Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Denise C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I very good day, which had an excellent guide, and luckily, excellent weather too.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

It was more of an expensive bus journey than tour. The guide did give some commentary on the way but it was given in 4 languages so it felt rushed and a bit boring when going through the over languages. Spent a bit too much time telling us about a lady who sells honey halfway up, guess he is on commission! There was no information given when on the foothills other than when to return so we were just left to our own devises. Guide did not really say anything on the return home only how we can tip the driver (he repeated this twice so guess he gets a cut of that as well). Very expensive for what it was!!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is breathtaking. We used the funicular and minibus to go up and we ran and walk down. The Alpine guides were fantastic and the souvenir shop was a great one!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Despite the 4 star rating, we felt a little ripped off in that the 5 day tour was actually 3 days plus a 7:30Pm start for Dinner on day one and ended with breakfast on day 5. The actual tour and guides were excellent value and very informative.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Needed more time to be able to get to ground level of gorges to appreciate them. If going on full Etna trip with cable car and jeep need more time to explore ground level with shops and to get something to eat. Was quite rushed to get back to coach.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and amazing experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I only wish I'd paid to ascend Etna on the day...
It was a wonderful trip, the villages were beautiful to travel through and the train, although very very hot and uncomfortable, offered us the chance to view Etna and the flat lands from a different view point.
The guide was excellent and knowledgable

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great experience... Your was great

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour and I recommend this one as opposed to the one that just takes you to the foothills. Knowledgeable and friendly host. We were fortunate enough to see some Stombolian explosions and the lava flow from near the top of Etna. The sunset was also spectacular. The meal on the way back was ok but not a great deal of choice.

One thing to note is that you will need a thick sweater and possibly jacket at the top of Etna. We made the mistake of ignoring the warnings as we had climbed Vesuvius last summer and thought the temperature would be similar. We were very wrong as it was freezing! We ended up having to rent jackets at 4 euros each. As extreme as it may sound it would be wise to pack a scarf, hat and gloves. Our fingers were so cold we could barely hold the camera. My 16 year old son packed a scarf and we all poked fun at him before we left but needless to say he had the last laugh. This trip is well worth the money - just go prepared.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Awesome afternoon and evening. Was amazing to go 2800 ft up the volcano and see the many craters, beautiful landscapes and wildlife. The sunset was incredible and one of those experiences you will remember for a lifetime.

I would advise you wear very sensible shoes (trainers or hiking boots) as you will be walking over the volcano and mountain and can be very unstable coming down! Also wrap up warm as although it was 30 degrees at the foothills, up 2800ft is very windy and wind chill probably brought temp down to 10 degrees.

The restaurant at the end of the tour was a charming mountain lodge with delicious (but small) a la carte menu with a choice of three starters and three mains. Service very good seeing as they were serving 40 guests all at the same time.

Only constructive feedback would be that our guide could have been a little more informative to the group when taking us up the Volcano (by foot and jeep). He was very friendly but would have been great to hear more facts and information about Mount Etna.

The sunset trip is definitely a must do.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I really enjoyed the Mount Etna part of the trip, it was fun going up to the top. The Circumetnea was a bit boring. The view from my side of the train was rubbish and it was hot and cramped. I would rather have had longer either at Etna or at the Alcantara Gorge which I felt was a little rushed and I didnt have time to really enjoy.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Quite good but not as good as I expected. I feel that there's too much 'free time' included and if you don't like wandering aimlessly through the abundant souvenir shops, there's a lot of time wasted. Would be better to shorten the time at Etna and include another point of interest.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Quite good but not as good as I expected. I feel that there's too much 'free time' included and if you don't like wandering aimlessly through the abundant souvenir shops, there's a lot of time wasted. Would be better to shorten the time at Etna and include another point of interest.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

It certainly was an experience but unfortunately it was misty at the top of Etna so got NO view. You travelled to the top in jeep/buses, very bumpy and dusty. It was interesting to see the craters and lava but in our case with the mist around, it was a lot of money for very little.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

In Taormina bus station there was no sign showing which bus was for viator customers, neither anyone knew it. We had to ask to each coming bus to find, which was not very good. After we found the bus, the tour was well orginized and very interesting.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message