Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 731 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a phenomenal day. The overcast grey sky didn't deter the enthusiasm of our guide Joy as she led us through a fantastic day in two City's outside of Shanghai. Zhouzhang was incredible, with the arched bridges and the trees in bloom. The private gardens in Suzhou were remarkable. Having seen the reproduction the Ming Room in New York it was so much more to see the real thing. If you have a day to spend in Shanghai and want to experience something truly wonderful, I can't recommend this trip enough

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Jo, our guide was fantastic! I learned so much aboit the history and development of Shanghai. It filled in so much of my ancient and asian history classes from high school and college.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable,friendly and helpful. He introduced us to so many new areas and sights in a city we have visited many times. We would highly recommend Frank and an independent tour of the city.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great way to start exploring the city: I decided on the red and green route for day 1 and the blue route for day 2, which turned out to be a good combination. Commentary over headphones was useful and informative and all staff encountered were efficient and friendly.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

driver pick up got us to airport at boarding time. Risky pick up time, too long at factory decreased time at warriors. flight back slightly delay but 30 minutes looking for driver back to ship could have been better organized.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

too much construction going on, when past constructions drivers drove too fast to take pictures, ride very rough.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was the highlight of my Shanghai trip. You see so much more when walking around than from the inside of a taxi. The food was spectacular - I would never have been brave enough to eat street food otherwise. The pace was good - just enough walking between markets to work off the last round of eating! Our tour guide, Mitch, was fantastic. There wasn't a question he couldn't answer. I would and have recommend this tour to anyone travelling to Shanghai, whether it's your first or tenth trip.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I found the tour to be informative and fun! I was very impressed by my guide, who spoke very good English, and was very knowledgeable about the sights that we were seeing. It was my first trip to Shanghai, and it was a very good overview of the city. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic! Great day of dumpling tasting on the streets, then fun with Chef Michael learning to make the delicious fare. Guides were GREAT

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling-Tasting Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Easy to convert voucher to the ticket and no problem on buses. I forgot to confirm in advance as requested but they did not even mention it. Good way to view city and to move around Shanghai. Chinglish commentary amusing and informative. Stops can be a long way from the designated target i.e. Yu Gardens but no great issues. River trip great.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very friendly guide Leo, spoke English well and was more than happy to
make sure we saw everything on our must see list. would recommend
this tour to other travellers.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A fabulous day out, Joy the tour guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgable about the areas on the visit.
We found the driver a bit scary at times a bit like a terror taxi ride at a fair !
Lunch was very mediocre although the potatoes were tasy.
Thanks for a good trip. Nina

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very thorough tour of Shanghai, the buses visit all the main attractions. There are three different lines, so you need to transfer a couple times to see everything, but it's all included on your ticket. It was hard to find the particular bus stop I needed to find to get started, so I recommend starting at People's Square which is a main stop for the green and red lines. The commentary was very informative but could have been a little more detailed as there was a lot of downtime between each attraction so they just played music. Overall a very good value for the money and a great way to get an overview of the city in one day.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide, Rita was very knowledgeable about the area. She talked to us about Chinese culture in general as well as provided information about the water villages. I did feel a bit rushed towards the end in Zhouzhuang, as did some of the other tourists on our trip and shop : All in all it was a good, informative experience and nice getaway from the big city.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyed this tour. Wish we could have spent more time in Zhouzhang, would have liked to be there later in the day into the evening.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message