Insider's Guide to Santiago de Compostela

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Catedral del Apostol is one of the most important shrines in Christiandom, as it is the said to be the final resting place of Saint James the Greater, one of the twelve Apostles. Its history is as storied and intricate as its architecture, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Wow! Everything was nice - Pascal was great, the itinerary - wonderful. Great tour.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was outstanding (even in the rain)! Santiago de Compestela is beyond words and we had the best guide ever - Pasquale!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was outstanding (even in the rain)! Santiago de Compestela is beyond words and we had the best guide ever - Pasquale!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was outstanding (even in the rain)! Santiago de Compestela is beyond words and we had the best guide ever - Pasquale!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was outstanding (even in the rain)! Santiago de Compestela is beyond words and we had the best guide ever - Pasquale!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Both cities were very interesting. You will get more information about Viana.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we enjoyed a wonderful one day trip to Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo from Porto.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous tour, Santiago is a must to go and see. Only criticism I would make is not long enough in Santiago, I would have preferred just to go to Santiago and not go to Viana. Viana is lovely but does not compare to Santiago de Compostela. We were lucky enough to attend the mass and see the enormous incense swinger, incredible. If you only have one trip from Porto, go to Santiago!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nicely organized tour to Santiago de Compostela. Convenient meeting points and well planned itinerary. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This tour left 1 hour late and we had only 2.5 hours to see Santiago de Compostela. Although it clearly states that this is a guided tour the 7 of us only had a driver and were left to our own devices. This tour should have left early in the morning in order to arrive for the Pilgrim's mass in the Cathedral. A huge disappointment even though the place was lovely. Do not waste your money on this.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a truly memorable day trip - and as seasoned travelers, we have been on many, so we know how they tend to be. Our guide, Maria, picked us up at the hotel promptly at 8 and we were off to an amazing place with all the insider information one could hope for! Maria was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions thoughtfully and with a love for her city and her country that made us love it there, too! It truly felt like we were spending the day having a conversation with a friend instead of going around with a tour guide. Everything we needed to know to take in the sights and experiences that were important to us was covered by Maria's expertise - she even guided us through one of her favorite fortresses in the area, making time for some quick shopping for Portugal's wonderful textiles - and she graciously also served as our interpreter and negotiator! We could not have had a better experience - and most certainly could not have such an authentic experience trying to do this on our own in just a day's time! Highest recommendations to Maria and her company!!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message