Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 794 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely fantastic. Our guides were knowledgable and took great care of us.

Doing what: Private Tour: 2-Night Shandong by Bullet Train from Shanghai Including Temple of Confucius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing places that are out of this World. Zhouzhuang is so unique and beautiful. Would go back and spend an overnight in one of the bed and breakfast in the village.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Go hungry, it was amazing! We ate so much good food. And nothing was gross or weird crawfish was the most 'weird', and it isn't.
The tour guides were friendly, knowledgeable expats that speak fluent Chinese.
There was some walking involved between places, which helped with digestion.
No xiao long bao, but it was perfect and authentic.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent trip. We had a private tour of the water village which was fantastic. We loved
the silk factory. The meal at lunch time was excellent. Our tour guide Rita was friendly and easy to talk to.
Can't complain one bit.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

There isn't a lot of history in Shanghai but this bus tour is an inexpensive way of getting around the city with some commentary. Organization needs some help as we were not giving proper directions to the check-in stand so we lost a lot of time. There is a long wait for the buses so frequency needs to be increased and some of the buses need to be updated. The commentary is a bit dated as it is describing Shanghai in 2012 or 2013. If you are only spending a couple days in Shanghai this is the best tour at the best price. A little planning about which sites you want to see and in which order will go a long way to save time and allow you to see more.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Well planned, Joy was a great guide. It started and finished on time.
A good expedite tour for seeing main spots in Shanghai. Just wish, they had chosen a better restaurant for lunch. Lunch was not good.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Trip was good bus broke down and we had to get a taxi to the next stop. But we were reimbursed so that was good. We would do it again

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Worth doing if new to Chinese culture

Doing what: Shanghai Food and Markets Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Great food, eat at two places and see a lot inbetween. Too bad the walking distances were very long. Not suitable when you're having problems with walking.

Doing what: Shanghai Food and Markets Walking Tour

A S
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This was an average tour, more of sales gimmick. We really didn't see much except for a museum, which was excellent. Other places visited were more for the commission. Unfortunately due to heavy rain, we couldn't do the Bund.
Lunch was very poor quality. I am shocked that Viator selected such mediocre restaurant.
I took two tours with Viator, The Best of Shanghai day tour and The Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening tour. Both were very poorly managed and a huge disappointment. I will not recommend either.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The tour itself was good but the guide encouraged me constantly to leave my belongings in the car. At some point I agreed to do so and after that the gifts I bought earlier just disappeared. I don't want to blame anyone but it was an unpleasant experience.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

A S
United States of America

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We will not recommend this tour.
Based on the reviews, I had purchased this tour, however we were extremely disappointed with the tour. It was poorly organized and managed. We feel cheated as we trusted Viator to make our two days in Shaghai memorable. Due to poorly managed and unreliable travel agency Viator hired, Our vacation was ruined.
Acrobat Show is average- good effort by the performers but could have been held in a better theater. We reached the show 20 minutes late which was almost missing half the show. After the show, we were to go for the drive and see Shanghai in the evening. Unfortunately our guide really did not have much knowledge about the city. We would have been okay with that but to make the evening worse, Our guide and the driver got into an argument at the first stop and we ended up waiting in rain, getting drenched in our evening clothes while the driver refused to come pick us up . We walked in circles with the guide to find him. What a nightmare!
I will not recommend Viator after this experience and for ruining our vacation in Shanghai.

Doing what: Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

I waited for 1 1/2 hours for the bus. I was greeted by no one. No headphones were available for me. I took the bus one stop and got off. I was then greeted by a nice gentleman but at that point I was finished. It was a huge waste of 48.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The show was spectacular hence the rating!!but we missed this particular tour due to being held up in thick fog on our cruise ship. We went to the acrobats tour with another company the next day!

Doing what: Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great tour. Our guide Joy was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of information about all the sites. We covered everything that was promised and had a great day. We had taken a lot of tours on this 47 day trip and this was the best. I would recommend it to everyone and especially Joy she was great.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Xian is a fascinating city. The Terra Cotta warriors are stunning and well worth visiting. The highlight of my trip to China. The city of Xian was very beautiful and still has the 13th Century walls intact and a number of other interesting buildings from the 13th Century. A long day but very worthwhile. Air delays into and out of Shanghai Airport make the day even longer

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A long day but well worthwhile. The Forbidden City, Tiamen Square and the Great Wall all live up to the high expectation I had. Thee guide was excellent - Friendly , informative and professional. Air delays into and out of Shanghai mar the tour.

Doing what: Beijing in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A good way to start in Shanghai. A great guide and good selection of places in Shanghai

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

quick access to highlights

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

it was very rainy that day so we couldnt do the boat part, all in all its a very nice place to see ...
the tour person was very informative, but a bit quick and we didn't have time to check the things in the market and at lunch she didn't sit with us... also the driver was a character !

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

it was very rainy that day so we couldnt do the boat part, all in all its a very nice place to see ...
the tour person was very informative, but a bit quick and we didn't have time to check the things in the market and at lunch she didn't sit with us... also the driver was a character !

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

A Long drive to see not very much. The guide was very good

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was wonderful. Love the combination of trying the best dumplings of the area, hearing history of the area , going to a market and then making our own dumplings. Everyone on the tour was friendly and our guide was fantastic. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling-Tasting Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Worth every penny! Jamie, our guide, took us around to eat real Chinese food and also taught us how to eat it properly! We heard a little history about the food we were eating. And the cooking class was excellent! Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling-Tasting Tour and Cooking Class

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message