Shanghai ATTRACTIONS See all

Suzhou and Zhouzhuang

If Shanghai's ultramodern skyline has you pining for the China of old kung fu movies, a day trip or weekend in Suzhou or Zhouzhuang might be in order. Both described individually as 'the Venice of China,' the two cities' lantern-lined canals and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great escape from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. We departed Shanghai around 2pm which allowed us to see Zhouzhuang both during the day and at night. Great way of doing the tour as the village completely transforms when the sun goes down and all the lights come on! Riding in the gondola was definitely the highlight!

Doing what: Zhouzhuang Water Village Tour from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An interesting tour away from Shanghai for the afternoon. It was a long drive (and heavy traffic), but the late start meant that we were able to see Zhouzhuang at sunset, with the lights on. We saw two different Chinese houses, many bridges did a gondola ride (with singing gondolier) and had free time to do a spot of shopping. A fun day out!

Doing what: Zhouzhuang Water Village Tour from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Zhouzhuang: The water village was GORGEOUS, cute and the gondola ride was really beautiful, peaceful and fun. Everyone on the trip wished we would have spent much more of our trip in this town instead of the other activities. Highlight of the day and probably some of the best pics from my entire trip to China. Again, wish we had had more time in this town and less time spent in Suzhou.

Suzhou: The Net Master's Garden was beautiful but smaller than I imagined. I think the best part was seeing the old furniture that has held up so beautifully and the lovely wall hangings. Nice place, a bit crowded. Having the guide was key, learned a lot. The silk factory was just like others that we had all visited, although I appreciated that this one I actually got to see people making the silk and the live silk worms. The lunch was also fine but nothing stood out.

All in all, a great trip that I highly recommend to see the beautiful water village and the Net Master's Garden.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Zhouzhuang: The water village was GORGEOUS, cute and the gondola ride was really beautiful, peaceful and fun. Everyone on the trip wished we would have spent much more of our trip in this town instead of the other activities. Highlight of the day and probably some of the best pics from my entire trip to China. Again, wish we had had more time in this town and less time spent in Suzhou.

Suzhou: The Net Master's Garden was beautiful but smaller than I imagined. I think the best part was seeing the old furniture that has held up so beautifully and the lovely wall hangings. Nice place, a bit crowded. Having the guide was key, learned a lot. The silk factory was just like others that we had all visited, although I appreciated that this one I actually got to see people making the silk and the live silk worms. The lunch was also fine but nothing stood out.

All in all, a great trip that I highly recommend to see the beautiful water village and the Net Master's Garden.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Transport and driver were excellent. The Guide (Frank) was knowledgeable and very helpful. Shared lots of interesting information and was always willing to talk with passengers and answer questions. Particularly enjoyed the visit to Suzhou and the ride along the canals, pretty village and very relaxing. The Master of the Nets Garden was superb and very inspiring!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent tour. Excellent arrangements. Own private vehicle and excellent tour guide. Suzhou and its museum was wonderful and Zhouzhuang was like heaven. Excellent lunch. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Day Trip from Shanghai provided an excellent opportunity to economically and efficiently explore some different parts of China. We chose this trip because we wanted to visit a silk factory, but the tour provided so much more of interest. The silk factory tour was most comprehensive. We also appreciated the fact that this trip transversed many different areas: cities, urban developments, rural countryside, canals, historic gardens and traditional houses. The guide was most informative and helpful. We were pleased with the flexibility that was available so that special interests could be accommodated. In summary, a most worth-while experience.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

guide was knowledgeable, the city of Zhouzhuang was definitely the highlight of this tour-- highly recommended- the food provided for lunch was OK but not particularly great.... it was nice to get out of the big city, though

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great guide. This day-trip is amazing. You see the silk factory and a nice museum and the Zhouzhuang Water village is AMAZING. This is a really great espace from busy Shanghai.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Julie
Poland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great escape from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. Seeing Suzhou and Zhouzhuang is like being in a different world - completely different than China's big cities. The gardens in Suzhou are a must-see! I highly recommend this day trip to anyone wanting to catch a glimpse into the untouched China.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Joe the guide made this tour a very pleasant day. He gave the clients a lot of information and was happy to answer questions. Friendly driver. Suzhou -enjoyed the Master of Net Garden. Highlight was the boat trip in Zhouzhuang Water Village.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

For a day-trip, this is about the correct pace. It takes over an hour to get from Shanghai to Suzhou. You get to see the lavish home of a typical Chinese merchant (from the past). The silk factory, which is privately-run, is better than state-run ones. Zhouzhuang water village is the highlight of the day. Joe, our guide for the day, is very professional and good at this job. This is worthwhile tour !

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Worth the trip. Zhouzhuang Water Village is absolutely charming. Tour guide was excellent as well but the lunch was a really bad western buffet.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Ming
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

I chose this tour because of the hotel pick-up and drop-off service. Frank the guide was very polite and responsible. I booked last minute and was late back at my hotel the night before but he made sure he reached me about the pick-up time. The tour was packed with highlights of Suzhou (small garden and silk factory) including a bonus visit to an Embroidery Center where we had an enjoyable lunch (not the buffet from older reviews). Frank also did a very thorough tour of Zhouzhuang after lunch. We visited 2 old residences and did a gondola ride. April was a great time to visit with beautiful blossoms with crowds, though not yet out of control. We did hit a bit of traffic in Shanghai but that's expected. Overall the tour was excellent and I felt safe and taken care of. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Amy F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Zhouzhuang Water Village is a beautiful look into traditional China and a nice contrast from the busy and modern Shanghai. I can not recommend this day trip enough. Zhouzhuang is clearly on show for tourists, but I still found it authentic and a joy to wander through. If you do one day trip from Shanghai, make it to here. We also went to lovely traditional ancient house gardens in Suzhou which were peaceful, and our guide was great at explaining the history and way of life of centuries ago. There was also a stop at a silk factory in Suzhou which shows great behind the scenes workings of making silk. There is a chance to stock up on silk productsgifts for friends back home, but I didn't feel pressured to buy which was good. The day our tour group went there were only four of us was 40 degrees -- hot weather -- yet our guide Maggie was patient, and made sure we didn't miss anything, although we were keen to keep out of the sun. She was brilliant. Maggie was enthusiastic, friendly, and very flexible with our requests. She was great!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message