If you came to Santorini for the sunsets, the town of Oia is where you want to be when the sun sinks towards the horizon to such glorious effect. Perched on the steep edge of the caldera, with open views of the sea, the village is quieter than the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Hot Srings are probably not that worth it. Crowded, dirty, You have to swim from the boat in which is fine but its kind of rocky and uncomfortable at times.

The volcano and Thirasia were great.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a full day all encompassing tour although I am not sure it was the exact tour we signed up for, The company that did this tour said it was but this one included a trip to the black sand beach (wish we had known to bring swim suits) lunch at the beach stop (we paid of course), a wine tasting which wasn't listed either. We did not to the following that was listed on the tour: "Enjoy free time to explore Santorini’s ancient capital of Pyrgos, and then watch the sun set from the Kastro of Oia, the Venetian castle ruins at the top of the idyllic Santorini village." We had a great guide (Katie) and all went well up until the last stop, Oia. At this point, the guide left and the bus driver basically took and dropped us at the end of Oia with no direction and said meet me in the bus parking lot in 2 hours. Oia was swamped with people and not knowing where to go we ended up in a clastrophobic crowd 6-7 people deep trying to see the sunset. Afterwards, it was hard to find the bus, but we did. He let people off along the way back (playing disco music loudly) and then told us to get off and someone would take us to our pick up location. Instead they talked a taxi driver into taking us and he was not happy about it. The whole day was fantastic even though we didn't get to see the village or the castle, no complaints but this last 2 hours was horrible.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Great day! I would suggest to put oia sunset on an other tour.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

The tour itself was just ok but not worth the money. Could not get on the coach on the day of the tour because the driver did not recognize my voucher got from US. Had to call the local office and rescheduled tour for another day. Description of tour not clear on what to expect causing frustration.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Our voucher/ticket said that our guide would wait for us at the reception of our hotel. They didn't. Instead, an angry bus driver stormed into our hotel reception saying he had been honking his bus horn waiting for us. We had been waiting the required 20 minutes before departure time and he came to 'meet' us at least 10 minutes after the departure time. He then dropped all passengers on the bus off at the incorrect ship. We did not appear to have the same ticket as any other passengers (can only assume we were shoe-horned onto some other tour). The crew member took our ticket and returned with details of a bus (mostly written in Greek) but told us that the note was the bus we needed to catch to get back to our hotel after the sunset at Oia. There were around 100 people on the tour so it was very difficult to hear anything the actual guide had to say. There were two occasions where the tour guide was rude to other passengers. The volcano scenery and islands were great, as was the lunch (not included in the price but a lot of options). Then we arrived at Oia, three hours before sunset. There is only two ways to reach the township from the port - by donkey or walking up the incredibly steep hillside. We elected to walk (mostly just to give the donkeys a break from the heat). We decided to find the location of where our bus would depart before the post-sunset chaos of tourists leaving the area. We could not find any bus with the details provided so we asked at the Tourist Info Centre and they didn't know either. In the end, we caught the public bus back to our hotel. It cost us 1.60 euro. Had we known we could have travelled to see the sunset for a grand total of 3.20 euro each AND not had to climb the stairs to Oia, we would have done this and at the very least, not paid or booked this component of the tour. As it stands, we would definitely NOT recommend this tour which is a shame because the scenery is quite spectacular and should not be missed.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Overall - a good tour and you get to see the major sites of Santorini in an affordable manner. The guide of the tour was extremely entertaining but hard to follow. His 30 minute long explanation of the volcano could have been a Saturday Night Live skit with the contrast between his enthusiasm and bizarre statements and the complete confusion of our group. I would certainly take the trip again.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The organisation to and from is not the best and just say to go over there until(colourful)guide says over here.Then it was too much in the heat and a full(nice classic)boat of at least100people,not that relaxing.Tour of volcano drags with the guides explaining.Time at the springs 5min.Wear sneakers

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

It was ok. Not exactly what was described on the website. There is no guide in Oia for the sunset so don't bother with the upgrade, you can do it yourself. Also the tour guide made us feel unwelcome. If I ever went again I would go with someone else.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

very nice, organized Well, Guides were great!!

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Guide was 'ok'... Not too much info provided, was pleasent.. Too much money for this tour! Not worth it.

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Simone is an excellent guide: courteous, informative, and sensitive to our needs. He met us on the pier at 8.30am (we were scheduled at 9.00am). Santorini is a "tendered" port so we took a boat early enough to make it by 9.00am. We rode the aerial tram up to Fiar and walked through the town (shops) to the van waiting for us at the bottom of the hill ( I was thinking that the hill was a breeze going down but the trip back would be hard and that is correct). We drove first to the highest point of Santorini and visited the chapel there looking over spectacular scenery....you can see the entire island which is actually one edge of the caldera. Then on to Oia (eea). This is where most of the pictures that are seen worldwide are taken of the white buildings and churches with the blue domes sitting on a side of a cliff with the blue, blue, Aegean Sea in the background. Fantastic scenery. Again, not easy for the walking challenged but well worth going through the efforts. The gelato there is mahvelous. Back to Fiar for lunch and shopping. Ate at the Volcano Blue restaurant and finally had a taste of authentic Spanakopita which interestingly, they called Spinach Pie. Portions were huge and tasty. More shopping and back to the ship by aerial tram where the tender is waiting to take you back to the ship.

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Although tour and guide were good, we were very disappointed that it was not as advertised.
Excursion was supposed to begin with a boat ride from harbor to Actinios. We specifically chose this excursion for that reason, to avoid the cable car ride (or donkey ride, or walk) up to Fira. When we arrived, our guide, Simone, claimed to know nothing about the boat ride, and we took the cable car to the top.
Very disappointing.

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our tour guide was a nice man named Simone - It was over 100F but we had a nice Van with A/C to take our group of 6 around to the sites. The guy was very patient with our shopping wanderings and was very knowledgable about the areas - a great tour I would recommend highly.

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Fantastic! Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and courteous. The sights were stunning. However, be prepared to pay to get into the Akrotiri excavation. It is not included in the cost and caught us by surprise, but it is well worth it.

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Tour of Oia, Fira and the Akrotiri Excavation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message