Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 736 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a phenomenal day. The overcast grey sky didn't deter the enthusiasm of our guide Joy as she led us through a fantastic day in two City's outside of Shanghai. Zhouzhang was incredible, with the arched bridges and the trees in bloom. The private gardens in Suzhou were remarkable. Having seen the reproduction the Ming Room in New York it was so much more to see the real thing. If you have a day to spend in Shanghai and want to experience something truly wonderful, I can't recommend this trip enough

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Jo, our guide was fantastic! I learned so much aboit the history and development of Shanghai. It filled in so much of my ancient and asian history classes from high school and college.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable,friendly and helpful. He introduced us to so many new areas and sights in a city we have visited many times. We would highly recommend Frank and an independent tour of the city.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great way to start exploring the city: I decided on the red and green route for day 1 and the blue route for day 2, which turned out to be a good combination. Commentary over headphones was useful and informative and all staff encountered were efficient and friendly.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting taste and see of foods not usually on a Chinese menu. Guide was excellent - knowledgeable and convivial. Well recommended for a walking experience around Shanghai night markets tasting the unusual.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good way to see the City as wouldn't see a fraction of sightseeing on foot.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Good, not great. Joy, our guide, was Fantastic and really friendly! But the tour itself felt rushed. We had barely any time to look around the lake, just on the boat then off. No time to explore. No time to look around the tea fields, just time to be sold tea. Felt like the hard sell. Nice enough...

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

driver pick up got us to airport at boarding time. Risky pick up time, too long at factory decreased time at warriors. flight back slightly delay but 30 minutes looking for driver back to ship could have been better organized.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The majority of the day was spent in the bus. The scenery was pretty and I'm glad that we saw it, but it would have been much better over a couple of days.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

too much construction going on, when past constructions drivers drove too fast to take pictures, ride very rough.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Its was Terrible!! The company did not show up. I had to call them and they said that there was a mix up and they missed our reservation. They offered to come if we waited a couple hours. I had guests from the USA and they were disappointed. I will be requesting a full refund.

Doing what: Shanghai Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was the highlight of my Shanghai trip. You see so much more when walking around than from the inside of a taxi. The food was spectacular - I would never have been brave enough to eat street food otherwise. The pace was good - just enough walking between markets to work off the last round of eating! Our tour guide, Mitch, was fantastic. There wasn't a question he couldn't answer. I would and have recommend this tour to anyone travelling to Shanghai, whether it's your first or tenth trip.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I found the tour to be informative and fun! I was very impressed by my guide, who spoke very good English, and was very knowledgeable about the sights that we were seeing. It was my first trip to Shanghai, and it was a very good overview of the city. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic! Great day of dumpling tasting on the streets, then fun with Chef Michael learning to make the delicious fare. Guides were GREAT

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling-Tasting Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Easy to convert voucher to the ticket and no problem on buses. I forgot to confirm in advance as requested but they did not even mention it. Good way to view city and to move around Shanghai. Chinglish commentary amusing and informative. Stops can be a long way from the designated target i.e. Yu Gardens but no great issues. River trip great.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message