The Bund (or Waitan) is the grand center of Colonial architecture in Shanghai. The former International Settlement runs along the waterfront of the Huangpu River, facing the Pudong district ('Bund' is a word of Indian derivation meaning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Grayden H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - we also covered a Pearl factory and had a tea ceremony, as well as the Bund, Jade Template and the Yu Garden. Lunch was one of the better quality set lunches. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was travelling on my own to Shanghai and what better way to become orientated and see the beautiful sights and lights from the Bund. Chris our guide was very informative and provided lots of information about the local area and the Peace Hotel and Nanjing Road. Thoroughly recommend the Tour.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great tour! A must! We saw 4 more sites on this tour than sticking with the offer from our larger tour group...lunch by the bund was tasty!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Peter C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent tour, provided insight to old Shanghai mixed with 1930's European buildings on the Bund. The traditional entertainment at the restaurant during lunch was a surprise.Our guide, Fenny, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable which made the tour thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Wayne S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This is a wonderful way to see the lights of the Bund in the evening and walk the mall. The tour guide a young female, was excelent, good knowledge and good english. Most helpful directing us to all our needs.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour stared with a pick-up from the Hotel Holiday Inn Express in Zhabei for four of us at the right time given. the tour guide was knowledgeable courteous and answered all questions that we had. He was also good in English and could communicate well and explain the details of the places we visited. The lunch in a restaurant around the Bund area was also very good as the tour guide took care of ordering dishes we wanted to have. Enough time was spent at each of the venue listed and it attended in time with a drop-off at the hotel. I would strongly recommend the use of Vitaor.com website for booking the tours as it is safe and secure as well as prompt in providing services.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was really good. We received a boat ride on the Hungo River and the lights at night were fantastic. We then went to the Bund. We rode on a train down the Bund and watched the lights. The only issue I had was I thought it was a little unprofessional that the tour guide left the tour before we were dropped off at our hotel. Other than that it was a fun tour.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

All in all a good tour, I found the museum a little dull but I am not a big fan of them anyway. Jackie our tour guide was very knowledgeable but sometimes he spoke too quickly and it was hard to follow what he was saying. The river front overlooking the bund was amazing and I loved the French concession area. I would certainly recommend this tour for an overview of shanghai.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good tour, though there seems to be a lot of driving around the city that isn't necessary. I think I'd recommend just doing a half-day tour, seeing the Jade Buddha Temple, maybe the museum, and the oyster pearl factory. Things like the Bund, Yu Gardens, and the French Concession are easy enough to see on your own on your trip if you've got time to sight-see.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was quite charming and knowledgeable and the tour itself was fine, the Jade Buddha Temple, the Bund, the Gardens, even the pearl and silk stores I didn't mind. Starting at the Shanghai Museum was also good - even if racing through it in an hour hardly did it justice, but a good intro nonetheless.
HOWEVER, the lunch was worse than Chinese food in America, just touristy and nothing particularly good, interesting or special. After hearing from the local guide about the yummy breakfast items he savored at street stands, it would've been lovely to have some really good Shanghai treats. The young couple in our small group opted to lunch at a nearby Haagen Dazs. They made a wise choice.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

highly recommended within a day of arrival so the traveler can orient him/herself on the sites of the city--then afterwards one can pick out the favorite areas and visit/explore independently-- the lunch food was ok... visit to the shanghai museum and the bund were the highlights of this tour

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great tour and the size of the group was small (total of 6) in air condition van. Got a lot of history from tour guide and saw many sites in Shanghai. Had a great tasty Shanghai lunch ordered by the guide. Loved the museum, learning about pearls, silk, and jade, history and sites of the Bund, beautiful Jade Buddha Temple, and the beauty of Yuyaun Garden. Tour was timely and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Enjoyed visiting the French Quarter and the Bund

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

guide once again was great, brilliant command of English, only thing was we felt a little rushed from one place to the next. jade buddha temple is amazing, fantastic sites to see. lunch was great, good food in a clean restaurant. we visited a silk factory which was interesting to see how silk is made and there's tons of things to buy. the weather wasn't great on our trip so we had to cut short the walk through the xintandi area and i wished we'd had gone lower down on the bund and seen the historic buildings versus focusing on the waterfront. but great day trip to see a lot of key sights and find your bearings for the next day.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

William W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Tour guide was very informative. We had a private guide as there were no other people on he tour due to the time of year. We were taken for our lunch, & I must say this was the only bad meal we had during our nineteen day trip. Very little choice, & what there was to eat was not very good. We were unable to walk along the Bund area due to the construction work which was going on for Expo 2010.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The Bund area and former French Concession area were the highlights.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was just ok I would not recommend it you are better off just walking on the Bund and doing the French Concession at your leisure much of the time was wasted going shopping to the pearl and silk market which was a sales pitch and spent far too much time there

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The river crusie was interesting, we did not get to experience the eveining walk along the Bund.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The river cruise was short (45 min), the stop at the Peace hotel to see the lobby was un-necessary. The "Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai" turned out to be 15 minute Nanjin Road trolley trip one way that didn't even make it to The Bund. Then our tour guide took us through a mall to exit to another street to get in the van for the ride back to the hotel. Not really good value for the money.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

PALLAVITA SAHA
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

This was the most disappointing of my tours in China - I was the only one on the tour which had its advantages but I felt the disadvantages more. The guide Joe was ok - he gave the bare minimum information and was not as informative as Jackie in Beijing. In many places when I asked for more time at a certain place, I was left on my own but I noticed many other guides walking around with tourists and giving lots of information (at the Bund, Old Town and Museum). I dont know if this was not included in the agenda but should be as the guide is there with us anyways. We also went to a pearl factory and jade shop and I really felt pressured to buy and felt this was more a shopping excursion than a sightseeing trip. Again this was shorter than stated (started at 9 AM and I was back at the hotel by 3:30 PM - Joe had offered that I take another 15 mins more at the Old Town but even with that it would have been less than 7 hours).

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

The first stop on the tour was the Shanghai Museum. We had around 1 hour to visit the museum, however the guide did not follow and instead waited in the day or went somewhere else. We also visited the Fresh Water Pearl Gallery which is basicly just a shop wanting to see you stuff. Durin this time the guide also waited in the car. I did not eat any of the lunch, however the portions were very big. I asked the other person on the tour what they thought of the food and they said it tasted "cheap". We also walked along the Bund. During this time the guide offered to take photo's for us. We also visited the Yuyuan Garden's, however this was very rushed! This tour needs to significantly improve. The tour info page is very misleading. I booked this tour thinking it would be a full day tour, but instead the tour started when I was picked up at my hotel 1hr and 15 minutes later than advertised. The tour finished at 2pm, however it stated the tour finishes at 6pm!. I also took Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai in the evening which it is stated starts at 6:30pm, however because this tour finished 4 hours earlier than advertised I had to wait for four hours. The guide seemed very rushed throughout most of the entire tour. I also noticed that the guide was having to work long hours, from 8am to 8pm as he also does the river cruise tour. I want to note, the guide was friendly allowing me to borrow his umbrella for the day. Overal though this tour was really disappointing. Sadly I wouldn't recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

We enjoyed the evening cruise although you can get the tickets on your own for a much cheaper price. The second part of the tour was pretty lame. We took a trolley up the pedestrian street of The Bund. It took about 5 minutes and that constituted our "Bund City Lights Evening Tour". That part of the tour was a huge rip-off.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Loved some of the tour. Loved the lunch. The guide was helpful. This tour could be changed to include more time in the tourist areas to buy souvenirs and to eliminate the Pearl Gallery, the Silk Factory and the Tea House. I did not see the Oriental TV tower or the Bund because of construction.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

I was disappointed. Our highlight of the trip was supposed to be the famous Bund but we merely drove past it. It was not worth the amount we paid.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message