Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 571 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a phenomenal day. The overcast grey sky didn't deter the enthusiasm of our guide Joy as she led us through a fantastic day in two City's outside of Shanghai. Zhouzhang was incredible, with the arched bridges and the trees in bloom. The private gardens in Suzhou were remarkable. Having seen the reproduction the Ming Room in New York it was so much more to see the real thing. If you have a day to spend in Shanghai and want to experience something truly wonderful, I can't recommend this trip enough

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Ken W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Jo, our guide was fantastic! I learned so much aboit the history and development of Shanghai. It filled in so much of my ancient and asian history classes from high school and college.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable,friendly and helpful. He introduced us to so many new areas and sights in a city we have visited many times. We would highly recommend Frank and an independent tour of the city.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Good, not great. Joy, our guide, was Fantastic and really friendly! But the tour itself felt rushed. We had barely any time to look around the lake, just on the boat then off. No time to explore. No time to look around the tea fields, just time to be sold tea. Felt like the hard sell. Nice enough...

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

driver pick up got us to airport at boarding time. Risky pick up time, too long at factory decreased time at warriors. flight back slightly delay but 30 minutes looking for driver back to ship could have been better organized.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I found the tour to be informative and fun! I was very impressed by my guide, who spoke very good English, and was very knowledgeable about the sights that we were seeing. It was my first trip to Shanghai, and it was a very good overview of the city. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very friendly guide Leo, spoke English well and was more than happy to
make sure we saw everything on our must see list. would recommend
this tour to other travellers.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A fabulous day out, Joy the tour guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgable about the areas on the visit.
We found the driver a bit scary at times a bit like a terror taxi ride at a fair !
Lunch was very mediocre although the potatoes were tasy.
Thanks for a good trip. Nina

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide, Rita was very knowledgeable about the area. She talked to us about Chinese culture in general as well as provided information about the water villages. I did feel a bit rushed towards the end in Zhouzhuang, as did some of the other tourists on our trip and shop : All in all it was a good, informative experience and nice getaway from the big city.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyed this tour. Wish we could have spent more time in Zhouzhang, would have liked to be there later in the day into the evening.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Guide was a lovely man called Shine of all things. The Master's Garden was very old. The Lunch was good and a first for me was that I really enjoyed the factory tour. It really was a working silk production place. Very interesting. Best place though was the boat canal ride and the village there.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good little sight seeing of Shanghai

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great but very short on time to get to airport. Bit stressful! Also we had a factory visit and had no time to visit old walls of X'ian

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Dont do this trip on a sat with good weather!! Almost every Chinese tourist is also out and traffic is terrible
We had a pick up at 7.30 am and didn't arrive to the first stop until 10.30 am!! 3 hours there and three hours return!! Consequently, the tours were rushed but Joy was a good guide.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Zsolt J
Hungary

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

If your guide is bad it destroys the tour, and our guide was horrible, unfortunately on both days I was with this person, whom the chemistry did not work, he was fighting for the tip with everyone, but finally NOONE gave him anything, this is an honest feedback I think!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message