If you came to Santorini for the sunsets, the town of Oia is where you want to be when the sun sinks towards the horizon to such glorious effect. Perched on the steep edge of the caldera, with open views of the sea, the village is quieter than the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

This cruise does not include drinks and food. The only food available from the boat was a fruit salad and ham and cheese baguette which you would have to buy from the bar.
The volcano tour is very fast paced, the ''pathways'' are very rough and up hill so wear good running shoes. We only had a 30 minute stop in the ''hot'' springs, by the time all the people went in the sea were left with just a 10 minute stop in the warm springs.
To top it all off... the famous sunset in Oia.. you have to walk all the way up to Oia and wait for the time the sun sets, it is not timed well and you cannot view it from the boat, which for this price would have been much nicer! Oia is busy during sunset and that is why we wanted to see the sunset from the boat but were extremely disapointed when they told us to get off and go to Oia! Very disappointed, waste of money AND misleading choice of words! Never again Viator!

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Our guide was great! She was knowledgable and friendly. We really enjoyed our time with her. I would have liked to do the full hike but we only did bits and pieces of it. We were taken to certain locations along the hike and walked those areas. We visited Megalochori very quick and walked through, they also took us to the beach to stop for a drink.

I'm only given the tour 3 stars because we didn't do many of the highlights. We didn't go near Pyrgos so obviously we didn't visit a family-run store to sample local delicacies. They also did not take us to the Monastery or lighthouse.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Fira to Oia Hike

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The Volcano had ok views, but better views are seen from the actual island of Santorini, the walk up is rocky and slippery due to loose rocks.
Hot springs weren't really hot they were orange/mud color water with warmer than sea temperature water and the mud stained my white board shorts.
Thriaisa had a few little shops and restaurants, which had ok food, no good gift shops. Did not walk up to the top.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very well thought out trip! Our tour guides Antonia and Caterina were wonderful and very knowledgeable. Highly recommended for everyone who wants to learn more about the Santorini islands.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing day, informative tour just loved it!

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The only thing I would like to say is do not book this tour with viator. Wait until you are in Santorini, the prices are almost triple online than purchasing in person. Great tour and worth the money, but not 60.00 per person. We spoke with other people on the tour and they spent around 20.00 per person for the same trip.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was knowledgable, friendly and funny. We went to Megalochori....off the beaten path so we got a real sense of the island. It was a disappointing sunset at Oia but that was Mother Nature not the tour. Vet pleased overall!!!

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Was a lovely trip and a wonderful day. On the return on the bus back to hotel was a bit Chaotic..Bus driver missed our stop and then we had to taxi back to hotel...not a big deal. would recommend this trip

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The volcano was good, boat was horrible, over stuffed and crowded , not so helpful guide.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

First off the boat we were on was one of the bigger boats. The guide needed to describe things in English, Spanish and French. She really didn't tell a lot of the history of the volcano threat I heared from other tour guides. Next problem was the hot springs. I don't recall seeing that you had to swim from the boat to the springs. For those who did swim they only had about 15 minutes to do it. The next stop at Thirasia was really only for lunch and then off to Oia to drop those off for the sunset portion which we did not take. We then returned to the port to transfer back to our hotels which was not very organized. I didn't feel it was worth the money.... my suggestion too those looking to take this would be to look for local tour's.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The trip was highly organized. Our tour guide was the absolute best!! He was very knowledgable abut the geology of the volcano. Wish the hot springs were really hot a little false advertising there! Otherwise, it was a perfect day!

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour. Sadly we missed the sunset! The tour covered much more than advertised which was a bonus as it basically gave us an extra day.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Yes, it was OK,and mostly it was good, but could have been better.
To visit the geological park with the active volcano at Nea Kameni, was very interesting, and I found it beautiful.
The hot springs were warm, the boat trip was delightful, the explanations were very correct and exciting.
        But, in your advertisement you wrote: Explore the nearby island of Thirasia at your leisure and admire the Cycladic houses.
        You provided us with two hours for this activity. It was just enough to laboriously work myself up to the top of the island, collapse on a chair in Panorama restaurant, drink like a camel in an oasis, have a short bite, and I had to turn back immediately, since I didn't want to be late.
        You also talk about 7 hours in your advertisement, and in the reality it wasn't more than 5,5 or maximum 6 hours.
        If you would elongate this stop at Thirasia with this missing time, and would give us 3 hours instead of the two, it would be possible to do the promised thing, and admire the Cycladic houses at my leisure , and I would give you the high five.
It was especially disappointing, because in Rome I was absolutely satisfied with you, and this was the reason , why I have choose a Viator organised trip.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

didn't really see much of the blue dome churches.....wish there were more of that in this tour

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour itself was great. The guide was excellent!

However they state "hotel pickup" which did not happen. They called the day before to say to meet at a point in the city (Fira) that was about 1km walk from the hotel.

Wear comfortable shoes for the climb up the mountain and up Oia cliff as well

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The tour bus was late picking us up from our hotel. The volcano itself was awesome, and we enjoyed the hot springs. However, we did the optional sunset tour, and the bus back to Thira left Oia way too early. We had to leave before the sun even set to grab a quick dinner to get on the bus. When we got to the bus, we sat there for awhile before leaving. Additionally, we found the same tour without the Oia sunset for about 25 euros cheaper in downtown Thira.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good variety on the tour, but does include a bit of walking and, unless you're a strong swimmer, you wonkt see the hot springs because you have to swim a distance to get to them. You're left to your own devices at Oia - that was ok for us, but some might not appreciate that ( and be prepared to take a donkey ride). Tour guide is excellent.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fantastic experience, learned so much and the guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very friendly and knowledgeable english speaking guide. Had an enjoyable day trip on the boat. Great views on the volcanic island but plenty of climbing and walking to do.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The guide is friendly and provides good explanation throughout the trip. Had a good view of the whole island of santorini at the highest point of the island.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message