Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 587 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a phenomenal day. The overcast grey sky didn't deter the enthusiasm of our guide Joy as she led us through a fantastic day in two City's outside of Shanghai. Zhouzhang was incredible, with the arched bridges and the trees in bloom. The private gardens in Suzhou were remarkable. Having seen the reproduction the Ming Room in New York it was so much more to see the real thing. If you have a day to spend in Shanghai and want to experience something truly wonderful, I can't recommend this trip enough

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Joy was a great guide. Full day of interesting stops. More than just a bus tour.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Jo, our guide was fantastic! I learned so much aboit the history and development of Shanghai. It filled in so much of my ancient and asian history classes from high school and college.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable,friendly and helpful. He introduced us to so many new areas and sights in a city we have visited many times. We would highly recommend Frank and an independent tour of the city.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent day tour to a very interesting place.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very unique and picturesque. Enjoyed the gondola ride in canal. Worth the time and money. Long walk to village from bus parking. Walk thru narrow village streets was rushed.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Both Suzhou and Zouzhuang were picturesque and enjoyable. The drive was not too far for a day trip and the sightseeing not at all strenuous. Very different to Shanghai. Joy, our guide, was well informed and able to answer all our questions.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Although a long day, lovely site to visit with so much history.
Frank, our guide, is excellent and we would highly recommend him and this tour.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Hangzhou is a long drive from Shanghai - about 3 hours, but it is worth the trip. The West Lake was lovely and whilst it would have been nice to walk around, time was constricted, so going on a boat ride instead was a quick, nice and convenient way to view the lake and the stunning scenery. Lunch was OK - not the best. The trip to the China National Tea Museum was good fun - tasting green tea! Visiting Liuhe Pagoda was a nice way to end the day.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour stared with a pick-up from the Hotel Holiday Inn Express in Zhabei for four of us at the right time given. the tour guide was knowledgeable courteous and answered all questions that we had. He was also good in English and could communicate well and explain the details of the places we visited. The lunch in a restaurant around the Bund area was also very good as the tour guide took care of ordering dishes we wanted to have. Enough time was spent at each of the venue listed and it attended in time with a drop-off at the hotel. I would strongly recommend the use of Vitaor.com website for booking the tours as it is safe and secure as well as prompt in providing services.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

JEAN A
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour .guide very informative.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The guide gave interesting talks that were not just about the history of a particular incident or area. She was helpful at the end of the tour as the traffic jams getting back to Shanghai made us late.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Good, not great. Joy, our guide, was Fantastic and really friendly! But the tour itself felt rushed. We had barely any time to look around the lake, just on the boat then off. No time to explore. No time to look around the tea fields, just time to be sold tea. Felt like the hard sell. Nice enough...

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

driver pick up got us to airport at boarding time. Risky pick up time, too long at factory decreased time at warriors. flight back slightly delay but 30 minutes looking for driver back to ship could have been better organized.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The majority of the day was spent in the bus. The scenery was pretty and I'm glad that we saw it, but it would have been much better over a couple of days.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Guide had a weak voice, hard to hear. Did not go or do what we wanted. More of a rote memory answers with some bad information.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was just ok I would not recommend it you are better off just walking on the Bund and doing the French Concession at your leisure much of the time was wasted going shopping to the pearl and silk market which was a sales pitch and spent far too much time there

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour could not be considered small group with 12 people in a small van. We waited at the Marriott for 45 minutes for everyone to arrive. The gentleman who drove us to the hotel was curt and unfriendly when I asked why we were waiting and the size of our group. The tour guide could be speak English but he was difficult to understand. We spent as much time in the silk factory as we did in the gardens for which Suzhou is famous. Lunch was ok, but nothing exciting or special. Overall, I was disappointed. Would not recommend

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The Tour Guide was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The Zhouzhuang Water Village was definitely the highlight of the trip. In Suzhou I felt like we rushed around the Master-of-Nets Garden which was not as impressive as I thought it would be and the Silk Factory tour was simply focused on shopping. Lunch wasn't great.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village are beautiful places. However, Joy, the guide was not very competent and did not say much about those beautiful places. Transportation was terrible. However, lunch was very good.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I found the tour to be informative and fun! I was very impressed by my guide, who spoke very good English, and was very knowledgeable about the sights that we were seeing. It was my first trip to Shanghai, and it was a very good overview of the city. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very friendly guide Leo, spoke English well and was more than happy to
make sure we saw everything on our must see list. would recommend
this tour to other travellers.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A fabulous day out, Joy the tour guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgable about the areas on the visit.
We found the driver a bit scary at times a bit like a terror taxi ride at a fair !
Lunch was very mediocre although the potatoes were tasy.
Thanks for a good trip. Nina

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message