Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous, like nothing on earth. We had a clear day which helped so the views were incredible. Other people at our hotel had cloudy days and were cold and a bit disappointed. It was like a moonscape at the summit. Guides didnt speak much english but were helpful. Not many toilets !!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip - excellent guide - exceptional driver - well worth the extra money to go to the top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day up a fabulous geological feature. It was very interesting and very beautiful and very awe inspiring.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

NOTE: everything below applies to the technical part of our journey on Saturday May 30th:

An absolute must-see attraction that will live long in the memory. We pre-booked through Viator and the tour was delivered by a buss company. Just to note, the price in Taormina to the summit and you really must go to the summit! was 88. If you're lucky with exchange rates then it works out just about cheaper than pre booking for 65, but that is a big if. In any case, those who left it to the day to upgrade their tour to the summit had to pay a hefty 60 increase on top of their original ticket!

The bus terminal is located on Via Pirandello on the right a few minutes after the cable car station, heading downhill. The clearly identified coach was large and comfortable. It arrived 15 minutes before departure and left on time. I wasn't asked to show my ID but your experience may be different. The journey up with accompanying tour guide was very scenic and provided amazing views along the way.

Elizabeth was our guide up to the bus station and she provided competent frequent tour guide speeches in English, Italian and German. We had phenomenal weather and were warned that at short notice things could change which would impact our excursion. Luckily they didn't for us but the next day the summit looked very cloudy and I'm sure would have impacted many visitors that went up on that day. So please check the weather in advance as best you can, because we just got lucky.

At the summit, you will change from the coach to a cable car for the last leg of the journey. After this is where you can rent clothes and gear: 3 boots /6 jacket rental about 50-70 to buy jackets. Hiking sticks were available too. Do you need to hire stuff? Well, we chose to take a chance and only wore our regular running trainers, jeans, and fairly thick jackets. I only put on my jacket halfway through our time at the summit when the wind picked up.

Phenomenal experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was quite disappointed as the local guide who took us around the crater couldn't speak good english.
But with such awesome views it was hard to stay disppointed for long. Really worth the money for such a spectacular trip.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative guides both on the bus and on the walk around the crater. Would have loved more time but thats usually always the case. Would definitely recommend the upgrade.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip, very knowledgeable guide. I would recommend taking some very warm cloths if you intend to go to the top of Etna, which I would recommend as it is fascinating to see.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is an excellent trip! We pre booked and paid 66 each, this included the air conditioned double decker coach from Taormina bus station with a guide speaking in English, Italian and German, he was interesting and helpful explaining the arrangements of the trip. We had warm weather and clear sky, when we arrived at the base of Etna we had a half hour break for snacks at a cafe and toilet break then we collected our tour pass from our guide which gave us access to the cable car ride, 4x4 minibus and guide round the lip of a crater. There were queues for the cable car but with our pass we walked past these and got straight on, the views were brilliant. At the top of the cable car ride we climbed into one of the 4x4 mini buses and were bounced around as it zig zagged up the side of Etna. We were then met by a guide and followed him up to and around the lip of a crater which he informed us was last active in 2002 and we were shown small areas of steam where the ground was increadibly hot. The tour was slow paced with plenty of time and space for some dramatic photographs of Etna, the crators and the views. One member of the group was on crutches and another with a damaged knee and both made it round fine. Our guide wasn't particularly informative other than this but showed us the way to walk and allowed everyone to take their time. We then got back on one of the waiting 4x4 minibuses and had about 30 minutes to buy food from one of the cafes and look in the souvenir shops before we were due back on pur coach. We took warm clothes, waterproof jacket, hat and scarf but due to the weather we only wore jeans, tee shirt and trainers. This was a fantastic, dramatic and relaxing trip.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

worth the upgrade!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Coach and organisation excellent. Shame we experienced worst spring weather in 25 years according to a local artist.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was like being on another planet. Dress warm because it's freezing up there. They do rent coats for 3 Euro which was well worth it.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

rcroyster
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good day, reasonable time around the craters.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable trip with a knowledgeable and entertaining guide.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A very interesting tour.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I expected more. The tour had two stops before the Etna totally expendable. When we arrived it was after lunch, the worst time to see the volcano in activity. The best time is in the morning.
The tour was so expansive for little.

Doing what: Mount Etna, Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip from Taormina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Second time I'm trying to submit a review: Our guide Santo was terrible. He provided very little information. There were 79 people on the bus and much time was needlessly wasted just picking up and dropping off passengers. Once the bus reached the entry point to the cable cars, we had to wait for Santo to pass out tickets. The bathrooms he suggested we use were dirty, with no soap. We were highly surprised and disappointed in the poor quality of this trip. Viator provided nothing - the bus guide did nothing and we could have easily gotten to Mount Etna by any number of other bus companies. This trip was far below the quality of the many other trips we took with Viator. Quite disappointing.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very impressed with tour and guides!! Best night- Mt Etna had erupted few days before so wasnt sure what would happen but so special as we there- she erupted and put on an amaxing display!!! spectacular sight !!

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

An exciting trip which goes through Alcantara Gorges. We visited that wonderful place and, in an end, we were late 3 minutes, to find that the coach left. I must mention that our guide was Santo who left us there as he did not count his passengers. Someone from the same company took us by car and raced us up to a crossway to catch the coach back. From that point up to the end our trip was gorgeous.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I so enjoyed visiting the Alcantara Gorge that lost track of the time and then lost my tour group. However, the local agents SAT were on the ball they hooked me up with another group and after some unscheduled activity I met up with my own group at Etna. Etna didn't put on too much of a show that day, but just seeing the surreal landscape, black ash with patches of white snow, was incredible. I can also now claim to have walked across a volcano crater not during an eruption, mind you. I was sorry that we did not get to to the actual rim of one of the active craters.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Efficient transport but little sdditional

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

First of all, we really enjoyed this tour - weather was nice and walking around creators was stunning experience. On the other hand, I also need to mentioned about failures in operation. Due to the mechanical troubles, tour bus was replaced twice ! during the tour. First occasion was still acceptable cause we were announced at very beginning of the tour, and it didn't took us long to switch them. However, second one was terrible, the bus was hot inside lucking a/c and we saw steam plume raising from the bus then were asked to get off on the middle of motorway. Everyone on the tour were forced to wait at the hard shoulder of motorway which is scary for more than 30 minutes until another bus coming... Mechanical problem is somehow unavoidable but when it happens twice in a day, I can't help being sceptical about appropriateness of safety consciousness. It's a shame to comment like this way cause If we did't have this problem, I could give 5star for our memorable experience at Mt. Etna.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The trip was good but he only covered Mount Atna. This trip covers Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges. They never even mentioned those two places once in the trip. I paid for all three and got only one out of this.

Doing what: Mount Etna, Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

From my point of view we spent far too much time riding on a bus and a train and not enough time enjoying and photographing the countryside, vineyards, pistachio nut bushes and learning about the geology of volcanic activity from a native speaker. I did not enjoy long portions of the narration in German and while Elizabeth was pleasant, her directions were often unclear.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message