The Bund (or Waitan) is the grand center of Colonial architecture in Shanghai. The former International Settlement runs along the waterfront of the Huangpu River, facing the Pudong district ('Bund' is a word of Indian derivation meaning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Grayden H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - we also covered a Pearl factory and had a tea ceremony, as well as the Bund, Jade Template and the Yu Garden. Lunch was one of the better quality set lunches. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was travelling on my own to Shanghai and what better way to become orientated and see the beautiful sights and lights from the Bund. Chris our guide was very informative and provided lots of information about the local area and the Peace Hotel and Nanjing Road. Thoroughly recommend the Tour.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great tour! A must! We saw 4 more sites on this tour than sticking with the offer from our larger tour group...lunch by the bund was tasty!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Peter C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent tour, provided insight to old Shanghai mixed with 1930's European buildings on the Bund. The traditional entertainment at the restaurant during lunch was a surprise.Our guide, Fenny, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable which made the tour thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Wayne S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This is a wonderful way to see the lights of the Bund in the evening and walk the mall. The tour guide a young female, was excelent, good knowledge and good english. Most helpful directing us to all our needs.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good tour, though there seems to be a lot of driving around the city that isn't necessary. I think I'd recommend just doing a half-day tour, seeing the Jade Buddha Temple, maybe the museum, and the oyster pearl factory. Things like the Bund, Yu Gardens, and the French Concession are easy enough to see on your own on your trip if you've got time to sight-see.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was quite charming and knowledgeable and the tour itself was fine, the Jade Buddha Temple, the Bund, the Gardens, even the pearl and silk stores I didn't mind. Starting at the Shanghai Museum was also good - even if racing through it in an hour hardly did it justice, but a good intro nonetheless.
HOWEVER, the lunch was worse than Chinese food in America, just touristy and nothing particularly good, interesting or special. After hearing from the local guide about the yummy breakfast items he savored at street stands, it would've been lovely to have some really good Shanghai treats. The young couple in our small group opted to lunch at a nearby Haagen Dazs. They made a wise choice.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

highly recommended within a day of arrival so the traveler can orient him/herself on the sites of the city--then afterwards one can pick out the favorite areas and visit/explore independently-- the lunch food was ok... visit to the shanghai museum and the bund were the highlights of this tour

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great tour and the size of the group was small (total of 6) in air condition van. Got a lot of history from tour guide and saw many sites in Shanghai. Had a great tasty Shanghai lunch ordered by the guide. Loved the museum, learning about pearls, silk, and jade, history and sites of the Bund, beautiful Jade Buddha Temple, and the beauty of Yuyaun Garden. Tour was timely and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Enjoyed visiting the French Quarter and the Bund

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

guide once again was great, brilliant command of English, only thing was we felt a little rushed from one place to the next. jade buddha temple is amazing, fantastic sites to see. lunch was great, good food in a clean restaurant. we visited a silk factory which was interesting to see how silk is made and there's tons of things to buy. the weather wasn't great on our trip so we had to cut short the walk through the xintandi area and i wished we'd had gone lower down on the bund and seen the historic buildings versus focusing on the waterfront. but great day trip to see a lot of key sights and find your bearings for the next day.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

William W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Tour guide was very informative. We had a private guide as there were no other people on he tour due to the time of year. We were taken for our lunch, & I must say this was the only bad meal we had during our nineteen day trip. Very little choice, & what there was to eat was not very good. We were unable to walk along the Bund area due to the construction work which was going on for Expo 2010.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The Bund area and former French Concession area were the highlights.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The river crusie was interesting, we did not get to experience the eveining walk along the Bund.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message