Seoul ATTRACTIONS See all

Changdeokgung Palace

Built in 1405 by King Taejong, Changdeokgung Palace was designed to blend harmoniously with the natural environment. While much of the complex was destroyed by fire in the Japanese invasion in 1592, it was rebuilt in 1609 and has since been restored ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

AiLi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We got to see many places and market shoppings in a day. Angie was our tour guide. Her stories about the palace was funny and entertaining. She gave us sufficient free time to walk around the market. No push to buy any ginseng or amethyst. No rush. Very good. I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Alice C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in Korean culture and history. Our Korean and English speaking tour guide was Junie. She lived in the US for a long time so it was great to have an English speaking guide who was enthusiastic, warm, and personable. The tour itself gives you a close-up look at Korean culture through the ages which was a nice change from the modern city life that surrounds you around Seoul. You will get to tour an old Korean Village with many opportunities to experience street food you must try the fried dokboogi stand and the chewy pumpkin candy cart, arts and crafts if that is what you want, dress and take photos in Korean clothes, and quaint little shops. Junie is very knowledgeable about the history of the palace you will visit and explain with great detail everything about the Korean dynasties which used to live there which you would not appreciate as much if you went and visited on your time. Her knowledge helps the palace come to life with a greater understanding of how people used to live. Before the tour we had visited the National Korean Museum free which was gorgeous and a must visit place. I recommend taking a day to visit the museum first then do this tour on a separate day afterwards. It will help you to understand the history with greater detail and understanding. But if you can't do the museum first, this tour is a must. I'm Korean American born in the USA and this was the first time I visited Korea. The cultural tour was very helpful and fascinating. I found the rest of my trip of modern Korean cities and neighborhoods to be very much the same one after another. This tour explorers the history of Korean up close and personal. Highly recommend this tour and Junie as a guide. She is fantastic!

Doing what: Seoul History and Culture Small-Group Tour

Wendy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a comprehensive tour of the main palaces and temples of Seoul. Our guide, Jay Song, gave a good history of all the places and paced the tour as to not miss the changing of the guards. We stopped for a Korean lunch in the Insadong district which was very pleasant. This was a good briefing of the city so that we were able to return to a couple districts to explore further on our own,

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Stanton K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful, wonderful tour with Saena Sweet Lee. She is an asset to the company.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Hammy, our tour guide was excellent, with a lot of knowledge and information.

Doing what: Morning Cultural Tour: UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Seoul

Catherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent. OUr tour guide excellent. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Seoul History and Culture Small-Group Tour

traceyc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a small group walking tour, however we did take a local mini bus to our first destination. I found our tour guide Junie to be informative, caring and enthusiastic. She seemed more like a good friend that was taking us around her city than a tour guide. It was fun and I would recommend this to anyone who wants a more personal experience touring around Seoul. Make sure you wear good comfortable walking shoes as there can be a lot of walking and climbing of stairs, but Junie stopped often informing us of the surrounding history and interesting facts making the climbing and walking less strenuous. If you're lucky and you book this tour, you might get Junie to show you her home town!

Doing what: Seoul History and Culture Small-Group Tour

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Satisfying and good value for money. Our guide, Rebecca, was very friendly, helpful and professional. We were able to cover all the places we wanted to visit in one day and lots of good shopping too!

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Brandolin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an amazing day, and tour guide Sunny was fantastic. Intellegent, informative, funny, and diligent about communicating with every guest, even though there were eleven of us from five countries! This is a super packed 8-9 hour day, be sure you're up to it or consider a half day tour. Several folks faded after lunch and opted to stay on the bus. Bummer. As other reviewers have noted, the ginseng and amethyst stops are clear money grabs, but you don't stay long and I assume they pay the tour company for stops, which may help keep the price of the tour extremely reasonable? Anyway, incredible day, try to get Sunny as your guide!

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Rona L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and I had never been to Korea before and this tour was a wonderful introduction to Seoul. What made it even better was that we had a small group 5 of very compatible travelers. Our guide, Sonny, was the best she was friendly, concerned about the needs of her group, spoke English very well, and shared interesting and important historical and cultural information. We highly recommend this tour. Keep in mind that it includes a good deal of walking.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

manoela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very interesting with a good guide explaining things very well.
Lunch quite palatable.. and enough of it.
A long day but enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

tour is a great way to see several of Seouls palaces and markets in a day. Guide Michelle was lovely -very informative but so warm and friendly. Includes a couple of shopping stops ginsing and then jewellery but fairly brief and did not feel too pressured to buy.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Ma. Regina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Learned much about the history of South Korea..about the arts and culture of the country..very well conducted tour...awesome tour guide Michelle...she was so bubbly and happy..we got carried away by her attitude!

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Steven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice day in Seoul. Gives a good overview of the city including different palaces, a local market, a ginseng factory, and the included lunch at a local restaurant was amazing. Local guide was very nice and provided great details. Even stopped at a local mall for reasonable priced South Korea souvenirs for everyone on tour.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

scherzva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Nice way to get an overview of Korean history and a little Seoul. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

kadavidson92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide Ben was very informative and let us take the tour at our own pace (my mother is a slower walker but Ben didn't rush us at all!). One of the things Ben did was take us through the Bukchon Hanok village the opposite way to many larger tour groups so we didn't have to walk with another large group but instead could pass by them in the opposite direction. It was great hearing and seeing so much history and culture. Our guide even walked us back to the train station so we didn't get lost on our way back to our hotel.

Doing what: Seoul History and Culture Small-Group Tour

Cynthia G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We found this trip to be very interesting and the attention to detail by the tour guide was fantastic. Our guide Julie Park was very helpful and very informative which added great depth to the experience of our first time in Korea.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was so much fun and our tour guides Angie and Rebecca are both very informative.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Heriberto d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A " must do activity" when visiting Seoul. Our guide Angie tried her very best to give all of us a plesant and memorable experience.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Annie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was our second time to South Korea and the last time was in 2007. We wanted to refresh and we took the full day tour visiting the Blue House, temples going back to the 1300 and where the last King spent his remaining years, Insadong, Nandaemum and also an authentic lunch at a restaurant in Insadong. Overall it was a very relaxing and informative tour. Our tour guide was professional, knowledgeable and extremely friendly. She made our day enjoyable and Gyeongbokgung Palace was beautiful!

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

michael p m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mostly positive with only downside finding meeting place and guide at McDonalds as I asked several people until our guide Ben showed up. My wife and us waited 10 minutes for the other client to show up and he didn't so we had a private tour. Ben spoke English well and gave us but an historical as well as modern perspective on Seoul. We took a local bus to the historical district. Then we took a taxi to the palace and he gave us so many details. At the local market he did not try and push any merchandise and even offed to find a dinner place for us. Very good tour and I highly recommend

Doing what: Seoul History and Culture Small-Group Tour

Mell O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I recommend this tour to historical K-Drama fans. Definitely need another day to come back and explore on your own.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message