Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 273 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was really a fantastic tour! It is a long day as it really does start at 8:30 and goes until 7:30 but it is really worth it. The Scottish Highlands are perhaps the most beautiful country I have ever seen. Actually being in Loch Lomond and Loch Ness and learning about the history was fascinating. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and did a wonderful job of breaking up the drive and making those times on the bus educational and informative. This is truly a great way to see the Scottish countryside and learn more about Scotland!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I took this tour on June 30, 2015 and it was GREAT! James, our driver/guide was awesome! Very knowledgeable and accommodating. We saw so much during the course of the day including Loch Lomand, highland cows, a couple cute towns that we stopped in, Urqart Castle from the cruise boat on Loch Ness, Sterling Castle from the bus, and of course the absolutely stunning scenery of the Scottish Highlands. Im so glad I took this tour and wouldnt hesitate to take another similar tour from this company booked through Viator.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely fantastic tour. Eric, our guide was wonderful-full of information and has a wonderful singing voice. Beautiful scenery and Loch Ness was great. Would highly recommend the boat trip over Loch Ness-it is extra but very inexpensive and well worth it. Boat trip is a full hour on the Loch

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I loved that this was a small group. I brought 12 people so we got our own bus plus 2 people that joined us. The Highlands were amazing, breathtaking. Loch Ness was a typical tourist trap, probably won't go there again. To be honest, I don't remember Glencoe. What made our trip truly wonderful was our guide, Ally. There were a few teachers on the bus and we all commented on how he would give us history and then later go back and quiz or make reference to what he had told us before. We definitely learned the most about Scotland because of him. Ally was friendly and animated, which made the trip very enjoyable. If I book through the local tour company again, I will request Ally!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was pleasant and informative. I took the tour to see scenery and this is primarily what it was focused on. I didn't care about seeing Loch Ness in particular, just wanted to see a loch. The guide played appropriate music at various stages of the journey, which enhanced the history and culture.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good tour and commentary. We had a great tour guide and the highlands are beautiful. The only thing is we would've liked more stops along the way. I understand that Loch Ness is far away but most of the ride was in the bus and it gets tiring after 12 hours.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This was a long day! We traveled over 300 miles, up and around the northern part of Scotland. It was a lot of driving, and when we did stop to see the sights I felt very rushed. There is very little you can do in 10 minutes. The scenery was beautiful, lots of sheep, but Loch Ness was a bit disappointing. It was a giant lake, no monster, only bus loads of tourists.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sharon V
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much beauty on this tour! Raw, wild and at times, unexpected. The folks at the tour company really know how to do this right! With many folks wanting to do this day tour, the small groups is absolutely the way to go!
Our guide was Johnathan. As soon as he realized there were 5 vans booked to do the same tour, he immediately asked us if he could switch the itinerary around so that we wouldn't have to contend with the crowds. We agreed and it was a wise decision. Johnathan kept up a steady stream of banter full of facts, stories, jokes and added a nice touch with musical interludes he selected to help us absorb the atmosphere of the sights and places we visited. He was also sensitive to when our group was tired and fell to napping in which case he would play soothing music and kept his comments to a minimum. Very professional, knowledgeable and a lot of fun! Thanks Johnathan and local tour copmany! Oh, and the coffee and pastries at the coffee shop where the tour starts are also v good so grab some while waiting to board your van!
At Loch Ness, though we had no Nessie sightings, my husband and I struck up a conversation with a man who turned out to be William Jobes, who has been visiting the loch for 49 years and has seen what he claims to be Nessie and published some photos he captured of the elusive creature. He shared stories of his personal experiences and even gave us each a laminated copy of his published photos. That was a unique, unexpected and enjoyable turn of events!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver-cum-guide, AARON, was OUTSTANDING!!! We went on the Highlands-Loch Ness day trip on June 15, and every minute on and off the bus was well spent, because of Aaron's stories, anecdotes, lessons on Scottish history, etc. We have travelled the world, and very rarely have we come across such a guide, who has left a mark. We still talk about this trip as one of the most remarkable in our lives - and a major factor was Aaron. I'm tempted to give out some of his stories to my students in Texas, and will continue to do so ...

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just perfect. Fantastic way to experience Loch Ness and its history. Urquhart Castle was amazing and you needed the hour there to see it.

Doing what: Best Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise and Visit to Urquhart Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think by far, this is the most popular and must-do tour when you're in Scotland. Our quest for a glimpse of Nessie was rather unsuccessful, but we were blessed with the beautiful views of the surrounding loch and the serenity of the Scottish Highlands. It was truly a magical experience. You have an option of doing a boat cruise on Loch Ness for 12 pounds per person, at the time of writing once you reach Fort Augustus. Though, the views of the loch are just as beautiful on shore. And time can be spent wisely at the cafes and gift shops if you opt not to do the cruise. Choices of sandwiches were included with the tour, but if you're up for something more, a scatter of restaurants are also conveniently available along the main street. Our amazing tour guide Chris at Highland Explorer Tours was very charismatic and gave delightful insight on the history and stories of the regions. He was very knowledgeable and funny, which kept the long journey moving along. I thought playing traditional Scottish music on the bus was a nice touch. There's something authentic about watching the passing scenery with the sound of bagpipes playing harmoniously in the background. I enjoyed the stop at The Trossachs Woollen Mill where we did a bit of shopping and got an up-close look at a highland cow. I had an excellent and memorable time even though, the only time I saw Nessie was in the gift shop. This is definitely a must-do tour!!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just an incredible experience! We travelled in early July, the scenery and the weather was perfect. If you want to see large rolling hills and mountains of green, then this is the tour for you! Glencoe was amazing. We also stopped at some other lochs since, Jonathan, our amazing tour guide and driver led us up to Loch Ness in a different direction so that we did not hit it when all of the other tour guides were present. Ate amazing fish and chips lunch at the boathouse. Did not take the boat ride so we had time for lunch and looking in a couple of shops. Jonathan was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. He made everyone feel right at home from the get go. We were also able to see a ruined castle which was not on the itinerary. Loved it. Thanks so much victor, Rabbies tour company and Jonathan for a great tour experience!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour, excellent tour guide Joe I think - worth every penny! When the bus stops at the first stop and you have the opportunity to go to the town bakery to buy lunch for the trip - do it! Great food and you'll be happy to have lunch with you, particularly if you go on the Loch Ness boat tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had beautiful weather for a cruise on Loch Ness. The boat provided great information on the history of the castle and the mystique of the Loch.

Doing what: Best Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise and Visit to Urquhart Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Lovely trip originally when booked it said a 16 seater air con mini bus it was a 42 seater coach air con not good on way back very hot and sticky. Due to the length of the journey there was not a lot of time to look at things especially Loch Ness as only had just over an hour and a half this is not the tour operators fault but would have loved to have spent a bit more time at Loch Ness . Was happy though it what I saw Scotland is a beautiful place thank you x

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely and knowledgeable tour guide named Doug. It was a very enjoyable day. I only wish we had had longer at each stop, particularly at Loch Ness and Pitlochry, although I understand having to fit as much as possible into one day. Overall it was a great experience and I learned a lot! Thanks!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Overall all it was a great trip!
The bus was comfy and the driver told great stories. I wish there was more to do in the highlands. All you do is stop on the side of the road and take pictures. I took the opportunity to run through the fields. Once you get to the Loch Ness you are own your own. I paid for a boat ride on the lake. It was about 20pounds.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic trip, guides jonathan and grant were very knowledgable and funny, stunning scenery and photo opps, also opp to cruise loch ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Jimmy the guide is a fantastic personality. He's very friendly, funny, and so informative that you never get bored while listening to him talk and describe the sights you get to see.

Loch ness is charming and sceneries along the way to the destination are indescribable.

So much recommended to anyone visiting Edinburgh

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was amazing! Great way to see the countryside, our tour guide was extremely informative. The Loch Ness boat tour was good as well. There were several photo opps along the way that we were able to squeeze into the ride. We had a great group. Recommend this for sure!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the Loch Ness Trip yesterday, though I had an allergy attack and wasn't able to appreciate the day the way I would have liked to. Douglas did a superb job narrating the tour, sharing historical events, pointing out the geographical interests, and driving the bus. He was also sensitive to his passengers' desires and needs.
Dr. William S.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour gave a great view of the variety of Scotland, from Edinburgh city views to the scarcely populated highlands. Along the journey, Sandy, our driver/tour guide also provided a spectacular summary of Scottish history, including both facts and legends. He was also most willing to follow up in conversations started by the passengers, and to answer whatever questions were provided along the way.

The 12-hour drive was a long one, but split into convenient intervals. Also the bus was comfortable, as advertised, which made it possible to enjoy the whole journey. The optional Loch Ness boat trip was very nice as well, even though seating on the boat was a bit crowded somewhat due to weather passengers mostly preferred the indoors seating, and only briefly visited the sun deck.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loch Ness Tour was excellent and total value for money. Did boating and soaked up all the beauty on the way both ways.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a nice tour, getting away in the early morning. All kinds of weather treated us good and we saw the highlands i mist, snow and sun :- during the trip. The guide was extraordinary and told us a lot of facts from the scottish history. I highly recommend this trip to Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elizabeth S
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It makes for a long day, but the highlands are beautiful and it was very fun going out on the optional boat road around Loch Ness. Our tour guide, George, was great and very informative. Definitely worth doing if you are wanting to get out of the city and explore some of the countryside.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message