Shanghai ATTRACTIONS See all

Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum (Ohel Moshe Synagogue)

The Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum houses the history of as many as 30,000 Jewish refugees who fled the Holocaust in Europe to settle in the Tilanqiao district of Shanghai during WWII. The museum is made up of 3 parts: the Ohel Moshe Synagogue ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bari P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Dvir is a fantastic tour guide. He is knowledgeable about the history of Jews in Shanghai and delivers information with passion and enthusiasm. I learned a lot and had a great time. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

CHRISTOPHER B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour. The tour leader was very well informed about the history of Jewish settlement in Shanghai and the events which led up to that settlement. His knowledge was outstanding.
We were honoured to be invited to our leaders home where he showed us typical accommodation made available to Jewish people during the war years . We were also show a most interesting collection of pictures collected by our leader.
I recommend this tour to those who want to really understand the Jewish occupance of this small part of Shanghai in the war years and to experience how good the Chinese people were to them.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Fran B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed seeing and hearing about the history!

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Howard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour worked well. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

James K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I brought a few friends and they were so glad they came!

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Gladys R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was first class! Zoe, the guide, was extremely knowledgeable, and went above and beyond to give details about the area, show us around, answer questions and make sure we had a fabulous experience. It exceeded my hopes for the couple of hours.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was very knowledgable and friendly. A very interesting tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Leonard I. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We were delighted with our guide Annie, and if anyone wants a reference we cannot speak highly enough of her. Her English and enthusiasm were excellent and she even emailed us photos. Annie made this tour one of the highlights of our trip! Len and Deanna Levin.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Anne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Walking around the area of Hongkou is so interesting because of it's history in relation to Jewish refugees and because it gives you an insight into life in the suburbs in Shanghai today. Prior to meeting our tour guide, Annie, we had some time to spare so we wandered around the area a little by ourselves. The people of the area are friendly and didn't seem to mind us stopping and watching them go about their daily lives. When we met Annie, we knew we had hit the jackpot! Annie is everything you want in a tour guide. She was knowledgeable about the area and it's history, interested in us as her clients and willing to fit in with what things we were interested in seeing.

We loved the Jewish architecture of Hongkou, the beautiful park Annie took us to and the Jewish heritage Museum. Annie also took us to a temple and explained many aspects of the Buddhist faith while we were walking through it.
The professionalism of the company who runs the tour was also to be applauded. When i contacted their office in Shanghai the day before the tour, they forwarded to me by e-mail, detailed directions to get to the meeting place and even called Annie at the end of the tour to speak with us and find out our thoughts. I would highly recommend this tour. It demonstrates a side of Shanghai and it's people that I don't think many people are aware of.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Ronni F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Annie was our guide for this tour. She gave us explicit directions as to where to meet her, She was prompt and provided a great tour of the area.Her english is excellent and the information helped us to see the ghetto, its history, different ethnic groups from Iraq, Iran, Russia and others who were provided asylum during very dark periods in history. She is very knowledgeable and took us not only to the complex which houses the Jewish history in Shanghai, but the old synagogoue and was even able to bring us into homes where they lived. I would highly recommend this tour! rj freeman, salem, ma

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Robin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour guide - Annie - was terrific. She was very knowledgeable and her English was terrific. She also gave us an interesting tour around the neighborhood. We were even invited into someone's home, an elderly Chinese couple invited us into their room and spoke through Annie. It was a very unique experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Who knew this history existed., Very interesting tour and out guide was very interesting. The advantage of the tour is that the guide takes your around the neighborhood so you get a good sense of what life was like in this interesting slice of history.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Very informative and great fun! I love Jenny who knows so much about Shanghai!

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The guide went above and beyond in making this trip very informative, interesting and a great use of our time.
One of the best guides we have ever had across the globe.
She really knew her subject .

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Barbara B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very educational and moving. The guide was very good. Again, the issue of not being able to communicate in advance to know when and where to meet was a problem.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

bryan f

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Sadly we didn't go ,due to health problems

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Joan H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Pretty much covered all of the important aspects of Jewish life in Shanghai. Besides the synagogue and its displays, we also got to see the interior of a building where the Jewish population lived, walked the streets and alleys, and we were given a good overview of Jewish life by our guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Virginia R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Fabulous tour guide and very interesting tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Rachelle M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Unfortunately it rained all day but that didn't stop us from enjoying the tour and the commentary by Zoe. I will recommend the tour to future visitors.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Sandra R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The guide, although a very sweet girl, didn't know very much about the Jewish history so much of it was self guided. She then insisted on taking us to a Bhuddist temple even though our interest for that day was of the Jews of Shanghai.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Geoffrey H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Reasonable experience but be aware that it is given by a chinese local rather than a jewish expat as some of the other tours. This gives it a different perspective that might not suit all tastes. Also the main part of the tour was around a museum which you probably dont need a guide for.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Lillian M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The young lady was lovely. It would be better if she were more steeped in the history, but she did a very good job. I would have liked to see a few more specific sites within that ghetto.
Thank you

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Sharon F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

iNformation was not overall told in logical sequence. Also we were taken to a Buddist temple which had nothing to do with subject matter.
There was large poster on the street that were not addressed or pointed out.
Tell guide to try and watch video The Shanghai Getto, a documentary about four people who had been in Shanghai during the war and we're now returning to tell their individual story

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Rachael C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This is really not worth your money. Our guide was a young local, not Jewish. That normally wouldn't bother me in the slightest, but while he knew what he was supposed to say, he clearly had no understanding of what this place meant to the Jewish people so at times his explanations were insensitive at best.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Yoram H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The guide was very nice and knowledgable .
Nevertheless the tour is overpriced . Paid 233 USD for 90 minutes - 4 people . (With another tourist joining us probably for free).

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message