Originally constructed between 1905 and 1912, the Mapocho Station was once the heart of Chile's massive, efficient railway system. The beautiful building was all but abandoned after the Valparaiso train shuddered to a stop in 1987, but was restored ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were very happy with the bus tour. The information given about the history of the city was excellent and being able to get off where we wished allowed us to ride the funicular up the mountain. It was wonderful.

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. Good commentary, with a great deal of local history. Recommended stops: funicular, fish market, and shopping mall.

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good value for money. A good way to see the city
As others have said you need to pick up your wrist band in advance.
We found the Central Market the day before ( the fish market). The tour office was easy to find at the front of the building. The tour guys English was good and he was very helpful asking where we were staying and advising us of the nearest pickup point the next morning. He gave us a map and headphone sets for the running commentary on the bus
The buses are clean and the two that we used had open 1st floor sides as gave a most welcome breeze as the bus progressed. The wristband get activated when you first alight the bus and is valid all day.
The buses are frequent but we found that we didn't always get off at the correct stop and so had to walk, then rejoining the bus didn't now exactly where it would stop so found ourselves running to the stop
We saw several street vendors displaying the red tour sign so I would have thought you could buy the tickets from them and save the trek to the tour company main office ( one opposite stop number 3)
At the end of the day you need to be within 5 stops of your final departure by 5.30pm and someone came around advising people of the best spot to alight
Completely recommended

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good and convenient, staff is English proficient and polite.

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was a typical hop on/off tour and we enjoyed it quite a bit. One complaint is when we were required to hop off at stop #8 to get our wrist bands we had a lot of difficulty finding the "store." Signage should be improved - especially for non Spanish speaking customers.

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was fine it's just that my wife got ill from the heat and we did not do all that could be accomplished by a hop on hop off bus.

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Clean bus, friendly people. I suggest using your own headphones to block out more of the road noise. Unlike other HOHO bus tours we have been in, this one requires you to exchange your printout for a wrist band at a local office instead of giving it to the driver. Plan in some extra time for that

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Good way to see the city!

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Excellent tour audio..............

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

First I think you should make it quite clear exactly where in Arrivals your office is. I could not locate it and went in and out of arrivals illegally and no one I asked seemed even to have heard to it so I wasted a huge amount of time and energy . Also that the company is called TURISTIC that might have helped. .Not popular when one has just got off a night flight -at 06.00, and you say the ticket MUST be validated on arrival.
When I subsequently walked from the airbus terminal at Los Heroes to your office near the Mercado Central, again no precise instructions exactly where this office was to be found and I had to ask several times.which could have been given in the instructions, and it was quite a hike, I was told the office at the airport does not open till 10.00. This should be made very clear on your instructions with advice as to what one does if one has arrived before 10.00.so then one has to find your office ,
Your agent in the TURISTIC Office was helpful and apologetic so you did get a brownie point there but nowhere on your brief which I had downloaded did it say that you are called TURISTIC .
Generally the tour did give one an overall view of the city but I had wasted so much time that I did not pick up a bus until 11.30 and you ceased running at 18.00 so I actually did not have any time to jump on and off, especially as I wanted to get to the museums before they closed.
It would also,have been good to know that on the way back, somewhere after El Golf there were shops that sold lapis lazuli. I would have liked to hop off there for example had I known but the bus had driven off by the time I saw all the little shops.
It would also have been useful to know that under the Presidents Palace is the very good Cultural Centre which was not in my guide book so may be it is fairly new? with extremely good exhibitions. It was Iznik Art from San Francisco and they open at 9.00. Hope these comments are helpful.
I would only give you 2 stars.

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

On a scorching hot day, the ride on the bus was uncomfortable with no air conditioning. Also, because being open, extremely noisy. Could be very pleasant otherwise.

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I didn't go on the tour. I injured my foot, couldn't walk long distances, and had to go to a clinic.

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

must do .. greate service and best way to know your way around the city

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour provided the perfect way to see the city at our own pace.

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great way to learn about Santiago and get to the venues

Doing what: Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message