The Bund (or Waitan) is the grand center of Colonial architecture in Shanghai. The former International Settlement runs along the waterfront of the Huangpu River, facing the Pudong district ('Bund' is a word of Indian derivation meaning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Grayden H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - we also covered a Pearl factory and had a tea ceremony, as well as the Bund, Jade Template and the Yu Garden. Lunch was one of the better quality set lunches. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great value. It's an excellent way to acclimate yourself to the city and get your bearings. 48 hours to see all of Shanghai, plus admission to the Jin Mao tower ($20US per person on its own) plus the 90 minute river cruise which we did at night to see the lights along the Bund ($30 US per person on its own). That right there pays for itself! It's pretty much the best deal you can get in Shanghai. I would totally do it again and recommend to first timers to Shanghai.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was travelling on my own to Shanghai and what better way to become orientated and see the beautiful sights and lights from the Bund. Chris our guide was very informative and provided lots of information about the local area and the Peace Hotel and Nanjing Road. Thoroughly recommend the Tour.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great tour! A must! We saw 4 more sites on this tour than sticking with the offer from our larger tour group...lunch by the bund was tasty!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Peter C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent tour, provided insight to old Shanghai mixed with 1930's European buildings on the Bund. The traditional entertainment at the restaurant during lunch was a surprise.Our guide, Fenny, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable which made the tour thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Wayne S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This is a wonderful way to see the lights of the Bund in the evening and walk the mall. The tour guide a young female, was excelent, good knowledge and good english. Most helpful directing us to all our needs.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

Fit4Living
Barbados

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is one of the most convenient ways to get a feel for Shanghai, we were there for 7 days we did this tour on our first two days which allowed us to get the lay of the land, the next five days we then explored on our own using the metro. Shanghai is a beautiful and very modern city and I found the people are mostly very helpful. I am black and English speaking, and at no time did I feel uncomfortable , even when was pack tightly in the train during rush hour. This tour will give you a snap shot of key land marks - the Bund, Pearl TV tower, Jade Buddha temple, Hungpu river and Peoples Square to mention a few. This allowed us to revisit the sites we were most interested in a spend more time.
I would highly recommend this for the first time visitor.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour stared with a pick-up from the Hotel Holiday Inn Express in Zhabei for four of us at the right time given. the tour guide was knowledgeable courteous and answered all questions that we had. He was also good in English and could communicate well and explain the details of the places we visited. The lunch in a restaurant around the Bund area was also very good as the tour guide took care of ordering dishes we wanted to have. Enough time was spent at each of the venue listed and it attended in time with a drop-off at the hotel. I would strongly recommend the use of Vitaor.com website for booking the tours as it is safe and secure as well as prompt in providing services.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was really good. We received a boat ride on the Hungo River and the lights at night were fantastic. We then went to the Bund. We rode on a train down the Bund and watched the lights. The only issue I had was I thought it was a little unprofessional that the tour guide left the tour before we were dropped off at our hotel. Other than that it was a fun tour.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

All in all a good tour, I found the museum a little dull but I am not a big fan of them anyway. Jackie our tour guide was very knowledgeable but sometimes he spoke too quickly and it was hard to follow what he was saying. The river front overlooking the bund was amazing and I loved the French concession area. I would certainly recommend this tour for an overview of shanghai.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good tour, though there seems to be a lot of driving around the city that isn't necessary. I think I'd recommend just doing a half-day tour, seeing the Jade Buddha Temple, maybe the museum, and the oyster pearl factory. Things like the Bund, Yu Gardens, and the French Concession are easy enough to see on your own on your trip if you've got time to sight-see.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was quite charming and knowledgeable and the tour itself was fine, the Jade Buddha Temple, the Bund, the Gardens, even the pearl and silk stores I didn't mind. Starting at the Shanghai Museum was also good - even if racing through it in an hour hardly did it justice, but a good intro nonetheless.
HOWEVER, the lunch was worse than Chinese food in America, just touristy and nothing particularly good, interesting or special. After hearing from the local guide about the yummy breakfast items he savored at street stands, it would've been lovely to have some really good Shanghai treats. The young couple in our small group opted to lunch at a nearby Haagen Dazs. They made a wise choice.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

highly recommended within a day of arrival so the traveler can orient him/herself on the sites of the city--then afterwards one can pick out the favorite areas and visit/explore independently-- the lunch food was ok... visit to the shanghai museum and the bund were the highlights of this tour

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great tour and the size of the group was small (total of 6) in air condition van. Got a lot of history from tour guide and saw many sites in Shanghai. Had a great tasty Shanghai lunch ordered by the guide. Loved the museum, learning about pearls, silk, and jade, history and sites of the Bund, beautiful Jade Buddha Temple, and the beauty of Yuyaun Garden. Tour was timely and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Enjoyed visiting the French Quarter and the Bund

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

guide once again was great, brilliant command of English, only thing was we felt a little rushed from one place to the next. jade buddha temple is amazing, fantastic sites to see. lunch was great, good food in a clean restaurant. we visited a silk factory which was interesting to see how silk is made and there's tons of things to buy. the weather wasn't great on our trip so we had to cut short the walk through the xintandi area and i wished we'd had gone lower down on the bund and seen the historic buildings versus focusing on the waterfront. but great day trip to see a lot of key sights and find your bearings for the next day.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

William W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Tour guide was very informative. We had a private guide as there were no other people on he tour due to the time of year. We were taken for our lunch, & I must say this was the only bad meal we had during our nineteen day trip. Very little choice, & what there was to eat was not very good. We were unable to walk along the Bund area due to the construction work which was going on for Expo 2010.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The Bund area and former French Concession area were the highlights.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

There were some great things and not so great things about this tour. Thomas and the tour driver picked me up promptly from my hotel. I was the only person on the tour so had the mini bus to myself. We started at a Pearl factory which was really a shop who provided me with a very basic description of how pearls are formed and then I was shown their many pearl jewellery displays with a view to buy. We then went to the Jade Buddah Temple which was stunning and Thomas as a practicing Buddhist was very knowledgeable, describing all the figures and their role within his faith.

After the temple was the Shanghai Museum where I was given half an hour to look around. Not much time to cover four floors of antiquities. Lunch which was a solitary affair with a set menu delivered in a restaurant that is obviously a tour group favourite. The food was basic and tasty but I would have preferred to order for myself and paid any extra cost. It was followed by a walk on the Bund where I took photos of the skyline opposite. We also visited the beautiful Peace Hotel.

The next stop was the silk factory where I was given a good description of the silk making process and an opportunity to see how the silk is extracted. This was followed by a tour of their 'shops' with a view to buy duvets, pillows, bedcovers, etc. As I was at the start of a six week trip I really didn't want to buy big items that needed to be carried around and ended up wasting alot of time here that could have been best spent elsewhere.

Following the Silk Factory we went to a beautiful private garden that was in a much more interesting area of Shanghai. Very crowded and vibrant. Thomas whisked me through the garden getting impatient when I wanted to stop to take photos. To me this was the most interesting part of the tour and like the museum I didn't get enough time to explore this or the area which incidentally would have been great to have lunch in.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

A S
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This was an average tour, more of sales gimmick. We really didn't see much except for a museum, which was excellent. Other places visited were more for the commission. Unfortunately due to heavy rain, we couldn't do the Bund.
Lunch was very poor quality. I am shocked that Viator selected such mediocre restaurant.
I took two tours with Viator, The Best of Shanghai day tour and The Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening tour. Both were very poorly managed and a huge disappointment. I will not recommend either.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was just ok I would not recommend it you are better off just walking on the Bund and doing the French Concession at your leisure much of the time was wasted going shopping to the pearl and silk market which was a sales pitch and spent far too much time there

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The river crusie was interesting, we did not get to experience the eveining walk along the Bund.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The river cruise was short (45 min), the stop at the Peace hotel to see the lobby was un-necessary. The "Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai" turned out to be 15 minute Nanjin Road trolley trip one way that didn't even make it to The Bund. Then our tour guide took us through a mall to exit to another street to get in the van for the ride back to the hotel. Not really good value for the money.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

PALLAVITA SAHA
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

This was the most disappointing of my tours in China - I was the only one on the tour which had its advantages but I felt the disadvantages more. The guide Joe was ok - he gave the bare minimum information and was not as informative as Jackie in Beijing. In many places when I asked for more time at a certain place, I was left on my own but I noticed many other guides walking around with tourists and giving lots of information (at the Bund, Old Town and Museum). I dont know if this was not included in the agenda but should be as the guide is there with us anyways. We also went to a pearl factory and jade shop and I really felt pressured to buy and felt this was more a shopping excursion than a sightseeing trip. Again this was shorter than stated (started at 9 AM and I was back at the hotel by 3:30 PM - Joe had offered that I take another 15 mins more at the Old Town but even with that it would have been less than 7 hours).

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message