Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 237 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had an amazing time on this trip - the scenery as we drove is jaw dropping and Loch Ness is truly magnificent. It is a big day of travelling, but well worth it. Our tour guide Jonathan was hilarious and very knowledgeable. Make sure to take the optional boat at Loch Ness if the weather permits.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We had horrible weather but Chris our driver managed to find beautiful spots for us to stop along the way. Loch Ness was a let down, just another lake....but at least you can say you have been there.
This really was about the drive there and back and the scenery! Beautiful

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The trip was unfortunately not at all what I expected. However, most of this was not the fault of the company. We never made it to Loch Ness because of a landslide that blocked a major highway. It kind of sucked that there was no alternate route to take, but I understand that in order to make it back to Edinburgh on time we had no other choice. The weather was also terrible (again out of the control of the company), but that made all of the stops a bit unpleasant. I wish we could be reimbursed in some way because of the natural disaster that prevented us from actually going to Loch Ness, which was in my opinion, the main attraction.
On the plus side, Ali (Alistair), our driver and tour guide , was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I think he did a good job at keeping our spirits lifted and he made a great effort to communicate and entertain despite some language barriers since our group was very diverse. However, he might want to lighten up on the casual sexist jokes. I know he wasn't ever being entirely serious in his remarks, but still I felt a little uncomfortable even as a cisgender male.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an absolutely fantastic day even though it was raining. The driver Tony was a wealth of information and always had something going on, either talking or music, to pas the time away as it was a 12 hour tour. When we arrived at Loch Ness the sun came out for the 2 hours we were there so that we were able to explore the area. For anyone interested in seeing locks operate in a canal system it is a great place to see it operating. The scenery was wonderful. Thank you Tony for a memorable day!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was our first trip to Scotland. I chose the trip to the Scottish Highlands and a very glad that I did. At least once in my life I wanted to see Loch Ness and was surprised and happy that a boat ride on the Loch was part of the tour. While we never saw "Nessie" we did see wonderful scenery and learned a lot about the Jacobite uprising and the tragedy of Glen Coe. My husband and I have a passion for history so having an opportunity to expand our knowledge of British history made it more interesting to us. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the area pointing out many things we would certainly have missed had we been on our own.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I have never been on a tour before and wanted to see more of Scotland in the two days we were there.
The tour was 12 hours, so I was a bit worried about the length of time, but it went so fast that before you knew it you are back in Edinburgh again.
Our tour guide was Johnathan and he was absolutely amazing. If he didn't have us in laughter he was filling us with amazing facts and history about the area's we were driving through or stopping at. He went out of his way to make all of us happy.
I also think with it being a small-group tour it was more personal. The tour van was so comfortable and you got to interact with everyone.
We had clear blue skies the whole trip, so got to see amazing sights of the Highlands /Glencoe and of course Loch Ness. We did the boat trip and really enjoyed that.
I honestly hope that all tours around the UK are just like this because it makes the trip so enjoyable that you want to do them again and again.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and great tour guide, Cameron! A full day of sightseeing galore! The Scottish Highlands are breathtaking; the boat ride on Loch Ness was so enjoyable with scenery that looked like a post card.
Cameron was able to provide very interesting details and history about Glen Coe and the MacDonald and Campbell clans.... and how a little of their 'feud' still continues on today. We especially enjoyed all the information about William Wallace and the 'insider extra' details that "Braveheart" left out! So glad we took this tour!

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Scotland wasn't having a good weather day for our tour, in the end due to a landslide our tour was cancelled. However the friendly staff went out of their way to get us on another one (was our last day and couldn't reschedule on another day).
Our tour guide Murray was awesome, friendly and very informative and while we missed Loch Ness what we did see was fabulous and we loved it all. Would highly recommend the company and it's guides.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I was not too impressed with the boat ride on Loch Ness. However, the tour guide was incredible and gave us so much history and information about Scotland. (Thus the 5 star rating.) The highlands are beautiful.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very long day but a very good day. Loch Ness cruise was thoroughly enjoyable, Glen Coe was amazing and the driver/guide Kenny was outstanding and informative

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wow, wow, wow. We have seen the Rockies and the New Zealand mountains, but these are something special. We had very nice weather, and actually got to see the top of Ben Nevis. The atmosphere of these mountains is definitely unique, with Glencoe being the absolute highlight. Daniel was a tremendous driver and host. I sat in the seat right by the driver, so when he was off the micropohone we were able to chat about everything - local music (check out Paolo Nutini if you like blue-eyed soul - our first stop after the trip was to HMV), the referendum, history. This guy is amazingly knowledgeable - he even recommended a pizza restaurant a few minutes from the last stop of the tour. It is a long day, with many restroom stops along the way. A few stops were probably unnecessary, and unfortunately, we reached Pitlochry when the shops were closed - too bad because Pitlochry is known for its woolens and knits and the shopwindows had us drooling. The Loch Ness boat trip is nothing special, but it is optional and a walk through the town can be chosen. Unfortunately, there is not a lot there. If it is possible, I would recommend that the tour company skip this stop and continue up to Inverness. But, that would make for a lot of driving, and it is already about 300 miles on the road. The small coach, 16 people max, is great. On such a long trip, you get the chance to meet people from other cultures, and this is a real plus. It also makes getting people on/off at the various stops a lot more efficient. This tour was a definite highlight, and once again, full marks to Daniel for his knowledge, good humour, and great choice of music.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Expect to spend quite a bit of time riding in the van, but you won't be disappointed by the views and the tour guide was just Awesome! We made several stops in very picturesque areas and there were plenty of bathroom breaks. When we arrived in Loch Ness we had enough time to take the Loch Ness cruise and see the highland cows. The Loch Ness Cruise was a fun excursion to break up the day. For the price, this day trip was an absolutely perfect way to get out of Edinburgh for the day and see absolutely stunning Scottish Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip offered some truly beautiful sights all the way across the Highlands. With the right weather you can get some pretty impressive panoramic shots of the moors and Glencoe. At Fort Augustus on Loch Ness it's well worth taking the optional boat trip onto the Loch for some more great photo opportunities. The tour guide/driver was really informative, funny and we even got a few songs!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Olivia H.
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was amazing from start to finish! I loved all the different stops we made through the countryside; each was beautiful and steeped in history and culture. Our guide was James, and he did a fantastic job. I'd taken five different trips through Viator, and James' commentary and narration was the best. The size of the group was great, too - I think it allowed us to do and see more.

I took the optional tour on Loch Ness and am glad I did, but a word to the wise: dress warmly!

This trip was absolutely worth every penny, and I couldn't recommend it more!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Expect to spend quite a bit of time riding in the van but with the right tour driver you don't notice and we did, Mac was just Awesome and the views! We made several stops in very picturesque areas and there were plenty of bathroom breaks. When we arrived in Loch Ness we had enough time to take the Loch Ness cruise.This day trip was an absolutely perfect way to get out of Edinburgh for the day and see absolutely stunning Scottish Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message