Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I was not too impressed with the boat ride on Loch Ness. However, the tour guide was incredible and gave us so much history and information about Scotland. (Thus the 5 star rating.) The highlands are beautiful.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very long day but a very good day. Loch Ness cruise was thoroughly enjoyable, Glen Coe was amazing and the driver/guide Kenny was outstanding and informative

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wow, wow, wow. We have seen the Rockies and the New Zealand mountains, but these are something special. We had very nice weather, and actually got to see the top of Ben Nevis. The atmosphere of these mountains is definitely unique, with Glencoe being the absolute highlight. Daniel was a tremendous driver and host. I sat in the seat right by the driver, so when he was off the micropohone we were able to chat about everything - local music (check out Paolo Nutini if you like blue-eyed soul - our first stop after the trip was to HMV), the referendum, history. This guy is amazingly knowledgeable - he even recommended a pizza restaurant a few minutes from the last stop of the tour. It is a long day, with many restroom stops along the way. A few stops were probably unnecessary, and unfortunately, we reached Pitlochry when the shops were closed - too bad because Pitlochry is known for its woolens and knits and the shopwindows had us drooling. The Loch Ness boat trip is nothing special, but it is optional and a walk through the town can be chosen. Unfortunately, there is not a lot there. If it is possible, I would recommend that the tour company skip this stop and continue up to Inverness. But, that would make for a lot of driving, and it is already about 300 miles on the road. The small coach, 16 people max, is great. On such a long trip, you get the chance to meet people from other cultures, and this is a real plus. It also makes getting people on/off at the various stops a lot more efficient. This tour was a definite highlight, and once again, full marks to Daniel for his knowledge, good humour, and great choice of music.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Expect to spend quite a bit of time riding in the van, but you won't be disappointed by the views and the tour guide was just Awesome! We made several stops in very picturesque areas and there were plenty of bathroom breaks. When we arrived in Loch Ness we had enough time to take the Loch Ness cruise and see the highland cows. The Loch Ness Cruise was a fun excursion to break up the day. For the price, this day trip was an absolutely perfect way to get out of Edinburgh for the day and see absolutely stunning Scottish Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip offered some truly beautiful sights all the way across the Highlands. With the right weather you can get some pretty impressive panoramic shots of the moors and Glencoe. At Fort Augustus on Loch Ness it's well worth taking the optional boat trip onto the Loch for some more great photo opportunities. The tour guide/driver was really informative, funny and we even got a few songs!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Olivia H.
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was amazing from start to finish! I loved all the different stops we made through the countryside; each was beautiful and steeped in history and culture. Our guide was James, and he did a fantastic job. I'd taken five different trips through Viator, and James' commentary and narration was the best. The size of the group was great, too - I think it allowed us to do and see more.

I took the optional tour on Loch Ness and am glad I did, but a word to the wise: dress warmly!

This trip was absolutely worth every penny, and I couldn't recommend it more!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Expect to spend quite a bit of time riding in the van but with the right tour driver you don't notice and we did, Mac was just Awesome and the views! We made several stops in very picturesque areas and there were plenty of bathroom breaks. When we arrived in Loch Ness we had enough time to take the Loch Ness cruise.This day trip was an absolutely perfect way to get out of Edinburgh for the day and see absolutely stunning Scottish Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful day trip. Our guide was awesome. There is an elective boat ride at Loch Ness which I highly recommend.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing and exactly what I hoped for when I signed up! Kenny was a wonderful guide and bus driver. I had a business meeting in Edinburgh and then just one day after the meeting to see the Highlands--and how could I travel all the way to Scotland and not see Loch Ness? This tour was just like going on a "power walk" of the Highlands. Got to see so much and enjoy with one day limited time. I highly recommend purchasing the Loch Ness boat cruise. Plenty of time to snap lots of gorgeous photos, buy some gifts and try some great lunch food and snacks. If you want to see as much as you can, enjoy local history stories while driving by the relevant sites and also have time to cruise Loch Ness and look for "Nessie" this tour is for you! the landscape is breathtaking! so glad I was able to join this tour!

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fabulous! The scenery changes every hour or hour and a half. The guide was wonderful and shared some of his personal experiences in the different locations. History, beauty and Loch Ness too!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a good tour and you got to see a lot of Scotland. We stopped at several points on the journey to Loch Ness to take pictures of the beautiful lanscape or to stop in a cute little shop. The only thing I didn't like is that the boat ride in Loch Ness is extra and the town around Loch Ness is pretty small so there isn't a lot to see or do if you don't take the boat ride. It was a nice ride and you did get to see a lot of the country so I think it was worth it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a very long day in a bus but in general it was a nice trip. I would have like to take a moment to visit the Loch Ness Visitor centre instead of going to Fort Augustus but it was too far. Our driver/guide was good but should keep for himself all his political comments.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The small group size was just right. Our tour guide had a natural talent for story telling. My only recommendation would be to skip the Loch Ness boat ride and explore the town instead.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our three-day tour to Skye from Edinburgh was a fantastic way to see a lot of Scotland over the course of just a few days. Our tour guide, Ally, was an amazingly knowledgeable guide -- with seemingly boundless energy. He started talking to us as we pulled away in Edinburgh and didn't stop for three days! The knew the history behind every one of the sights we saw, with some really great local flavor. His knowledge of our tour route was equally impressive -- we saw a number of great locations that most tours wouldn't even have known about. While our day on Skye was certainly the highlight, days 1 and 3 were also fantastic -- with stops in the highlands (breathtaking) and Eilean Donan castle and Loch Ness on the final day. But Skye is magical... our hotel was right on the water in Portree and everywhere you look on Skye is another stunning vista. For anyone considering this tour you should know one thing: You're going to spend three long days on a bus -- and much of it on narrow, winding roads. It's a comfortable mini-bus and our tour was full of very nice people... but the tours pack in a ton of sights -- so expect to spend much more time driving than exploring. (It's not ideal for the easily car-sick.) But there's no better way, in my opinion, to see much of Scotland in only three days. You could never see so many things if you were driving yourself, that's for certain. And Ally was a consummate professional every step of the way.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

After this tour my mantra became "according to Jonathon (our tour guide)" as he told interesting stories and the worst jokes ever. I was lucky enough to be sitting in the 'leftovers' seat at the front of the bus next to the driver so I felt like we were having a private conversation a lot of the time. We toured through the highlands to have lunch at Loch Ness where I wasn't fortunate enough to see "Nessy" and claim the current reward of about 1 million pounds. We ate at a lakeside restaurant to try to enhance our chances but no luck. It was a long day but well worth doing.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message