For a genuine experience that not only show you the history of China, but also showcase its beauty, try a visit to China’s great ancient water town known as Zhujiajiao. Formed over 1,700 years ago, this wonderful canal laden town that was once an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jessica L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Nothing special about this tour. The water village was interesting but you can easily check it out yourself as there are signs everywhere. The guide was okay but I don't feel like I learned anything. The itinerary stated that there would be a silk demonstration but we never had one. Instead they asked for us to be picked up earlier with no explanation of why and when they arrived we were told that we would be going to a jade centre at the Bund where they tried to make us buy jewelry and that we would need to have lunch there none of this was in the itinerary. This was clearly because they were catering to the itinerary of another person on a different tour who was lumped in with us, evident because he did not seem at all surprised by this. They effectively wasted an hour of our time and changed our itinerary to suit their own convenience. Do NOT book with this dishonest company.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Ms Joy was a joy! Her spoken English was good but I'm not sure how much she understood the questions we asked. But it was enough. The village is pretty and Mr. Wu garden and house were an added bonus.
The van driver was a hoot. Buckle up!

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

John C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good tour with very good guide. The water town is interesting and the Gondola ride a highlight

Doing what: Zhujiajiao and Seven Treasure Town Day Tour from Shanghai

Ray W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very Interesting day visiting two water towns close to Shanghai

Doing what: Zhujiajiao and Seven Treasure Town Day Tour from Shanghai

Joy Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We arrived in the morning and took this tour from midday - we saw some of the surrounding country and our tour guide Frank was superb. He ensured we saw both the old and the new, the original and the reconstructed. Excellent.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Uriel H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The worst tour I ever had. First the van on we were traveLing smelled like an ashtray.The tour guide was so tired (I guess) that went sleeping all way on the route. When we arrived the place just took us to shops and two or three places without almost no explanations. The place although beautiful

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Phillip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Mary was our tour guide. She picked us up at our hotel and travelled to the water town. We had a lovely time there. Mary told us lots of information about the town, she was super friendly and made the day lots of fun. We had lunch at a lovely restaurant looking out at the water. On the way back as we still had time so Mary took us to the Bund for a walk along and to a Confucius temple. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

Viet Quoc N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour that I enjoyed end to end. The tour guide is very friendly and fluent in English. It a good alternative if you don't have time to go to Suzhou

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Quiana Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience!!!

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Michael F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

A few things were unsatisfactory and made the tour not unjoyable.
The pickup was at 12.30 and so we had very bad traffic in both directions. The tour leader told us that they pickup at 8.30am to beat the traffic.
We were told that there was no time for even a small lunch as we had to leave early to visit the Pearl and silk shops on the way back It seemed to us that these stops were included to try and get us to spend money at the shops. We were very hungry and couldn't have lunch.
When we said that we didn't want to shop the guide said that her boss would be angry that we didn't shop and we had to write a note explaining that it was our decision not to shop .
All together we didn't enjoy the tour

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

John S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

While the tour of the village was good the overall tour did not include everything that was advertised in the brochure. We did not tour a silk factory. All we did was cruise up the canal, briefly see the town, and then drive back to Shanghai. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Sowjanya A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was very helpful and friendly. She spoke good English.
My children enjoyed several activities on this tour.
1. Releasing fishes and turtles into the river and praying for your wish to come true!!!
2. Aiming coins into the Tall Collection Bowl at the Goddess Temple.
3. The boat ride.
4. Feeding and taking photos alongside the Pet Macau birds.
You can bargain and buy a few really artistic masks and trays from the street shops.
If you have about four to five hours to spare, this trip is definitely worth the time. Our guide also told us some native stories and some local politics!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

Rob Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Good tour as the water village was worth seeing and how the people were living there today. Good to go somewhere where you weren't being hassled too often to buy something.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Dennis L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

This was worth seeing and walking around to explore but the price of approximately $100 AUD per person for half a day was well over priced. I also found out later that the price did not include tips to the tour guide and driver, so you actually have to spend a little more. As stated earlier, it is worth seeing but definitely over priced.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We did not actually do this half day tour. When we rang to confirm the pick up time we were offered instead a full day tour to Suzhou and Zhouzhuang water town with lunch included. We had a fantastic day. Our guide Frank was absolutely excellent. The driver was very competent especially in the early evening traffic jams in Shanghai as we returned.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Lynne N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Thanks for the opportunity to get to visit this historical and interesting village. An amazing history and beautiful, gentle locals. Our guide Mary was excellent, particularly local knowledge. We had an amazing lunch and the travel to and from the village so perfectly arranged. Thanks Mary and Viator

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

john t

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Our tour guide Annie was great!

There really wasn't much to see in the town, it was interesting, but very commercialized. Lots of souvenir vendors it you like that kind of thing. We were through the town and had lunch in a couple hours. By no means a full day tour, so when we got back to Shanghai, Annie took us into the Old Town district and a tour of the Yuyaun Garden. Great place and Annie knew it well. She made a 1 star tour into a 5 star and we got the full day we had paid for. Only givng this a 2 star rating, because that's how we felt about Zhujiajiao, but would highly reccomend Annie for tours in Shanghai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour guide was a local girl who was very knowledge of Shanghai. She showed me everything I wanted to see in Shanghai in 8 hours. Granted I did not have much time to shop, but I was able to see where I need to go back to and shop on my own. She was a lovely guide and took us to a local place for lunch which was excellent. She suggested for us not to eat the street food. I would recommend this private tour to anyone going to Shanghai for the first time. I wish I could of spent my whole time with her showing me around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

Bernard M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Personal guide Chris was great and really new his stuff. A bit of a drive out of town but the village and gardens are fantastic. The pearl factory visit was a bit of a letdown and probably unnecessary for a part of this tour. Well worth a look.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Patricia M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

A good tour, but a bored tour guide. The water village was worth visiting for sure, but the guide's lack of interest and enthusiasm were a downer. We were given extras such as trips to a silk factory and a jade store, but always with pressure to buy. The guide also sold us tix to the acrobatics show in Shanghai, but admitted she got a cut.
A guide who was as interested in helping us enjoy our trip as she was in making money would have been great.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Amy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A once-in-a-lifetime experience we will never forget. With our wonderful guide, Lee, we were able to take a trip back in time and experience ancient China in all its wonders. If you do nothing else when you are in Shanghai, take this tour.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Maciej S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Very interesting trip and perfect organized.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

norman s

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The village was very interesting, as there was only 2 of us the tour guide was not very informative a little bit lazy but approachable

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message