Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 693 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Miles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Michael was a very knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Sarah G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable but we were disappointed that we didn't seem to have very long in the water village. It was quick walk, had the boat trip and then a walk out. Would rather have skipped the silk factory which was just really an opportunity for them to try and sell to us and had longer in the village which was the last bit of the trip but the part we were most interested in seeing.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Matt C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Unfortunately found the tour boring, in contrast to some lively food tours i did. It was a very long day of driving to see some sights that generally underwhelmed. The house that we visited in Suzhou after a 1.5hr drive was dull, lunch was boring, the silk factory was quite interesting and the water village was nice but of course touristy, so for me, it wasnt worth it. Also there were only 4 in our group, but i was first picked up, and last dropped off, which annoyed me as i added at least 1hr 45 minutes onto the day trip compared to the person who was last picked up first dropped off.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Reinhold K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolut perfect oraganized. They picked me up at the hotels, brought me to the airport. At guillin Airport was waiting my guide. She was excellent informed about the tour. Ijust can recommend this tour for everyone.

Doing what: Guilin in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

chabh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting. Amazing views

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

chabh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful city. Well organized tour

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

fantastic day with Frank our wonderful guide who went above and beyond expectations for us. Loved the silk factory in particular

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Lance M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was an absolute joy. And, you could not ask for a better guide than Tom. I would give it more stars if I could.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Rajiv M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, started a little early. Delivered as promised airfare, airport driver, tiananmen square, forbidden palace and great wall all by a knowledgeable english speaking tour guide. Only other complaint is the standard tour of a jade factory and silk factory. Really just a slightly pressured sales trip after the tour which only lasts five minutes.

Doing what: Beijing in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Robin D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide was excellent. Pity about the weather. Lots of good photo opportunities.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Peter W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We booked this tour with a pre arranged delayed pick up from a cruise ship. This tour included two different locations, the first part in Xian and the second in Beijing, both with different guides. This really is a tale of two halves. The second half of this tour was excellent in every way and was carried out by a professional guide which we found exceptional and covered all on the schedule. The first half of the tour was the let down and was left very wanting in time given to us. Our main purpose of this visit was to the terracotta army which we arrived into the exhibition at 08.30 and we departed the site at 09.30 to allow time to go to the airport as an flight was pre-arranged. The overall tour schedule was to be delivered over 3 days/2 nights, however 1/2 day was lost at the beginning due to a late start, which they new and agreed to deliver the original tour, Overall a very good package but not enough time given to the first half of the tour, therefore affecting the value for money issue.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Xi'an and Beijing from Shanghai by Air

Syed H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour wasn't the best since Shanghai doesn't really have much history compare to Beijing. On that note, the Buddha temple and garden were nice to see. You could probably see these locations on your own though.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Sally C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

We travelled with 5 other guests and we got along well with our fellow travelers, they came from the US and Mexico.
Our guide was friendly at first but as the trip progresses, she got alittle impatient with us. I believe the trip has its time constraints but it got to a point we were all just following where she is walking to and didn't even had time to look around us at Zhouzhuang.
The silk factory was enriching albeit a short but rushed tour of the factory, but when we reach the silk shop, it really felt like we will be given time to shop, to the point of we felt that they are prepared to let us have all day. Not so nice point IMO.
Lunch was terrible, although I had prep my family about not expecting too much of the 'lunch provided'. Our guide pretty much left us on our own to eat which was fine.
At Zhouzhuang which was labeled as Venice of the east? I m sorry I do not have much recollection of the place besides following in a hurried manner behind the guide to get to the small pier to do our boat ride? The famous bridge which I don't even know the name? was explained in 3 seconds and off we go again, rushing to the pier. I was travelling with my aged parents, we were pretty much dragging them along with us, really worried that we will lose sight of the guide. Totally missing out on the serenity of the entire place. We didn't enjoy ourselves much which was really a shame..

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Ronald S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

The van was overcrowded and very uncomfortable. There were 12 or 13 people in a small old van. I saw other tours with bucket comfortable seats. This was 3 times more uncomfortable than the 18 hour flight in economy. Second the lunch was terrible. They gave us enough food to fit only on a saucer other tables had same amount of food for 5.i thought we might go to a small Chinese restaurent like we did in rpthe tour in Lima instead of a 3000 seat tour bus stop.
Lastly the driver kept getting lost and he and the tour guide argued a lot I guess because that was the first time they worked together because the van had to be changed because of the large number of guests. I believe the original tour was for 6. Also the guide never told guests how ,one we were going to be in any visit or where to meet so people kept getting lost causing waste of time in the stops and us getting back to the hotel late. Rating this tour a 1 is over rated

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

VINAY J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

the tour guide was not good . he kept talking on his mobile and not interactive neither ready to answer questions

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Nancy H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Good sites but majority of the day was spent travelling and in traffic. Picking up people from their hotels is convenient but in Shanghai traffic it makes for a long day. English guide had only basic speaking skills.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Tareq S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Loved this tour! Learned so much and our guide was amazing. Thank you for such an amazing experience and tour in Shanghai. We will never forget it.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

James G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good intro to Shanghai. The tour guide and driver were great. Good stops but the one at the Shanghai Museum was very short. Nice lunch but we also had a shopping stop for an hour at a pearl shop at the Bund. I could have done without that.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Mariateresa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, you are going to see lots of sights, in a very difficult city to visit on your own.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

EUGENE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome!!!! I travel a lot, This was the first time i had ever done a private one on one tour. I was thrilled with how everything was perfectly arranged. My tour guide Cris, was excellent. Her knowledge of the Chinese history made the tour fascinating and fun. We did things I would have never done on my own. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Beijing.
.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Beijing from Shanghai by Air

Ray J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great way to see what we wanted and having a guide that knows how to get around the city worked for us. We were able to cover a lot of attractions in a very full day. Being able to customize the tour is the way to go with a lot more flexibility instead of going on a set tour that only hits the tourist attractions they want you to see.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

whiterhino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous tour - encompassed a lot in a full day...

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Inna S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

thanks for Tom, he was good guide

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message