Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 611 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Xian is a fascinating city. The Terra Cotta warriors are stunning and well worth visiting. The highlight of my trip to China. The city of Xian was very beautiful and still has the 13th Century walls intact and a number of other interesting buildings from the 13th Century. A long day but very worthwhile. Air delays into and out of Shanghai Airport make the day even longer

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A long day but well worthwhile. The Forbidden City, Tiamen Square and the Great Wall all live up to the high expectation I had. Thee guide was excellent - Friendly , informative and professional. Air delays into and out of Shanghai mar the tour.

Doing what: Beijing in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A good way to start in Shanghai. A great guide and good selection of places in Shanghai

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good tour with very good guide. The water town is interesting and the Gondola ride a highlight

Doing what: Zhujiajiao and Seven Treasure Town Day Tour from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

A Long drive to see not very much. The guide was very good

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing. It was extremely well organized and everyone from the guides to the locations and experiences were wonderful. Starting in Shanghai, we traveled to Xi'an where we were met by Sunny at the airport. We spent a fabulous day visiting all around Xi'an and especially the Warriors. Sunny was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. Next morning we were off to Beijing where we met Cris and continued our adventure. Cris was also a wonderful guide and really taught us so much. Never did I anticipate walking on the Great Wall. I know both these young ladies really made this trip so special for us. I just wish we could have had more time with them. If you get the chance to take this trip, do it. Fabulous.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Xi'an and Beijing from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good experience! Yuyuan Garden is beautiful!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a wonderful time. The gondola ride was the highlight. Got a glimpse of China that you don't see in the large cities.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was excellent, very efficient and great way to see Shanghai.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the first time I took a tour anywhere. The tour was great. Our guide, Rita, was full of great information and incite. We were able to see various sites in one day but never felt rushed.

I would recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see a glimpse into green tea growing, West Lake, and a neat Pagoda.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was a very good overview of Shanghai's highlights. I especially enjoyed the Jade Buddha Temple. Our guide, Ms. Joy, was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour with great local knowledge via Rita, our tour guide. Suggestions for improvement include more commentary on the transit in relation to local towns and also to make dedicated time in the water town for shopping (20 mins). Great driving!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very Interesting day visiting two water towns close to Shanghai

Doing what: Zhujiajiao and Seven Treasure Town Day Tour from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My tour went well. The tour guide and driver were nice people and made the day interesting android ex me with a great insight into every day life in Beijing. The Great Wall was amazing and I recommend that every one does the climb for as far as they can. It is truly a magnificent piece of Architecture and history. The slide cars were a fun way to come back down the Mountain. I will use viatoura again when I travel.

Doing what: Beijing in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great group pf peope. Very interesting locations and competent guides

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was very pleasant and flexible, trying to address our interests. We wish we had more un-prompted information about the culture, history, architecture.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very Professional, Fluent English tour Guide, small group. Tour with the traditional boat at Zhouzhuang water village was a plus!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good day out - too bad about the weather - but would recommend it to other Shanghai visitors. Pick up was on time, lunch was excellent, and guide very helpful. Drive was a little more than exciting, however, particularly on the wet roads.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Tour guide was very friendly and very knowledgeable about all places and Shanghai in general. Most of main sights covered. Not much time spent in van, get to each sight pretty quickly. Lunch good, plenty of food provided. Pearl factory and Silk museum bring the star rating right down unfortunately!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Nyla
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It was alright. The guide was in a rush to get us back to Shanghai, and we didn't get much time to explore

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Another disappointment by local tour guide Frank. He was quite friendly when he greeted us at the hotel lobby. But as the day passed, he became more boring and droned on in a monotonous voice when he reached a particular tourist spot. His face would lit up if he arrived at a location which he seemed to like but looked really bored at others. Eventually, he zoomed past XinTianDi so that the tour could end at 4.30pm back at our hotel. Utter disappointment.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

A very long trip, guide with little interest, a destination that was worthless.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Tour Guide who was a lady of whom unfortunately, I couldnt recall her name was extremely impatient and almost zoomed through the tour through Zhouzhuang without giving us any leisure time to at least linger around to take some pictures after travelling an hour out of shanghai to this place. She did ask if we would want to stay but in such a manner that says she wished we dont stay any longer as she was in a hurry to get back to shanghai. I did upload a pic of us with the lady tour guide in suzhou. A word of advice to Viator - change your local tour guides in Shanghai. They are all chasing your customers away. After these tours I have booked in Shanghai with viator, I would never again booked any tours in other countries with you guys.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a phenomenal day. The overcast grey sky didn't deter the enthusiasm of our guide Joy as she led us through a fantastic day in two City's outside of Shanghai. Zhouzhang was incredible, with the arched bridges and the trees in bloom. The private gardens in Suzhou were remarkable. Having seen the reproduction the Ming Room in New York it was so much more to see the real thing. If you have a day to spend in Shanghai and want to experience something truly wonderful, I can't recommend this trip enough

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message