• USD ($)
  • English
Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour and very nice guide/driver. Be prepared for a long day started at 8am and got back to Edinburgh exactly 12 hours later. Even though it was early April, the weather was a bit disappointing,cold and wet which didn't make for a very comfortable day. However the sun came through when we got to Loch Ness. Little bit disappointed at Fort Augustus as being at the bottom of the loch you couldn't see too much. Would have been better if the minibus went a bit further up the loch. There is a lot of sitting on the bus with not so many stops. It's good for a one day tour but would have liked to have stopped at more interesting places.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Janice H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Had a really great day with Rabbie's Trail Burners and Jonathon the tour guide was excellent, friendly, entertaining and informative. I think I had a smile on my face the whole way there as such beautiful scenery, I have been around Scotland and in the Highlands twice but this was something else! First stop was Loch Lomond for some photographs, then a stop at Loch Tulla and then Glencoe. I have never seen Glencoe look so beautiful, black mountains net to sunlit mountains covered in snow and shrouded at the top in mist, so atmospheric and great for photographers. Then on to Fort Augustus for lunch and on to Loch Ness where some folk to a boat ride but I went with the tour guide and others to photograph Urquhart castle. We stopped off in Pitlochry for a wee dram and then came back via Aviemore and the Cairngorms, saw Stirling castle lit up in the distance and back to Glasgow. I am not one for long journeys but this was a breeze, it didn't feel one bit long at all, I enjoyed the whole day immensely. I will put some photographs up soon :)

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The Scottish Highlands are absolutely beautiful. The entire drive to Loch Ness was picture perfect. The driver was also very nice and lively. He also allowed us to stop and take photos with some hairy coos! A snow storm was on the way so we had to rush a little bit through the tour but it was definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This is a great tour and our guide, Pete, is very nice and resourceful. It's too bad the scottish weather in March was terrible (it rained all day!) so we didn't really get to see much and each stop was freezing cold. To top it off, we also couldn't get to Loch Ness due to a mechanical bridge error. Just bad luck on our part i guess.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Beautiful country side and a nice tour guise, but a 12 hour day is a long time to be in a car. There are not many stops, only a few to take pictures and go to the restroom. Our Loch Ness cruise tour was canceled due to weather- which made the trip not worth it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was one of these best tours I have ever gone on. If you are short on time and want to see the Isle of Skye in comfort then this tour is for you. For only 3 days you actually see a vast amount of Skye and the Scottish highlands, Loch Ness and many many other amazing places along the way.

Our group was only 10 people and we were in a medium sized bus which was very comfortable, the small group made it easy to get to know people and have one on one time with the tour guide, if you want to. There are heaps of photo stops, toilet breaks and places to get food/drinks. Eric, our amazing tour guide, had an impressive amount of knowledge on Scotland and it's history and information about each place we visited. He really made the tour what it is - a very personable, funny guy who accommodates everyone's needs and answers anyone's questions. He was so helpful, passionate and really made the tour exciting all of the time, even when we were just cruising for a couple of hours on the bus to our next stop.

The acommodation is in a town called Portree and the B and B we were put in was excellent. Fantastic view of the surrounding area and harbour of Portree, with a friendly and welcoming owner who cooked the most delicious breakfasts.

Overall this was a well organised, informative, fun and enjoyable tour conducted by a company called Rabbies. I highly recommend it and truly believe I got the most out of Skye and Northern Scotland etc in the short time I had. 5 out of 5!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

The guide was chatty for the first 20 minutes but then I got the impression he was over his job. It was an okay tour but I wouldnt do it again but its a great way to see Loch Ness :)

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We booked our trip through Viator because of a great two for one deal but Rabbie's was the operator. Our driver and guide was Jamie and he was really one of the best we have encountered. We learned more Scottish history from him in a relaxed and amusing way than on all the rest of our long weekend in Edinburgh. Jamie also tied in pop culture including modern movies like Mel Gibson's Braveheart and Liam Neesons's Rob Roy , Scottish folktales and fairy tales including Kelpies, and of course, whiskey. His conversational and engaging dialogue made the long drive great. He also gave us great insights like where to eat at Fort Augustine and where to avoid and was right on the mark. A couple of tips: Tip:#1: Rabbie's Trail Burners office is actually inside a No.1 Currency Exchange on the Royal Mile, across the street from Subway. Tip #2: The Ncek Deli, which I think used to be the Crown Deli, has quick and great lunches to go for the boat tour of Loch Ness. We tried the jacket potatoes with coronation chicken; absolutely delicious. Bottom Line: Great way to get out outside of Edinburgh and see some of the great Scottish Highlands and Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great trip!!! We truly saw Scotland in one day. Karen-our guide, was full of great information and made the drives super fun. The highlights for us were seeing the Glencoe area and stopping for lunch in Loch Ness. We really had a great time. And again, Karen was a great host!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The best wishes and many thanks from our family to our guide/driver Emily. We booked the day tour from Edinburgh through the Highlands and Loch Ness. It was brilliant! Emily was our guide and we learned a lot about Scottish history. From start to finish Emily took great care of us and everything ran smoothly - even during the snowstorm! We will definitely recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The trip was excellent! Driver and Guide was amazing and very professional. The Sceneries were wonderful even if it was snowing. The boat ride's a must if you're a Loch ness Monster fan. I will highly recommend it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a day! Great in everyway! Thank you!!! The small towns, Loch Ness and Glencoe - my favorite, stellar day!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An experience of a lifetime! The scenery is amazing. Such a long day but so worth it! Keith our guide was just the right mix of telling stories and history and being funny and playing music. So clear that he loves his country.
An interesting episode, someone had decided that they didn't like their original seat and had taken our seat after the first break of the day and refused to budge. Keith handled it with respect to everyone, I was impressed with his diplomacy.

You have the option of taking the boat on Loch Ness to "see the monster", we chose to just stay in the town and walk around, eat lunch. I'm glad we did.

This is our second Viator tour, did Stonehenge a few years back. They are top notch, you are in good hands. One thing I definitely noticed was this bus was smaller than the Stonehenge bus, felt more cramped, viewing was a bit more challenging. In spite of that, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tourguide, Shelby, did not sound boring although she had done the tour many times before! Fantastic nature in the Highlands with waterfalls which had sprung forth since the day before due to heavy rainfall. Captain on the Loch Ness ship really believed in the monster, fascinating! Very satisfied

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was absolutely amazing. Whilst it was long in hours it did not seem it at all because there was so much to see along the way, our guide stopped so many times to allow us to take many photos and take in the awesomeness that is the Scottish Highlands. It was everything we expected and so much more! We also opted to do the boat tour at Loch Ness which was great, highly informative and beautiful.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message