Shanghai ATTRACTIONS See all

Jade Buddha Temple (Yufo Si)

Yufo Si is a working Buddhist community - one of the few in China - but the star attractions of the Jade Buddha Temple are two figures brought to Shanghai by a Burmese monk in the 19th century.  The most impressive is the sitting Buddha, a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I was the only person on this tour so it was a very personalized morning. Our driver was very safe by Shanghai standards and I felt comfortable in his car. The guide, Fiona, is a local from Shanghai and filled the tour with great snippets of information - she knew all the interesting little things that you are not likely to read in a tourist guide. Like, which taxi companies are more likely to scam a tourist etc. Fiona is well traveled herself and spoke excellent English. She was also very interested in my home country (Australia) which was quite sweet. I did the morning tour and was not expecting a visit to the silk factory but Fiona managed to squeeze it in. If you are thinking of doing this half day tour make sure you do the afternoon one to ENSURE a visit to the Silk factory (It is very clearly stated in the booking info that the Silk factory is NOT included in the morning tour so DO NOT be disappointed if you book the morning tour and don't go there). The silk factory really is amazing and very worthwhile. Rainbow was the name of the tour guide there and she also spoke very good English. The pearl museum really is just a pearl shop with a snippet of interesting info in the foyer. At the silk shop I was able to wander on my own a bit and look at the merchandise. So I was able to make my own mind up about purchases. However at the pearl shop the sales attendant really shadowed me which made me slightly uncomfortable. We also had an hour at the Shanghai Museum which was perfect for me. Four floors of Chinese antiquities - very interesting, but for me, any more than an hour and I would loose interest. The Jade temple was also interesting but a little sad that it has become such a commercial enterprise. Each temple had a shop in or next to it. I guess the Vatican in Rome does the same thing so..... Definitely try this tour if you only have half a day to spare as I did. It is not rushed, nor is it too slow. I had a great morning.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour far exceeded our expectations. We had a very small group and Fran was our guide. We went to the Shanghai museum and spent a long time with the collection of bronzes that go back 13 centuries BC. We toured the Yu gardens where Fran gave a lot of extra information about the meaning of the Gardens and special features. We visited the Jade Buddah Temple and Fran made it come alive with information. We also had a very informative and pleasant tea tasting and a productive pearl shopping visit. Because we took so much time with pictures and reading at the museum and gardens, we ran out of time for the French Concession, but we had booked the custom tour the next day so we combined that with the Shanghai Art Museum and a great lunch, for a wonderful day. The only thing that needs to change, for us foodies, is where Viator schedules the lunch for this all day tour, which apparently is based on where parking is available not the food. Fran could not change that so I suggest you make a special request in advance to have a different lunch spot.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Grayden H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - we also covered a Pearl factory and had a tea ceremony, as well as the Bund, Jade Template and the Yu Garden. Lunch was one of the better quality set lunches. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great way to see shanghai. Staff were very good. Convenient stops. Excellent inclusions. Temple of jade Buddha jan Mai 88 th floor view of shanghai and terrific river cruise. Fabulous at night as both banks of river spectacular as they were lite up The pass lasted 48 from time of first use. Great value

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a great tour (we only had three people so it was very personal and we learned a great deal about the pearl industry, Buddhism (at the Jade Buddha temple). The Shanghai museum has tremendous historical items and one could easily spend an entire day there.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Steven E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

enjoyed tour very interesting lots to see and the jade buddha was beautiful.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Very enjoyable, informative and interesting. Lunch was plentiful and very good. Well informed tour guide. Jade Buddha Temple is not to be missed & the Fresh Water Pearl Gallery is a real treat where pearl jewelery can be bought at great bargains. Not enough time at the Shanghai Museum but anyone can revisit at his own leisure if required.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The Hop On Hop Off tickets are inclusive of the tickets to the Tower and the JadeBuddha Temple and a cruise. Something we didn't know at the time of booking, but the extra tickets were a pleasant surprise. There are lots of buses and we never waited for too long at the bus stop.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good tour, though there seems to be a lot of driving around the city that isn't necessary. I think I'd recommend just doing a half-day tour, seeing the Jade Buddha Temple, maybe the museum, and the oyster pearl factory. Things like the Bund, Yu Gardens, and the French Concession are easy enough to see on your own on your trip if you've got time to sight-see.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was quite charming and knowledgeable and the tour itself was fine, the Jade Buddha Temple, the Bund, the Gardens, even the pearl and silk stores I didn't mind. Starting at the Shanghai Museum was also good - even if racing through it in an hour hardly did it justice, but a good intro nonetheless.
HOWEVER, the lunch was worse than Chinese food in America, just touristy and nothing particularly good, interesting or special. After hearing from the local guide about the yummy breakfast items he savored at street stands, it would've been lovely to have some really good Shanghai treats. The young couple in our small group opted to lunch at a nearby Haagen Dazs. They made a wise choice.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The Shanghai Museum is really worth the trip - very well arranged and a beautiful collection. Chris was a pleasant and knowledgeable guide. HIs commentary on the Jade Buddha Temple made for a richer experience. The Pearl Gallery is just a store and lunch was so so but overall the tour was definitely a good value and we all enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great day trip around Shanghai! Frank our tour guide was amazing with excellent knowledge of the local attractions. The Jade Buddha temple is excellent.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great tour and the size of the group was small (total of 6) in air condition van. Got a lot of history from tour guide and saw many sites in Shanghai. Had a great tasty Shanghai lunch ordered by the guide. Loved the museum, learning about pearls, silk, and jade, history and sites of the Bund, beautiful Jade Buddha Temple, and the beauty of Yuyaun Garden. Tour was timely and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

We went to alot of nice places in Shanghai, such as a museum and the Jade Bhudda temple. It was a good mixture of old and new things to see. For the price it was well worth it.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message