Chile is one of South America’s most diverse, stable and prosperous countries, and Valparaiso exemplifies all of these. From its rich, European-influenced cultural heritage to its bustling seaport, Valparaiso is perhaps Chile’s most cosmopolitan ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katrina E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guillermo was an amazing tour guide! The tour was a one on one experience in English. We ended up getting a private tour which was very fortunate. The day was wonderful and we were able to experience some areas outside of Chile. The lunch spot they took us to was delicious right on the beach. I would definitely recommend this tour! We are very grateful again to the tour guide as he did not only give us information on the cities but went out of his way to chat with us and get to know us. It made for an amazing day- thank you again!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Viña del Mar, Valparaiso and Wine Tasting in Casablanca Valley

Melinda B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

I would not really recommend this tour. Our tour guide and driver were fantastic and did a great job looking after us but I just didn't like the township of Valparaiso. It is fully of graffiti, it's not a particularly attractive place to visit and there are better places to enjoy in Santiago.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An excellent tour and enjoyable day out. Carol was so enthusiastic and shared so many interesting snippets of information. Valparaiso is a busy, gritty place on the surface but with such a skilful guide, we saw the art, culture and history, as well as experiencing some of the life of the city. It was a long drive but Rodrigo cruised us there smoothly.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Valparaiso is a must see from Santiago. Our guide and tour were excellent. This was my second day trip to Valparaiso and was far better than previous. We spent the whole day walking the streets and cruising the harbour. The harbour cruise was an entertainment in itself.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

John C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a very pleasant outing. The weather was good, the guide and driver were great and sited were very interesting. We would be happy to recommend this tour to friends and family.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had wonderful day. Our Tour Guide was very professional. His knowledge of the area was first class. Lots of relevant information and stories. Our driver was also excellent and made us feel very safe.
Thanks for a good time.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

kenneth r K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent tour. Our English speaking guide Paula was absolutely wonderful and gave interesting explanations of everything we saw. Max our driver was very capable and safe. Ken kurtz

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was Carol and she did an amazing tour with us. She was on time, friendly, and her English was perfect. She answered all of our questions and provided helpful information. We enjoyed all of the sights and the lunch location was spectacular. The winery stop was better than I had imagined and was glad that we had booked it. Our trip to the market was fun and with Carol's assistance we were able to buy souvenirs. Our travel group all agreed that this was fabulous. Everything about this day was special and our tour guide was extra special.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

KMLocke

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great tour excellent guide. We were the only 2 on the tour . We would have preferred more time in Valparaiso instead of Vina Del Mar

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

E G F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great tour - spend more time in Valparaiso then in Vina del Mar as it's far more interesting.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Annette O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful day in Valparaiso with our guide Roberto and driver Miguel and would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to explore Valparaiso like a local, walking the tiny alleys, riding the elevators and trolley buses, boating in an open boat and eating the local dishes.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Chris USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide Tanya made this private tour outstanding. She had our driver take every road in Valparaiso up and down hills, have him stop wherever and have us get out and walk and wind up meeting the driver somewhere else. Got us into the museum and knew to do it before a long queuing line appeared as my wife and I finished our tour of it. Stopped for a very nice lunch that did not break the bank. Helped my wife buy a ring from a trusted store in Vina Del Mar. Only letdown was Vina Del Mar that was nice to drive through but had not much to offer. I would recommend this tour over a group tour for a better experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Sanjiv M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Sergio was a very good guide - very knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

William O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, driver was friendly and the guide was very pleasant, extremely knowledgeable and made sure we were comfortable and saw everything we wanted to see. We were very pleased.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

samslma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lucky to have private tour with a wonderful tour guide Tanya. She made everything perfect for us.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Elisa M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour was very insteresting. Our guide did a really great job guiding us in the history of Vaparaíso with a very nice walk tour in the historical center. Though it was not a tour for any person elderly and kids would have difficulty me and my mom managed to complete it and it was worth. What we missed was a stop for a lunch. Could be a quick stop in a buffet, for only 30 minurtes to seat in a restaurant, drink, eat and breath. We managed to eat an empada in the historical center which was very nice too, but would have been good to have had lunch.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Stephen R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our guide Ceasar spoke excellent English. He was well informed and very pleasant.
The walking tour was interesting and the harbor tour gave good perspective of the hills of Valparaiso.
Emma our driver was very competent.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Lee S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Valparaiso part of tour was well worth the drive.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

mer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow!
What a great day with our Tour Guide Carol and driver Rodrigo.
Carol is an extremely pleasant, knowledgeable, courteous professional that was a pleasure to be with.
Starting in Santiago, we stopped at a winery along the way to Vina De Mar.
It was also the time of a Chicha festival in Curacavi where we stopped and sampled this really tasty drink.
Stopping in Vina Del Mar, we toured the city on foot, and then had a great lunch in a restaurant that overlooked the sea.
Spending the remainder of the day in Valparaiso was just fantastic.
Pablo Naruda's house, incredible Graffiti, old winding streets, old buildings, buildings built within buildings, incredible sites, smells and sounds.
Thank goodness Carol was our guide as we believe that it is probably very easy to get lost in this great old winding city.
Thank you to Carol and our safe driver Rodrigo for a very memorable day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Sara B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

To start, the confirmation email said 9:30, but the tour operator arrived at 9am, causing us to have to rush through breakfast which was important to eat for a full day tour!. They stopped at a little gas station halfway for us to relieve ourselves, as well as a wine outlet on the way to Valparaiso--both good additions. However, we spent pretty much all day staring at the facades of buildings--I'm a history person, and I found it disorganized and poorly executed. The harbor cruise was nice we saw several sea lions!. We didn't eat lunch until 5pm and not at the restaurant specified in the description, and completely missed the beer portion. Valparaiso seemed like a lovely place, but we were not thrilled with this tour. Felt absolutely haphazard and like I didn't come away actually learning much about the city--just endlessly staring at buildings from 1890 to 1920. Wished we could have at least gone INTO one of the buildings--but seriously, the furthest we went was to stand in bank and hotel lobbies and stare at architecture. The day also stretched much longer than expected--the ten hour tour went from 9am to 8pm. Not our favorite tour.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

travelingtexan100

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Ricardo was a great guide and provided terrific insights and information. His recommendation for lunch was fantastic.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Catherine G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This tour certainly kept us busy! From a car ride very comfortable, Sebastien was a great driver to a trolley ride paid for by our guide, to a boat ride again, arranged by the guide to coffee guide, to a funicular ride and then a tour of the Valparaiso hills and a stop at Neruda's house. The guide was extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Allen F. A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the perfect way to see Valparaiso when the focus of your trip is elsewhere in Chile. It is a delightful city, not to be missed, and you feel that you have truly been exposed to it when the day trip is over. Our guide, Daniel, was just wonderful...an absolutely enjoyable personality. As well, he lived in Valparaiso in the past, so he does, indeed, know the city. It was a well planned and well executed trip. I know that you will be pleased, as well.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Alan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide. Very good overview of the ride from Santiago to Viña del Mar and Valparaiso. She took us beyond the normal touristy stuff and showed us things that we would never found on our own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome! Really informative and learned a TON about the economic history of Chile. Our guide was super knowledgeable. Signed up for the group tour but it ended up being just us, and we got a great private tour.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message