Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 215 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took the optional boat ride on Loch Ness. The highlands was beautiful!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Kenny, was a great story teller. He was a stickler for keeping to the time schedule which allowed us to make a couple extra photo opportunity stops along the drive. The loch ness cruise was very nice, I get motion sickness pretty badly but had no problems on the cruise boat.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a nice tour.It was a nice experience to actually to take a boat ride on loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A long day but a good one, really is two days worth of tour in one day, but I still highly recommend this trip. Fascinating history stories, nice, knowledgeable guide and driver, and the Highlands of Scotland are indescribably beautiful. I also recommend taking the Loch Ness cruise (cost is extra) as it is beautiful as well.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My trip was excellent, as our guide, Al , was a Scottish treasure !!!! He is a wealth of information , gave us a brilliant oral " history of Scotland " in absolute detail as we travelled through the beautiful Scottish Highlands . He is a funny , joke-telling man , who never ceased to entertain the group. The "stops" were numerous along the way , and information on the best places to see , and buy food from , were spot-on!
Though it was a long day , with intermittent rain , he maintained his standard of interest right to the end !
I would highly recommend this trip, and if you do book it, ask for Al as your driver/guide .
I loved the visits to the chosen villages , the bleakness of the moutain ranges , and the mystery of Loch Ness.'

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Half an hour late departure from Edinburgh and hitting pick hour traffic threw the whole itinerary off track. We spent too much time on the bus and too little time at the stops trying to make up for lost time. We arrived in Loch Ness too late to take the lake cruise. Though, the magnificent scenery compensated for logistics fiasco.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Tour guide Martin was entertaining and knowledgeable. The highlands were breathtaking. It is a very long day, travelling over 500km. Martin stopped at little out of the way places that tours don't visit as well as the usual places. Plenty of opportunity for photos.
The Loch Ness tour operators were very informative and helped us get our photo of 'Nessie'.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, John, was excellent. He made a lot of driving enjoyable. We learned a lot about the highlands and enjoyed the Scottish music as we traveled to Loch Ness. I will definitely book with Viator again. Last year we went to Normandy with Viator and it was great also.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Audrey was wonderful. Her knowledge of local history was second to none.We heard all the gory details of William Wallace being hacked to pieces and bbq'd!! We also loved the story of the Stone of Destiny with little personal details thrown in. Not sure how much was true!As well as being an excellent driver and a thoroughly kind person, she also kept us entertained and well informed throughout the day. Nothing was too much trouble for her but look out if you disobey rules! She would make an outstanding teacher.the kids would love her to bits!
The trip was magnificent culminating in a boat trip on Loch Ness. I am sending the photo of Nessie to prove it!!
We found the Scots very friendly,warm and fun-loving. We had a wonderful time on both our trips.It couldn't have been any better!
Scenery is outstanding and Edinburgh is a beautiful city.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our tour guide, Steven, made the experience all the more enjoyable. Throughout the day he told stories that related to where we were going and what we passed as we drove. He told some very interesting stories about Robert "the Bruce" and Mary, Queen of Scots. He was very helpful as well, and would happily take pictures. For him alone I would give this tour 5 stars!

Loch Ness was gorgeous! I would recommend a visit there for everyone, and I also recommend paying the extra money to go on the cruise. It was glorious to see Loch Ness from the middle of the water!

We stopped in a few small towns that were very quaint, and they all had great cafés!

If you could only do one tour choose this one!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our tour guide, Scot, made it so much fun. (Seriously, he was amazing! Only 24 and making our lives educational, hilarious, and fun! And not bad to look at either) He narrated the majority of the time on the bus (which I was totally fine with because he had a great accent) and I learned so much Scottish history that I did not previously know. When he wasn't talking, he played some traditional Scottish music for us which made the experience even better. It was a fantastic introduction to Scottish culture and history.
You have to do the boat ride on Loch Ness. Also educational, but mostly just fun to be out on the water of Loch Ness. Who else can say they've done that? The town it's in is quite small, but they do try to hold tourists attention. So you would still be able to find something to do if you didn't take the boat tour.
I really liked that we were taken through both of the national parks and were made aware as we passed locations from certain films (such as Skyfall and Harry Potter). The highlands are the most gorgeous thing I have ever seen (and that's saying something because I'm a beach person not a mountain person). It definitely deserved whichever award it got for being the most scenic route in the world.
All in all, Scotland fully impressed me. I wasn't very excited to go to Scotland, but after doing this tour and just spending a couple hours in Edinburgh, I didn't want to ever leave. Fell in love with the country, which is partly thanks to this tour.
One last thing, the location for boarding the bus in the morning: It's conveniently located on the Royal Mile. We walked up and down just a few blocks looking for what might be our pick-up location just to realize it was literally right across the street from our hostel.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had a very nice 12 hour tour with Jonathan. He arrived promptly at the meeting place in Glasgow. The Mercedes mini-bus was clean and comfortable. Jonathan shared many insights and history during the travel time. We had stops at several areas of interest, including Loch Lomond, Glencoe, the Highlands, Loch Ness, and Inverness. It was a long day but a very enjoyable day as we learned so much about the country and historical significance.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

In fact, I had heard that the one-day bus trip was not good to experience the real atmosphere of Highland. Because I had little time to travel, there was no choice other than the bus trip. Now, however, I would like to strongly recommend this tour specifically to a person who wants to glance at the great scenery of Highland, to find the Nessie at Loch Ness, to have a joyful riding with the guide's funny talking, and also to have a chance to know a nice traveler on the bus during only one single day!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Overall, it was a very good experience. The views were awesome and the guide stopped often enough for snack/toilet issues. His Scottish brogue was hard to understand sometimes, so we missed some significant information about places we passed or visited. The Bed and Breakfast (Oakvilla, Inverness) was WONDERFUL in all ways; the hostess is a great lady/breakfast cook. Loch Ness was the highlight of the trip and enough time was allotted to take the cruise or visit the castle ruins onshore. We loved the cruise. My only complaint is that, on our return in the RAIN, the guide would NOT take us to individual hotels. He dropped us, pointed to taxi area, and that was it.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was an excellent way to get a real taste of Scotland! Our driver/guide was exceptional and made the time spent driving on the bus entertaining rather than boring. We were able to see parts of Scotland we would have never seen otherwise and visited several lovely stop points in addition to Loch Ness. I highly recommend this tour for anyone who has limited time but wants an inclusive taste of Scotland!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message