Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 764 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Miles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Michael was a very knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

marsha s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the highlights of our cruise trip to Asia!

Doing what: Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening Tour

Thomas G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Frank was a very good guide who spoke and understood English well. Water village tour was interesting and we enjoyed the boat ride with the singing gondolier. Wish Suzhou tour could have included more but will probably spend a few days staying there to see more of the city on my next visit.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Sarah G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable but we were disappointed that we didn't seem to have very long in the water village. It was quick walk, had the boat trip and then a walk out. Would rather have skipped the silk factory which was just really an opportunity for them to try and sell to us and had longer in the village which was the last bit of the trip but the part we were most interested in seeing.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Leona T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Unfortunately on my tour, we started over an hour late because of late arrival of some guests staying on Pudong side. Therefore time was very rushed in each of Suzhou and Zhouzhuang and we definitely spent a lot more time in the coach than we did looking around. Lunch was also very average at a place catering for mass tourists. Tour guide Joy was very knowledgeable and helpful but otherwise organisation with pick ups and drop offs was not very organised.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Matt C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Unfortunately found the tour boring, in contrast to some lively food tours i did. It was a very long day of driving to see some sights that generally underwhelmed. The house that we visited in Suzhou after a 1.5hr drive was dull, lunch was boring, the silk factory was quite interesting and the water village was nice but of course touristy, so for me, it wasnt worth it. Also there were only 4 in our group, but i was first picked up, and last dropped off, which annoyed me as i added at least 1hr 45 minutes onto the day trip compared to the person who was last picked up first dropped off.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

May L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lee is an excellent guide. His knowledge, enthousiasme, genuine interest in the sustainability of the area and the foodstalls and vendors. His service is fantastic and made this tour the best I have ever experienced, doing these all over the world. Please let this excursion life forever.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

chabh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting. Amazing views

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

chabh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful city. Well organized tour

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

fantastic day with Frank our wonderful guide who went above and beyond expectations for us. Loved the silk factory in particular

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Lance M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was an absolute joy. And, you could not ask for a better guide than Tom. I would give it more stars if I could.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Robin D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide was excellent. Pity about the weather. Lots of good photo opportunities.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Syed H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour wasn't the best since Shanghai doesn't really have much history compare to Beijing. On that note, the Buddha temple and garden were nice to see. You could probably see these locations on your own though.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Barbara B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour was educational. The guide was knowledgeable. It too difficult trying to confirm the details as to where and when to meet. In other countries, it was much easier to communicate and know the details well in advance.
Since gmail is blocked in China, it was difficult to contact or receive communications.

Doing what: Small-Group Shanghai Lanes and Alleyways Walking Tour

Sally C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

We travelled with 5 other guests and we got along well with our fellow travelers, they came from the US and Mexico.
Our guide was friendly at first but as the trip progresses, she got alittle impatient with us. I believe the trip has its time constraints but it got to a point we were all just following where she is walking to and didn't even had time to look around us at Zhouzhuang.
The silk factory was enriching albeit a short but rushed tour of the factory, but when we reach the silk shop, it really felt like we will be given time to shop, to the point of we felt that they are prepared to let us have all day. Not so nice point IMO.
Lunch was terrible, although I had prep my family about not expecting too much of the 'lunch provided'. Our guide pretty much left us on our own to eat which was fine.
At Zhouzhuang which was labeled as Venice of the east? I m sorry I do not have much recollection of the place besides following in a hurried manner behind the guide to get to the small pier to do our boat ride? The famous bridge which I don't even know the name? was explained in 3 seconds and off we go again, rushing to the pier. I was travelling with my aged parents, we were pretty much dragging them along with us, really worried that we will lose sight of the guide. Totally missing out on the serenity of the entire place. We didn't enjoy ourselves much which was really a shame..

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Ronald S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

The van was overcrowded and very uncomfortable. There were 12 or 13 people in a small old van. I saw other tours with bucket comfortable seats. This was 3 times more uncomfortable than the 18 hour flight in economy. Second the lunch was terrible. They gave us enough food to fit only on a saucer other tables had same amount of food for 5.i thought we might go to a small Chinese restaurent like we did in rpthe tour in Lima instead of a 3000 seat tour bus stop.
Lastly the driver kept getting lost and he and the tour guide argued a lot I guess because that was the first time they worked together because the van had to be changed because of the large number of guests. I believe the original tour was for 6. Also the guide never told guests how ,one we were going to be in any visit or where to meet so people kept getting lost causing waste of time in the stops and us getting back to the hotel late. Rating this tour a 1 is over rated

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

VINAY J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

the tour guide was not good . he kept talking on his mobile and not interactive neither ready to answer questions

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Madelein H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a fantastic evening at the night markets in Shanghai with our guide David! Interesting stories about Chinese food and Shanghai. Lots of food of all kinds of course. Take this tour in the beginning of your trip so you can go back and it more!

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We loved this tour and Mary, our guide. She was excellent--very well prepared, very familiar with the area we toured, and a very friendly and charming personality. This is a very interesting view of every day life in Shanghai.

Doing what: Small-Group Shanghai Lanes and Alleyways Walking Tour

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We loved the acrobat show! It is difficult to describe many of the incredible stunts that were done during the performance--my son and I repeatedly wondered how they thought of it in the first place and couldn't imagine how they ever figured out how to do it! Well worth the money.

Doing what: Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening Tour

coolmom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved it!!!! David was great, learned so much not only about food but also history and culture of Shanghai. This was highlight of our visit to Shanghai.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Nancy H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Good sites but majority of the day was spent travelling and in traffic. Picking up people from their hotels is convenient but in Shanghai traffic it makes for a long day. English guide had only basic speaking skills.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

THIS was the best thing that we did in Shanghai - we highly recommend. Chahin was a great guide. We couldn't believe that we had spent 3 1/2 hours walking around, tasting, viewing, and enjoying foods at places that we would have NEVER have found otherwise. It was great to share a little history along the way too. We had 6 people in our group plus Chahin - and it was easy walking through the streets. I can't recco enough. We went BACK and ate again at the dumpling place.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Tareq S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Loved this tour! Learned so much and our guide was amazing. Thank you for such an amazing experience and tour in Shanghai. We will never forget it.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message