Chile is one of South America’s most diverse, stable and prosperous countries, and Valparaiso exemplifies all of these. From its rich, European-influenced cultural heritage to its bustling seaport, Valparaiso is perhaps Chile’s most cosmopolitan ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, driver was friendly and the guide was very pleasant, extremely knowledgeable and made sure we were comfortable and saw everything we wanted to see. We were very pleased.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

samslma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lucky to have private tour with a wonderful tour guide Tanya. She made everything perfect for us.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Elisa M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour was very insteresting. Our guide did a really great job guiding us in the history of Vaparaíso with a very nice walk tour in the historical center. Though it was not a tour for any person elderly and kids would have difficulty me and my mom managed to complete it and it was worth. What we missed was a stop for a lunch. Could be a quick stop in a buffet, for only 30 minurtes to seat in a restaurant, drink, eat and breath. We managed to eat an empada in the historical center which was very nice too, but would have been good to have had lunch.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide Jaime was one of the best we have had on our many excursions/tours.
He was knowledgeable, pleasant, and went the extra mile. We learned much about Chile
and our discussions with Jaime about Pablo Neruda

Doing what: Houses of Pablo Neruda: Valparaiso and Isla Negra Day Trip from Santiago

Stephen R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our guide Ceasar spoke excellent English. He was well informed and very pleasant.
The walking tour was interesting and the harbor tour gave good perspective of the hills of Valparaiso.
Emma our driver was very competent.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Lee S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Valparaiso part of tour was well worth the drive.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

mer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow!
What a great day with our Tour Guide Carol and driver Rodrigo.
Carol is an extremely pleasant, knowledgeable, courteous professional that was a pleasure to be with.
Starting in Santiago, we stopped at a winery along the way to Vina De Mar.
It was also the time of a Chicha festival in Curacavi where we stopped and sampled this really tasty drink.
Stopping in Vina Del Mar, we toured the city on foot, and then had a great lunch in a restaurant that overlooked the sea.
Spending the remainder of the day in Valparaiso was just fantastic.
Pablo Naruda's house, incredible Graffiti, old winding streets, old buildings, buildings built within buildings, incredible sites, smells and sounds.
Thank goodness Carol was our guide as we believe that it is probably very easy to get lost in this great old winding city.
Thank you to Carol and our safe driver Rodrigo for a very memorable day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Sara B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

To start, the confirmation email said 9:30, but the tour operator arrived at 9am, causing us to have to rush through breakfast which was important to eat for a full day tour!. They stopped at a little gas station halfway for us to relieve ourselves, as well as a wine outlet on the way to Valparaiso--both good additions. However, we spent pretty much all day staring at the facades of buildings--I'm a history person, and I found it disorganized and poorly executed. The harbor cruise was nice we saw several sea lions!. We didn't eat lunch until 5pm and not at the restaurant specified in the description, and completely missed the beer portion. Valparaiso seemed like a lovely place, but we were not thrilled with this tour. Felt absolutely haphazard and like I didn't come away actually learning much about the city--just endlessly staring at buildings from 1890 to 1920. Wished we could have at least gone INTO one of the buildings--but seriously, the furthest we went was to stand in bank and hotel lobbies and stare at architecture. The day also stretched much longer than expected--the ten hour tour went from 9am to 8pm. Not our favorite tour.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Carolyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Terrific tour - we managed to walk around one of he old areas in Valporaiso, Have lunch at Isla Negra as well as see the two homes of Pablo Neruda. The Pablo Neruda home in Isla Negra was the real highlight for us - the setting is fabulous and the house a reflection of his life and interests.
Jaime was great tour guide and excellent driver - there were just two of us on the tour and we had a great day.

Doing what: Houses of Pablo Neruda: Valparaiso and Isla Negra Day Trip from Santiago

travelingtexan100

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Ricardo was a great guide and provided terrific insights and information. His recommendation for lunch was fantastic.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Catherine G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This tour certainly kept us busy! From a car ride very comfortable, Sebastien was a great driver to a trolley ride paid for by our guide, to a boat ride again, arranged by the guide to coffee guide, to a funicular ride and then a tour of the Valparaiso hills and a stop at Neruda's house. The guide was extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Allen F. A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the perfect way to see Valparaiso when the focus of your trip is elsewhere in Chile. It is a delightful city, not to be missed, and you feel that you have truly been exposed to it when the day trip is over. Our guide, Daniel, was just wonderful...an absolutely enjoyable personality. As well, he lived in Valparaiso in the past, so he does, indeed, know the city. It was a well planned and well executed trip. I know that you will be pleased, as well.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Ignacio F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was exellent. The wines at the organic wineyard were excellent. We had time to visit Pablo Neruda's houses in and out at our leisure, no hurry! We had lunch at an excellent restaurant Jaime recomended; not a tourist trap in Isla Negra. Pamela and Jaime were just great.

Doing what: Houses of Pablo Neruda: Valparaiso and Isla Negra Day Trip from Santiago

Alan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide. Very good overview of the ride from Santiago to Viña del Mar and Valparaiso. She took us beyond the normal touristy stuff and showed us things that we would never found on our own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome! Really informative and learned a TON about the economic history of Chile. Our guide was super knowledgeable. Signed up for the group tour but it ended up being just us, and we got a great private tour.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

puikin y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was good, guide was very informative and knowledgable. Little confusion on pickup if one were not staying in a major hotel

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Carole and Rodrigues were absolutely fabulous. Would recommend them to any of my family and friends planning on tours in Santiago.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Stephen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was so friendly and spoke great English. She and the driver accommodated us in every way, including walking our baggage down to the hotel because the street had been blocked off. We tried to help but they wouldn't let us. It was an excellent tour and experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Clive G Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The trip was very interesting and the guide knew a lot of information about the places we went. He knew his 'script' well.
Our only disappointment was that our 'English-speaking Guide' was very limited in speaking and understanding anything in English that wasn't on his 'script '. He was unable to answer our questions and didn't understand what we were saying a lot of the time - he just laughed and nodded.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Deanne Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our driver was Franciso and our guide Laurina. Both were friendly and knowledgeable I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this tour. We were able to tailor the time we spent in places, miss some completely and they were totally accommodating. Before going to Santiago so many people said you must go to Vina-Del-Mar and Valparaiso and the day did not disappoint. Valparaiso has interesting, brightly coloured houses, the port, amazing murals and it was an interesting place to visit. We had lunch in Vina-Del-Mar overlooking the ocean and whilst it was good to see the town, it may not have stood out for me, except there was a Moai, which was a complete surprise. Bucket list item check! Great day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fran Pardo is the very best tour guide. She had outstanding knowledge of these cities and provided a first rate experience for us including lunch at a place with a great view. Fran should get a raise - she is really an outstanding guide.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Sharon O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great full day tour. Interesting city, and history. A great personable guide, eating what the locals eat with the locals . Really enjoyed it. Great start to our holiday.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Craig H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a wonderful introduction to some of the "wine valleys" and to the Pacific coast! Our guide Daniel looked after everything very well and was very knowledgeable about our stops and the area of our tour, including a wonderful lunch stop! Our driver Marlene was excellent as well. Gracias!

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Glenyce R. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Alberto was a very good and informative guide with a passion for Chilli.
We had one other couple on our tour from the UK which helped make the day enjoyable.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message