Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 256 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic trip, guides jonathan and grant were very knowledgable and funny, stunning scenery and photo opps, also opp to cruise loch ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Jimmy the guide is a fantastic personality. He's very friendly, funny, and so informative that you never get bored while listening to him talk and describe the sights you get to see.

Loch ness is charming and sceneries along the way to the destination are indescribable.

So much recommended to anyone visiting Edinburgh

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was amazing! Great way to see the countryside, our tour guide was extremely informative. The Loch Ness boat tour was good as well. There were several photo opps along the way that we were able to squeeze into the ride. We had a great group. Recommend this for sure!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the Loch Ness Trip yesterday, though I had an allergy attack and wasn't able to appreciate the day the way I would have liked to. Douglas did a superb job narrating the tour, sharing historical events, pointing out the geographical interests, and driving the bus. He was also sensitive to his passengers' desires and needs.
Dr. William S.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour gave a great view of the variety of Scotland, from Edinburgh city views to the scarcely populated highlands. Along the journey, Sandy, our driver/tour guide also provided a spectacular summary of Scottish history, including both facts and legends. He was also most willing to follow up in conversations started by the passengers, and to answer whatever questions were provided along the way.

The 12-hour drive was a long one, but split into convenient intervals. Also the bus was comfortable, as advertised, which made it possible to enjoy the whole journey. The optional Loch Ness boat trip was very nice as well, even though seating on the boat was a bit crowded somewhat due to weather passengers mostly preferred the indoors seating, and only briefly visited the sun deck.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loch Ness Tour was excellent and total value for money. Did boating and soaked up all the beauty on the way both ways.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a nice tour, getting away in the early morning. All kinds of weather treated us good and we saw the highlands i mist, snow and sun :- during the trip. The guide was extraordinary and told us a lot of facts from the scottish history. I highly recommend this trip to Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elizabeth S
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It makes for a long day, but the highlands are beautiful and it was very fun going out on the optional boat road around Loch Ness. Our tour guide, George, was great and very informative. Definitely worth doing if you are wanting to get out of the city and explore some of the countryside.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I went on the Loch Ness, Glencoe and Highland small-group tour with Rabbies, with Steven as our driver/guide. We had certain expectations of what we would see at Loch Ness like tourist kitsch, mock-ups of Nessie. etc. and we were frankly a bit disappointed with what we saw at Fort Augustus...aside from some signs, you wouldn't even know you are along Loch Ness. The drive itself was quite scenic and our guide was very informative and passionate about Scotland giving detailed accounts of Scottish history with tidbits of interesting information, as well as personal perspectives...but the tour and the drive didn't make for spectacular pictures that would preserve it in our memories. Frankly, it was a bit of a let down. The stops at Callander, Spean Bridge, Pitlochry, Glencoe, a military monument in the middle of nowhere were all just OK...again, not really providing that snapshot that would sear this experience in our minds like a branding iron onto a reluctant Aberdeen cattle.
All in all, a decent tour, especially with the small group dynamics allowing us to interact with our guide and other tourists more effectively...but it fell somewhat short of our possibly lofty expectations.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful scenery at Glen Coe and Loch Ness. It made a long trip worthwhile . The 2 small stops were poor as they were too small and too short. Overall rating 4 star

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A good experience. Our driver Ewan was very entertaining. I would have traded the hour cruise of Loch Ness for arriving in Pitlochery an hour earlier since most shops are closed by the time the tour arrives. If you have ever been on a boat ride the Loch cruise isn't worth it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful day trip up thru the Highlands to Loch Ness. Taking this tour in the long days of summer is advised. It was sunny when we departed at 8:00am and was still sunny when we returned about 8:00pm allowing us to see the country. The story telling talents of our guide George was greatly appreciated. He was warm and funny. A genuine people person. I wish I could be guaranteed guides like George on all my tours. It truly makes a difference.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Great view during drive and sights at stops/locations, knowledgeable and pleasant driver/ tour guide one person did both however almost every trip we took had great sights to see while driving and locations but for length of time to get to Loch Ness and time allotted didn't seem worth it, mostly because a. time actually there, b. took boat ride and was over-crowded forcing over a dozen of people on top uncovered with it rainy and cold seats soaked, had to dry with my bottom so wife could sit, even the staff would rush to get inside cabin because how cold it was up top with the moisture and wind. After 5-10 minutes gave up and crowded downstairs in hallway by bathrooms to get warm and still couldn't hear or see any of the presentations and minimum out windows between others doing the same thing and juggling around people going in/out the bathrooms. Add injury to insult the second boat used from same line of passengers waiting appeared to only be half full, simply splitting the crowd would've solved the problem or at least limit amount of people when that miserable which seems to be near the norm more often than not being as it was June. No real time allotted to eat either if planning on riding boat, it was suggested if riding boat to buy food and take with us onboard to have time, people with hot food was told couldn't go downstairs, only up top, too nasty to eat anything up top, no room to eat downstairs.

Vans used are very nice, clean and modern, however if you're not a small or skinny person the width of the seats are very uncomfortable if sitting next to someone more narrow than aircraft seats when you fly if that gives you a hint can't even fasten seat belt without leaning sideways to latch, I'm not small but far from huge 6' average build for that height in my 50's, same for my wife and son, the larger buses I've ridden in most tours before weren't as narrow and at least allowed the aisle seat to slide out for more room, these don't.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

A very long day with only a few quick stops. Unless you did the boat ride at Loch Ness there was not much to see and if you did the boat ride you barely had time to grab a bite to eat. The driver was nice and informative. Glencoe if it hadn't been such a wet, rainy day must be beautiful

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My fiance and I took this tour on February 17th with Dan, who was just the nicest guy. Scott and I (this is Lauren writing the review!) both enjoyed our time immensely. We felt that the tour's highlights were fascinating and well-timed, that the history was rich and interesting, and that the overall experience was very pleasant, despite the cold (we're from California). 12+ hours is a long time to sit on a bus, but it's worth it to see every loch and hill - even the optional Loch Ness cruise. The sights are breathtaking. It is evident that magic forever resides within Scotland. Dan was so personable - we wish him the best of luck on his adventures in the States! Have fun in Las Vegas, LA, and Napa! :) We had an absolutely lovely time!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This was a bit more of a whirlwind trip than I expected. The stops along the way were pretty much just bathroom stops and one photo shoot moment. I felt as though the guide was bored and frustrated by having a less enthusiastic group, which made it a bit of a disappointment for those who were interested in the information he was giving out. We didn't spend that much time around Loch Ness and pretty much had time to see Loch Ness and eat and head back out. For those who want to take a day trip to Loch Ness just to say they've been to Loch Ness this would be great but if you want a little bit more I would suggest taking another tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Mac was an excellent guide!! Through Glencoe the history was amazing and extremely interesting and the Loch Ness boat tour was well worth it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was my dream to have a trip in the Highlands and finally we did it! It was a wonderful trip and the landscapes were breathtaking. I was worried about the weather but we were really lucky because it was optimal. This trip is perfect to see a lot in just one day. We travelled a lot but the trip in the van was well accompanied by our guide Mac that was very knowledge about Scottish history and his tales were always followed by Celtic music and popular songs. He also played the pipes for us! We made a lot of stops in wonderful locations to take pictures and have a break. We stopped in Loch Ness for one hour and if you want you can go on the boat on the lake. I will always remember this trip cause you made my dream come true! Thanks a lot!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Although the trip is for 12 hours, the scenery and villages, and loch stops, and historic information the bus driver shares are worth the pay. I hoped the weather was little better with no fog, as missed few castle on the road.
The minivan, service, and level of professionalism makes it worth while.
Few things could have done better is make the lunch stop longer to allow more time to enjoy the Loch Ness, and rest from the long trip. Also, it could have been better organized to offer us the Discount Card to use at local restaurants, shops and attractions - which is mentioned in the description but was not offered.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was essentially 12 hours of driving with a minimal amount of picture opportunities. Our guide, Dave, was informative and educational, however it was not the tour we expected at all. On top of that when we finally arrived at Loch Ness we weren't even able to tour the Loch because the boat had mechanical issues. I can't express how this completely wasted the entire trip. We had about 45 minutes for a very average lunch and not tour opportunity. I had waited a lifetime for this tour and it was wasted. Do not book this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had an amazing time on this trip - the scenery as we drove is jaw dropping and Loch Ness is truly magnificent. It is a big day of travelling, but well worth it. Our tour guide Jonathan was hilarious and very knowledgeable. Make sure to take the optional boat at Loch Ness if the weather permits.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We had horrible weather but Chris our driver managed to find beautiful spots for us to stop along the way. Loch Ness was a let down, just another lake....but at least you can say you have been there.
This really was about the drive there and back and the scenery! Beautiful

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The trip was unfortunately not at all what I expected. However, most of this was not the fault of the company. We never made it to Loch Ness because of a landslide that blocked a major highway. It kind of sucked that there was no alternate route to take, but I understand that in order to make it back to Edinburgh on time we had no other choice. The weather was also terrible (again out of the control of the company), but that made all of the stops a bit unpleasant. I wish we could be reimbursed in some way because of the natural disaster that prevented us from actually going to Loch Ness, which was in my opinion, the main attraction.
On the plus side, Ali (Alistair), our driver and tour guide , was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I think he did a good job at keeping our spirits lifted and he made a great effort to communicate and entertain despite some language barriers since our group was very diverse. However, he might want to lighten up on the casual sexist jokes. I know he wasn't ever being entirely serious in his remarks, but still I felt a little uncomfortable even as a cisgender male.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an absolutely fantastic day even though it was raining. The driver Tony was a wealth of information and always had something going on, either talking or music, to pas the time away as it was a 12 hour tour. When we arrived at Loch Ness the sun came out for the 2 hours we were there so that we were able to explore the area. For anyone interested in seeing locks operate in a canal system it is a great place to see it operating. The scenery was wonderful. Thank you Tony for a memorable day!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was our first trip to Scotland. I chose the trip to the Scottish Highlands and a very glad that I did. At least once in my life I wanted to see Loch Ness and was surprised and happy that a boat ride on the Loch was part of the tour. While we never saw "Nessie" we did see wonderful scenery and learned a lot about the Jacobite uprising and the tragedy of Glen Coe. My husband and I have a passion for history so having an opportunity to expand our knowledge of British history made it more interesting to us. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the area pointing out many things we would certainly have missed had we been on our own.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message