Sharm el Sheikh ATTRACTIONS See all

St Catherine's Monastery

This legendary Greek Orthodox St. Catherine Monastery is one of the oldest places of worship in the world. Founded in the 4th century, the monastery stands on the site where Moses saw the burning bush. When you visit, it’s possible to see a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We want you to know how much we enjoyed our tour of St. Catherine's Monastery on Thursday. This was due solely to our wonderful guide, Allam, and our excellent driver, Atef. We always felt we were in capable hands and we learned a great deal about Egyptian history and culture. Thank you again for enriching our time here in Sharm el Sheikh.

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

amazing and awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

the happiest time for me in ma life really

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

What can I say ... it was AMAZING!!!!! The guide and driver were awesome and made me feel safe the whole trip. The Bedouin guide up the mountain was absolutely charming and so supportive - it is not the easiest of climbs but so worth it! THANK YOU so much Viator - the trip was truly EXCELLENT!

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Viator was more expensive than booking at the hotel, but it's worth it! Our Bedouin guide for the climb, Ahmed, and the tour guide for the trip, Mohsin, were noticably more professional, friendly, and honest than all the others we observed during the tour.

Make no mistake, this is a physically demanding climb, but it is doable for reasonably active people. If you are quite sedentary, or overweight, hire a camel. However, keep in mind that the camel will only take you to the steps at the top of the mountain. These you will have to climb, and they are rustic and challenging, meaning they are not so much "steps" as strategically placed rocks.

The sunrise at the top was beautiful and well worth the journey. The view was inspiring. I could have done without the "pilgrims" who kept walking around to different spots on the summit, singing (badly) hymns at the top of their lungs. But, there isn't much to be done about that.

All in all, the tour was wonderful, Viator provided a fantastic service, and I'm glad to have done it... But, it's one of those tours I will only do once!

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

An amazing experience! Very friendly and knowledgeable Egyptologist and Bedouin guides. The great advantage to a private tour is being able to ask questions and gain information that you possibly wouldn't ask on a 'group' tour. I went up the first part of Moses' Mountain by camel (an hour and a half on a camel is a LONG time - I literally couldn't feel my legs when I had to get off it again!) I recommend wearing long trousers - not just knee length shorts as I did! Then there are 750 'steps' to climb - very sandy and can be slidy - particularly when going up at night. We had a gorgeous moonlit night an the starts were amazing! At 4.45am we reached the summit and it was COLD!! Sunrise was 5am and it was as though someone had instantly turned on the heat - and WHAT a sight! Wouldn't have missed it for the world - worth all the exersion of getting to the top!! As you're climbing pretty much all night you are exhausted by the time you reach the bottom of the mountain again (unless I'm more unfit than I think!) and I was half falling asleep over breakfast at St Catherine's monastery. Bring a sarong or something to cover your legs if not wearing long trousers - if you don't have one, they'll supply a sheet type thing, but you must wear it! All in all the trip was WELL worth the price and effort - a real 'once in a lifetime' experience! I loved it and can't say enough about the Egyptologist and the Bedouin guide, they were fantastic - and both spoke fanstastic English! A brilliant trip by Viator - would definitely book excursions through them again!

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour, the bedouin guide made it great! It's a fantastic and unique experience.
Very happy with the guide and the driver as well.

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The whole tour was incredible! Our tour guide, Ahmed was great. He and my husband hit it off immediately. Within 30 minutes they were joking and laughing ... and it didn't stop the entire way! He was very knowledgeable and even accompanied us up the mountain. He helped with the negotiation with the Bedoiuns for our camels. Our Bedouin guide, Mohammed was excellent as well. He was very quiet at first, but as he loosened up, he was joking around with the other guys too! I was really impressed with how many languages he spoke! This was by far, the best part of our trip to Egypt!

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

The trip was first class from beginning to end. The vehicle was roomy, and the guide was excellent. The meal was excellent and the restaurant setting could not have been better, especially as the sun was shining as we sat almost overlooking the sea.

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This was an amazing trip with amazing views and I fully recommend it to people who enjoy hiking. We were picked up from our hotel in Nama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, at about 10pm and it took about 3 hours to get to the base of the mountain. We started hiking at about 2am, got to the top at 5am and the sun came up at about 5:45am. The night I went happened to be a full moon, but otherwise I would have needed a flashlight for sure. Also, dress warmly! I wish I had worn warmer pants, gloves, and a hat. Luckily, there were some people who rented blankets at the top, otherwise I would have frozen! Again, highly recommended for people who enjoy hiking. It was fun to hike at night and the views are amazing during your hike down when you can see everything.

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

A unique experience- Magical- Excellent guides - A memory to be treasured forever. Organisation and timekeeping excellent. Dont miss this trip if you are in Egypt!!

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The guide was perfect, the venue was great, although crowded at the monastery due to a small entry and exit. Trip to the top of the mountain, recommend take camel, as it is a long way to the top. The views are worth it though. It is easier to walk down the camel path instead of the steps. Lunch was not so good, as it was a food fest! All in all a great tour, but a lot of time driving. 5 hours all in all from Sharm El Sheikh.

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

Stuart H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The trip is great fun, but only suitable for the fairly fit. We walked, but camels can be hired to ease the jounrey seven kilometers, but you will still have to walk the last seven hundred steps. This was well worth the effort and, as usual for Viator, we had an excellent guide and great service was provided.

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

MUBEEN S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent excursion. Thanks again.

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We really enjoyed our trek up this mountain but it is quite a feat. Certainly the sunrise was superb and worth the effort. Our bedouin guide was truly superb, and the guides from Sharm were also very good. We were sorry that the monastery was closed, and we were somewhat disappointed with the breakfast given the energy expended! We are very pleased that we did this trip though, and certainly the private guides are well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: St Catherine's Monastery and Moses' Mountain at Sunrise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message