Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no-man’s-land known as the Korean Demilitarized Zone, or DMZ. As a divided nation, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 325 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

AbyJ United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This full day tour has so much packed into it that it will seem like it goes by fast. But if it didn't go by fast, one wouldn't be able to see it all. Our Holiday Tour with 'Rebecca' was excellent. A bus picked us up at our location in the morning. Once all the passengers were gathered, we transferred to another charter bus that drove us to Paju City. We stopped at Imjingak observatory where we saw the Peace Bell, among other monuments. Then we were taken to the Dora Observatory where we could look over in the distance and view the somber sight North Korea with our own eyes, and the Third Infiltration Tunnel, which we were able to climb down and observe the now blocked opening that originates in N. Korea. Our tour guide provided important historical information as well as the current status of the nations that gave us a deeper perspective. We stopped for a delicious and satisfying lunch where the half-day tourists were separated from the full-day tourists. We then continued on to the Joint Security Area in Panmunjom, Camp Bonifas, where we waited patiently for access to visit the United Nations buildings. The guards kept watch over us and gave us strict rules of conduct in here, where we could step over within the building into controversial territory. It was a sad moment visiting the Bridge of No Return, also the site of the Axe Murder Incident of Captain Bonifas and Lt. Barrett. The hopefulness for unification of the South Koreans was prevalent in the construction of the Dorasan Train Station, which was built in the hopes of providing transportation between the divided country. At the conclusion, we visited a shop where we can purchase mementos, and then were transported back to Seoul. I recommend this tour to anyone as it was one of the greatest highlights of my visit to Korea.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing tour although very sad it very interesting our guide gave us a local insight of how she felt as a Korean about reunification but also how other generations felt on this issue. We were also informed about Korean culture and where there culture today had come from

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

LFG M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very cool tour. Especially the JSA part. Very effeciently run. It gives great insight and information about the history of the 2 koreas. Also being right in the middle of the DMZ on the exact border under UN protection makes it rather special.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

jean pierre l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lee is extremely knowledgeable and organises a full day a little bit outside what the typical tourists would do. We had the pleasure to be able to speak to a soldier which was very interesting. Lee also speaks very good English which is a clear plus. We had a fabulous time! And I would definitely recommend the tour. It is worth every penny of it.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

clara b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Incredible experience. Sunny our tour guide was perfect, very informative and helped with any questions we had. A very surreal experience but a must to do in Seoul

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Tyrone G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable - we did the full all-day tour. Highlights were walking down to the third tunnel, and going to the JSA Panmunjom complex. Our tour guide for the morning, Sunny, was terrific. She provided lots of insights and information, and was a pleasure to be with. I recommend this tour for others.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Blair G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Suny was one of the best tour guides I have ever had. From the second we got on the bus she tried hard to connect all of the people on the tour, walking around and asking how we said hello in different languages, she really did a great job of making sure we knew she cared about it, it would have been vetry easy for her not to do this. She was also amazing on the rest of the tour, we always felt that we were looked after and taken care of, as a single woman on this tour i was very grateful for that. She was happy and caring and a wealth of knowledge. I have recommended this tour to all of my friends due to her strength as a tour guide, Good job hiring her!! thank you!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pick up and drop off was right on time. We had a very engaging English-speaking guide. Learned so much about North-South Korea. Highly recommend this tour from Viator.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Victor R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great experience. We enjoy all the activities, this trip was really nice!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Lloyd B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour! I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

david

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Do book the joint DMZ and JSA tour as those who book the DMZ only tour will miss visiting the blue huts at the actual border in the JSA. You will need a reasonable level of fitness to go down the tunnel under the border,going down is easy but the steep climb back up is a hard slog. At the bottom of the tunnel where it levels out it is difficult to stand upright if you are over 5ft tall,so you have to walk to where the tunnel is sealed in a stooped position,hard hats provided.There isn't much to see at the end of the tunnel but worth going for the experience. When in the JSA you will go inside the blue huts that straddle the actual border,once inside you can take photos standing inside DPRK.
A very good tour with a decent lunch provided, Highly recommend

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Nam P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our Tourguide Hana was awesome. She spoke fluently english and answered every question we got in our mind.
Be careful with the confirmation Mail as it can land in the spamfolder. Before the tour we were picked up by a small shuttle which took us directly to the tourbus.
It definitely was a nice experience to get to know Korean History. After the tour we took lunch together and had a nice talk about the culture in Korea.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tensions were running high between the North and South Korean governments when we were scheduled to go. The South had just issued some major economic sanctions the day prior. We were thrilled that the tour was moving forward. We enjoyed learning about the historical context and timeline and exploring the Third Tunnel was interesting. The highlight for us, though, was visiting the JSA. Being right on the border and seeing the opposing sides' soldiers standing literally just meters away from each other. Do not do the DMZ tour without the JSA component. That would be a regret.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

sri vishnu c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

it was awesome. very courteous and hospitable tour guide.

the special vegetarian meal they made for me was fantastic.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Samuel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really good tour!
Worth every penny.
Dont expect too much about the lunch though.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very well planned. Our guide Michelle was very engaging, animated and very personable. She shared her personal perspective of N. Korea which made the drive to the DMZ zone interesting. She kept us abreast of what we were going to see and how much time we would have. Highly recommend. Best part of our trip to Seoul.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Alvin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great learning experience.

Because of a miscommunication the confirmation email from the tour company was dumped into my Spam folder in my email, and we were advised also by the hotel officer that nobody from the tour came at the agreed time, we missed the hotel pick-up. However, Sunny and Erica were very gracious and asked us to meet them at another pick-up point, and they paid for the taxi fare.

On our way to Imjingak and DMZ, our tour guide, Erica, kept reminding us of important details so that we don't run into problems while visiting DMZ, such was when not to take photos because we will be in a military facility, the steep slope going to the tunnel so that we can gauge if we are healthy/fit enough to be able to go up and down the tunnel, to stay with the group so that we don't get lost since it is peak season of the tour, etc.

The way Erica provides information about the tour, the history of the Korean War, etc. is very inspiring and moving. I can sense in her the national pride of being able to fully recover and develop into a rich nation from being a totally poor and devastated post-war country, and the hopefulness for a reunification. It made me respect South Korea and its people even more.

When we got to the observation platform overlooking the demarcation line/Korean border and North Korea, my friend told me that some of the tour guides from the other tour groups simply pointed the tourists to the huge billboard and asked them to read the labels of the interesting spots, and them left them on their own. Our tour guide, Erica, however, took time to point and explain to us the interesting things we can see where is the flag pole, where is North Korea, where is the Kaesong Industrial Park, etc..

Overall, we were taken care of very well and Erica provided a very good learning time to us.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic. Had a great time!

Will do a Viator tour again.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Marinnette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting tour, a once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Sandra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well worth the expense - this was the highlight of my trip to South Korea. Make sure the JSA is included in your tour as it's the best bit.
Tour was promptly confirmed and the pick up was re-confirmed at my hotel the day beforehand. We'll organised.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Natalie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was excellent. The tour guide, Sunny, was very helpful, knowledgable, and kept us entertained on the bus ride. The sites we got to see were very interesting, and it was a surreal experience actually seeing a North Korean town from the observatory. The only thing that I didn't like was the stop at a duty free shop on the way back we were there for quite some time and most people were not interested in buying anything. Overall a small complaint out of a very interesting and worthwhile experience.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Ingrid O Venezuela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very interersting expierence, with nice guides!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Amy I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very interesting tour and learnt a lot about Korea's history. The pick up was on time and transportation was comfortable, the tour initially went to the DMZ for the morning and we joined another tour group to visit the JSA in the afternoon.
Both tours, particularly the morning, covered a lot, we were going to different places and although sometimes you don't have a huge amount of time it was definitely enough to see each place. Personal highlights were the tunnels, the JSA itself and the view into North Korea. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great, I imagine on a clearer day you would have been able to see more into the North but that can't be helped.
Both guides we had were very engaging and were full of facts and information which I didn't know prior to the tour.
To anyone with an interest in North/South Korea, Korean History or history in general this is a must do tour.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Laylachouchou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our full day excursion - the guide was lovely, and the transportation very clean and comfortable. The tour itself was very interesting, definitely worth it for anyone interested in Korea North and South relations. The lunch which was included was delicious. Overall great value!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message