Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 620 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The best way to explore Shanghai street food!

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Luke was an amusing and perfect host, his English was perfect and he ensured that we saw a selection of venues. He was flexible in his timings and allowed us to linger when we wanted to. He also took notice of our likes to customise the selection of venues. Luke kindly spent some time with us at the end of the tour and marked up our map and wrote out addresses so we could return to our favourite venues on our own. A really good evening out.

Doing what: Shanghai Nightlife Insider Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

There were five on the tour so it was very personal and friendly. The minibus was comfortable. We spent a far amount of time in the bus as the two towns are a distance from shanghai central. Fortunately I find this interesting as you get a feel for the surroundings. Our guide was informative without overloading us with too many facts and figures. The garden we saw in Suzhou was interesting, the lunch provided was good. The water village is an interesting place. It was my second visit and still enchanted. Of course we were taken to a silk factory but there was no pressure to buy.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tons of fun, wonderful guide and a good way to see the French Concession. Go with an empty stomach!

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling-Tasting Tour and Cooking Class

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great guide who met us at our hotel. Both sites interesting, Zhouzhuang especially attractive and we enjoyed the gondola ride. Excellent lunch and tour of silk factory. Driver was good too. Good value.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The pros -
* The tour guide spoke good English and gave us information about the places that we visited.

The cons -
* The tour included visiting a silk store, and the tour guide was selling very aggressively that this was the place to buy. That was definitely not the case. We spent too much time in the store. When we asked the guide to leave for other places, he was a bit rude. There is understandably a lot of commission to be made, but it is annoying to go through all the selling, and spending so much time in a silk store, which you find all over the place in China anyways. Please remove this from the itinerary.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Yes I would recommend this trip. The guide was very good and was happy to explain life in China in general I thought his base knowledge was excellent. Tea tasting very commercial

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

A lot of empty pauses on this tour. I purchased an evoucher but the tour operator in China wouldn't accept this even if it clearly showed on the receipt that it is an evoucher.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

I was the only person, which was disappointing, as a business traveller I was looking forward to meeting new people. The tour operator was later due to traffic, no problem I understand, but this made the driver mad and the fought oin the car the whole time. The Evening Tour conisisted in driving in traffic past things with one word comments in english "peoples square" with no explaination or other interesting facts. I got the impression that she was bored as she just texted the whole time. The Show was excellent!!! but I had no driver waiting when it was over. Had to wait 1 hour to get a ride only after I kept calling her. This is garbage!!!!

Doing what: Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Tour guide knew little English. Told us to be ready at 730 when she should have said 830. Not very knowledgeable about her home city. Gave lots of incorrect info.
This was unfortunately a rare poor experience with Viator as we have used you many times in the past.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an excellent way to tour Shanghai. The buses stop locations are all very well located, the map provided is great, the audio tour is interesting and educational, the buses are clean and the staff are very helpful.

Some info that may prove helpful. It is best to print out a ticket. I used the digital ticket and started my tour at a main stop, but the digital ticket caused some confusion. It worked out in the end, after a supervisor call. Start your tour at a main stop, look for a terminal with a physical kiosk, the biggest one is in People's Square. Keep track of the free tickets that come with your Tour, they are very well selected. The map will tell you the last time a bus will go by a certain stop (usually between 5-7). There is another bus company that runs buses in the evening, so do not get confused. You are provided ear buds, but if you want you can use your own. Keep your map, it was the best tourist map, I found all week in Shanghai. Buses come by each stop in 15 or 30 minute intervals, depending on if the stop over laps with another line. There are three lines that intersect each other (Red, Blue and Green). Each line has great sights and all are worth experiencing. Exchange some money before you start the tour, the audio program will inform you of many events, museums, restaurants and cultural sights which charge.

This tour was a great value, and in my opinion the best way to get introduced to Shanghai. I meet a Melbourne couple who have used this service in a few other cities. They always take advantage when visiting a new city. After my experience in Shanghai, I will too.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our plane was delayed three hours and we sat on the tarmac in a very noisy plane, but when we got there Maggie was there with a smile and ready to go. she took us on an amazing tour. We got to see everything we planned and she was a delight after a not too good start. it was well worth the trip.

Doing what: Guilin in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great and our guide, Fran, was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable and made sure we had enough time at each of the stops to explore. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

An excellent way to get an overview of the city. Worked well.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour is very good and the village is very beautiful. However, there are some points that I didn't like that much:
1. The trip takes 1 hour and a half, each way. And by the time the tour leaves your hotel (around 2PM) the traffic is quite chaotic in Shanghai for the first half hour. When you come back, around 5:30 - 6, the traffic is even worse. The tour company can't do anything about the traffic, of course, but they could plan it better to try to avoid as much traffic as possible.
2. The actual time you spend at the village is short, 1 hour or so. It makes sense because the excursion is "half-day" but still they could plan it better to spend more time there.

The good points are:
* Apparently the village was open to the public on 1995, which makes it one of the newest ones and more 'preserved'; thus, not SUPER full of tourists like everywhere else in China. Do expect some people though, it is China after all...
* The boat ride IS relaxing and cool. I was the only one in the tour (with the guide) and I felt it could be awkward, but it wasn't. It was just cool and relaxing just as they say in the description.
* You see old people in the village, living there. The atmosphere is great. The private house that the tour takes you into is very interesting and nice too.

No shopping stops and the guide had very good english. Overall a good experience!

Doing what: Zhouzhuang Water Village Tour from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message