Santiago ATTRACTIONS See all

Concha y Toro Winery

Chile is justly famed for its wine, and no Chilean vintage is better known than Concha y Toro. Founded just south of Santiago in 1883 by Don Melchor de Concha y Toro, a politician who was clearly a man of the people, this respected winery now has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rima9

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

I felt this excursion was overpriced for what we got. Basically we got transportation to the winery and back, and the winery tour was given by the employees of the winery. We were picked up on time, but still had to wait about 40 minutes before the winery tour actually started. We enjoyed the winery tour, but feel that we may have saved money just taking a taxi to the winery instead.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Antonio P

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Beautiful place, but little informations tecnical about wine production

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Half-Day Tour

Amilcar M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

We were picked up at 12:30 PM, as scheduled, by a van with a driver and a guide.
Instead of going directly to the winery, we were led to a restaurant in Pirque El Manso Toro. No other options were offered. Even as we had already eaten, we decided to try it out. Service was terrible, the ambient was inadequate, as it was open and hot, without air conditioning, and there were flies over the tables. Price was higher than the food quality deserved. It took us more than one hour, after what we were rushed into the winery.
The tour at Concha y Toro was only OK, as the grapes garden walk was short and superficial. The wine tasting was OK, but the same glass was used for both tastings. The Casillero del Diablo cellar was less than interesting, as the video effects were only basic. Even our 12 years old son wasn't impressed.
Concha y toro's site informs that people under 18 doesn't pay entrance fee, but the tour price was the same for our 12 years old son.
To summarize, the service provided was only a transfer service, without any significant benefit from the guide presence. We lost more than one hour of the 4 hours of the tour at the restaurant and the price paid was therefore inadequate for the services provided.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Half-Day Tour

Ann A

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

They were one hour late picking us up so we missed part of the tour, but overall it was ok

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Mandar J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Good trip. Worth doing to see outside of Santiago and visit to oldest winery was worth it. Not too many details provided by the guide. day trip to Valparaiso and Vina del Mar was good. Unique cities. Beach is beautiful.

Doing what: Santiago Super Saver: Concha y Toro plus Vina del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice tour. Not sure why there is a driver and a guide, some economy could be in place if the guide drove. Guide provided some geographic and political insight while enroute.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

David S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The first winery really made it, because it was like steeping back into history, but Concha Toro is so commercial, it was kind of a let down. Would be better if the tours were in reverse order.

Doing what: Full-Day Wineries Tour from Santiago

Nicholas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour, had a great day. The guide Claudio spoke English and was very professional and tried really hard to make sure the trip was great!

Doing what: Cousino Macul and Concha y Toro Wineries Day Trip from Santiago

Judy R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable not only about the winery, but local customs and history. It was very convenient being picked up at our hotel.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Philip T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The driver was very knowledgeable and friends Emily. Clean car and all you need. Would strongly recommend to check out these guys :-)

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Eddy O

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Once at Concha y Toro the tour was nice. Only 75 minutes long. About an hour driving in the van to and then another hour from the winery with no commentary. So I found it a long afternoon and a little expensive just for a 75 minute tour

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Christopher E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great driver. very knowledgeable. Wine tour pretty good, we went for the add-on tasting with cheese, which was well worth it.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

David C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Once we got to the winery it was great - we really enjoyed it - the history, the grape tasting and the wine tasting but it was only one hour out of an advertised trip of 4 hours which was disappointing. A very opinionated driver who frequently voiced his opinions on womens place in society housekeeping and breeding irritated my wife and I.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Stephen March M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great winery to experience and nice wines to try.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

RAMESH S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This turned out to be a Private Trip to Concha Y Toro Winery. While that was wonderful, we would have preferred a group tour. This is not a working Winery, however it was a nice tour.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

John G

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The 2 wineries were really good - but a little more wine would be good and perhaps one more winery instead of such a long lunch

Doing what: Cousino Macul and Concha y Toro Wineries Day Trip from Santiago

carlos m

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

service was great and on time, we stopped for lunch at a recommended typicall chilean restaurant.. la vaca echa.. this was great food and beautifull setup with great service.. A1

Tours at the winerys where ok.. the tours are run by the wineries which is ok.. only suggestion is to improve the wine tasting process..

Doing what: Cousino Macul and Concha y Toro Wineries Day Trip from Santiago

Nicole S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide, Cecilia, was great - very friendly, informative, and spoke excellent English. The pick-up at our hotel was very prompt and convenient. It was just myself and my husband on the tour. The tours at Cousino Macul and Concha Y Toro were informative, and the guides there also spoke excellent English (Concha Y Toro was my favorite of the two). Overall, it was a great tour, with the only downside being the price (approx. $180/person).

Doing what: Cousino Macul and Concha y Toro Wineries Day Trip from Santiago

Edwin F Puerto Rico

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Sylvianne Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Pick-up at hotel was at scheduled time of 2:30 but traffic was horrendous and we didn't arrive at the winery until 4:05. By this time there were no tours in English so we were forced to do a one hour winery tour in Spanish, a language we do not speak or understand. Our driver said that he mentioned to the transport company that the scheduled time of 2:30 was too late for this tour but the company declined to change the time. So my husband and I spent $159.98 for a tour that failed to take into account the horrible traffic in Santiago and was delivered in a language that was foreign to us. To say that this whole tour was unacceptable is an understatement.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Trevor H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good professional tours and well organised local lunch

Doing what: Cousino Macul and Concha y Toro Wineries Day Trip from Santiago

charmaine.matiaha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

High rating as everything was easy from booking our tour online to being picked up on time (actually a little earlier but not so much that we were rushing around), to being dropped off at the end of the day.
Our tour guide was lovely, friendly and well knowledgeable about the tour and locations, who also gave us a little gift pack that was helpful on the tour and a momentum to take home. Our driver was friendly as well and very good at driving the narrow roads. We thoroughly enjoyed our day and recommend this if you are in Santiago for a short time as we were only in Santiago for 3 days and this tour is a must.
Char and Corrie
New Zealand

Doing what: Valle Nevado and Cousino Macul Winery Day Trip from Santiago

Christine H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was fabulous. I had an issue beforehand as I found out only a few days before that the tour I booked was unavailable. I had booked a wine and cheese tasting tour in the AM in English, and was told that was only available in the afternoon (which I could not make). The local tour office rebooked me for a mid morning wine tasting only tour. It was a little disappointing, but I was refunded the difference in the cost and the wine alone was still great. My driver did not speak any English, but the tour at the winery was in English and was fabulous for someone who knew very little about vineyards and wine-making!

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

michelle w

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see the Andes if you don't have much time in Santiago. Views on the drive and from the ski resort are great. Our guide Tessa was great and told us lots about Santiago and South America. The winery in the afternoon was very picturesque and almost historic. An enjoyable day!

Doing what: Valle Nevado and Cousino Macul Winery Day Trip from Santiago

LinHoov USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The wine tour was fun and the tour guide was pleasant and knowledgeable. I learned more there than I did on the wine tours in France. The only complaint I have was that I paid the extra for more wine tastings with the cheese plate and they gave me the lesser wine tour package (fewer wine tastings and no cheese). Before I could say anything, the guide was running off to his next tour group.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message