Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maxime L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Went for the Loch Ness, fell in love with the Highlands. Our driver Eric was a gentleman with tons of knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a long trip to see most of the highlands and Loch Ness among many beautiful Lochs that make up the highlands. Johnathan our guide was wonderful and so very knowledgeable as well as very entertaining. He is an avid photographer himself and will give great pointers as well as knowing the best places to stop for amazing vistas. I highly recommend this tour to any one that wants to get a view of Scotland in a day.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Melanie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was our longest tour, but it was worth it! It and #39;s been an astonishing landscape and we did many foto stops. Instead of doing the Loch Ness boat tour we had delish lunch at the Boathouse Restaurant with an amazing view of Loch Ness. Our driver Douglas was great and told us much about the Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lynn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic! I loved every minute of it. Our tour guide was informative and enthusiastic and gave us choices on where to go. The scenery was beautiful and I loved stopping to enjoy the countryside or have lunch near Loch Ness. I recommend the Lock Inn. We had great sandwiches by a fireplace. My sister and I are Outlander fans and we got to go see some standing stones and Culloden. The whole trip was a blast with great memories to treasure!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

yasmin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I loved this tour. It was from a local tour operator. Pick up location is so good just across from the bridge. Since its a van only 16 people can come and you get much personal touch. All the high points were covered and I felt enough time was given. Bed and breakfast offered to me was also very nice. Driver Mike was just fantastic. So hilarious and patient. I just felt put of the world in Scotland and his driving was so smooth that it was easy to lost in my thoughts while scenic drive. The only complaint I would have is there was too much time given in pitlochry for lunch. almost 1 and half and hour which could be shorten and more time should be given in other points such as glen coe. I would have loved a walk in glen coe valley. Also the point of cruise in Loch ness was bit plain and bland. I would have loved the cruise between Inverness city. That way I could have seen Inverness city but never mind. But I am still very happy and satisfied that I could so much of scotland in 2 days. Thanks Viator and local tour operator

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Luis F B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour to see Scottish Highlands and Loch Ness.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Marin V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Great experience! Ewan B. was awesome, provided great commentary on Scottish History. The length of the tour was just right, you have the opportunity to take a river boat cruise on Loch Ness which was worth the 12.5 pounds extra.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful trip in the Highlands and the Loch Ness with an awesome guide Grant who tries his best to make this journey memorable : !

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

PAULA N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide/driver Gail was so lovely and patient, telling all about Scotland life, tales and mythological histories, food, etc. It was an awesome trip and I would totally recomend it! The highlands and the famous Loch Ness are incredible places! I loved it!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michael M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide was Dave an we absolutely loved him. He was very knowledgable about the area and happily answered any questions we had. I enjoyed the tour but was expecting a little more to see once we reached Loch Ness. If you are the type of person that enjoys seeing beautiful countryside on a tour then you will love this one. If you prefer to see more historical sites and buildings along your journey, the is isn't that type pf tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Julie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands was awesome! The natural beauty of the Scottish countryside was amazing. The visit in Glen Coe was charming and gave us a chance to shop in a smaller village. The boat ride on Loch Ness was also quite a treat! Bus driver Dave was quite a character and made the trip even more enjoyable with his fun facts and entertaining dialogue. I highly recommend this trip for anyone who wants a sample of the raw beauty of Scotland!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mitchell D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fabulous tour! Driver/guide Shane was engaging, entertaining, and spun great stories that continued to delight at even the dullest parts of the drive. We enjoyed every bit of our trip. Loch ness should not be missed!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

jcqthompson1 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip with a very good driver/guide Richard who gave us a great understanding of Scotland and its history. The Highlands beautiful and breath taking. Recommended this trip and the boat trip at Loch Ness too.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a long day, 8am-8pm, but well worth it. The buses were comfortable and our guide, Mike, made it fun sharing personal stories, history, and myths. The scenery was breathtaking and Nessie even made an appearance at Loch Ness .

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Joan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Even though the day was mostly driving, this was still my favorite part of my trip to Edinburgh because the Highlands were so beautiful, and the boat cruise around Loch Ness made it all worth it. There is just so much beauty in the landscapes that it's overwhelming. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cale R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mac is awesome!
A great tour guide and a great personality.
Very knowledgeable and I highly recommend this tour if you want to see the highlands and experience Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Edward C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Awesome day out to see the highlands in the distance Loch Ness and the beautiful fresh air a day to remember. The guide was well versed and a very entertaining chap. Would recommend Viator to all my friends.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved this tour! Despite the early start and long day, it was an enjoyable experience. Audrey, our tour guide, was excellent and stopped at several scenic spots en route to Loch Ness where we captured some incredible photos. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stephan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Matt was a great guide and a good storyteller. This and the stops on the way to Loch Ness made the tour very enjoyable. The tour operator was very professional and the small groups and great guides provide a wonderfull experience.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

M M M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Tour bus was very comfortable, scenery amazing and the Loch Ness boat trip optional extra was excellent. The day was spoilt by the driver / guide Ally who talked incessantly and sometimes confusingly, often about irrelevant things, whilst failing to point out or talk about points of interest we were passing.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Christopher B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The drive was just too long. Unfortunately the weather let us down. It rained a lot and was overcast all day so we couldn't see a lot of the sights that we passed along the way Stirling Castle, Ben Nevis, etc.. Loch Ness itself was't very exciting so it was a very long day for that. I probably would not recommend people doing just a day trip from Edinburgh.
I think the tour would have been better if the boat ride and lunch were included in the price so that the group did everything together however I don't think there was enough time to do the boat ride AND have a nice lunch at a pub. The tour would need to leave earlier or get back later which I don't think they're allowed to do.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Nadezhda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day in the Highlands! We were also so lucky with the weather! Time spent on the boat trip along Loch Ness and also the time at Glen Coe made me wish I go back hiking there. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Amy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This day trip to Loch Ness was wonderful. It's a long day, but we didn't mind sitting on the bus for long stretches because of all the gorgeous scenery. Our guide, Nick, was great. It was a bit strange that the guide was also the driver - he often had to stop mid-sentence to concentrate on the road, etc. Plus, he couldn't engage with the group as well as if he hadn't been driving. But he still did a great job of giving us lots of information about our surroundings and the history of Scotland. The Loch Ness cruise is an extra expense, but I would highly recommend purchasing it - otherwise you're going to have to amuse yourself in the tiny village by the loch for an hour. The cruise is definitely worth the extra cost.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Heather R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The journey up through the highlands was amazing so much so that Loch Ness was a little anticlimactic!. Great trip! Left from a very central, easy to find location. Would recommend it.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great day! If you are in Edinburgh and have limited time this tour is a good way to get out into the highlands and see the spectacular Scottish country. The guide was knowledgeable, friendly, and did a great job of ensuring we knew what we were seeing. He also did a good job with stopping for photos along the way. The boat ride at Loch Ness was good as well.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message