If you came to Santorini for the sunsets, the town of Oia is where you want to be when the sun sinks towards the horizon to such glorious effect. Perched on the steep edge of the caldera, with open views of the sea, the village is quieter than the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Teresa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide for the Oia Sunset and Traditional villages tour was Katy and she was the best guide I think I've ever experienced. She could answer questions from wine making to plants, agriculture, Greek history, religion and on and on and on and had such interesting stories about everything. We saw SO much in one day. Archaeological site, vineyard, lunch at the black beach, traditional village, and of course sunset at Oia. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see the island of Santorini.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

ankurfitzgibbons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

On this tour, we went to Akrotiri, Perissa beach, Profiti Ilia, Megalochori, Santos Winery and Oia. The actual tour is different than what the description says and honestly, what you get is even better! We started with a pick up from our hotel and going straight to Akrotiri. The ancient town is a wonderful way to learn about the history of Santorini. We then had lunch at Perissa beach at a great restaurant and had time to walk around. We then went through some villages and specifically stopped at Megalochori. The tour then took you up to the highest point in Santorini and we were able to take pictures. Before taking us to Oia for the sunset, we headed to Santos Winery and were able to sample some wines and enjoy a great view. Overall, a wonderful tour and great way to see the island.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

sundeepsaksena Poland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide was really good and the car was out of the world

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Sandra M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour .. Really gave you a good perspective of the islands . A very long day though.... They really Oshawa the excursions once in the Åland but they were not worth the extra money ... Something extra to do but not vert good and more money

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

sbclark@ameritech.ne ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Santorini is a beautiful island but with 4 cruise ships in port on the same day, it was overwhelmingly crowded. We started our tour in Fira and took the cable car to the top of the cliff to reach the town. Our tour guide met us at the bottom and we rode up to meet the driver. It was early in the morning and our first stop was Mt. Profitis Ilias, the highest point and the location of a monastery. As we are driving for about 30 minutes, there was a lot of fog and once we reached the top, we could see nothing! The tour guide also told us that she had never been to the monastery when it was open so she wasn't sure we could get in. She should have told us this and offered another alternative than going to some spot with fog and nowhere to go! That was very disappointing. We would have preferred to spend the time in beautiful Oia. Oia was the highlight of the tour but it was very crowded due to the number of ships in port. The trip was also scheduled to last 4.5 hours but she took us back to Fira after 3 hours. She seemed to be in a hurry to leave us! Once in Fira, we had a wonderful lunch on our own overlooking the water and left to catch the cable car around 2 pm. The line was probably at least 2 hours so we walked down the donkey trail to catch the tender boat at the bottom. That was horrible! The smell and the number of donkeys was unbearable. The trail is also uneven and difficult to navigate, trying to avoid donkeys and their deposits along the route! Santorini is beautiful but these annoyances will probably be what we remember the most!

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was just a brilliant way to see a lot on the island! The tour took us to brilliant places and there was a wine tasting and great view. The sunset at Oia was just terrific, though the guide a different one from the rest of the day kind of just ran us there and dropped us. But we adjusted and enjoyed the sites! It was a really fabulous day--highly recommended!

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Doreen E D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great because it provided a history of the island and had a good sampling of traditional villages, viewpoints of the island, and provided hotel pickup and dropoff. However I paid double to Viatar for booking the tour than what local offices charged!

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Renee R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The tour it self was good. Spent a little to much time for lunch. Two hours in a village with nothing to do is to long. The sunset in Oia was beautiful! When we were on the bus coming back to our hotels we were told that we would get dropped off at the same places we got picked up. WRONG the bus driver went past ours. He dropped us off some place that we didn't recognize and said he would send a van to pick us up and take us to our hotel, we were told by two different men that. After waiting 45 minutes we walked the 2 miles at night back to our hotel. Do not us the tour company you use in Santorini.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Youngwook P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I like the prehistory museum tour by this tour guide. She was excellent to make interested tour with broaden knowledge. And old town tour was great. Well. i think other place was ok for me.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Simon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good value tour with lots of things to see - the guide was very patient and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Zina was excellent and new everything about this beautiful
island. I wish we could of had her longer though.
She even called ahead and got us a amazing table for lunch

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

Priscilla F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing tour with varieties of seeing traditional villages, prehistorical museums, wine and sunset. The tour guide Katy is professional as she's humorous, knowledgeable and able to control the schedule.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

joni j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I have a perfect driver that took me to what I want to see. Great recommended restaurant.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Nikhil N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Santorini, a beautiful island with colourful houses and gorgeous sunsets. A dream destination.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Cindy C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I must say the tour was definitely informative and you are able to take in a lot of what Santorini has to offer, several things to point out, you can purchase this tour for over half the cost at your hotel, disappointing to see the markup on the site. In addition the you have several stops where you are given 15-20 minutes for pictures and the lunch stop in Perissa for about 1.5 hours. Perissa is home of the black beach, extraordinary! Then you are off to Oia to see the sunset but for me this part of the tour was not guided, our guide was dropped off in Fira and we were on our own for about an hour and 25 minutes to find our path to the Kastro of Oia and back to the bus, just don't miss your bus, they claim to leave you.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Heide C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was our favorite tour out of our 2 week vacation in Italy/Greece/Turkey. Kristina and George were so friendly and knowledgeable. They made it clear it was our day and we could do whatever we wanted if we wanted to change the original itinerary. They took us all over Santorini, suggested the most wonderful and fabulous restaurant for lunch on the beach, answered all of my millions of questions, and were wonderful with our 11 year old son. We have traveled many places and Santorini is now one of our favoite places. We will definitely go back. I couldnt recommend this tour more!

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Dmitriy M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an awesome time on this tour. Our guide Kathy was very knowledgeable of the culture and history of the island.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Agnes L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour was generally very good with various interesting spots. Oia, though quiet busy, is amazing village. But we spent too much time for lunch at the beach. Even though it was interesting to see one of the black beach, there was not too much to do in this area considering that no one had a swimming suit with him. Tt could be more pleasant to have the lunch in one of the village

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Mal

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This is a great way to enjoy the beauty of the Fira to Oia area of Santorini.

It is however a quite strenuous walk if you decide to hike the whole way. Our Guides gave us the choice of 'driving' to the major sight-seeing points and then 'hiking' around those areas. By doing this we also achieved a greater view of other areas of the Island, including a visit to a winery.

Another suggestion if 'hiking' is to do it in reverse i.e. start in Oia and finish in Fira as we felt this would be a little more 'downhill'.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Robert S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyed the whole experience

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Sanjay J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good tour due to weather conditions we lost lot of time in travelling

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

Abhijit B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very enjoyable trip. Well organised. The driver cum guide Mr Christo was excellent in taking care of the travellers we two- husband wife couple with good knowledge.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Aparna J United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

What they don't tell you: hot springs are really luke-warm spring and you have to swim about 100 feet to get to them the boat can't doc next to them. Oia sunset, it's not guided or anything. They literally drop you off a Oia and say, we have a bus leaving at X time after the sunset and it will drop you off. Honestly, you could pay for not getting the Oia sunset and still get off where the Oia port is. And then make you own way home the taxis are reasonably priced and you could always take the bus back to Fira for 3 Euro and take a taxi from there to save money. Volcano is super cool to see and the guide was good.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

Vinod M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Hike was very good
Excellent guides with good personalities

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Lisa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An absolutely wonderful tour. Since it was a private tour, we deviated from the walking portion and were able to see the entire island. Kristos was fabulous--very knowledgeable and informative. We saw all the important parts of Santorini, and he really tailored it to our interests. We had a fabulous time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message