Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 290 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands was awesome! The natural beauty of the Scottish countryside was amazing. The visit in Glen Coe was charming and gave us a chance to shop in a smaller village. The boat ride on Loch Ness was also quite a treat! Bus driver Dave was quite a character and made the trip even more enjoyable with his fun facts and entertaining dialogue. I highly recommend this trip for anyone who wants a sample of the raw beauty of Scotland!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mitchell D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fabulous tour! Driver/guide Shane was engaging, entertaining, and spun great stories that continued to delight at even the dullest parts of the drive. We enjoyed every bit of our trip. Loch ness should not be missed!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

jcqthompson1 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip with a very good driver/guide Richard who gave us a great understanding of Scotland and its history. The Highlands beautiful and breath taking. Recommended this trip and the boat trip at Loch Ness too.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a long day, 8am-8pm, but well worth it. The buses were comfortable and our guide, Mike, made it fun sharing personal stories, history, and myths. The scenery was breathtaking and Nessie even made an appearance at Loch Ness .

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Joan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Even though the day was mostly driving, this was still my favorite part of my trip to Edinburgh because the Highlands were so beautiful, and the boat cruise around Loch Ness made it all worth it. There is just so much beauty in the landscapes that it's overwhelming. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cale R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mac is awesome!
A great tour guide and a great personality.
Very knowledgeable and I highly recommend this tour if you want to see the highlands and experience Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Edward C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Awesome day out to see the highlands in the distance Loch Ness and the beautiful fresh air a day to remember. The guide was well versed and a very entertaining chap. Would recommend Viator to all my friends.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved this tour! Despite the early start and long day, it was an enjoyable experience. Audrey, our tour guide, was excellent and stopped at several scenic spots en route to Loch Ness where we captured some incredible photos. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stephan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Matt was a great guide and a good storyteller. This and the stops on the way to Loch Ness made the tour very enjoyable. The tour operator was very professional and the small groups and great guides provide a wonderfull experience.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

M M M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Tour bus was very comfortable, scenery amazing and the Loch Ness boat trip optional extra was excellent. The day was spoilt by the driver / guide Ally who talked incessantly and sometimes confusingly, often about irrelevant things, whilst failing to point out or talk about points of interest we were passing.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Christopher B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The drive was just too long. Unfortunately the weather let us down. It rained a lot and was overcast all day so we couldn't see a lot of the sights that we passed along the way Stirling Castle, Ben Nevis, etc.. Loch Ness itself was't very exciting so it was a very long day for that. I probably would not recommend people doing just a day trip from Edinburgh.
I think the tour would have been better if the boat ride and lunch were included in the price so that the group did everything together however I don't think there was enough time to do the boat ride AND have a nice lunch at a pub. The tour would need to leave earlier or get back later which I don't think they're allowed to do.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Nadezhda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day in the Highlands! We were also so lucky with the weather! Time spent on the boat trip along Loch Ness and also the time at Glen Coe made me wish I go back hiking there. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Amy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This day trip to Loch Ness was wonderful. It's a long day, but we didn't mind sitting on the bus for long stretches because of all the gorgeous scenery. Our guide, Nick, was great. It was a bit strange that the guide was also the driver - he often had to stop mid-sentence to concentrate on the road, etc. Plus, he couldn't engage with the group as well as if he hadn't been driving. But he still did a great job of giving us lots of information about our surroundings and the history of Scotland. The Loch Ness cruise is an extra expense, but I would highly recommend purchasing it - otherwise you're going to have to amuse yourself in the tiny village by the loch for an hour. The cruise is definitely worth the extra cost.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Heather R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The journey up through the highlands was amazing so much so that Loch Ness was a little anticlimactic!. Great trip! Left from a very central, easy to find location. Would recommend it.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great day! If you are in Edinburgh and have limited time this tour is a good way to get out into the highlands and see the spectacular Scottish country. The guide was knowledgeable, friendly, and did a great job of ensuring we knew what we were seeing. He also did a good job with stopping for photos along the way. The boat ride at Loch Ness was good as well.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Wendy V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I really doubted that I could get a decent feel for the highlands in just one day, but this tour showed me otherwise. I expected Loch Ness to be tacky and touristy, but it wasn't at alI. I loved this tour. It made me really want to return for a longer trip.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

April S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed this tour. Our guide was Ally. He was knowledgeable of the areas we drove through as well as recommending places to eat for lunch in Loch Ness. We made several stops on the side of the road so he could point out items - like the hairy cows. The scenery was beautiful. He talked most of the way about the area and had a map to point to to show where he was talking about. He even offered to take photos with you and the scenery and then left a surprise selfie on the camera! This was a fun tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Andrew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was really a fantastic tour! It is a long day as it really does start at 8:30 and goes until 7:30 but it is really worth it. The Scottish Highlands are perhaps the most beautiful country I have ever seen. Actually being in Loch Lomond and Loch Ness and learning about the history was fascinating. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and did a wonderful job of breaking up the drive and making those times on the bus educational and informative. This is truly a great way to see the Scottish countryside and learn more about Scotland!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Heather E Lynch H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I took this tour on June 30, 2015 and it was GREAT! James, our driver/guide was awesome! Very knowledgeable and accommodating. We saw so much during the course of the day including Loch Lomand, highland cows, a couple cute towns that we stopped in, Urqart Castle from the cruise boat on Loch Ness, Sterling Castle from the bus, and of course the absolutely stunning scenery of the Scottish Highlands. Im so glad I took this tour and wouldnt hesitate to take another similar tour from this company booked through Viator.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Cathrin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely fantastic tour. Eric, our guide was wonderful-full of information and has a wonderful singing voice. Beautiful scenery and Loch Ness was great. Would highly recommend the boat trip over Loch Ness-it is extra but very inexpensive and well worth it. Boat trip is a full hour on the Loch

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Maureen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I loved that this was a small group. I brought 12 people so we got our own bus plus 2 people that joined us. The Highlands were amazing, breathtaking. Loch Ness was a typical tourist trap, probably won't go there again. To be honest, I don't remember Glencoe. What made our trip truly wonderful was our guide, Ally. There were a few teachers on the bus and we all commented on how he would give us history and then later go back and quiz or make reference to what he had told us before. We definitely learned the most about Scotland because of him. Ally was friendly and animated, which made the trip very enjoyable. If I book through the local tour company again, I will request Ally!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Anne K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was pleasant and informative. I took the tour to see scenery and this is primarily what it was focused on. I didn't care about seeing Loch Ness in particular, just wanted to see a loch. The guide played appropriate music at various stages of the journey, which enhanced the history and culture.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Yuliy S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good tour and commentary. We had a great tour guide and the highlands are beautiful. The only thing is we would've liked more stops along the way. I understand that Loch Ness is far away but most of the ride was in the bus and it gets tiring after 12 hours.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kay W USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This was a long day! We traveled over 300 miles, up and around the northern part of Scotland. It was a lot of driving, and when we did stop to see the sights I felt very rushed. There is very little you can do in 10 minutes. The scenery was beautiful, lots of sheep, but Loch Ness was a bit disappointing. It was a giant lake, no monster, only bus loads of tourists.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sharon V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much beauty on this tour! Raw, wild and at times, unexpected. The folks at the tour company really know how to do this right! With many folks wanting to do this day tour, the small groups is absolutely the way to go!
Our guide was Johnathan. As soon as he realized there were 5 vans booked to do the same tour, he immediately asked us if he could switch the itinerary around so that we wouldn't have to contend with the crowds. We agreed and it was a wise decision. Johnathan kept up a steady stream of banter full of facts, stories, jokes and added a nice touch with musical interludes he selected to help us absorb the atmosphere of the sights and places we visited. He was also sensitive to when our group was tired and fell to napping in which case he would play soothing music and kept his comments to a minimum. Very professional, knowledgeable and a lot of fun! Thanks Johnathan and local tour copmany! Oh, and the coffee and pastries at the coffee shop where the tour starts are also v good so grab some while waiting to board your van!
At Loch Ness, though we had no Nessie sightings, my husband and I struck up a conversation with a man who turned out to be William Jobes, who has been visiting the loch for 49 years and has seen what he claims to be Nessie and published some photos he captured of the elusive creature. He shared stories of his personal experiences and even gave us each a laminated copy of his published photos. That was a unique, unexpected and enjoyable turn of events!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message