Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

A Y M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic!! It was worth it.. ! This day tour gave us the opportunity to see Loch Ness and Scotland highlands during my short trip to Edinburgh. Service was excellent too!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Colleen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day trip to Loch Ness and the Highlands. Franziska was an amazing tour guide and bus driver. She never let a dull moment happen. There were just enough stops to make the trip comfortable. The scenery was amazing along the way with Franziska giving us a history lesson along the way.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

JIYEON H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I normally do not take bus tours as we prefer to navigate new places ourselves. However, we only had a day to tour the Scottish Highlands and thought it was too much to tackle without a guide. So, it made sense for us to take the Rabbies bus tour via Viator. We liked that it was a small group and that it went through both national parks. Stopping by Loch Ness was an added bonus. Our tour guide, Jeff, was friendly and knowledgeable. He managed to weave in interesting stories that not only explained the sights but the history and culture of Scotland. We left with a better understanding and appreciation than if we had gone by ourselves. In addition, there were multiple rest stops, which made the 12-hour journey bearable. We couldn't have had a better tour and guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Janice F. W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Keith was AMAZING! So knowledgeable about the history of the entire area. He kept us going the whole time with facts, and funny quips as well. This was our first trip to the United Kingdom, and we were so pleased with the trip, the organization of it, and the breath taking scenes we saw. Unfortunately, due to a cycling event, we were a few minutes late and missed the optional Loch Ness cruise. : Everything else was above what we expected for a tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Andreia Regis V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic!!! I recommend everybody the trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands. The guide, Liz, was great. Some friends of mine took part in another trip and regretted: they visited just the loss and I visited small cities, the loss, the glencoe, we had several beautiful stops to use restrooms and/or take pictures!!! Loved it!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! Well worth the time spent on bus to see Loch Ness. Our driver guide was great, Jamie made the trip interesting and enjoyable. A must do!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Sharon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver/guide Alec helped make this tour fantastic! He was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic had good insights about the sites and also played a variety of Scottish music that really added to the experience. This tour is a nice way to take in an overview of the Highlands and also get to see Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Shannan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although the day was cloudy, the tour was excellent. Our tour guide, Stewart, was terrific and relayed many interesting historical facts about the places we visited. The landscape was without a doubt, the most beautiful I've ever seen. Between the mist coming off of the Highlands to the sheep grazing in the green pastures and the quaint cottages dotting the landscape, there was eye candy the entire trip. I also recommend The Bothy which was recommended to us by Stewart in Loch Ness where I had my first taste of steak pie with a puff pastry top. Delicious! I highly recommend this tour and Stewart as a tour guide. I'm ready to go back to Scotland now. :-

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Mustafa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was great. Just that we spent too much time at Loch Ness which is no where near as nice as Glencoe.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Dennia Q

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip was great in that I actually got a boat ride on Loch Ness. But it is a long ride up and back about 5 hours each way. Of course you do get to see a lot of the Scottish countryside and a few neat towns with interesting main streets. If I had seen Nessie then the trip would get a solid 5!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Erin L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely incredible. It can feel a little long at the end of the day but you get to see some beautiful scenery. They do make it awkward with the Loch Ness tour cruise. You either pay the extra fifteen dollars or just sit around this town for an hour while the rest of the tour goes. I really enjoyed the cruise however so I would say it was worth it. My tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and the Highlands were definitely worth it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Erin R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The bus ride was very long with little stops. If you don't do the cruise, which I did not, you have free time but there is not much to do in town except walk to Loch Ness. The driver was knowledgeable and entertaining but the bus was extremely uncomfortable. The air conditioning was not working and the bus for 5 hours was over 100 degrees! Was unbearable.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Dewi N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It is a trip to Loch Ness and a few stops on the way there, and a few stops on the way back to Edinburgh. The stops were scenic and good for photo taking. It is rushed, but I think that is the best any operator can do with a day trip to cover that many miles.
Kenny was the tour guide. Strict and stern with regards to punctuality. He has a unique sense of humor, which luckily I can totally relate. This also means the tour group were on time at every stops, and allowed us to squeeze in more stops for photos.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Debra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great tour!!! Fran, our tour guide was fantastic. Her animated storytelling brought the history of the region to life. Many opportunities for photos. Van was very comfortable. An enjoyable day seeing the Scotland lowlands, moors, highlands, and Loch Ness Lake.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

No better way to see the Scottish Highlands! I was really looking forward to seeing Loch Ness in particular, but I think I liked Glencoe better! Both were beautiful. Great day trip with perfect allotment of time for activities and stops. The light lunch was a plus, too.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Whitney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best way to see the Highlands with limited time in Scotland! I wish we could have done the Loch Ness boat tour price savings was a great deal, but there wasn't enough time to eat, explore the town, and do the boat. If the tour had offered lunch that might have helped. Our driver, Catty, was terrific. Super sweet woman. She got a few facts incorrect, but we knew the right information based on our trip to London a few days before.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Maxime L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Went for the Loch Ness, fell in love with the Highlands. Our driver Eric was a gentleman with tons of knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a long trip to see most of the highlands and Loch Ness among many beautiful Lochs that make up the highlands. Johnathan our guide was wonderful and so very knowledgeable as well as very entertaining. He is an avid photographer himself and will give great pointers as well as knowing the best places to stop for amazing vistas. I highly recommend this tour to any one that wants to get a view of Scotland in a day.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Melanie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was our longest tour, but it was worth it! It and #39;s been an astonishing landscape and we did many foto stops. Instead of doing the Loch Ness boat tour we had delish lunch at the Boathouse Restaurant with an amazing view of Loch Ness. Our driver Douglas was great and told us much about the Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lynn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic! I loved every minute of it. Our tour guide was informative and enthusiastic and gave us choices on where to go. The scenery was beautiful and I loved stopping to enjoy the countryside or have lunch near Loch Ness. I recommend the Lock Inn. We had great sandwiches by a fireplace. My sister and I are Outlander fans and we got to go see some standing stones and Culloden. The whole trip was a blast with great memories to treasure!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

yasmin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I loved this tour. It was from a local tour operator. Pick up location is so good just across from the bridge. Since its a van only 16 people can come and you get much personal touch. All the high points were covered and I felt enough time was given. Bed and breakfast offered to me was also very nice. Driver Mike was just fantastic. So hilarious and patient. I just felt put of the world in Scotland and his driving was so smooth that it was easy to lost in my thoughts while scenic drive. The only complaint I would have is there was too much time given in pitlochry for lunch. almost 1 and half and hour which could be shorten and more time should be given in other points such as glen coe. I would have loved a walk in glen coe valley. Also the point of cruise in Loch ness was bit plain and bland. I would have loved the cruise between Inverness city. That way I could have seen Inverness city but never mind. But I am still very happy and satisfied that I could so much of scotland in 2 days. Thanks Viator and local tour operator

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Luis F B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour to see Scottish Highlands and Loch Ness.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Marin V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Great experience! Ewan B. was awesome, provided great commentary on Scottish History. The length of the tour was just right, you have the opportunity to take a river boat cruise on Loch Ness which was worth the 12.5 pounds extra.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful trip in the Highlands and the Loch Ness with an awesome guide Grant who tries his best to make this journey memorable : !

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

PAULA N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide/driver Gail was so lovely and patient, telling all about Scotland life, tales and mythological histories, food, etc. It was an awesome trip and I would totally recomend it! The highlands and the famous Loch Ness are incredible places! I loved it!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message