Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 786 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hoda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Much Appreciated....Awesome experience....

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Matthew Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had one full day in Shanghai and we hit a home run with this tour. We didn't feel rushed but the tour guide kept things moving so we could see as much as possible in the limited time. Joy, our tour guide, was FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour, as it takes you to some of the oldest, most important sights in Shanghai's history -- and offers some shopping as well. A good first look at what makes the city special. Be warned, it's a heavy tourist area, expect crowds. My guide Zoe was excellent. Really, the best I have had around the world. She was professional, intelligent, well informed and passionate about China and the places we visited. She brought details to life during that really helped me understand and appreciate Shanghai and its sights. She was also flexible, changing our plans on the fly to suit my interests. And just a wonderful person to spend time with in a foreign city. China can be daunting, so having a guide made my visit smooth and fulfilling.

Doing what: Shanghai Old Town Walking Tour Including Yuyuan Garden

Endre S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative. Expect some delays in pick-up time depending on traffic and the number of hotel pick-ups. Overall, I highly recommend this tour if you have a spare day in Shanghai.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Joy was super. She explained lots of background on what we were seeing, which made the things we were seeing so much more meaningful. Her English was excellent. We had a small group as well, which made things very nice, and relaxed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Joy, Was very knowledgeable and informative.
She was also very friendly and spoke very good english. We had a small group which made it easier to see everything. We also had a great lunch.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the best food tour in China. Great food at several places and great history as part of the tour. Perfect host that knew everyone and spoke perfectly.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

ROBERT S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great tour. There were 6 of us and that made it easy to see things. Our guide,Joy, was delightful. She knew a lot and made sure we did too. We saw her the next day in a market and she was waving to get our attention. That was really nice. The Water village tour was worth taking

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

AVIVA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

WE REALY SAW THE BEST OF SHANGHAI WITH THE BEST GIDE EVER THANK YOU

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this tour and Mary, our guide. She was excellent and did a great job of just giving us a great look at life in one of the older areas of Shanghai. We slowly strolled through some commercial and residential areas, she guided us through some of the shops, did local things like stopping to pick up a bag of local candy, etc.

Doing what: Small-Group Shanghai Lanes and Alleyways Walking Tour

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This show is UNBELIEVABLE and should not be missed when you're in Shanghai! The tricks the acrobats do are amazing throughout the entire show.

Doing what: Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening Tour

Aleyda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, great food, fun fun night! Definitely a highlight of my trip!

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

e3canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my first time using Viator. The tour was amazing, everything worked like clockwork. The driver and tour guide were right on time and the content of the tour was phenomenal. In my opinion, as a world traveller, there is no better way to see a new city or get a sense for a country than to book a tour like this especially on small layovers. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Christina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with our lovely guide Julie. It started at the Urban Planification Exhibition Hall, then we visited the Oriental Pearl Tower, the Bund Tunnel, Shanghai Art Museum and ended up with a trip in the Maglev Magnetic Train that speeded up to 431 km/h - an amazing experience ! Thanks Julie !!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: The Face of Modern Shanghai

Heather H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My tour guide was Rose and she did a fantastic job introducing our group to the vast range of types of Chinese street food. I highly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Stavrosj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing and fun. The guide was fantastic

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

martinascapin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I enjoyed the tour. The highlights of the trip were the visit to the Suzhou garden and the silk factory. The water village was for my taste a bit overly commercial, although having gone on a Wednesday, we didn't have the massive crowds that visit on the weekend, so it made the visit more pleasant. Highlight of the trip was the gondola ride, with our oar woman singing traditional Chinese songs.
The tour guide was friendly and the pick up service was fantastic - they pick you up directly from the hotel you are staying at. We were a small group so everyone was friendly.
Expect a long coach journey on the way back, the Shanghai traffic is pretty intense. I also felt that too little time was dedicated to the water village - I think we must have only been there for an hour and it would have been nice to spend a bit more time there.
In general, a good experience and well worth if you're keen on seeing something outside of Shanghai.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Kathy B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The weather had a huge effect on our experience as it rained steadily and I got soaked and cold. The focus was on three different types of residential housing It was interesting to go into the alleyways that we would never have dared to venture into on our own. I waylaid the guide to see food outlets that took my attention. We were never invited into a private house so that was misleading.

Doing what: Small-Group Shanghai Lanes and Alleyways Walking Tour

Kathleen H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I recommend this tour - it was a nice change from Shanghai and easy to do both locations in a day. Our group was small - only 4 people which was nice. There was a couple in my hotel who signed up for the same tour and somehow got left off the list. They were able to get on another tour but somewhere something went wrong. When we were in Zhouzhuang, our guide kind of rushed us through the town so we didn't have time to enjoy any of the local shops. It would have been nice to have tasted the rice wine, the pork or to look at the pearls. Its a quaint little town though and I hope to go back someday.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Alice Z

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Trip felt a bit rushed especially at the water town where we only had 15min free time to wander after going on the boat ride. If I had known ahead of time, I would have rather wandered the village for the extra time rather than do the boat. Tour guide Joy was excellent and provided helpful recommendations for dinner options.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

irinaus97

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was ok, the lake was beautiful, everything was very well organized, but I would have liked to hear more about history of the city. It's way overpriced.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Miles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Michael was a very knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

marsha s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the highlights of our cruise trip to Asia!

Doing what: Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening Tour

Thomas G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Frank was a very good guide who spoke and understood English well. Water village tour was interesting and we enjoyed the boat ride with the singing gondolier. Wish Suzhou tour could have included more but will probably spend a few days staying there to see more of the city on my next visit.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message