• USD ($)
  • English
Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 554 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Although it was along day, the trip to 'old' China was really worthwhile and the guide and driver did an excellent job

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Good value for money

Doing what: Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour from start to finish. Thoroughly enjoyed seeing and hearing about the lives of the Shanghai residents. Tour guides pitched it right and kept me and my husband enthralled. It's a must to get off the tourist route and experience the real city.

Doing what: Small-Group Shanghai Lanes and Alleyways Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A good way to see the city quickly, although would recommend skipping the pearl factory.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Chris was a great tour guide and loved to share insights and information. His English was excellent and he was particularly helpful to a physically challenged girl in our group. I particularly enjoyed Zhouzhuang and the boat ride. Everyone on the boats and watching along the way seemed to have a smile on their face. It was an uplifting experience. My only regret is that I didn't try some of the special roasted pork that was at every other vendor. Now I'm so curious! Thanks for a wonderful day!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

our tour was very good and complete - a good introduction to the city. Our guide was a bit soft spoken we got to see many things we might have otherwise missed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was a good day, sharing the day with several nice people from other countries. We were picked up from our hotels in Shanghai before the drive out to the first stop - Net Masters property which was a great example of a Ming Dynasty house and garden. The garden was beautiful however I felt that we spent too long there, especially a tea break at a gift store. The next stop was a tour of a silk factory. It was my first one so it was interesting however some of the other people had already seen a few. Again we stayed far too long and would have preferred to have a time limit (for the free shopping time) so we could spend more time at the Zhouzhuang Water Village. Lunch was delicious and a lot of it. Another stop viewing a bridge and canal then onto the highlight of the day - the Zhouzhuang Water Village. We walked through the town as a group and stopped a few times to take photos, then had our boat ride which was really relaxing and we got another view of the town. Our lovely lady boat driver even serenaded us. We then walked out of the town as a group and one couple who stopped to buy something on the way out was hurried up. We discussed it as a group and all felt that we would have preferred less time at the other places, even lunch, so we could have more time and in particular some free time at the enchanting Zhouzhuang Water Town. Guide was average, not really engaging, she dozed off in the car on the way home and was pushy towards the end of the day in generating further business for herself.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Very disappointing, felt I was being dragged around to be feed a sales opportunity.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour - managed to see so much of Shanghai I would have missed if I hadn't done the tour. Chris the tour guide was excellent giving a real insight into life in Shanghai. Highly recommended and great value for money.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I've rated this five stars as my late booking was still able to be accommodated, the sights were really beautiful and especially for my guide who was very friendly, informative and had excellent English. Thanks again!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We thought it a great value. It was not clear when the last pickup was for the day at the various stops.
A bit of signage about this at each stop would be helpful.
We had to take a cab back to our hotel.

Doing what: Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

great tour guide. no too pushing on sales.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message