Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no-man’s-land known as the Korean Demilitarized Zone, or DMZ. As a divided nation, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 363 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pick up was on time. The driver had my name on an iPad screen so we found each other easily. We picked up a group from another hotel. They had left the same conference as I did so we made friends easily. The guide, Brian was friendly and so everyone was comfortable early on. The War Memorial was amazing. Wish I had more time there. We had to leave Seoul early to get to the several stops along the DMZ. We visited a look out to see a North Korean village, had a duck lunch at a South Korean village diner. It may have been odd if I didn't feel comfortable with the rest of the group as it was a self serve family style meal. We went to a military outpost and had an insightful interaction with a young training officer who explained the day to day operations guarding a section of border. We finally visited an area where the North Korean commandos entered to try to assassinate the South Korean leader. The last bit was a bit staged. This tour does not actually enter tunnels, but that should be obvious from the preview when you book. Great day and good value for money.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very exciting experience for me

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Trond B Norway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A Great experience! Well worth doing while visiting Korea.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

COBY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my second time to visit DMZ.
Last time, I picked up a brochure at my hotel and joined the tour with around 10 people.
But, it seemed like a theme park Very crowded and noisy. I couldn't feel any serious mood between two Koreas.

By chance, I found this tour upon my inquiry What DMZ tour is.
I realized that there are more places other than Paju DMZ my last DMZ tour place, which consists of 3rd tunnel and Dora observatory.

As I expected, the distance is longer than Paju and we could access Cheorwon passing by several rural area in 1h50m.

Two things make this tour special comparing to my previous DMZ tour.

- We didn't need to get on the bus to go inside DMZ area.
Last time, I had bad experience in the bus because the majority group people were very noisy and they didn't care other passengers. But, we traveled around by our car and 6 of us could talked each other while our guide was explaining something.

- I could feel the real tension from the atmosphere. For example, I was startled at salute at attention when we pass by security check-point. Maybe, not many people were coming here.
At the entrance of 2nd infiltrated tunnel, I saw the memorial pagoda for the soldiers who were died because they stepped on a mine while they were approaching the tunnel for the first time.
Also, I could hear the some broadcasting in the distance. Our guide said it was came from North Korea in response to South Korea's broadcasting as a part of psychological warfare.

It was very interesting experience.
But, I hope this hostile environment will be defused soon.

Doing what: Cheorwon DMZ Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sonya went out of her way to be helpful
Very interesting trip

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Ladson M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

absolutely amazing. The guides were great and what a time thru history.
Highly recommend this as a bucket list item.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

sdinakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you're visiting Seoul, this tour is a must. I will highly recommend doing the JSA along with the DMZ. Going to the JSA is on a totally different level of it's own. Amazing experience!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Wendell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved t. Shrek was great and we learned so much about the Korean war and post war events.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a very good tour. My tour guide was knowledgeable and spoke English well.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Joe B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sunny was great, she was funny and passionate about the history of Korea and the DMZ. She expressed optimism for a future reunification of North and South Korea. Highly recommend Sunny for leading the tour.
It would have been nice for a bit more time at some of the stops. The JSA stop was rushed at the photo opportunity at the conference building and at the gift shop. Unfortunately, getting everyone back to the back on time in a timely manner was a problem at almost evey stop. I was one of the first to miss getting back on time and time is lost that way. If you take this tour, it is important to return to the bus at the appointed time, otherwise everyone loses valuable time at other stops. There is a constant flow if tours to the DMZ and JSA with lots of people so a smooth flow is critical.
Thank you Sunny and Justin for a good day.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

agi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very interesting and well organized.
Our guide Sunny was very knowledgeable and pleasant and during the tour we learnt a lot about Korea in the past the Presant and even the Future-the dream abot the Unification.
We recomend the tour warmly!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Katarzyna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is an amazing tour! I enjoyed every minut of it! Definetly worth to see place! Tunnel at DMZ - cool, Train Station - super, Panmunjom - best! Even soldier from North Korea let us make a look of photos! At the day of trip weather wasnt so great - it was havy rained and windy but still trip was great! Guides told us many interesting things and even show them if it was possible! And Mrs 김소미 - Thank you for song!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

AbyJ United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This full day tour has so much packed into it that it will seem like it goes by fast. But if it didn't go by fast, one wouldn't be able to see it all. Our Holiday Tour with 'Rebecca' was excellent. A bus picked us up at our location in the morning. Once all the passengers were gathered, we transferred to another charter bus that drove us to Paju City. We stopped at Imjingak observatory where we saw the Peace Bell, among other monuments. Then we were taken to the Dora Observatory where we could look over in the distance and view the somber sight North Korea with our own eyes, and the Third Infiltration Tunnel, which we were able to climb down and observe the now blocked opening that originates in N. Korea. Our tour guide provided important historical information as well as the current status of the nations that gave us a deeper perspective. We stopped for a delicious and satisfying lunch where the half-day tourists were separated from the full-day tourists. We then continued on to the Joint Security Area in Panmunjom, Camp Bonifas, where we waited patiently for access to visit the United Nations buildings. The guards kept watch over us and gave us strict rules of conduct in here, where we could step over within the building into controversial territory. It was a sad moment visiting the Bridge of No Return, also the site of the Axe Murder Incident of Captain Bonifas and Lt. Barrett. The hopefulness for unification of the South Koreans was prevalent in the construction of the Dorasan Train Station, which was built in the hopes of providing transportation between the divided country. At the conclusion, we visited a shop where we can purchase mementos, and then were transported back to Seoul. I recommend this tour to anyone as it was one of the greatest highlights of my visit to Korea.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing tour although very sad it very interesting our guide gave us a local insight of how she felt as a Korean about reunification but also how other generations felt on this issue. We were also informed about Korean culture and where there culture today had come from

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

LFG M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very cool tour. Especially the JSA part. Very effeciently run. It gives great insight and information about the history of the 2 koreas. Also being right in the middle of the DMZ on the exact border under UN protection makes it rather special.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

jean pierre l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lee is extremely knowledgeable and organises a full day a little bit outside what the typical tourists would do. We had the pleasure to be able to speak to a soldier which was very interesting. Lee also speaks very good English which is a clear plus. We had a fabulous time! And I would definitely recommend the tour. It is worth every penny of it.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

clara b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Incredible experience. Sunny our tour guide was perfect, very informative and helped with any questions we had. A very surreal experience but a must to do in Seoul

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Tyrone G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable - we did the full all-day tour. Highlights were walking down to the third tunnel, and going to the JSA Panmunjom complex. Our tour guide for the morning, Sunny, was terrific. She provided lots of insights and information, and was a pleasure to be with. I recommend this tour for others.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message