For a genuine experience that not only show you the history of China, but also showcase its beauty, try a visit to China’s great ancient water town known as Zhujiajiao. Formed over 1,700 years ago, this wonderful canal laden town that was once an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was very helpful and friendly. She spoke good English.
My children enjoyed several activities on this tour.
1. Releasing fishes and turtles into the river and praying for your wish to come true!!!
2. Aiming coins into the Tall Collection Bowl at the Goddess Temple.
3. The boat ride.
4. Feeding and taking photos alongside the Pet Macau birds.
You can bargain and buy a few really artistic masks and trays from the street shops.
If you have about four to five hours to spare, this trip is definitely worth the time. Our guide also told us some native stories and some local politics!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

Rob
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Good tour as the water village was worth seeing and how the people were living there today. Good to go somewhere where you weren't being hassled too often to buy something.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

This was worth seeing and walking around to explore but the price of approximately $100 AUD per person for half a day was well over priced. I also found out later that the price did not include tips to the tour guide and driver, so you actually have to spend a little more. As stated earlier, it is worth seeing but definitely over priced.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We did not actually do this half day tour. When we rang to confirm the pick up time we were offered instead a full day tour to Suzhou and Zhouzhuang water town with lunch included. We had a fantastic day. Our guide Frank was absolutely excellent. The driver was very competent especially in the early evening traffic jams in Shanghai as we returned.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Thanks for the opportunity to get to visit this historical and interesting village. An amazing history and beautiful, gentle locals. Our guide Mary was excellent, particularly local knowledge. We had an amazing lunch and the travel to and from the village so perfectly arranged. Thanks Mary and Viator

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Our tour guide Annie was great!

There really wasn't much to see in the town, it was interesting, but very commercialized. Lots of souvenir vendors it you like that kind of thing. We were through the town and had lunch in a couple hours. By no means a full day tour, so when we got back to Shanghai, Annie took us into the Old Town district and a tour of the Yuyaun Garden. Great place and Annie knew it well. She made a 1 star tour into a 5 star and we got the full day we had paid for. Only givng this a 2 star rating, because that's how we felt about Zhujiajiao, but would highly reccomend Annie for tours in Shanghai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour guide was a local girl who was very knowledge of Shanghai. She showed me everything I wanted to see in Shanghai in 8 hours. Granted I did not have much time to shop, but I was able to see where I need to go back to and shop on my own. She was a lovely guide and took us to a local place for lunch which was excellent. She suggested for us not to eat the street food. I would recommend this private tour to anyone going to Shanghai for the first time. I wish I could of spent my whole time with her showing me around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Personal guide Chris was great and really new his stuff. A bit of a drive out of town but the village and gardens are fantastic. The pearl factory visit was a bit of a letdown and probably unnecessary for a part of this tour. Well worth a look.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

A good tour, but a bored tour guide. The water village was worth visiting for sure, but the guide's lack of interest and enthusiasm were a downer. We were given extras such as trips to a silk factory and a jade store, but always with pressure to buy. The guide also sold us tix to the acrobatics show in Shanghai, but admitted she got a cut.
A guide who was as interested in helping us enjoy our trip as she was in making money would have been great.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A once-in-a-lifetime experience we will never forget. With our wonderful guide, Lee, we were able to take a trip back in time and experience ancient China in all its wonders. If you do nothing else when you are in Shanghai, take this tour.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Very interesting trip and perfect organized.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The village was very interesting, as there was only 2 of us the tour guide was not very informative a little bit lazy but approachable

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Michael was a wonderful tour guide. Was offered a full day tour with no extra cost but was unable to fit in. Highly recommend this tour as its quite different from the city of Shanghai

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

was a brilliant day - our guide Mary was superb, knowledgeable, had a great sense of humour brilliant English and went at our pace, nothing was too much trouble for her. Zhujiajiao is well worth a visit but Mary told us best to avoid the weekend when the Chinese go for a day out! we went on a Monday and it was easy to walk around. boat ride essential to get the feel of the town - lots of crafts to be seen and bought at reasonable prices - better than Shanghai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The local tour operator upgraded us to a full day tour that included some other sights. The water village is very unique and reminded us of being in Venice, except that it is in China. Great boat tour and walking tour of the local village.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message