• USD ($)
  • English
Chile is one of South America’s most diverse, stable and prosperous countries, and Valparaiso exemplifies all of these. From its rich, European-influenced cultural heritage to its bustling seaport, Valparaiso is perhaps Chile’s most cosmopolitan ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Much better than we had expected. Sandra, our guide, and Hernan, our driver were both very good, and did all that they could to make our trip memorable. Sandra was very knowledgeable and helpful. Hernan was most cooperative.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour delivers exactly what it says: spending a day in Valparaiso like a local (albeit one who had a day off and was determined to remind themselves of everything that Valparaiso had to offer). Our guide, who arrived at our hotel in Santiago promptly, was a very personable and knowledgeable young philosophy teacher, acting as a tour guide in his spare time. On the way to Valparaiso we stopped to sample some sweet local pastries at a road-side café and then some interesting wine at a bodega in the Casablanca valley (and no-one said:"..of all the bodegas in all the valleys in all the world and you had to walk into mine"). In the city, we had an hour to visit the house that belonged to Pablo Neruda with its stunning views over the city and the harbour and its collection of quirky artefacts: the place reverberated with poetry. Then we toured the streets and alleyways on foot, taking in the English and German quarters, a funicular ride, a stop at what could only be described as a confectionery speak-easy (our guide knocked a door and a woman appeared bearing dulce de leche sandwich cakes) and then another stop at a cool local café for refreshing fruit smoothies. Back in the lower part of the city, we took a tram ride, then strolled back through the streets and squares to an excellent retro restaurant, reminiscent of 1950s Paris with its long bar and sepia décor, for lunch, preceded, inevitably, by pisco sours. Then it was back on another rickety funicular and a wander through more of the colourful alleyways and cobbled back streets before a cruise around the harbour to take in the sweeping views of the city from the water. It was a long day but an immensely enjoyable and rewarding one.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The convenience of being picked up and dropped off at hotels was terrific. But I believe it was quite expensive for Chili. The guide and driver were excellent. We had a nice tour of Vina Del Mar but the .luncheon restaurant although very well situated on the water was expensive and the fish meal was unedible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

worth visiting and see something special.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Gladys was superb, an excellent guide who knew her cities and Chilean history. I learned a tremendous amount about Chile, Santiago, the Wine Country and Valparaiso during my tours. Gladys was very accommodating, cheerful and knowledgable. You're lucky to have Gladys working for you!

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour to Valparaiso and Vina del Mar was very nice. The winery Emiliana that we stopped at on the way was a definite highlight and would recommend everyone tries a sample, even if it's before noon. There was a government strike at the time we took the tour and weren't able to stay in the Sota Mayor square because of a demonstration, and the Pablo Neurida museum was closed. Other than that the tour was good and we only had two other people with us so it was a nice small group.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour guide was excellent and gave us a lot of information on Chile and surrounds. The destination is interesting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Loved the tour which really helped me understand the history and beauty of Valparaiso. The guide and driver were most kind, the lunch delicious and we were amazed by the neighborhoods of the city. On the negative side, it was terribly expensive for the two of us since no one else signed up. I hated paying around $150 extra for the 2 of us. Also, the harbor cruise was lovely but the narration was only in Spanish with no English.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great day trip from Santiago! Valparaiso and Vina del Mar are a must see when in Chile - beautiful and unique in their own ways! Guide was great and stopping at a winery was an added bonus!

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The Guide, Riccardo, and the driver were excellent. Enjoyable but a little on the expensive side. Thanks very much.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic day Ricardo was informative and helpful. We would highly recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We enjoyed the trip but would have liked more time to wander around rather than be driven to look out points which in the cloudy atmosphere were not offering too much of a view.

The restaurant was good but expensive so again would be nice to have some warning of this cost as we had to pay by credit card.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Without doing this tour we would have a vastly different perspective of Santiago. So good to have seen Valparaiso and its contrasting urban environments.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

If you only have one day to see the coast from Santiago, this is a good alternative. Not too crowded and hits all the high spots. Tour guide Freddie was friendly and accommodative, but not too informative.

One huge downside is that Viator requires the purchase of 2 adult tickets, even if only one is travelling. This makes no sense if they wish to capture the travelling on business market.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Our private guide brought us to spots where tourists don't usually go. A great day out of Santiago and very informative.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message