Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 715 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hoda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Much Appreciated....Awesome experience....

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Matthew Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had one full day in Shanghai and we hit a home run with this tour. We didn't feel rushed but the tour guide kept things moving so we could see as much as possible in the limited time. Joy, our tour guide, was FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Endre S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative. Expect some delays in pick-up time depending on traffic and the number of hotel pick-ups. Overall, I highly recommend this tour if you have a spare day in Shanghai.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Joy was super. She explained lots of background on what we were seeing, which made the things we were seeing so much more meaningful. Her English was excellent. We had a small group as well, which made things very nice, and relaxed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Joy, Was very knowledgeable and informative.
She was also very friendly and spoke very good english. We had a small group which made it easier to see everything. We also had a great lunch.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Shirley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an impressive tour with professional service. Steven was prompt when meeting me at my hotel 5am the first day. We traveled to the airport and the excellent service provided for my departure was appreciated. Likewise when I returned. The flight was late and when I arrived from Xi'an he was waiting with a clear sign bearing my name. No anxiety about how to locate Steven so the start and end was a great experince.

When i arrived in Xi'an Michael met me also with a sign and introduced himself. He inquired if I needed anything after my flight and before leaving the airport. Then he carefully explained the itinerary and was conscientious when asking about preferences and/or allergies to foods for lunch and dinner. His English was excellent. The knowledge he shared about the places we went was fascinating. He is a good converationalist engaging me in the discussions rather than just presenting a memorzied speech. Not having been to Xi'an before I was a little nervous. Michael put me right at ease with his easy and professional manner.

Our driver, Mr. Dong was great. His driving skills in the traffic and rain were incredible. He never took unsafe chances when navigating through the narrow, crowded streets. Mr. Dong was courteous making sure to open the door, assist me as needed and even provide an umbrella in the rain.

I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who is interested in a quality experience seeing the terra cotta soldiers, the museum, the drum tower, and more. The tour was not rushed, the atmosphere was relaxed and informative, and the accomodations at the five star hotel were good.

This is not the first time I have used Viator - used them in Hawaii, Frankfurt and France. Always professional staff, on time, and my go to company for sightseeing in a country where I don't have a command of the language.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Xi'an from Shanghai by Air

ROBERT S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great tour. There were 6 of us and that made it easy to see things. Our guide,Joy, was delightful. She knew a lot and made sure we did too. We saw her the next day in a market and she was waving to get our attention. That was really nice. The Water village tour was worth taking

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

AVIVA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

WE REALY SAW THE BEST OF SHANGHAI WITH THE BEST GIDE EVER THANK YOU

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

shaye j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great fantastic tour I had a private tour in shanghai as I was only one booked for that day. Kimi my tour guide was very pleasant, and very knowlegable. I enjoyed the day, which was VERY long ,tremendously. Day began with pickup at hotel at 530 AM , flight to Xian, and return to my shanghai hotel at midnite. The warriors were highlight of day,or maybe even my entire stay in China. Kudos

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

e3canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my first time using Viator. The tour was amazing, everything worked like clockwork. The driver and tour guide were right on time and the content of the tour was phenomenal. In my opinion, as a world traveller, there is no better way to see a new city or get a sense for a country than to book a tour like this especially on small layovers. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Stavrosj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing and fun. The guide was fantastic

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Simonne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful Water Village. We had a wonderful tour and an excellent guide!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

martinascapin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I enjoyed the tour. The highlights of the trip were the visit to the Suzhou garden and the silk factory. The water village was for my taste a bit overly commercial, although having gone on a Wednesday, we didn't have the massive crowds that visit on the weekend, so it made the visit more pleasant. Highlight of the trip was the gondola ride, with our oar woman singing traditional Chinese songs.
The tour guide was friendly and the pick up service was fantastic - they pick you up directly from the hotel you are staying at. We were a small group so everyone was friendly.
Expect a long coach journey on the way back, the Shanghai traffic is pretty intense. I also felt that too little time was dedicated to the water village - I think we must have only been there for an hour and it would have been nice to spend a bit more time there.
In general, a good experience and well worth if you're keen on seeing something outside of Shanghai.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Kathleen H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I recommend this tour - it was a nice change from Shanghai and easy to do both locations in a day. Our group was small - only 4 people which was nice. There was a couple in my hotel who signed up for the same tour and somehow got left off the list. They were able to get on another tour but somewhere something went wrong. When we were in Zhouzhuang, our guide kind of rushed us through the town so we didn't have time to enjoy any of the local shops. It would have been nice to have tasted the rice wine, the pork or to look at the pearls. Its a quaint little town though and I hope to go back someday.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Alice Z

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Trip felt a bit rushed especially at the water town where we only had 15min free time to wander after going on the boat ride. If I had known ahead of time, I would have rather wandered the village for the extra time rather than do the boat. Tour guide Joy was excellent and provided helpful recommendations for dinner options.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Simonne D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice tour, very friendly guide!

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Subimal USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This is a very good trip for those in Shanghai for a limited amount of time - however, because there are lots of places to see, the time spent at each venue is limited and in our case the guide appeared to be in a great hurry to get from A to B which spoiled the experience - the tour company needs to do a better job in selecting the guides

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

irinaus97

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was ok, the lake was beautiful, everything was very well organized, but I would have liked to hear more about history of the city. It's way overpriced.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

jose w

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The driver was reckless and the trip was unsafe.
The guide explained very little, his English was good but did not seem to know enough, he slept on the way back.
The trip should be done by bullet train and not by bus, it takes 3 hours.
We payed for a tour, not a drive back and for plus lunch!/

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Miles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Michael was a very knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Thomas G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Frank was a very good guide who spoke and understood English well. Water village tour was interesting and we enjoyed the boat ride with the singing gondolier. Wish Suzhou tour could have included more but will probably spend a few days staying there to see more of the city on my next visit.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Sarah G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable but we were disappointed that we didn't seem to have very long in the water village. It was quick walk, had the boat trip and then a walk out. Would rather have skipped the silk factory which was just really an opportunity for them to try and sell to us and had longer in the village which was the last bit of the trip but the part we were most interested in seeing.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Leona T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Unfortunately on my tour, we started over an hour late because of late arrival of some guests staying on Pudong side. Therefore time was very rushed in each of Suzhou and Zhouzhuang and we definitely spent a lot more time in the coach than we did looking around. Lunch was also very average at a place catering for mass tourists. Tour guide Joy was very knowledgeable and helpful but otherwise organisation with pick ups and drop offs was not very organised.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message