• USD ($)
  • English

Shanghai ATTRACTIONS See all

Jade Buddha Temple (Yufo Si)

Yufo Si is a working Buddhist community - one of the few in China - but the star attractions of the Jade Buddha Temple are two figures brought to Shanghai by a Burmese monk in the 19th century.  The most impressive is the sitting Buddha, a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great way to see shanghai. Staff were very good. Convenient stops. Excellent inclusions. Temple of jade Buddha jan Mai 88 th floor view of shanghai and terrific river cruise. Fabulous at night as both banks of river spectacular as they were lite up The pass lasted 48 from time of first use. Great value

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a great tour (we only had three people so it was very personal and we learned a great deal about the pearl industry, Buddhism (at the Jade Buddha temple). The Shanghai museum has tremendous historical items and one could easily spend an entire day there.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Steven E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

enjoyed tour very interesting lots to see and the jade buddha was beautiful.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Very enjoyable, informative and interesting. Lunch was plentiful and very good. Well informed tour guide. Jade Buddha Temple is not to be missed & the Fresh Water Pearl Gallery is a real treat where pearl jewelery can be bought at great bargains. Not enough time at the Shanghai Museum but anyone can revisit at his own leisure if required.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The Hop On Hop Off tickets are inclusive of the tickets to the Tower and the JadeBuddha Temple and a cruise. Something we didn't know at the time of booking, but the extra tickets were a pleasant surprise. There are lots of buses and we never waited for too long at the bus stop.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good tour, though there seems to be a lot of driving around the city that isn't necessary. I think I'd recommend just doing a half-day tour, seeing the Jade Buddha Temple, maybe the museum, and the oyster pearl factory. Things like the Bund, Yu Gardens, and the French Concession are easy enough to see on your own on your trip if you've got time to sight-see.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was quite charming and knowledgeable and the tour itself was fine, the Jade Buddha Temple, the Bund, the Gardens, even the pearl and silk stores I didn't mind. Starting at the Shanghai Museum was also good - even if racing through it in an hour hardly did it justice, but a good intro nonetheless.
HOWEVER, the lunch was worse than Chinese food in America, just touristy and nothing particularly good, interesting or special. After hearing from the local guide about the yummy breakfast items he savored at street stands, it would've been lovely to have some really good Shanghai treats. The young couple in our small group opted to lunch at a nearby Haagen Dazs. They made a wise choice.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The Shanghai Museum is really worth the trip - very well arranged and a beautiful collection. Chris was a pleasant and knowledgeable guide. HIs commentary on the Jade Buddha Temple made for a richer experience. The Pearl Gallery is just a store and lunch was so so but overall the tour was definitely a good value and we all enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great day trip around Shanghai! Frank our tour guide was amazing with excellent knowledge of the local attractions. The Jade Buddha temple is excellent.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great tour and the size of the group was small (total of 6) in air condition van. Got a lot of history from tour guide and saw many sites in Shanghai. Had a great tasty Shanghai lunch ordered by the guide. Loved the museum, learning about pearls, silk, and jade, history and sites of the Bund, beautiful Jade Buddha Temple, and the beauty of Yuyaun Garden. Tour was timely and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

We went to alot of nice places in Shanghai, such as a museum and the Jade Bhudda temple. It was a good mixture of old and new things to see. For the price it was well worth it.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

guide once again was great, brilliant command of English, only thing was we felt a little rushed from one place to the next. jade buddha temple is amazing, fantastic sites to see. lunch was great, good food in a clean restaurant. we visited a silk factory which was interesting to see how silk is made and there's tons of things to buy. the weather wasn't great on our trip so we had to cut short the walk through the xintandi area and i wished we'd had gone lower down on the bund and seen the historic buildings versus focusing on the waterfront. but great day trip to see a lot of key sights and find your bearings for the next day.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

I really enjoyed this tour. Especially the old-city and the yu-garden. The Jade Buddha Tempel is magnificent. The kasmier-shop I didn't like, instead I would have liked to spent more time with the tea ceremony. The tour takes you across the city, and our tourguide Helen knew so much about her city. If you don't feel like exploring the city on your own, this is the tour you should book.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Our tour guide Burney was great. His english was impecable. He gave us alot of recommendations. As with my other 2 experiences with Viator in China, we had 2 unannounced Pearl factory and Jade factory shopping stops. The sights were great. The Shanghai Museum was a pleasant surprise. Once again, lunch was mediocre. There is so much great food in China, its disappointing that the tours take you to these restaurants that offer a sub par menu. I would recommend this trip if you have a short time to sightsee in Shanghai. Bring your own lunch or snacks.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message