• USD ($)
  • English
The name of the Yuyuan Garden means 'Garden of Peace and Comfort', a slightly ironic moniker these days. Owing to its position in the center of the Old Town and its reputation as one of China's finest and best-preserved gardens, Yuyuan is crowded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The trip was excellent, the tourist guide was very knowlegable and organized. we were able to see all the attractions within the time assigned for the trip.
the most enjoyable attraction was Yu Garden.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good tour, though there seems to be a lot of driving around the city that isn't necessary. I think I'd recommend just doing a half-day tour, seeing the Jade Buddha Temple, maybe the museum, and the oyster pearl factory. Things like the Bund, Yu Gardens, and the French Concession are easy enough to see on your own on your trip if you've got time to sight-see.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was quite charming and knowledgeable and the tour itself was fine, the Jade Buddha Temple, the Bund, the Gardens, even the pearl and silk stores I didn't mind. Starting at the Shanghai Museum was also good - even if racing through it in an hour hardly did it justice, but a good intro nonetheless.
HOWEVER, the lunch was worse than Chinese food in America, just touristy and nothing particularly good, interesting or special. After hearing from the local guide about the yummy breakfast items he savored at street stands, it would've been lovely to have some really good Shanghai treats. The young couple in our small group opted to lunch at a nearby Haagen Dazs. They made a wise choice.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great tour and the size of the group was small (total of 6) in air condition van. Got a lot of history from tour guide and saw many sites in Shanghai. Had a great tasty Shanghai lunch ordered by the guide. Loved the museum, learning about pearls, silk, and jade, history and sites of the Bund, beautiful Jade Buddha Temple, and the beauty of Yuyaun Garden. Tour was timely and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

I really enjoyed this tour. Especially the old-city and the yu-garden. The Jade Buddha Tempel is magnificent. The kasmier-shop I didn't like, instead I would have liked to spent more time with the tea ceremony. The tour takes you across the city, and our tourguide Helen knew so much about her city. If you don't feel like exploring the city on your own, this is the tour you should book.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

CHONA S
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

It was fantastic and educational. The tour guide speaks English well and she gave vital information in every destination especially the Yuan Garden and the Jade Buddha Temple. What is boring is the tea preparation which took a long time. We would rather spend some time buying souvenir items outside Yu Garden and Shanghai Museum. The lunch was okay but there were so many dishes, it should be replaced by 1 bottle of mineral water per head instead.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The half-day tour was the ideal length. We wandered through the French Concession, toured the elaborate garden mentioned, and strolled the Bund. If you're shopping for silk, you'll love the Silk Factory stop, but it was a bit out of the way from the other sites and time-consuming. Our Chinese guide spoke very good English and stayed cheerful, despite the hundred-degree heat. The tour size, seven people, was perfect. Note that the order of sites listed on the Viator description doesn't necessarily correlate to reality if you're making plans following the tour.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The historical and educational sites were really good such as the Shanghai Museum, Yu Gardens and Jade Buddha Temple but a lot of time was spent on the "tourist" shopping sites (Pearl, Jade and Silk) instead of allowing us to roam around Old Shanghai Street to shop like the locals. We felt like our tour guide was also trying to pressure us to book another tour which we felt was rather pushy.

Overall the tour was ok. Intimate and small so we learnt a lot as there were only 5 passengers with the tour guide and driver. Driver handled the traffic really well and we enjoyed the sites.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Rob
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Apart from the Bund and Yu Garden we were taken to 3 different sales outlets when what we really wanted was a short overview of Shanghai itself. The guide could have been a bit more informative about the history of the city and the nuances of living in a city like Shanghai considering it is in a communist country but has a capitalistic outlook.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

The first stop on the tour was the Shanghai Museum. We had around 1 hour to visit the museum, however the guide did not follow and instead waited in the day or went somewhere else. We also visited the Fresh Water Pearl Gallery which is basicly just a shop wanting to see you stuff. Durin this time the guide also waited in the car. I did not eat any of the lunch, however the portions were very big. I asked the other person on the tour what they thought of the food and they said it tasted "cheap". We also walked along the Bund. During this time the guide offered to take photo's for us. We also visited the Yuyuan Garden's, however this was very rushed! This tour needs to significantly improve. The tour info page is very misleading. I booked this tour thinking it would be a full day tour, but instead the tour started when I was picked up at my hotel 1hr and 15 minutes later than advertised. The tour finished at 2pm, however it stated the tour finishes at 6pm!. I also took Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai in the evening which it is stated starts at 6:30pm, however because this tour finished 4 hours earlier than advertised I had to wait for four hours. The guide seemed very rushed throughout most of the entire tour. I also noticed that the guide was having to work long hours, from 8am to 8pm as he also does the river cruise tour. I want to note, the guide was friendly allowing me to borrow his umbrella for the day. Overal though this tour was really disappointing. Sadly I wouldn't recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

Too long...some of the people left their hotels at 7:30am and didn't return until after 8pm. The highlights of Shanghai could be done in a couple of hours. Should've skipped the gardens this time of year--nothing there--and left more time at museum. Also, need to put in your description that all tours in China include a mandatory shopping stop at a factory. This one had 2 of them. Could've skipped the silk and just done the pearls. Jade Buddha Temple was the best. The stop at the Bund was at a location that had nothing there. Best to do the temple, the museum, Peoples Park and the Bund. Those are the highlights and can be done in 4-5 hours including one shopping stop.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2008

We got to see a lot of really great stuff. The time in the parks was short. It would have been nice to get more time to shop at the garden. We were given way too much time to shop at the pearl shop and silk factory. This part of the tour could be cut down. Everything else was good.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

Was very disappointed in the tour. They did not pick us up until 1:30 (it said 12:30 on our print out) and then ended the tour at 4:30. We went to the Pearl market, which was not on the itenerary. We told the guide we did not wish to visit the Pearl Market. but he said he was required to take us there, although he kept saying "You are in charge." The van was old and smelled of cigarette smoke. We had requested a non-smoking tour. We were rushed through the Yiyuan Gardens and the Bazaar as well as the French Concession.
I would NOT use this company to tour Shanghai again.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message