To understand South Korea, you have to also understand its other half in the North and the ongoing conflict that separates them. One of Seoul’s top attractions is actually located several hours to the North, at the demilitarized zone (DMZ) that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christian L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing experience, anyone who goes to Seoul must do this tour, but make sure to do the JSA and DMZ and not just the DMZ tour. Great day out.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, well executed. Pick-up and drop off were spot on. The real compelling part of the tour is the JSA component in Panmunjom. Able to visit the conference room where negotiations occur and momentarily stand in North Korea. Note that tour availability is subject to political and other considerations but we got lucky on our visit.

The DMZ was very interesting as well. Perhaps one too many spots - Mt. Dora observatory was more of a gift shop than an observation point. More warning re: the conditions in the 3rd infiltration tunnel might have been helpful. A 350m descent (and climb) @ an 11 deg grade to a runnel that is 250m long and no more than 2m x 1m in size. Quite a workout and squeeze.

Lunch was great and recommended on this particular trip as there aren't a tremendous amount of options in the DMZ.

Your guide was well informed, pleasant, and had a decent command of English which made the tour both informative and interestiing

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was so fascinating and informative. The tour is split into two parts; DMZ and JSA. I would say that if you can't fit in a full day tour; doing the DMZ tour is still an eye-opener.

It was slightly unorganized in the morning because there were a couple of tour buses/different tour groups at the pick-up point however, everything ran smoothly afterwards.

Our guide for DMZ was Sunny and she was wonderful. She spoke very clearly and was very informative. The tour runs on a very tight schedule. E.g. 20mins for particular places and you have to come back to the bus at a particular time. However, this made it run very smoothly and we were able to do everything because we arrived to places early and avoided the crowd.

I really enjoyed this tour. JSA part of the tour was much more intense because the security check is much higher. Please follow the dress code they give as they do check it on the second part(JSA) of the tour. Plain t-shirts are fine. It was a hot day but the coach had air-con so that made the bus ride comfortable.

Overall, if you have time, I'd definitely recommend the full day tour because with the JSA part, you get to go into the meeting room and also stand across from the boarder line. From where we stood on the steps, we saw a North Korean soldier looking through binoculars! This tour is definitely unforgettable and heart breaking.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Highly recommend this tour! Our guide was amazing, very patient and informative! I do suggest not going to the DMZ during a hoilday because everything is really busy!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I had heard and seen so much about the dmz through the media and internet etc, but nothing prepared me for how good and surreal this tour would be, I was completly blown away especially buy the JSA part of the tour I would highly recommend this tour it just wonderful

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A highly informative and fascinating tour providing a solid background to those not familiar with the history of the area. The tour is run in two parts: the DMZ/3rd Tunnel in the morning and the JSA/Panmunjom after lunch where the tour group composition may change (various tour operators need to work with others so that there is a consolidated group to visit the JSA). The tour guides were very knowledgeable and had excellent English, the second was very firm (almost militaristic in style) yet still highly informative. The highlight was the JSA part of the tour where I visited the T2 building installation. While it was a little tense with all the rules and strict instructions - I learned a lot on this tour on the 38th Parallel - highly recommended.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent guide and very well organized. Highly recommend including JSA Panmunjom with the DMZ trip.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was excellent. Picked up on time at my hotel. Very informative tour of the DMZ
The comfort of the motor coach was wonderful. Went on a Sunday so less traffic. You must bring your passport.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent, interesting, and informative day. It's not often that you get to go somewhere as unique and daunting as the DMZ so the experience would have been good regardless, but the vast knowledge of the tour guides really help give a better perspective on the history and current situation. I would definitely recommend this one for anyone visiting South Korea.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The guide was very entertaining and full of information. Going to the DMZ was quite an experience and really brought home the sadness of the Korean War even after all these years. We strongly recommend including the JSA Tour. We weren't in the blue building a long time but it was worth the trip. Was awesome seeing US troops at work and being able to tell them how much we appreciate their service. The DMZ tour was in the morning, then the group was split for those going on for the JSA tour. Some of the morning DMZ group did not know they had to plan in advance for JSA so please make a note that you must plan ahead. For Viator we had to send passports 7 days in advance. Once in South Korea the guide said you had to submit passports a minimum of 48 hrs in advance. You can't decide at the last minute you want to go and you'll wish you had made plans for this once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed myself in this tour. Tour guide Sunny was very professional and engaging at the same time. Keeping a relatively large group of 29 people entertained constantly. She could explain about virtually anything and everything with regards to the DMZ. If you love history and want to know about the conflict between North and South Korea, it is highly recommended that you join this tour.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was very interesting to see the past and present of DMZ. The tour itself was very well organized and informative. Highly recommended!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Friendly English speaking guide, we saw and learned a lot of the DMZ that day. Lunch was great.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

DMZ was good. Unfortunately, due to a military situation, our tour to Panmunjom was cancelled.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This a great way to see the DMZ, which you really can't see unless you are on a tour. The tour guide was friendly and very informative, gave us clear instructions about where and when we could take photos (there are lots of rules), and about what time we needed to be back on the bus each time. The tour seemed to run on time and we got back to the city at the time we expected. We made a lot of stops but each one was pretty quick (not rushed, but not so long I felt like I was waiting around) so the time seemed to go by really fast. I was never bored. There is a short visit to an amethyst shop and/or a ginseng shop. our group chose the ginseng shop and it was basically a sales presentation. Next time I'd just get off the bus there and continue exploring on my own.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message