Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The small group size was just right. Our tour guide had a natural talent for story telling. My only recommendation would be to skip the Loch Ness boat ride and explore the town instead.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour to the highlands that offer unique sceneries. Past by the mountain where Skyfall movie was shot. The cruise at Loch Ness was great. Unfortunately, Nessie was nowhere at sight. A very satisfied tour indeed.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Tour was great but every time we stopped it was at a gift shop or mall. On the road for 12 hours too. Was surprised to find that we had to pay an additional 15£ to take the Loch Ness cruise. The actual stops were great but lots of driving in between. Maybe take a private tour to avoid the shops.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

. Experiencing Loch Ness and way up there was breath taking. The rain ,mist and fog makes it really mistic. The tour was ok though. The guide was great but had a lot of unnecessary shopping stops. It felt like we drove to much than enjoying higlands. Next time I am going to drive myself. It's easy.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took the optional boat ride on Loch Ness. The highlands was beautiful!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely loved this trip!!!! Our tour director, Heather, was a fanominal story teller! She provided a great mix of historical drama, geography, and personal connections to the area. I really enjoyed that we were a small group as it made stops very convenient for quick photo ops and short breaks. The highlands are beautiful no matter the weather and I can say that as we went through everything! The boat trip on Loch Ness is not to be missed and if you don't mind a little wind, the bench at the front of the boat arethebest seats in the house!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a small group of people with an outstanding guide. The guide was an excellent story teller who made the long journey really enjoyable. We learned much of the history of the places, got the opportunity to take some pictures of the breath taking serene natural beauty, of adorable highland cows with their hair covering the face, and of course of the lake. Few of us took a short boat trip on the Loch Ness to feel the depth and enjoy the surrounding. Overall, the trip was excellent. I will suggest to carry a rain jacket or small umbrella because the weather was unpredictable. We did have periodic rain all along the journey.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our trip to the Scottish Highlands was fantastic! It was a long journey, but I hardly noticed because the ride was beautiful, and we saw so many cool places. Our bus driver/guide, Mike, was great! Definitely the best guide of any of the day tours we've been on across Scotland and Ireland. A note: the boat trip at Loch Ness costs extra, but was definitely worth it in my book. You get a really lovely view of the land around the lake that you just won't get from the shore.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Kenny, was a great story teller. He was a stickler for keeping to the time schedule which allowed us to make a couple extra photo opportunity stops along the drive. The loch ness cruise was very nice, I get motion sickness pretty badly but had no problems on the cruise boat.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a nice tour.It was a nice experience to actually to take a boat ride on loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A long day but a good one, really is two days worth of tour in one day, but I still highly recommend this trip. Fascinating history stories, nice, knowledgeable guide and driver, and the Highlands of Scotland are indescribably beautiful. I also recommend taking the Loch Ness cruise (cost is extra) as it is beautiful as well.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My trip was excellent, as our guide, Al , was a Scottish treasure !!!! He is a wealth of information , gave us a brilliant oral " history of Scotland " in absolute detail as we travelled through the beautiful Scottish Highlands . He is a funny , joke-telling man , who never ceased to entertain the group. The "stops" were numerous along the way , and information on the best places to see , and buy food from , were spot-on!
Though it was a long day , with intermittent rain , he maintained his standard of interest right to the end !
I would highly recommend this trip, and if you do book it, ask for Al as your driver/guide .
I loved the visits to the chosen villages , the bleakness of the moutain ranges , and the mystery of Loch Ness.'

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Half an hour late departure from Edinburgh and hitting pick hour traffic threw the whole itinerary off track. We spent too much time on the bus and too little time at the stops trying to make up for lost time. We arrived in Loch Ness too late to take the lake cruise. Though, the magnificent scenery compensated for logistics fiasco.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Tour guide Martin was entertaining and knowledgeable. The highlands were breathtaking. It is a very long day, travelling over 500km. Martin stopped at little out of the way places that tours don't visit as well as the usual places. Plenty of opportunity for photos.
The Loch Ness tour operators were very informative and helped us get our photo of 'Nessie'.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, John, was excellent. He made a lot of driving enjoyable. We learned a lot about the highlands and enjoyed the Scottish music as we traveled to Loch Ness. I will definitely book with Viator again. Last year we went to Normandy with Viator and it was great also.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message