Shanghai ATTRACTIONS See all

Ohel Moshe Synagogue

The Ohel Moshe Synagogue (Ohel Moishe) played a central role in the lives of Jewish refugees in Shanghai during WWII. Although the synagogue is no longer fully in use, a section of it has been given over to house the Shanghai Jewish Refugees ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We were delighted with our guide Annie, and if anyone wants a reference we cannot speak highly enough of her. Her English and enthusiasm were excellent and she even emailed us photos. Annie made this tour one of the highlights of our trip! Len and Deanna Levin.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Walking around the area of Hongkou is so interesting because of it's history in relation to Jewish refugees and because it gives you an insight into life in the suburbs in Shanghai today. Prior to meeting our tour guide, Annie, we had some time to spare so we wandered around the area a little by ourselves. The people of the area are friendly and didn't seem to mind us stopping and watching them go about their daily lives. When we met Annie, we knew we had hit the jackpot! Annie is everything you want in a tour guide. She was knowledgeable about the area and it's history, interested in us as her clients and willing to fit in with what things we were interested in seeing.

We loved the Jewish architecture of Hongkou, the beautiful park Annie took us to and the Jewish heritage Museum. Annie also took us to a temple and explained many aspects of the Buddhist faith while we were walking through it.
The professionalism of the company who runs the tour was also to be applauded. When i contacted their office in Shanghai the day before the tour, they forwarded to me by e-mail, detailed directions to get to the meeting place and even called Annie at the end of the tour to speak with us and find out our thoughts. I would highly recommend this tour. It demonstrates a side of Shanghai and it's people that I don't think many people are aware of.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Annie was our guide for this tour. She gave us explicit directions as to where to meet her, She was prompt and provided a great tour of the area.Her english is excellent and the information helped us to see the ghetto, its history, different ethnic groups from Iraq, Iran, Russia and others who were provided asylum during very dark periods in history. She is very knowledgeable and took us not only to the complex which houses the Jewish history in Shanghai, but the old synagogoue and was even able to bring us into homes where they lived. I would highly recommend this tour! rj freeman, salem, ma

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour guide - Annie - was terrific. She was very knowledgeable and her English was terrific. She also gave us an interesting tour around the neighborhood. We were even invited into someone's home, an elderly Chinese couple invited us into their room and spoke through Annie. It was a very unique experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Who knew this history existed., Very interesting tour and out guide was very interesting. The advantage of the tour is that the guide takes your around the neighborhood so you get a good sense of what life was like in this interesting slice of history.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Very informative and great fun! I love Jenny who knows so much about Shanghai!

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The guide went above and beyond in making this trip very informative, interesting and a great use of our time.
One of the best guides we have ever had across the globe.
She really knew her subject .

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Pretty much covered all of the important aspects of Jewish life in Shanghai. Besides the synagogue and its displays, we also got to see the interior of a building where the Jewish population lived, walked the streets and alleys, and we were given a good overview of Jewish life by our guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Fabulous tour guide and very interesting tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Unfortunately it rained all day but that didn't stop us from enjoying the tour and the commentary by Zoe. I will recommend the tour to future visitors.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The young lady was lovely. It would be better if she were more steeped in the history, but she did a very good job. I would have liked to see a few more specific sites within that ghetto.
Thank you

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

I had gone on the tour before and was somewhat disappointed about the knowledge the tour leader had about the Jewish area. She needs to get more information. Also did not visit the Peace Hotel or the ghetto homes as we did previously. I did not quite understand why the tour ended at a Temple that had nothing to do the the Jewish area.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Almost all of the tour was explained by the free volunteer at the Jewish museum. We did not need our tour guide. Just go directly to the museum on your own. guide asked us if we wanted to see a temple which the viator site says is inc with the tour and is connected to Judaism. She never explained it

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message