If you came to Santorini for the sunsets, the town of Oia is where you want to be when the sun sinks towards the horizon to such glorious effect. Perched on the steep edge of the caldera, with open views of the sea, the village is quieter than the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour itself was great. The guide was excellent!

However they state "hotel pickup" which did not happen. They called the day before to say to meet at a point in the city (Fira) that was about 1km walk from the hotel.

Wear comfortable shoes for the climb up the mountain and up Oia cliff as well

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The tour bus was late picking us up from our hotel. The volcano itself was awesome, and we enjoyed the hot springs. However, we did the optional sunset tour, and the bus back to Thira left Oia way too early. We had to leave before the sun even set to grab a quick dinner to get on the bus. When we got to the bus, we sat there for awhile before leaving. Additionally, we found the same tour without the Oia sunset for about 25 euros cheaper in downtown Thira.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good variety on the tour, but does include a bit of walking and, unless you're a strong swimmer, you wonkt see the hot springs because you have to swim a distance to get to them. You're left to your own devices at Oia - that was ok for us, but some might not appreciate that ( and be prepared to take a donkey ride). Tour guide is excellent.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fantastic experience, learned so much and the guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very friendly and knowledgeable english speaking guide. Had an enjoyable day trip on the boat. Great views on the volcanic island but plenty of climbing and walking to do.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The guide is friendly and provides good explanation throughout the trip. Had a good view of the whole island of santorini at the highest point of the island.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

My wife and I did this tour last week. However, it did not include the Oia Sunset tour. We were dropped off in Oia but there was no tour. I've contacted Viator but did not get a response.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a very experienced tour guide for this trip to visit the traditional villages. There was a wine tasting at Santo Wines... quite a great view and interesting wines from the volcanic areas of Santorini. Oia sunset was very beautiful. This is an independent part of the trip without a tour guide. Overall very worth it as it would not be possible for me to visit all the traditional villages on an independent trip and to learn about their stories...

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful and informative. The only way to see and experience the island

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I had a great time climbing the volcano, swimming in the hot springs, climbing the hill in Thirasia and ending up at Oia for the sunset which is where we were staying so we did not have to get on the bus and travel back to our hotel.There are a couple of things that people need to be made aware of before they book this trip.You need to be in pretty good physical shape to do some of these things.
Climbing the volcano some people could only go to point A because it was strenuous and very hot for September. You have to swim to the hot springs about 300 metres. The donkeys dont go all the way to thetop Oia so you need to walk up some stairs.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Hot Srings are probably not that worth it. Crowded, dirty, You have to swim from the boat in which is fine but its kind of rocky and uncomfortable at times.

The volcano and Thirasia were great.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a full day all encompassing tour although I am not sure it was the exact tour we signed up for, The company that did this tour said it was but this one included a trip to the black sand beach (wish we had known to bring swim suits) lunch at the beach stop (we paid of course), a wine tasting which wasn't listed either. We did not to the following that was listed on the tour: "Enjoy free time to explore Santorini’s ancient capital of Pyrgos, and then watch the sun set from the Kastro of Oia, the Venetian castle ruins at the top of the idyllic Santorini village." We had a great guide (Katie) and all went well up until the last stop, Oia. At this point, the guide left and the bus driver basically took and dropped us at the end of Oia with no direction and said meet me in the bus parking lot in 2 hours. Oia was swamped with people and not knowing where to go we ended up in a clastrophobic crowd 6-7 people deep trying to see the sunset. Afterwards, it was hard to find the bus, but we did. He let people off along the way back (playing disco music loudly) and then told us to get off and someone would take us to our pick up location. Instead they talked a taxi driver into taking us and he was not happy about it. The whole day was fantastic even though we didn't get to see the village or the castle, no complaints but this last 2 hours was horrible.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Excellent and very holistic tour with a very informed, very funny guide

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Great day! I would suggest to put oia sunset on an other tour.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message