Insadong (Insa-dong), Seoul’s cultural and artistic hub, is the place to go to shop for local crafts, visit a traditional Korean tea shop or catch an impromptu street performance. The quaint neighborhood, located in Jongno-gu district, houses one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 259 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very well planned. Our guide Michelle was very engaging, animated and very personable. She shared her personal perspective of N. Korea which made the drive to the DMZ zone interesting. She kept us abreast of what we were going to see and how much time we would have. Highly recommend. Best part of our trip to Seoul.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Alvin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great learning experience.

Because of a miscommunication the confirmation email from the tour company was dumped into my Spam folder in my email, and we were advised also by the hotel officer that nobody from the tour came at the agreed time, we missed the hotel pick-up. However, Sunny and Erica were very gracious and asked us to meet them at another pick-up point, and they paid for the taxi fare.

On our way to Imjingak and DMZ, our tour guide, Erica, kept reminding us of important details so that we don't run into problems while visiting DMZ, such was when not to take photos because we will be in a military facility, the steep slope going to the tunnel so that we can gauge if we are healthy/fit enough to be able to go up and down the tunnel, to stay with the group so that we don't get lost since it is peak season of the tour, etc.

The way Erica provides information about the tour, the history of the Korean War, etc. is very inspiring and moving. I can sense in her the national pride of being able to fully recover and develop into a rich nation from being a totally poor and devastated post-war country, and the hopefulness for a reunification. It made me respect South Korea and its people even more.

When we got to the observation platform overlooking the demarcation line/Korean border and North Korea, my friend told me that some of the tour guides from the other tour groups simply pointed the tourists to the huge billboard and asked them to read the labels of the interesting spots, and them left them on their own. Our tour guide, Erica, however, took time to point and explain to us the interesting things we can see where is the flag pole, where is North Korea, where is the Kaesong Industrial Park, etc..

Overall, we were taken care of very well and Erica provided a very good learning time to us.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I highly recommend this tour. This is a very unique way to see Seoul. The day offers a mix of bike time, walking time, rest time, eating time, and sightseeing time. Our guide, Max, went out of his way to insure we were safe, had good insights into what we were seeing and where we were going, and the lunch was fantastic. This is far better than being on a bus or in a car!

Doing what: Seoul City Sightseeing by Bike and Foot

Natalie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was excellent. The tour guide, Sunny, was very helpful, knowledgable, and kept us entertained on the bus ride. The sites we got to see were very interesting, and it was a surreal experience actually seeing a North Korean town from the observatory. The only thing that I didn't like was the stop at a duty free shop on the way back we were there for quite some time and most people were not interested in buying anything. Overall a small complaint out of a very interesting and worthwhile experience.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Kimo N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide Sunny was great, and make trip very enjoyable!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Benjamin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, guide was friendly and knowledgeable and it was a very good price considering all of the places we went.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) Half-Day Tour from Seoul

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Our tour guide Rebecca was fantastic and very knowledgeable. Best tour we took on our entire trip to Asia. A must see.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

MARIA C V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very educating tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, energetic and friendly. It was amazing to see it in person instead of on TV. At the end of the tour, we had lunch with our guide and she answered all the questions we had over a fine Korean meal.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Stanton K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful, wonderful tour with Saena Sweet Lee. She is an asset to the company.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very well organised tour, with meaningful comments and interaction by our tour guide.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Hammy, our tour guide was excellent, with a lot of knowledge and information.

Doing what: Morning Cultural Tour: UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Seoul

Patrick D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My wife and I both enjoyed the Seoul City tour very much. Our guide, Rebecca, was knowledgable, and a kick to hang with! For anyone coming to Seoul I highly recommend this tour early on as it lends a nice overview of the city.

Doing what: Seoul City Sightseeing Tour Including Gyeongbokgung Palace, N Seoul Tower and Namsangol Hanok Village

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Satisfying and good value for money. Our guide, Rebecca, was very friendly, helpful and professional. We were able to cover all the places we wanted to visit in one day and lots of good shopping too!

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

mcguinn2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! Great guide! I enjoyed the exercise from the biking and getting to see things like the palace. If you don't speak Korean, this is worth it just to have a local helping you order lunch and telling you things you would probably otherwise miss.

Doing what: Seoul City Sightseeing by Bike and Foot

Brandolin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an amazing day, and tour guide Sunny was fantastic. Intellegent, informative, funny, and diligent about communicating with every guest, even though there were eleven of us from five countries! This is a super packed 8-9 hour day, be sure you're up to it or consider a half day tour. Several folks faded after lunch and opted to stay on the bus. Bummer. As other reviewers have noted, the ginseng and amethyst stops are clear money grabs, but you don't stay long and I assume they pay the tour company for stops, which may help keep the price of the tour extremely reasonable? Anyway, incredible day, try to get Sunny as your guide!

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Nancy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide, Max, was very accommodating and really cool. He gave us a lot of history throughout the tour and we really enjoyed his company.

The bike tour was challenging, as you ride through the busy sidewalks throughout Seoul, so be on alert, but it was fun!! Highly recommend!!! Have fun!

Doing what: Seoul City Sightseeing by Bike and Foot

Bianca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good. Excellent guide, informative and we'll organised.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Arlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend. this all day tour which was run by City Seoul Tour Inc. Our tour guide Hana Heejan spoke excellent English, was enthusiastic and very willing to share her knowledge and thoughts about the history of Korea and modern day Seoul. Due to a rain downpour she adjusted our activity to move indoors and came up with a perfect alternative to the planned outdoor site. In one day all the important sites to see were included. A perfect full day tour.

Doing what: Seoul City Sightseeing Tour Including Gyeongbokgung Palace, N Seoul Tower and Namsangol Hanok Village

Elo E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour we learned a lot about the history of Korea past and present.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Rona L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and I had never been to Korea before and this tour was a wonderful introduction to Seoul. What made it even better was that we had a small group 5 of very compatible travelers. Our guide, Sonny, was the best she was friendly, concerned about the needs of her group, spoke English very well, and shared interesting and important historical and cultural information. We highly recommend this tour. Keep in mind that it includes a good deal of walking.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip. Picked up from our hotel in Seoul and had a very informative and interesting tour with a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. Well recommended.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to see DMZ! Highly recommend to all!!!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Graciela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was an interested and exiting experience!!!!!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message