• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Santiago de Compostela

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Catedral del Apostol is one of the most important shrines in Christiandom, as it is the said to be the final resting place of Saint James the Greater, one of the twelve Apostles. Its history is as storied and intricate as its architecture, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nicely organized tour to Santiago de Compostela. Convenient meeting points and well planned itinerary. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This tour left 1 hour late and we had only 2.5 hours to see Santiago de Compostela. Although it clearly states that this is a guided tour the 7 of us only had a driver and were left to our own devices. This tour should have left early in the morning in order to arrive for the Pilgrim's mass in the Cathedral. A huge disappointment even though the place was lovely. Do not waste your money on this.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a truly memorable day trip - and as seasoned travelers, we have been on many, so we know how they tend to be. Our guide, Maria, picked us up at the hotel promptly at 8 and we were off to an amazing place with all the insider information one could hope for! Maria was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions thoughtfully and with a love for her city and her country that made us love it there, too! It truly felt like we were spending the day having a conversation with a friend instead of going around with a tour guide. Everything we needed to know to take in the sights and experiences that were important to us was covered by Maria's expertise - she even guided us through one of her favorite fortresses in the area, making time for some quick shopping for Portugal's wonderful textiles - and she graciously also served as our interpreter and negotiator! We could not have had a better experience - and most certainly could not have such an authentic experience trying to do this on our own in just a day's time! Highest recommendations to Maria and her company!!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

Pauline M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I had wanted to see Santiago de Compostela for years, and was not disappointed. Our tour arrived in time for the Pilgrim Mass, but as it was a Sunday, the cathedral was full to overflowing. Even pilgrims had to queue outside! I was lucky enough to reach the door just as the giant censer (the biggest in the world, at 80 kg!) started its swing. Then a tenor sang Schubert's Ave Maria. What atmosphere! My day was made!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

i have taken tours through Viator before and was very happy but this tour was a disapointment there was next to no commentary on the history and we just walked around by ourselfs with no guide .

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

This tour was way too long. It should have started warlier since the drive was so long. Our guide Paula was excellent.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

zeer goede uitstap,geweldige gids,ondanks het slechte weer aan te raden.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour is very good. There were just three of us and the driver/tour guide was wonderful. She made a couple of stop to show us some historical sites and gave us a comprehensive history of the area. We just missed the swinging of the incense burner at the Santiago Cathedral, which is unfortunate. I think the time spent in each location was sufficient to get a lay of the land and then to go back on your own. Would highly recommend the as a great day trip.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Good trip - excellent tour! Pickup was at the address provided - ontime. Had a small van with a tour guide - it was just two of us, still they took us on a tour and did not cancel! Loved it!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. It's difficult to go to Santiago from Porto on your own for a day. This is definitely the best option!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Despite some scheduling issues, the tour was very good !! The only problem is that the time allowed to visit Santiago de Compostela and its Cathedral isn't enough. What is more, it is very few considering that travel time from Porto to Santiago is about 3 hours and you will have 2 hours and a half to visit the city and have also lunch. So you travel 6 hours by van and only 2.5 hours to visit Santiago and have lunch. Then you spend 1 hour in Viana do Castelo, which is a nice city, but we would have prefered to spend more time in Santiago de Compostela instead.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The tour guide was excellent and gave so much information on Portugal/Spain throughout the trip which I really enjoyed. Santiago de Compostela itself...it's alright. The cathedral is average. I went on this tour more for the history so if that's what you are interested in, skip this tour.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Traveled December 15th. This day trip was long but it was worth every minute. Our guide Maria was very knowledgeable and friendly. Enjoyed learning the history of Santiago de Campostela. Stopped on the way back to Valença and Viana do Castelo. Great smaller towns to visit. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message