culture. I thought that this tour was just about the food, but Tomasz added so much more to it. The tour advertises 3 places, but we actually got to go to 4 – each with a pintxo and a drink. Apparently on Tue/Thu there is a special where for 2 Euros you can get a drink and a pintxo at a certain place. Our tour was on a Thu so we got to go, and was it packed! Anyway, in the beginning of the tour, Tomasz asked how adventurous we are w/food; this is basically how he gauges what to order. We said “Go for it!” and Tomasz did not disappoint. We got to taste mackerel, pig cheeks, tortillas, and this “TO DIE FOR” crab pintxo - each paired w/a drink: cava, red wine, beer, white wine. We got a taste of it all: traditional and modern pintxo bars - a good range for our experience. In addition he pointed out another pintxo bar that, unfortunately, closed early and could not be part of his tour. We ended up going there ourselves the next day and were beyond pleased. Actually, we enjoyed the places Tomasz took us to so much that we took our family to two of them on multiple occasions during our trip! Bonuses: Tomasz started the tour w/general historical info about SS. He continued to point out and share info specific to SS (such as the Sociedad Gastronomicas, traditions at Constitution Square, etc), other scenic places of interest, and quirky things that are not “normal” to America. My husband was completely overjoyed when Tomasz showed us this machine that is stocked with and dispenses fresh milk everyday! Lots of walking - but completely worth it! Do this tour @ the start of your vacation - you'll def visit the bars again!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message