Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 608 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an excellent way to tour Shanghai. The buses stop locations are all very well located, the map provided is great, the audio tour is interesting and educational, the buses are clean and the staff are very helpful.

Some info that may prove helpful. It is best to print out a ticket. I used the digital ticket and started my tour at a main stop, but the digital ticket caused some confusion. It worked out in the end, after a supervisor call. Start your tour at a main stop, look for a terminal with a physical kiosk, the biggest one is in People's Square. Keep track of the free tickets that come with your Tour, they are very well selected. The map will tell you the last time a bus will go by a certain stop (usually between 5-7). There is another bus company that runs buses in the evening, so do not get confused. You are provided ear buds, but if you want you can use your own. Keep your map, it was the best tourist map, I found all week in Shanghai. Buses come by each stop in 15 or 30 minute intervals, depending on if the stop over laps with another line. There are three lines that intersect each other (Red, Blue and Green). Each line has great sights and all are worth experiencing. Exchange some money before you start the tour, the audio program will inform you of many events, museums, restaurants and cultural sights which charge.

This tour was a great value, and in my opinion the best way to get introduced to Shanghai. I meet a Melbourne couple who have used this service in a few other cities. They always take advantage when visiting a new city. After my experience in Shanghai, I will too.

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great and our guide, Fran, was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable and made sure we had enough time at each of the stops to explore. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour is very good and the village is very beautiful. However, there are some points that I didn't like that much:
1. The trip takes 1 hour and a half, each way. And by the time the tour leaves your hotel (around 2PM) the traffic is quite chaotic in Shanghai for the first half hour. When you come back, around 5:30 - 6, the traffic is even worse. The tour company can't do anything about the traffic, of course, but they could plan it better to try to avoid as much traffic as possible.
2. The actual time you spend at the village is short, 1 hour or so. It makes sense because the excursion is "half-day" but still they could plan it better to spend more time there.

The good points are:
* Apparently the village was open to the public on 1995, which makes it one of the newest ones and more 'preserved'; thus, not SUPER full of tourists like everywhere else in China. Do expect some people though, it is China after all...
* The boat ride IS relaxing and cool. I was the only one in the tour (with the guide) and I felt it could be awkward, but it wasn't. It was just cool and relaxing just as they say in the description.
* You see old people in the village, living there. The atmosphere is great. The private house that the tour takes you into is very interesting and nice too.

No shopping stops and the guide had very good english. Overall a good experience!

Doing what: Zhouzhuang Water Village Tour from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent introduction to Shanghai

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great price for the amount of sights, stops, convenience, and admission fees included. Everyone was very helpful and english speaking. You will appreciate this tour when you see the long ticket lines you just bypassed!

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I was picked up promptly at my hotel, the van was clean and in good condition. The tour guide was knowledgeable and spoke very good english. Enjoyed all the sites that we visited and did not feel rushed. It was a great day!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Luke was very polite and courteous and mindful of our needs as we were more mature ladies.
He was very knowledgable about the Shanghai area, very pleasant walk around the French Concession area, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening and our time with Luke.
Would recommend this tour to all. The driver was excellent.
Thanks to all

Doing what: Shanghai Nightlife Insider Tour

Layla MH
Saudi Arabia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Positive: Loved the tour! it covers different attractions in both destinations! We had a great walk in the village and a little bit of time to discover some of the local shops there.

Negative: even though we were a small group, myself and my friend, and another lady in the tour, the tour guide wasn't cooperative much, and asking us to rush here and there.

Been in 2 tours with the same tour company, 2 different tour guides. We noticed that they are not really good in communication. Their English is understandable, but their explanation lacks the touch that a tour guide should have! They should improve their communication skills and understand how to deal with different cultures, how to say things, how not to be rude ... etc .. We noticed a gap between our tour guides and some other tour guides that were in the same attractions.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide Frank was very articulate and knowledgeable. The sights were worth the cost.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

we really enjoyed to hop on hop off tour, but we had a hard time finding where we were to hop on at one of the sites. would love to upload pictures at a later date if possible. had a great time. rose

Doing what: Big Bus Shanghai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

this was really great, awesome being able to decide where you want to go yourself, appreciated the helpful advice of guide Jennifer! she knew all the best places to go/see so she gave us ideas if we were stuck. pretty cheap too, considering what we got out of it! the best way to see the city when you don't have much time to spare.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The guide Frank was very knowledgeable and articulate. The sights were ok.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The Guilin mountains are worth a visit but the tour should include a trip into the mountains. Viewing them only from view points within Guilin and leaving us about 4 hours time to spend on ourselves was very unexpected. Not a good value for the price paid.

Doing what: Guilin in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Nothing much was being show casted to us about Suzhou, a bit waste of time. Zhouzhuang water village was good despite the rain. I felt that the guide could be more interactive.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The Suzhou trip is nothing to see but zhouzhuang is nicer compare to Suzhou but we just ride the boat the go back to hotel, it should have a free time for us to walk around inside since we're already there, then we should have lunch at zhouzhuang not in Suzhou,

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message