Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no man’s land known as the demilitarized zone, or DMZ. As the only divided nation on earth, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I highly recommend this trip, it was a great experience and our guide was very informative.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Christian L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing experience, anyone who goes to Seoul must do this tour, but make sure to do the JSA and DMZ and not just the DMZ tour. Great day out.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Getting picked up at Seoul Station ended up being easy. Driver was there on time. Tour was good - guide Sunny was knowledgeable and personable. The tour ended up being cut short as I paid for an all day and didn't use the after lunch portion since I was the only one who signed up. I found a little confusion on the website in the descriptions of the various tours so you may want to revise the descriptions. The price difference was refunded. Because I wasn't staying at a hotel in Seoul , having a US phone number to call eased the way for me to participate on this tour.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, well executed. Pick-up and drop off were spot on. The real compelling part of the tour is the JSA component in Panmunjom. Able to visit the conference room where negotiations occur and momentarily stand in North Korea. Note that tour availability is subject to political and other considerations but we got lucky on our visit.

The DMZ was very interesting as well. Perhaps one too many spots - Mt. Dora observatory was more of a gift shop than an observation point. More warning re: the conditions in the 3rd infiltration tunnel might have been helpful. A 350m descent (and climb) @ an 11 deg grade to a runnel that is 250m long and no more than 2m x 1m in size. Quite a workout and squeeze.

Lunch was great and recommended on this particular trip as there aren't a tremendous amount of options in the DMZ.

Your guide was well informed, pleasant, and had a decent command of English which made the tour both informative and interestiing

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was very informative, a little bit tense but very exciting. I love it. This is the kind of tour that I will recommend to my family and friends.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was so fascinating and informative. The tour is split into two parts; DMZ and JSA. I would say that if you can't fit in a full day tour; doing the DMZ tour is still an eye-opener.

It was slightly unorganized in the morning because there were a couple of tour buses/different tour groups at the pick-up point however, everything ran smoothly afterwards.

Our guide for DMZ was Sunny and she was wonderful. She spoke very clearly and was very informative. The tour runs on a very tight schedule. E.g. 20mins for particular places and you have to come back to the bus at a particular time. However, this made it run very smoothly and we were able to do everything because we arrived to places early and avoided the crowd.

I really enjoyed this tour. JSA part of the tour was much more intense because the security check is much higher. Please follow the dress code they give as they do check it on the second part(JSA) of the tour. Plain t-shirts are fine. It was a hot day but the coach had air-con so that made the bus ride comfortable.

Overall, if you have time, I'd definitely recommend the full day tour because with the JSA part, you get to go into the meeting room and also stand across from the boarder line. From where we stood on the steps, we saw a North Korean soldier looking through binoculars! This tour is definitely unforgettable and heart breaking.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Highly recommend this tour! Our guide was amazing, very patient and informative! I do suggest not going to the DMZ during a hoilday because everything is really busy!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent Tour Guide, like the smaller bus, very interesting sites.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour, great guide and driver. Extremely interesting to see in person all the history.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I had heard and seen so much about the dmz through the media and internet etc, but nothing prepared me for how good and surreal this tour would be, I was completly blown away especially buy the JSA part of the tour I would highly recommend this tour it just wonderful

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message