Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no-man’s-land known as the Korean Demilitarized Zone, or DMZ. As a divided nation, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 294 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samuel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really good tour!
Worth every penny.
Dont expect too much about the lunch though.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very well planned. Our guide Michelle was very engaging, animated and very personable. She shared her personal perspective of N. Korea which made the drive to the DMZ zone interesting. She kept us abreast of what we were going to see and how much time we would have. Highly recommend. Best part of our trip to Seoul.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Alvin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great learning experience.

Because of a miscommunication the confirmation email from the tour company was dumped into my Spam folder in my email, and we were advised also by the hotel officer that nobody from the tour came at the agreed time, we missed the hotel pick-up. However, Sunny and Erica were very gracious and asked us to meet them at another pick-up point, and they paid for the taxi fare.

On our way to Imjingak and DMZ, our tour guide, Erica, kept reminding us of important details so that we don't run into problems while visiting DMZ, such was when not to take photos because we will be in a military facility, the steep slope going to the tunnel so that we can gauge if we are healthy/fit enough to be able to go up and down the tunnel, to stay with the group so that we don't get lost since it is peak season of the tour, etc.

The way Erica provides information about the tour, the history of the Korean War, etc. is very inspiring and moving. I can sense in her the national pride of being able to fully recover and develop into a rich nation from being a totally poor and devastated post-war country, and the hopefulness for a reunification. It made me respect South Korea and its people even more.

When we got to the observation platform overlooking the demarcation line/Korean border and North Korea, my friend told me that some of the tour guides from the other tour groups simply pointed the tourists to the huge billboard and asked them to read the labels of the interesting spots, and them left them on their own. Our tour guide, Erica, however, took time to point and explain to us the interesting things we can see where is the flag pole, where is North Korea, where is the Kaesong Industrial Park, etc..

Overall, we were taken care of very well and Erica provided a very good learning time to us.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic. Had a great time!

Will do a Viator tour again.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Marinnette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting tour, a once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Sandra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well worth the expense - this was the highlight of my trip to South Korea. Make sure the JSA is included in your tour as it's the best bit.
Tour was promptly confirmed and the pick up was re-confirmed at my hotel the day beforehand. We'll organised.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Natalie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was excellent. The tour guide, Sunny, was very helpful, knowledgable, and kept us entertained on the bus ride. The sites we got to see were very interesting, and it was a surreal experience actually seeing a North Korean town from the observatory. The only thing that I didn't like was the stop at a duty free shop on the way back we were there for quite some time and most people were not interested in buying anything. Overall a small complaint out of a very interesting and worthwhile experience.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Ingrid O Venezuela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very interersting expierence, with nice guides!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Amy I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very interesting tour and learnt a lot about Korea's history. The pick up was on time and transportation was comfortable, the tour initially went to the DMZ for the morning and we joined another tour group to visit the JSA in the afternoon.
Both tours, particularly the morning, covered a lot, we were going to different places and although sometimes you don't have a huge amount of time it was definitely enough to see each place. Personal highlights were the tunnels, the JSA itself and the view into North Korea. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great, I imagine on a clearer day you would have been able to see more into the North but that can't be helped.
Both guides we had were very engaging and were full of facts and information which I didn't know prior to the tour.
To anyone with an interest in North/South Korea, Korean History or history in general this is a must do tour.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Laylachouchou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our full day excursion - the guide was lovely, and the transportation very clean and comfortable. The tour itself was very interesting, definitely worth it for anyone interested in Korea North and South relations. The lunch which was included was delicious. Overall great value!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Jacqueline K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour provides a great perspective and better understanding of the political realities in Korea! I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Kimo N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide Sunny was great, and make trip very enjoyable!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Katarina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Something else... Went on tour during Halloween, no need for spider nets and skeletons, weird as it is, but must be seen! Perfectly organized, amazing trip.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Anish P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very enjoyable tour. DMZ was nice to see, but the JSA was very interesting and would defo recommend to go there over DMZ.
Excellent and very knowledgable tour guide. Very helpful and answered all sorts of questions. Very funny too.
Overall a great tour! A must do if visiting Seoul and South Korea

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Emily B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fantastic tour! The company that runs it are very organised, the places the tour visits are all very good and the lunch that is provided is delicious!

Doing what: Joint Security Area (JSA) Tour: Get Close to the North Korean Border

jchapman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour and guides. Well organized and very informatively

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Rachel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It is a must. Well organized and informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

When I took the tour, I happened to be the only one signed up for that particular day. Regardless, Shrek showed up early, picked me up from my hostel, and gave and excellent tour. It is a very personal tour, Shrek is extremely knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions. For my particular time in Korea, the JSA was closed to tourists and I was a bit worried I wouldn't get the full experience, but on this tour we were still able to enter the DMZ, speak to soldiers, and see the actual routes used by North Korean spys. To top it all off, the lunch was authentic Korean BBQ at a local place and not touristy at all. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Our tour guide Rebecca was fantastic and very knowledgeable. Best tour we took on our entire trip to Asia. A must see.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

MARIA C V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very educating tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, energetic and friendly. It was amazing to see it in person instead of on TV. At the end of the tour, we had lunch with our guide and she answered all the questions we had over a fine Korean meal.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very well organised tour, with meaningful comments and interaction by our tour guide.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

David W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was.great to.see and.be up close.to.the.actual sms.zone. we.Sat in the war briefing room and likes over the sms zone. We could see at a distance one of their gun positions pointing towards north Korea. Lunch was great. Very topical Korean. It was truly a great tour worth every dollar. A must to.do.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Alex S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent Trip, once in a lifetime experience, highly recommend the JSA tour

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message