Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lisa.collins123

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

fab tour - Etna great, coach long and too packed but nice journey although squashed, tour operator awful - we booked the trip with train and to the top, leaves at 7am, couldn't reach the contact number and wasn't staying nearby, got lost was 4 mins late - they went without us!, we spent nearly 2 hours from 7am in S

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

ivanabosco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic, absolutely worth paying for, keep in mind it will get very cold at the top.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Cheryl E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Tour guide was helpful, funny and entertaining.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of my 22 day trip to Rome, southern Italy, and Sicily. Stopped to take photos and taste honey on the way to Mount Etna. I would definitely recommend to go to the near summit of Mount Etna and not to spend your three hours solely on the lower level. We had enough time to go on a cable car, then on a jeep, and take a 40 minute tour with a guide around the craters, return to the lower level and walk around the shops and Silvestra Crater. There are restaurants to get a sandwich. I would not recommend buying lava jewelry at Mount Etna. You can get it so much cheaper in Taormina.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Warren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was fantastic, my girlfriend and I were so glad we decided to book it! going up mount ETNA is definitely the best way to see the mountain as you get to go through the forest and off track roads really emphasizing that sense of adventure and the views were fantastic the whole way up. The tour guides are really friendly and took us to a mini cave which was carved out from the lava flow in which they explained how these formations were made. The trip was definitely one of the main highlights of our trip and many photos were taken.....our friends were very jealous. Overall it was worth the money and would do it again.
Advice: Take Sunglasses just in case there was a bit of dust, take sun screen in the summer months and if you go in November like we did take something warm for when you get to the top.

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide.Good variety but gorge possibly not necessary for a good day.A bit early starting at 7.00 am

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

datson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent day out and fantastic guide. Would recommend the tour to anyone!

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great job by Marco G. He is so much fun and full of knowledge. Great personality. We had only five of us and we saw a lot in the short trip. Keep in mind, it is not really a 5 day. It really is three nights. Hotel change was not brought to my attention so I ended up at the wrong hotel. Thank goodness I had the paper work that showed who was the tour operator it is not viator but a local outfit. Tip: Always bring the information with you that describes the local tour operator. We were able to get in touch with them and discovered that the hotel changes had been implemented for at least one year. Viator never updated their information to reflect the hotel changes. Bad for the customer. it cost me 10 euros to have another local driver come get me and hook me up with my tour director who was waiting for me at dinner. Thank goodness I had a great meal and met my co travelers for this trip. Marco is wonderful and you will be lucky to get him on this fabulous beautiful journey through Sicily-a hidden treasure. Also note, they use a local operator for the tour who stays with you for its entirety, but engage local tour guides at each stop. Be prepared to tip those smart guides-they too were simply excellent. Enjoy!

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

Lorie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Mount Etna is a must see if you are in Sicily. Breathtaking views. Fantastic experience. Worth every penny to take the cable car and jeep to the top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Theresa D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Marina was a great tour guide. we had an excellent group and the smalls towns of the Godfather filming were beautiful. The bus driver was excellent and pleasant. The hotels were not that of the advertised but acceptable.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

Linda B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Did not enjoy this tour at all. What we got once we arrived at Mount Etna was a guide that spoke minimal english and was more interested in speaking italian to another new tour guide. Very disappointing and very bored with the whole thing.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Sven V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good guide, well organised. Convenient pick up at Taormina bus terminal. Amazing views, well worth the money

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Velyan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good trip with a good guide.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Ketevan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well organised tour. Exceptional experience. Do not miss it!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

marlene s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It rained almost to the top of Etna and we were really not expecting to see the sunset and then all at once it cleared and the view was stupendous

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Incredible experience. Anyone with a breathing problem might experience a problem with the altitude, high winds and cold while walking around the craters.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Shirley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip to mount etna enjoyed cable car ride and minibus to near the top. We didn't go all the way up as very steep climb at the end however lots of people did. Spectacular views and time to have something to eat and drink in various cafes or restaurants before the drive home. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Jillm.smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Comfortable double decker coach. Excellent guide. Well worth the cable car and bus to the top. We had a fairly clear day so views were great. Quite cold, you need a warm coat but can hire jackets. Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Vivienne F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Fabulous day, however a bit disappointed that our guide did not accompany us up to the top of Etna as a previous reviewer's had. When we got off the jeep an alpine guide met us and another jeep full of people. He basically spoke no English and admitted he couldn't, by that time it was too late as we were half way round the crater, leading us to not knowing what on earth Etna was about. Apart from that it was an amazing trip which we did enjoy.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Dana C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very kind and helpful. The summit tour is recommendable as the standard tour offers only a long distance view over the southern crater. Anyway, you won't see any lava, just steam in the crater that erupted in 2002 which is disappointing as I would have loved to reach the very top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Mark B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The experience was fantastic! Our guide through the local tour company as not good at all. His command of English was weak and his knowledge of the area poorly executed. The excursion once we left him on Mt Etna was amazing. The guides who drove the land rovers were fantastic. Also the other tour groups guides were with them to add more information as well but we were left to fend for ourselves. I would definitely suggest this tour just make sue the operator is NOT THAT ONE.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Terence W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The trip up the mountain made this worthwhile we are glad we added this. The walk around the two craters meant we felt more in touch with Etna and its scenery. The time spent on pick ups and drop offs locally to us was again a pain and should be reduced for everyone's sake.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Carolyn H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and it has given us a desire to return to Alcantara Gorges for a trip on its own.
We like visits to Volcanoes and would recommend this even if you only want the Scenery from the trip there and back

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Mr K Henderson H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very good day out, with plenty of activities and excellent views of Etna and its surroundings.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message