Chile is one of South America’s most diverse, stable and prosperous countries, and Valparaiso exemplifies all of these. From its rich, European-influenced cultural heritage to its bustling seaport, Valparaiso is perhaps Chile’s most cosmopolitan ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was so friendly and spoke great English. She and the driver accommodated us in every way, including walking our baggage down to the hotel because the street had been blocked off. We tried to help but they wouldn't let us. It was an excellent tour and experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Clive G
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The trip was very interesting and the guide knew a lot of information about the places we went. He knew his 'script' well.
Our only disappointment was that our 'English-speaking Guide' was very limited in speaking and understanding anything in English that wasn't on his 'script '. He was unable to answer our questions and didn't understand what we were saying a lot of the time - he just laughed and nodded.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Deanne
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our driver was Franciso and our guide Laurina. Both were friendly and knowledgeable I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this tour. We were able to tailor the time we spent in places, miss some completely and they were totally accommodating. Before going to Santiago so many people said you must go to Vina-Del-Mar and Valparaiso and the day did not disappoint. Valparaiso has interesting, brightly coloured houses, the port, amazing murals and it was an interesting place to visit. We had lunch in Vina-Del-Mar overlooking the ocean and whilst it was good to see the town, it may not have stood out for me, except there was a Moai, which was a complete surprise. Bucket list item check! Great day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fran Pardo is the very best tour guide. She had outstanding knowledge of these cities and provided a first rate experience for us including lunch at a place with a great view. Fran should get a raise - she is really an outstanding guide.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great full day tour. Interesting city, and history. A great personable guide, eating what the locals eat with the locals . Really enjoyed it. Great start to our holiday.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a wonderful introduction to some of the "wine valleys" and to the Pacific coast! Our guide Daniel looked after everything very well and was very knowledgeable about our stops and the area of our tour, including a wonderful lunch stop! Our driver Marlene was excellent as well. Gracias!

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Alberto was a very good and informative guide with a passion for Chilli.
We had one other couple on our tour from the UK which helped make the day enjoyable.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great day trip with our guide Claudio. We learned a lot and got to see a lot for the short amount of time spent in Valparaiso and Vina Del Mar. Claudio was very knowledgeable of the area and kept giving us bits of history which I enjoyed as I love history. I was happy we were able to visit Pablo Neruda's house in Valparaiso, we got there just before the crowd starting coming. We also had a chance to ride a finicular which is definitely a must. The weather was gloomy so we did not enjoy much time on the beach of Vina del Mar but the lunch recommendation there was great. We loved our lunch at Chez Gerald. If you are pressed for time, I'd recommend this tour to get to know Valparaiso and Vina Del Mar. Another perk is the stop at a vineyard on the ride from Santiago to Valaparaiso. Wine was good and our guide took great pictures.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a private tour lead by Cristian. He is a knowledgeable guide well versed in All aspects of Chile. His English is very fluent and his enthusiasm and willingness to answer all our questions is much appreciated. We enjoyed our day immensely Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A colorful port town - with loads of history and character - well worth visiting.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was more comprehensive than we expected.
The driver Marco and guide Christian were both very knowledgable and helpful.
It was great that we had the car to ourselves and went up into the hills for a magnificent view over the highway, toll roads and vineyards and surrounding hills.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent trip with a very friendly driver and a tour guide that went to great depth explaining each point of the tour. Highly recommend this tour for anyone on a short visit to Santiago.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The best tour we had in Chile thanks to our amazing tour guide Daniel. We stopped at Villa Veramonte for a quick wine tasting then on to Valparaiso, and to Vina del Mar. Great sight seeing tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Trevor H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Long day but very interesting and wrth it

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day had the most amazing guide Caryl highly recommend we were traveling as a group of 4 and the only ones in the minivan this was very comfortable very interesting and knowledgeable guide. Thanks Caryl pictures we brought on the wall framed.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Jaime was and excellent guide and very knowledgeable.
Valparaiso was interesting from its historic perspective,
but its glory days have passed. Worth the trip if you are
already in Santiago.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We were very disappointed with our tour experience. The trip from Santiago to Valparaiso was a boring long trip along a highway with a stop at a barn-size commercial winery along the way with no cultural value at all. The heritage-listed area of Valparaiso was gorgeous, but frankly we would have enjoyed it more without our guide. The commentary was banal, and we were treated like children. Our guide was an ex-teacher and we can only presume she was a primary teacher. We did not consider it good value for money - US$300 each, with a cheapo lunch at a zero atmosphere establishment. The harbour cruise was incredibly disappointing - just a short circuit around what was essentially an industrial port. To others I'd say: save your money, buy a decent local map, and wander around Valparaiso by yourself.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

An interesting day trip to Valpairiso. We did not stop at the vineyards as we had a wine tour booked for a later date. Our guide, Christian was knowledgeable and made our visit to Valpairiso enjoyable. He was also delighted when I suggested we stopped for a morning coffee as he had elected to stay in bed a little longer rather than have breakfast before picking us up from our hotel. I was a bit worried that we couldn't confirm our hotel for pickup as requested by Viator.com because we arrived on the weekend. However this did not appear to be necessary as we had already indicated which hotel we were staying at when we made the booking. This is not all that clear on the Viator.com information when you book the tour.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Carol and Rodrigo our tour guide and driver were AMAZING!! It turned out that we were the only ones in the tour, so we go it privately - BONUS! and were able to completely customize to whatever we wanted to do / see. We never felt rushed or like we missed anything.
Carol has vast knowledge on the history of both towns and on the architecture of Valparaiso as well as Neruda. The highlight of the tour is to just walk around Valparaiso and admire the architecture and art that's everywhere.
A must do in Chile!

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We were delighted that on the very next day of the Santiago City tour on 11 April 2014,Gladys Riquelme and Adolpho were again to be our guide and driver.

Needless to say,the day passed off smoothly as we were introduced to the delights of Valparaiso,Vina del Mar and the beautiful surrounding countryside,mountain ranges and ofcourse,the blue Pacific Ocean !

Please pass on our personal thanks to Gladys and Adolpho acting on behalf of VIATOR, who made the day very enjoyable for both of us.

S.Sharma (Mr)
Celia P.Evangelista (Ms)
(We were on this tour which took place on 12 April 2014).

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Interesting venues. Knowlegable guide with personal experience Valparaiso.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Much better than we had expected. Sandra, our guide, and Hernan, our driver were both very good, and did all that they could to make our trip memorable. Sandra was very knowledgeable and helpful. Hernan was most cooperative.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I loved our tour. We are from the USA but there were people from Brazil, Argentina and Venezuela. It was fun to meet people from all over. Our guide had to speak English, Spanish and Portuguese. Jaime did a great job. We saw a lot of things and had an amazing lunch overlooking the ocean. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour delivers exactly what it says: spending a day in Valparaiso like a local (albeit one who had a day off and was determined to remind themselves of everything that Valparaiso had to offer). Our guide, who arrived at our hotel in Santiago promptly, was a very personable and knowledgeable young philosophy teacher, acting as a tour guide in his spare time. On the way to Valparaiso we stopped to sample some sweet local pastries at a road-side café and then some interesting wine at a bodega in the Casablanca valley (and no-one said:"..of all the bodegas in all the valleys in all the world and you had to walk into mine"). In the city, we had an hour to visit the house that belonged to Pablo Neruda with its stunning views over the city and the harbour and its collection of quirky artefacts: the place reverberated with poetry. Then we toured the streets and alleyways on foot, taking in the English and German quarters, a funicular ride, a stop at what could only be described as a confectionery speak-easy (our guide knocked a door and a woman appeared bearing dulce de leche sandwich cakes) and then another stop at a cool local café for refreshing fruit smoothies. Back in the lower part of the city, we took a tram ride, then strolled back through the streets and squares to an excellent retro restaurant, reminiscent of 1950s Paris with its long bar and sepia décor, for lunch, preceded, inevitably, by pisco sours. Then it was back on another rickety funicular and a wander through more of the colourful alleyways and cobbled back streets before a cruise around the harbour to take in the sweeping views of the city from the water. It was a long day but an immensely enjoyable and rewarding one.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The convenience of being picked up and dropped off at hotels was terrific. But I believe it was quite expensive for Chili. The guide and driver were excellent. We had a nice tour of Vina Del Mar but the .luncheon restaurant although very well situated on the water was expensive and the fish meal was unedible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message