Where South Carolina and Georgia meet, you can find the low and lazy Savannah River. The river is part of the charm and fabric of old Savannah and one of the best ways to explore the city’s lush countryside is by taking a Savannah Riverboat Cruise.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a perfect day we had. Toured the Historic area by bus, then took the river cruise. Weather was perfect, 74 deg. Everyone on the boat was very nice. Trip was interesting and longer than I thought it would be. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Ellen C J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed both the trolley your and the river tour. Thank you!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We choose the two day hop on hop off plus 1 hour River Cruise. The first thing we did was the full 1 1/2 hour narrated trolley tour. Very informative. One nice things was that the trolley was willing to leave us off at sites not listed as stops. this might have been because it was raining like crazy and there were not a lot of other guests. At any rate that service was greatly appreciated. All trolley operators were knowledgeable and pleasant. The one hour river cruise is well worth the time. Savannah is a huge seaport one of the biggest in the US. This tour explains a lot about the port and shipping.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

mabernas89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Booked the 2 day hop on-hop off tour with river boat cruise. Great way to see everything and learn the history of Savannah!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

warren l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour company picked us up and dropped us off at our condo, the first and second day! It was a very informative trolley tour. The River Cruise was very interesting and informative about the harbor, the river, the city and their inter-twinned workings.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Both of these tours were wonderful! The River Cruise captain was very knowledgeable and fun to listen to while crusing. The bus tour guide was Max and he was great because he knew all the history and some good stories too. I cannot say enough good things about Oglethorpe. Larry greeted us and was the sweetest guy. He gave us really good information about making sure we took the River Boat cruise first because of the time constraints since we did not know it only was available at 2 pm that day. He called for a free shuttle for us and he told us if we ran out of time and did not get to do the Hop on Hop off Trolley tour that day to come back and see Joey who would take care of us. I felt so welcomed and Larry was so kind and sincere- the best customer service ever!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Mary Kay C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

River tour fascinating. Hop-on Hop-off tour group was professional, helpful and guide was knowledgeable. Viator booked us for a river cruise on a day they weren't running - so we had to do lots of re-negotiating travel stay, etc. but the company was very good.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Lys B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed the insight that the Trolley driver had into the city. We could have just driven around ourselves but we would have missed out on all the tidbits that we learned. The River Cruise was also insightful. Please do not expect to be touring the canals in Venice but the Savannah River history from the Boat Captain's perspective was an added benefit.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Barbara K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great! Trolley tour very informative, great driver, and Savannah was so beautiful!! Really enjoyed stop at the Catholic cathedral, gorgeous. We also thoroughly enjoyed the ferry ride, very informative. The whole experience was great!!!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Victoria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The "Hop on Hop off" experience was superb. It was run differently than traditional tours of this type. Instead of waiting for a bus to come by, we called and they came to pick us up. There was little wait for the pick up and they took us right to our destination, with only a few stops when other passengers were there. It was like having a private driver!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Sheila R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We really enjoyed both the Trolley and River Cruise and found it very informative and loaded with local and historic information. We will use the Hop on and Off Trolleys in other cities that we visit in the future.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the start of the tour. Very helpful info given there. From there we boarded our trolley for a 1-1/2 hour tour of the city. Very knowledgeable guide and great tour. We then went to get our tickets for the river cruise which was great. Captain was great and trip was very interesting. When we were ready to go back to our hotel all we had to do was make a phone call and we were picked up and taken back. Everyone very professional, helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Lynne S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Trolley was great - driver had many interesting details to add about most of the sites

I thought the Cruise would be more scenic rather than industrial sites but it was still good.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Trey C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Gracious hosts. River tour was fascinating but had to hear the captain.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Katherine L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

the lady that did the hop on hop off was very funny and entertaining and we enjoyed the history and scenery very much. the river cruise was rather dry and not much for scenery.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Tedi W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Nice overview of Savannah history and culture. A good way to get the "overall" tour. The river cruise was very enjoyable and informative. A nice combination.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Louis T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

cool was great. We had to skip the river cruise because we had other plans.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Francine Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The river is not particularly scenic but the commentary was interesting and it was a relaxing way to spend a couple of hours.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Catherine K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The 'land' portion which was a tour of Savannah was great. The driver was knowledgeable, funny, and entertaining overall. The 'sea' portion was a short trip up and down the Savannah River. I was a little disappointed that it wasn't a little further down river to the ocean, but the captain did explain at length the huge shipping industry in Savannah.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Patti B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Nice river tour. Lots of information. The captain was good.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Christine O United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Trolley tour through Savannah was about an hour and gave good information. Riverboat was unable to depart dock, so no comment on that portion of tour.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Bonnie R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The trolly tour was really great, although the seats are pretty uncomfortable..it was packed and we had to share seats. Our tour guide Micki was very knowledgable and easy to understand and she really could wheel that big trolly around easily. The RiverCruise was pretty lame and somewhat disappointing, but it was such a beautiful day, we didn't much care. The hop on hop off part was not very convenient and the designated stops were difficult to find. Signs only faced one way and if you were walking the opposite direction it was easy to pass them by.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Pam R

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Not enough information as to where and when
GUIDE was good once the trip started...knowledgeable
Traveling around Savannah was not as easy as stated by guides
Boat trip was one star...poor sound system....minimal information related to boat and river....

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Patricia N

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

riverboat cruise was a waste of time--very short travel distance

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Dianne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Our driver was a bit crabby and short with people.....he kept tapping on the window with his microphone, which was annoying-----he many times told us info before we were to the spot or after we were by and we didn't know where to look to find what he was talking about-

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message