Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Sharon V
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much beauty on this tour! Raw, wild and at times, unexpected. The folks at the tour company really know how to do this right! With many folks wanting to do this day tour, the small groups is absolutely the way to go!
Our guide was Johnathan. As soon as he realized there were 5 vans booked to do the same tour, he immediately asked us if he could switch the itinerary around so that we wouldn't have to contend with the crowds. We agreed and it was a wise decision. Johnathan kept up a steady stream of banter full of facts, stories, jokes and added a nice touch with musical interludes he selected to help us absorb the atmosphere of the sights and places we visited. He was also sensitive to when our group was tired and fell to napping in which case he would play soothing music and kept his comments to a minimum. Very professional, knowledgeable and a lot of fun! Thanks Johnathan and local tour copmany! Oh, and the coffee and pastries at the coffee shop where the tour starts are also v good so grab some while waiting to board your van!
At Loch Ness, though we had no Nessie sightings, my husband and I struck up a conversation with a man who turned out to be William Jobes, who has been visiting the loch for 49 years and has seen what he claims to be Nessie and published some photos he captured of the elusive creature. He shared stories of his personal experiences and even gave us each a laminated copy of his published photos. That was a unique, unexpected and enjoyable turn of events!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver-cum-guide, AARON, was OUTSTANDING!!! We went on the Highlands-Loch Ness day trip on June 15, and every minute on and off the bus was well spent, because of Aaron's stories, anecdotes, lessons on Scottish history, etc. We have travelled the world, and very rarely have we come across such a guide, who has left a mark. We still talk about this trip as one of the most remarkable in our lives - and a major factor was Aaron. I'm tempted to give out some of his stories to my students in Texas, and will continue to do so ...

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just perfect. Fantastic way to experience Loch Ness and its history. Urquhart Castle was amazing and you needed the hour there to see it.

Doing what: Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise and Visit to Urquhart Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think by far, this is the most popular and must-do tour when you're in Scotland. Our quest for a glimpse of Nessie was rather unsuccessful, but we were blessed with the beautiful views of the surrounding loch and the serenity of the Scottish Highlands. It was truly a magical experience. You have an option of doing a boat cruise on Loch Ness for 12 pounds per person, at the time of writing once you reach Fort Augustus. Though, the views of the loch are just as beautiful on shore. And time can be spent wisely at the cafes and gift shops if you opt not to do the cruise. Choices of sandwiches were included with the tour, but if you're up for something more, a scatter of restaurants are also conveniently available along the main street. Our amazing tour guide Chris at Highland Explorer Tours was very charismatic and gave delightful insight on the history and stories of the regions. He was very knowledgeable and funny, which kept the long journey moving along. I thought playing traditional Scottish music on the bus was a nice touch. There's something authentic about watching the passing scenery with the sound of bagpipes playing harmoniously in the background. I enjoyed the stop at The Trossachs Woollen Mill where we did a bit of shopping and got an up-close look at a highland cow. I had an excellent and memorable time even though, the only time I saw Nessie was in the gift shop. This is definitely a must-do tour!!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just an incredible experience! We travelled in early July, the scenery and the weather was perfect. If you want to see large rolling hills and mountains of green, then this is the tour for you! Glencoe was amazing. We also stopped at some other lochs since, Jonathan, our amazing tour guide and driver led us up to Loch Ness in a different direction so that we did not hit it when all of the other tour guides were present. Ate amazing fish and chips lunch at the boathouse. Did not take the boat ride so we had time for lunch and looking in a couple of shops. Jonathan was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. He made everyone feel right at home from the get go. We were also able to see a ruined castle which was not on the itinerary. Loved it. Thanks so much victor, Rabbies tour company and Jonathan for a great tour experience!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had beautiful weather for a cruise on Loch Ness. The boat provided great information on the history of the castle and the mystique of the Loch.

Doing what: Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise and Visit to Urquhart Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Lovely trip originally when booked it said a 16 seater air con mini bus it was a 42 seater coach air con not good on way back very hot and sticky. Due to the length of the journey there was not a lot of time to look at things especially Loch Ness as only had just over an hour and a half this is not the tour operators fault but would have loved to have spent a bit more time at Loch Ness . Was happy though it what I saw Scotland is a beautiful place thank you x

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely and knowledgeable tour guide named Doug. It was a very enjoyable day. I only wish we had had longer at each stop, particularly at Loch Ness and Pitlochry, although I understand having to fit as much as possible into one day. Overall it was a great experience and I learned a lot! Thanks!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Overall all it was a great trip!
The bus was comfy and the driver told great stories. I wish there was more to do in the highlands. All you do is stop on the side of the road and take pictures. I took the opportunity to run through the fields. Once you get to the Loch Ness you are own your own. I paid for a boat ride on the lake. It was about 20pounds.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic trip, guides jonathan and grant were very knowledgable and funny, stunning scenery and photo opps, also opp to cruise loch ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Jimmy the guide is a fantastic personality. He's very friendly, funny, and so informative that you never get bored while listening to him talk and describe the sights you get to see.

Loch ness is charming and sceneries along the way to the destination are indescribable.

So much recommended to anyone visiting Edinburgh

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was amazing! Great way to see the countryside, our tour guide was extremely informative. The Loch Ness boat tour was good as well. There were several photo opps along the way that we were able to squeeze into the ride. We had a great group. Recommend this for sure!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the Loch Ness Trip yesterday, though I had an allergy attack and wasn't able to appreciate the day the way I would have liked to. Douglas did a superb job narrating the tour, sharing historical events, pointing out the geographical interests, and driving the bus. He was also sensitive to his passengers' desires and needs.
Dr. William S.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour gave a great view of the variety of Scotland, from Edinburgh city views to the scarcely populated highlands. Along the journey, Sandy, our driver/tour guide also provided a spectacular summary of Scottish history, including both facts and legends. He was also most willing to follow up in conversations started by the passengers, and to answer whatever questions were provided along the way.

The 12-hour drive was a long one, but split into convenient intervals. Also the bus was comfortable, as advertised, which made it possible to enjoy the whole journey. The optional Loch Ness boat trip was very nice as well, even though seating on the boat was a bit crowded somewhat due to weather passengers mostly preferred the indoors seating, and only briefly visited the sun deck.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loch Ness Tour was excellent and total value for money. Did boating and soaked up all the beauty on the way both ways.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a nice tour, getting away in the early morning. All kinds of weather treated us good and we saw the highlands i mist, snow and sun :- during the trip. The guide was extraordinary and told us a lot of facts from the scottish history. I highly recommend this trip to Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elizabeth S
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It makes for a long day, but the highlands are beautiful and it was very fun going out on the optional boat road around Loch Ness. Our tour guide, George, was great and very informative. Definitely worth doing if you are wanting to get out of the city and explore some of the countryside.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I went on the Loch Ness, Glencoe and Highland small-group tour with Rabbies, with Steven as our driver/guide. We had certain expectations of what we would see at Loch Ness like tourist kitsch, mock-ups of Nessie. etc. and we were frankly a bit disappointed with what we saw at Fort Augustus...aside from some signs, you wouldn't even know you are along Loch Ness. The drive itself was quite scenic and our guide was very informative and passionate about Scotland giving detailed accounts of Scottish history with tidbits of interesting information, as well as personal perspectives...but the tour and the drive didn't make for spectacular pictures that would preserve it in our memories. Frankly, it was a bit of a let down. The stops at Callander, Spean Bridge, Pitlochry, Glencoe, a military monument in the middle of nowhere were all just OK...again, not really providing that snapshot that would sear this experience in our minds like a branding iron onto a reluctant Aberdeen cattle.
All in all, a decent tour, especially with the small group dynamics allowing us to interact with our guide and other tourists more effectively...but it fell somewhat short of our possibly lofty expectations.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful scenery at Glen Coe and Loch Ness. It made a long trip worthwhile . The 2 small stops were poor as they were too small and too short. Overall rating 4 star

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A good experience. Our driver Ewan was very entertaining. I would have traded the hour cruise of Loch Ness for arriving in Pitlochery an hour earlier since most shops are closed by the time the tour arrives. If you have ever been on a boat ride the Loch cruise isn't worth it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful day trip up thru the Highlands to Loch Ness. Taking this tour in the long days of summer is advised. It was sunny when we departed at 8:00am and was still sunny when we returned about 8:00pm allowing us to see the country. The story telling talents of our guide George was greatly appreciated. He was warm and funny. A genuine people person. I wish I could be guaranteed guides like George on all my tours. It truly makes a difference.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Great view during drive and sights at stops/locations, knowledgeable and pleasant driver/ tour guide one person did both however almost every trip we took had great sights to see while driving and locations but for length of time to get to Loch Ness and time allotted didn't seem worth it, mostly because a. time actually there, b. took boat ride and was over-crowded forcing over a dozen of people on top uncovered with it rainy and cold seats soaked, had to dry with my bottom so wife could sit, even the staff would rush to get inside cabin because how cold it was up top with the moisture and wind. After 5-10 minutes gave up and crowded downstairs in hallway by bathrooms to get warm and still couldn't hear or see any of the presentations and minimum out windows between others doing the same thing and juggling around people going in/out the bathrooms. Add injury to insult the second boat used from same line of passengers waiting appeared to only be half full, simply splitting the crowd would've solved the problem or at least limit amount of people when that miserable which seems to be near the norm more often than not being as it was June. No real time allotted to eat either if planning on riding boat, it was suggested if riding boat to buy food and take with us onboard to have time, people with hot food was told couldn't go downstairs, only up top, too nasty to eat anything up top, no room to eat downstairs.

Vans used are very nice, clean and modern, however if you're not a small or skinny person the width of the seats are very uncomfortable if sitting next to someone more narrow than aircraft seats when you fly if that gives you a hint can't even fasten seat belt without leaning sideways to latch, I'm not small but far from huge 6' average build for that height in my 50's, same for my wife and son, the larger buses I've ridden in most tours before weren't as narrow and at least allowed the aisle seat to slide out for more room, these don't.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

A very long day with only a few quick stops. Unless you did the boat ride at Loch Ness there was not much to see and if you did the boat ride you barely had time to grab a bite to eat. The driver was nice and informative. Glencoe if it hadn't been such a wet, rainy day must be beautiful

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My fiance and I took this tour on February 17th with Dan, who was just the nicest guy. Scott and I (this is Lauren writing the review!) both enjoyed our time immensely. We felt that the tour's highlights were fascinating and well-timed, that the history was rich and interesting, and that the overall experience was very pleasant, despite the cold (we're from California). 12+ hours is a long time to sit on a bus, but it's worth it to see every loch and hill - even the optional Loch Ness cruise. The sights are breathtaking. It is evident that magic forever resides within Scotland. Dan was so personable - we wish him the best of luck on his adventures in the States! Have fun in Las Vegas, LA, and Napa! :) We had an absolutely lovely time!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This was a bit more of a whirlwind trip than I expected. The stops along the way were pretty much just bathroom stops and one photo shoot moment. I felt as though the guide was bored and frustrated by having a less enthusiastic group, which made it a bit of a disappointment for those who were interested in the information he was giving out. We didn't spend that much time around Loch Ness and pretty much had time to see Loch Ness and eat and head back out. For those who want to take a day trip to Loch Ness just to say they've been to Loch Ness this would be great but if you want a little bit more I would suggest taking another tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message