Where South Carolina and Georgia meet, you can find the low and lazy Savannah River. The river is part of the charm and fabric of old Savannah and one of the best ways to explore the city’s lush countryside is by taking a Savannah Riverboat Cruise.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trolley trip was great. After the 90 minute trolley tour, you can use the shuttle service to take you to various sites. We really liked the river cruise. The narrator was very knowledgeable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Judith J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Chris Roberts was our bus tour guide and he was great. He provided an educational and fun tour of the city. The river cruise was good as well and very informative.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Eileen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very informative tour and everyone was very friendly and helpful. We were able to see all the sights and then walk back to some of them from our hotel later. We would definitely recommend this tour. The trolley even picked us up at our hotel. We stayed at the River Street Inn.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Kathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a perfect day we had. Toured the Historic area by bus, then took the river cruise. Weather was perfect, 74 deg. Everyone on the boat was very nice. Trip was interesting and longer than I thought it would be. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Ellen C J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed both the trolley your and the river tour. Thank you!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We choose the two day hop on hop off plus 1 hour River Cruise. The first thing we did was the full 1 1/2 hour narrated trolley tour. Very informative. One nice things was that the trolley was willing to leave us off at sites not listed as stops. this might have been because it was raining like crazy and there were not a lot of other guests. At any rate that service was greatly appreciated. All trolley operators were knowledgeable and pleasant. The one hour river cruise is well worth the time. Savannah is a huge seaport one of the biggest in the US. This tour explains a lot about the port and shipping.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

mabernas89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Booked the 2 day hop on-hop off tour with river boat cruise. Great way to see everything and learn the history of Savannah!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

warren l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour company picked us up and dropped us off at our condo, the first and second day! It was a very informative trolley tour. The River Cruise was very interesting and informative about the harbor, the river, the city and their inter-twinned workings.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Both of these tours were wonderful! The River Cruise captain was very knowledgeable and fun to listen to while crusing. The bus tour guide was Max and he was great because he knew all the history and some good stories too. I cannot say enough good things about Oglethorpe. Larry greeted us and was the sweetest guy. He gave us really good information about making sure we took the River Boat cruise first because of the time constraints since we did not know it only was available at 2 pm that day. He called for a free shuttle for us and he told us if we ran out of time and did not get to do the Hop on Hop off Trolley tour that day to come back and see Joey who would take care of us. I felt so welcomed and Larry was so kind and sincere- the best customer service ever!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Mary Kay C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

River tour fascinating. Hop-on Hop-off tour group was professional, helpful and guide was knowledgeable. Viator booked us for a river cruise on a day they weren't running - so we had to do lots of re-negotiating travel stay, etc. but the company was very good.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Lys B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed the insight that the Trolley driver had into the city. We could have just driven around ourselves but we would have missed out on all the tidbits that we learned. The River Cruise was also insightful. Please do not expect to be touring the canals in Venice but the Savannah River history from the Boat Captain's perspective was an added benefit.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Barbara K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great! Trolley tour very informative, great driver, and Savannah was so beautiful!! Really enjoyed stop at the Catholic cathedral, gorgeous. We also thoroughly enjoyed the ferry ride, very informative. The whole experience was great!!!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Victoria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The "Hop on Hop off" experience was superb. It was run differently than traditional tours of this type. Instead of waiting for a bus to come by, we called and they came to pick us up. There was little wait for the pick up and they took us right to our destination, with only a few stops when other passengers were there. It was like having a private driver!

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Sheila R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We really enjoyed both the Trolley and River Cruise and found it very informative and loaded with local and historic information. We will use the Hop on and Off Trolleys in other cities that we visit in the future.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the start of the tour. Very helpful info given there. From there we boarded our trolley for a 1-1/2 hour tour of the city. Very knowledgeable guide and great tour. We then went to get our tickets for the river cruise which was great. Captain was great and trip was very interesting. When we were ready to go back to our hotel all we had to do was make a phone call and we were picked up and taken back. Everyone very professional, helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

vpilabman

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We enjoyed the river cruise, it gave us lots of info. and history, but the ride was not very long.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Lynne S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Trolley was great - driver had many interesting details to add about most of the sites

I thought the Cruise would be more scenic rather than industrial sites but it was still good.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Trey C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Gracious hosts. River tour was fascinating but had to hear the captain.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Katherine L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

the lady that did the hop on hop off was very funny and entertaining and we enjoyed the history and scenery very much. the river cruise was rather dry and not much for scenery.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Tedi W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Nice overview of Savannah history and culture. A good way to get the "overall" tour. The river cruise was very enjoyable and informative. A nice combination.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Louis T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

cool was great. We had to skip the river cruise because we had other plans.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Francine Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The river is not particularly scenic but the commentary was interesting and it was a relaxing way to spend a couple of hours.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Catherine K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The 'land' portion which was a tour of Savannah was great. The driver was knowledgeable, funny, and entertaining overall. The 'sea' portion was a short trip up and down the Savannah River. I was a little disappointed that it wasn't a little further down river to the ocean, but the captain did explain at length the huge shipping industry in Savannah.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Debra B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Tour operator staff very nice and helpful. Extreme cold weather dampened quality of experience. Could not see very well through the plastic curtains draped around the tour trolley. The plastic curtains are scratched and I often could not see the building being described in the tour. River cruise was nice. Boat was clean and tour commentary interesting but it was too cold to go out on the deck.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Patti B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Nice river tour. Lots of information. The captain was good.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message