Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 756 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a phenomenal day. The overcast grey sky didn't deter the enthusiasm of our guide Joy as she led us through a fantastic day in two City's outside of Shanghai. Zhouzhang was incredible, with the arched bridges and the trees in bloom. The private gardens in Suzhou were remarkable. Having seen the reproduction the Ming Room in New York it was so much more to see the real thing. If you have a day to spend in Shanghai and want to experience something truly wonderful, I can't recommend this trip enough

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Joy was a great guide. Full day of interesting stops. More than just a bus tour.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Jo, our guide was fantastic! I learned so much aboit the history and development of Shanghai. It filled in so much of my ancient and asian history classes from high school and college.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable,friendly and helpful. He introduced us to so many new areas and sights in a city we have visited many times. We would highly recommend Frank and an independent tour of the city.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great way to start exploring the city: I decided on the red and green route for day 1 and the blue route for day 2, which turned out to be a good combination. Commentary over headphones was useful and informative and all staff encountered were efficient and friendly.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting taste and see of foods not usually on a Chinese menu. Guide was excellent - knowledgeable and convivial. Well recommended for a walking experience around Shanghai night markets tasting the unusual.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good way to see the City as wouldn't see a fraction of sightseeing on foot.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An overview of Shanghei is a must and I don't know of a better way to do that than with the Hop-On Hop-Off bus.....absolutely get off at the Pearl Tower and go inside and to the top! Few people are aware of the magnificent surprises - even a rotating restaurant and a space station at the very highest pearl Not to be missed.
Get the best ticket on the bus as this allows you to get a free boat ride on the river. Happy travels

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent day tour to a very interesting place.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent...a great way to see this fascinating place!

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very unique and picturesque. Enjoyed the gondola ride in canal. Worth the time and money. Long walk to village from bus parking. Walk thru narrow village streets was rushed.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great evening. Acrobats were very skilled. Good seats. Walk through French Concession was special.

Doing what: Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Although a long day, lovely site to visit with so much history.
Frank, our guide, is excellent and we would highly recommend him and this tour.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Mary was great! She gave us a wonderful tour, was forthcoming with great details about the history and what we were seeing, and also had a great time posing for pictures with our travel companion, sock puppet. A tour definitely worth the cost!

Doing what: Shanghai Old Town Walking Tour Including Yuyuan Garden

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I really liked the tour guide. She was warm and friendly. She worked hard to make the experience interesting for me. She seemed to really care that I enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Old Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Hangzhou is a long drive from Shanghai - about 3 hours, but it is worth the trip. The West Lake was lovely and whilst it would have been nice to walk around, time was constricted, so going on a boat ride instead was a quick, nice and convenient way to view the lake and the stunning scenery. Lunch was OK - not the best. The trip to the China National Tea Museum was good fun - tasting green tea! Visiting Liuhe Pagoda was a nice way to end the day.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour stared with a pick-up from the Hotel Holiday Inn Express in Zhabei for four of us at the right time given. the tour guide was knowledgeable courteous and answered all questions that we had. He was also good in English and could communicate well and explain the details of the places we visited. The lunch in a restaurant around the Bund area was also very good as the tour guide took care of ordering dishes we wanted to have. Enough time was spent at each of the venue listed and it attended in time with a drop-off at the hotel. I would strongly recommend the use of Vitaor.com website for booking the tours as it is safe and secure as well as prompt in providing services.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

JEAN A
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour .guide very informative.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The guide gave interesting talks that were not just about the history of a particular incident or area. She was helpful at the end of the tour as the traffic jams getting back to Shanghai made us late.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Good, not great. Joy, our guide, was Fantastic and really friendly! But the tour itself felt rushed. We had barely any time to look around the lake, just on the boat then off. No time to explore. No time to look around the tea fields, just time to be sold tea. Felt like the hard sell. Nice enough...

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Shanghai Food and Markets Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

driver pick up got us to airport at boarding time. Risky pick up time, too long at factory decreased time at warriors. flight back slightly delay but 30 minutes looking for driver back to ship could have been better organized.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The majority of the day was spent in the bus. The scenery was pretty and I'm glad that we saw it, but it would have been much better over a couple of days.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Guide had a weak voice, hard to hear. Did not go or do what we wanted. More of a rote memory answers with some bad information.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was just ok I would not recommend it you are better off just walking on the Bund and doing the French Concession at your leisure much of the time was wasted going shopping to the pearl and silk market which was a sales pitch and spent far too much time there

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message