• USD ($)
  • English
Despite its location in South America, Santiago has a distinctly European feel, from its neoclassical architecture to its efficient metro system, Santiago is one of South America’s most sophisticated cities and a must-see if you are visiting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We chose to do this on the day after we landed in Santiago, partly in order to clear our heads of jet-lag, jet noise and the 'plane-stupidity' induced by a long-haul flight. It did this admirably - and much, much more. Fran, our guide, picked us up bright and early from our city centre hotel and whisked us out through the suburbs to the El Morado National Park, north of Santiago. It was a perfect late summer morning and an utter joy to make our way up the long but steady incline of the valley in warm sunshine (we had just escaped a very , miserable English winter) with the snow-topped Andes in front of us. We had a snack break at the lake and then pressed on up the somewhat steeper but perfectly do-able section to the edge of the glacier. Throughout, Fran was the perfect hiking companion: friendly, intelligent, personable, with good conversation in impeccable English and who was anxious for us to go at our own pace and enjoy the experience. We returned to the lake for a simple but delicious picnic lunch (food always tastes good on a mountain doesn't it?) that Fran had provided. Suitably refreshed, we ambled peacefully back down the valley, now with the surrounding green, purple and russet mountains bathed in afternoon sunshine. By the time we reached the park entrance, Santiago and his partner had arrived for their Sunday afternoon outing - and yet on the walk we had hardly seen a soul. It was blissful day that was the perfect introduction to the beauty of Chile and which would give a lot of pleasure to anyone who enjoys the sort of hiking that captures the senses, stretches the muscles and fills the lungs but does not bust a gut. And who knows when it is sensible to wear sunblock and a hat.

Doing what: El Morado Hiking Tour with Transport from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

On time,well informed,good transport

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We found the tour very informative and enjoyable. We were picked and dropped back to the hotel at the agreed time. The tour guide spoke good english and was very pleasant

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Was a disappointing tour. I had to pay for 2 people since I was alone -- they refused to see if anyone else in general would sign up for the tour. The guide's English was not very good and there were some things that I wanted to explore further (e.g. like walking up to the statue of Mary at San Cristobal Hill -- we were already at the top of the hill) but she was too tired to walk up. Additionally, I had to stop 3 times in the tour so the guide could use the bathroom and purchase herself some water. None was offered to me. I paid over $141.00 USD for this tour, and it was not worth the money at all. I've taken Viator tours in other countries and had always had wonderful experiences, so I trusted their recommendations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the city and took us everywhere we wanted to go. This is the way to see Santiago!

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Small-group is right, on our tour it was just the two of us, talk about individual attention to detail! Our guide Alviro was a delight and he walked us through the various parts of the market, stopping to sample local foods and he provided stories along the way. As a warning, do not eat before this tour, you get lots of food to enjoy. We made the mistake of having breakfast about an hour and a half before so we only grazed the food. The scallop empanada was amazing at our final stop. This is lots of fun to see a market up-close and personal!!

Doing what: Small-Group Santiago Food and Market Tour Including Mercado Central

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This private half day tour provided a good introduction to Santiago. We particularly enjoyed the view over the city, the cyclists and walkers climbing the hill,.S walking around the old town and seeing the changing of the guard.Santiago was more interesting than we had expected.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

The tour guide was very informative and well-able to describe (in English) what he meant. We felt the cost to pick us up from the Hilton Garden Inn was excessive ($132) as something in that end of the city could have been inserted into the tour to cover the distance from the normal pickup locations (we were the only two people on the tour).
We would, however, recommend the tour to others in our situation.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

It was very much like I expected. The show was entertaining. A fun thing to do on our first night in Santiago. The transfer from the hotel to the venue and back worked well.

Doing what: Chilean Folklore Show and Dinner with Transport

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Guide was excellent and show was interesting with great costumes and audience interaction

Doing what: Chilean Folklore Show and Dinner with Transport

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

Tour was very mediocre. Guide was pleasant but not very knowledgeable and seemed to go thru the motions. We wanted to go to the Pre-Columbian museum and he discouraged us, taking us to the historical museum instead. He knew very little about this museum and we observed another guide there at the same time who was VERY knowledgeable. It was quite a contrast. Luckily for us we were able to get to the Pre-Columbian museum on our own and it was the HIGHLIGHT of our trip to Santiago. Very disappointed..By contrast our tours in Argentina were fabulous!

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

Enjoyed the tour which was mainly a walking tour, guild was on time, only one criticism I would make I thought the tour was very over priced for what it was.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was the highlight of our stay,but we probably would not have undertaken it if we had known how far it is to the glacier. Our guide was lovely and let us set our own pace - essential as we are both in our sixties and not very fit. Ultimately, we turned back just before we reached the glacier. Highly recommended but the glacier is more than 14 kilometres from the starting point!

Doing what: El Morado Hiking Tour with Transport from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Max was well informed and able to answer all of our questions regarding buildings and the history of Chile very well. He quickly understood which things were most important for us to see in the limited time available.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. Picked up from hotel on time and the guide and driver were very knowledgeable. Allowed to spend as much time as we wanted at the various stops. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message