Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 624 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing places that are out of this World. Zhouzhuang is so unique and beautiful. Would go back and spend an overnight in one of the bed and breakfast in the village.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent trip. We had a private tour of the water village which was fantastic. We loved
the silk factory. The meal at lunch time was excellent. Our tour guide Rita was friendly and easy to talk to.
Can't complain one bit.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My tour was excellent ...we had a great tour guide that spoke good English and had facts and data about each and every point of interest. I would definitely reccomend this tour to anyone who wished to learn more about Shanghai.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Well planned, Joy was a great guide. It started and finished on time.
A good expedite tour for seeing main spots in Shanghai. Just wish, they had chosen a better restaurant for lunch. Lunch was not good.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

A S
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This was an average tour, more of sales gimmick. We really didn't see much except for a museum, which was excellent. Other places visited were more for the commission. Unfortunately due to heavy rain, we couldn't do the Bund.
Lunch was very poor quality. I am shocked that Viator selected such mediocre restaurant.
I took two tours with Viator, The Best of Shanghai day tour and The Chinese Acrobats and Shanghai Evening tour. Both were very poorly managed and a huge disappointment. I will not recommend either.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The tour itself was good but the guide encouraged me constantly to leave my belongings in the car. At some point I agreed to do so and after that the gifts I bought earlier just disappeared. I don't want to blame anyone but it was an unpleasant experience.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

After taking a cruise that ended in Shanghai, I wanted to visit Beijing since I was so close the city. The tour/tour company was exceptional. We were in communication with the company for a week in advance via email and they addressed all of my concerns. We were picked up at our hotel for our early flight and the driver made sure we had our boarding passes and ready to start the tour. We had the BEST tour guide, Cristina Guo Shi Qing, who was careful in meeting the needs of two elderly tourists. She allowed us to make some minor changes and was understanding if we need extra breaks. She was extremely knowledgeable about the sites and provide us with lots of historical and cultural information. I would definitely suggest this tour if you have a limited time in the city. My only regret is we did not have more time.

Doing what: Best 2-Day Private Tour of Beijing from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

All aspects of the tour were well organized and our particular guide elaine and driver were very accommodating and well informed.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village including Humble Administrator's Garden from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great tour. Our guide Joy was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of information about all the sites. We covered everything that was promised and had a great day. We had taken a lot of tours on this 47 day trip and this was the best. I would recommend it to everyone and especially Joy she was great.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Xian is a fascinating city. The Terra Cotta warriors are stunning and well worth visiting. The highlight of my trip to China. The city of Xian was very beautiful and still has the 13th Century walls intact and a number of other interesting buildings from the 13th Century. A long day but very worthwhile. Air delays into and out of Shanghai Airport make the day even longer

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A long day but well worthwhile. The Forbidden City, Tiamen Square and the Great Wall all live up to the high expectation I had. Thee guide was excellent - Friendly , informative and professional. Air delays into and out of Shanghai mar the tour.

Doing what: Beijing in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A good way to start in Shanghai. A great guide and good selection of places in Shanghai

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We spent the day with our private guide, Elaine. The tour was very scenic and interesting. Elaine was awesome and went above and beyond to satisfy our requests.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village including Humble Administrator's Garden from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good tour with very good guide. The water town is interesting and the Gondola ride a highlight

Doing what: Zhujiajiao and Seven Treasure Town Day Tour from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

it was very rainy that day so we couldnt do the boat part, all in all its a very nice place to see ...
the tour person was very informative, but a bit quick and we didn't have time to check the things in the market and at lunch she didn't sit with us... also the driver was a character !

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

it was very rainy that day so we couldnt do the boat part, all in all its a very nice place to see ...
the tour person was very informative, but a bit quick and we didn't have time to check the things in the market and at lunch she didn't sit with us... also the driver was a character !

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

A Long drive to see not very much. The guide was very good

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing. It was extremely well organized and everyone from the guides to the locations and experiences were wonderful. Starting in Shanghai, we traveled to Xi'an where we were met by Sunny at the airport. We spent a fabulous day visiting all around Xi'an and especially the Warriors. Sunny was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. Next morning we were off to Beijing where we met Cris and continued our adventure. Cris was also a wonderful guide and really taught us so much. Never did I anticipate walking on the Great Wall. I know both these young ladies really made this trip so special for us. I just wish we could have had more time with them. If you get the chance to take this trip, do it. Fabulous.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Xi'an and Beijing from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good experience! Yuyuan Garden is beautiful!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a wonderful time. The gondola ride was the highlight. Got a glimpse of China that you don't see in the large cities.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was excellent, very efficient and great way to see Shanghai.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the first time I took a tour anywhere. The tour was great. Our guide, Rita, was full of great information and incite. We were able to see various sites in one day but never felt rushed.

I would recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see a glimpse into green tea growing, West Lake, and a neat Pagoda.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was a very good overview of Shanghai's highlights. I especially enjoyed the Jade Buddha Temple. Our guide, Ms. Joy, was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour with great local knowledge via Rita, our tour guide. Suggestions for improvement include more commentary on the transit in relation to local towns and also to make dedicated time in the water town for shopping (20 mins). Great driving!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message