Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no man’s land known as the demilitarized zone, or DMZ. As the only divided nation on earth, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was very exciting and informative as we learned about Korean Culture and the conflicts that separated the North from the South. The ability to stand on the line of South and North Korea was also very exhilarating as well. This tour was a must for my bucket list!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was as advertised. The guide was very nice. The bus was clean and comfortable. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fascinating visit through the DMZ with knowledgeable tour guide, and access to infrequently visited military instillations. Plus a wonderful and generous authentic Korean lunch.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organized tour although a little fast paced. Would have liked the tour guide to give more historical data and stories.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Learned so much interesting stuff from this tour. Thank you viator :)

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

While visiting South Korea, I decided to take a DMZ/JSA tour. I selected this particular tour because it appeared to offer something which other less expensive tours did not... The North Korea Spy Commando Invasion route. I was expecting to with a group, but to my surprise this was a PRIVATE tour with just my driver (a seasoned military veteran with relatively high ranking) who was able to take me places and share insight which the general public might not be able to see or experience. At one point, we needed to meet up with one of the few authorized tour buses to take me to the DMZ/JSA. When we met up with the bus, they were having their lunch. I noticed that the lunch I had with my tour guide was WAY better than the lunch the bus folks were having. The bus portion of the DMZ/JSA tour was very controlled (it had to be) and was great. However, the extra value which my private tour guide was able to provide before I got on the bus and after the bus dropped me off more than compensated for the difference in price. Do your self a favor and read up on the Korean War and the history since the war. Your private tour guide and you will be able to have a deeper and more meaningful conversation and you will learn more. I happened to do this, it seemed to surprise my tour guide that I knew so much about Korea, the Korean War, and history since the war that I was able to really learn so much more. Also, my genuine and sincere interest seemed to spur my tour guide to take me to even more places which he said "are not on my normal tour". Also, my tour guide picked me up and dropped me off at the private residence where I was staying. I did not have to venture to one of the "pickup hotels" where the normal DMZ/JSA tour buses pick up. This tour was really worth every penny and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants more than just a "tourist" experience. Feel free to contact me if you have questions.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was informative and interesting. The guide, Brian, was excellent. It was all that had hoped for in the tour!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Extremely enjoyed the tour! The guide was great and very funny, even if it wasn't necessarily intentional at times. Good independent exploration, with the facts (which I worry were slightly blurred sometimes with opinion) being dished out whilst driving. They were very flexible for us. Go Ginseng!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide, Nana, was extremely informative and provided a rich history on the ride to the DMZ. She was easy to understand and very humorous. I loved that she told us the top places to visit in our limited time at various sites. There was ample time at the Observatory to gaze into North Korea and to explore the Third Infiltration Tunnel. This was an amazing tour for the price, and I was very glad that my family and I were able to experience it!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience to see the history and the reality of the only divided county in the world.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I have traveled a lot and this full day tour to the DMZ and the JSA was tops. Make sure to book early and go to the JMZ, its a must see. The tour guide was fluent in English and told great stories on the hour bus ride up and back.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Outstanding!!! Worth every minute, worth every penny!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well worth the experience. Guide was very informative, spoke excellent English and was happy to explain everything. Bit of a pro-unification slant on a lot of what was said, especially the video before the tunnel visit, but that's to be expected.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great informational tour that ended with an awesome Korean meal! Erica was very helpful and detailed in explaining the complex history between the North and South. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We would definitely recommend this tour. It was great. We were glad we did this tour. The tour guides did a great job. We learned a lot. The lunch was great.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an excellent tour.
The guides were very good and in time.
The walk through the tunnel is exhausting. Take a bottle of water and sugar candy so that there is no problem.
There are places where you can sit down in the tunnel.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A interesting and informative tour. Be sure to expect a lot of walking uphill especially at the Tunnel. Guide spoke good English.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great ttour. Saw a lot in one day. jSA especially interesting!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very moving experience at one of the most volatile places on the planet. The tour was outstanding.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was awesome, the JSA was great

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very interesting day trip.
We were collected from the hotel by car and then we were taken to collect one other person before meeting the main coach - all went smoothly.
Sharon our tour guide was friendly and we were given time in each place to wander around on our own.

The places we visited were very interesting - the highlight being the JSA and being able to cross the border albeit within the confines of a building...

The tunnel was worth the climb and the constant banging of helmet protected head against the roof!

The train station showing the platform to Pyeongyang was also interesting, not least for the 'peace wall' of speakers.

All in all, I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was definitely the highlight of my time in South Korea and one of the most interesting travel experiences I've ever had. I'd highly recommend doing the full day (+ JSA/Panmunjom) tour; you'd really be missing out on the best parts of the experience if you only do the half-day. The tour was very professionally run and the included lunch was decent.

Not going to lie, there were parts of the tour that got my adrenaline pumping--for example: when we were instructed to "stay on the sidewalk so you don't step on landmines." The second half of the tour is partially run by the United Nations Command, Military Armistice Commission (UNCMAC) and you'll be accompanied by US military personnel. You'll have an opportunity to purchase North Korean wine, whiskey, and money, and there are (enough) times when you'll be allowed to take photos, but it's certainly restricted.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing and our tour guide was so nice!!! Hee Won made the tour interesting and entertaining! There is so much to see and do! I learned so many things about the struggle between NK and SK! I would definitely suggest this tour and I'd probably do it again!!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message