Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 832 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

THIS was the best thing that we did in Shanghai - we highly recommend. Chahin was a great guide. We couldn't believe that we had spent 3 1/2 hours walking around, tasting, viewing, and enjoying foods at places that we would have NEVER have found otherwise. It was great to share a little history along the way too. We had 6 people in our group plus Chahin - and it was easy walking through the streets. I can't recco enough. We went BACK and ate again at the dumpling place.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Tareq S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Loved this tour! Learned so much and our guide was amazing. Thank you for such an amazing experience and tour in Shanghai. We will never forget it.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Tareq S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

good way to tour, however much confusion on transferring and where to switch. Worst part was the language was never on the same channel. Some parts of tour was English, some Chinese, etc... they need help, and within a few years they will get on the ball like London, etc. Overall, OK... but they need some tourism expertise.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mariateresa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, you are going to see lots of sights, in a very difficult city to visit on your own.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Nadia M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very nicely selected route and included tickets for three very different tours. All were worth every penny and time. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ray J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great way to see what we wanted and having a guide that knows how to get around the city worked for us. We were able to cover a lot of attractions in a very full day. Being able to customize the tour is the way to go with a lot more flexibility instead of going on a set tour that only hits the tourist attractions they want you to see.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

whiterhino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous tour - encompassed a lot in a full day...

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Inna S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

thanks for Tom, he was good guide

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

davelou

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good routes. Saw most of what we wanted to see.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Lucy E

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Really enjoyable evening with Mitch. The food and company was great. The variety of food and venues is worth the tour, however It would be good to do this tour early on in your stay in Shanghai to be able to return to those wonderful areas. Just check to be sure there is no MSG in the food, as I had a slight reaction the following day.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Lucy E

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A good way to get a quick idea of the city.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Bev United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

I didn't do this but paid for. I would assume would be worth doing.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Lorelei T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Was ok however we had our bus ticket taken from us by mistake by the man at the Buddha temple and was only left with our tower ticket, we tried to call or get another bus ticket issued however we kept on hitting a brick wall so we missed out on the tower :

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jose R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Was a perfect tour Frank the tour guide totally professional.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Andrew Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Couldn't have asked for a better local food tour experience. Our tour guide, Rose, was wonderful, charming, and absolutely a pleasure to talk to. Even as a Brit, would almost say she has a better knowledge of the Shanghai food culture than even the Shanghainese, though this point is debatable. But anyway, regarding the main point of food - trust me, Rose, or the tour, will not disappoint. There was such a vast variety of dishes, and in such huge servings, that I was close to passing out at the end of it from being so stuffed. I think Rose mentioned there were about 26 dishes to try in total, and at around the fifth dish, she was telling us: Guys, you should only be at about 25 right now. But inside, I was thinking: No... no more. I'm already at 90. So to wrap things up, yes I highly recommend taking this tour. It's completely worth your time and you'll be feeling stuffed and happy as a lark by the end of it.

By the way Rose, if you're reading this, just a small caveat. The subway closes at around 11 - plenty of time to spare from the end of our tour!

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Andrew Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed myself thoroughly on this tour. Suzhou and Zhouzhuang were absolutely beautiful, and our tour guide, Joy, was a pleasure and had very good knowledge of the history and culture of our destinations. Zhouzhuang is a very charming little town. We got to take a boat ride through its waterways You might call it the Venice of the East, and it was so peaceful and serene. Occasionally though, the trip felt a little rushed. Zhouzhuang was gorgeous but I felt we were walking a bit too quickly to be able to enjoy the view and look around inside the shops. But I understand that perhaps we were a bit pressed for time. Another negative part was the amount of time spent driving to those locations - about 2 hours there and then back again. But this is unavoidable as Suzhou and Zhouzhuang are far from Shanghai.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good tour to see the basics of Shanghai...Lunch was ok, nothing too great...

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an amazing trip and captured a different area of China that could not be understood in Shanghai.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My tour with our guide, Joy, was the perfect way to get acquainted with Shanghai! Saw the highlights, while never feeling rushed. I agree that the lunch wasn't great, but the city is, and Joy shared that with us. I was very fortunate in that the weather was gorgeous low smog with sun and there were only two of us on the tour. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Meghan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Frank, our guide, was knowledgeable and spoke great English. We saw a good amount of the sites in Shanghai in a day and had an enjoyable time.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Wayne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We did not know what to expect as we booked this the day before. Our group consisted of 3 visitors in the am and 4 in the afternoon. We had a guide who spoke very good English. His name was Fred. The guide was very knowledgeable and he did a great job of showing us around and getting a chance to experience the highlights of Shanghai. It was an excellent tour and we all had a great time. Very much worth the price. Of note one of the other guests states she now only uses Viator for her tours during her travels and has always had a great experience! I will definity use your service again!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

agnestan16

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A good day out with Joy, the guide, who spoke perfect English. She was very informative and attentive to all of us. A good recommendation if you want to experience the old charm of the oriental world.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

luke.szarafinski

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very knowledgeable and polite guide, great must see spots are included in the itinerary beautiful Yu Garden, Shanghai Museum are especially worth seeing. The lunch is included - simple but very homely.
The only issue I had with the tour was the minivan we were driven in - it was not the newest nor the cleanest one - but the driver was very polite and drove carefully in mad Shanghai traffic.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Craig R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The Shanghai Day Tour was a very good way to see many of the sites in Shanghai in a short period of time.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message