Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Do not miss this trip! Fantastic view, feeling on top of the Volcano ...

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Enjoy the whole day. The highlight of the day was Mount Etna. We were so lucky to have had a beautiful and clear day. Would highly recommended this day tour to everyone. The tour company was excellent as they had organised the day before to pick us up from our hotel and take us closer to the pick up point for the tour.

Doing what: Mount Etna, Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome trip, well organized, departure and arrival were on time, English, German and French speaking guides, comfortable Transportation and valuable details about monteh Etna!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day tour, make sure you pay the extra and book the tour to the top of Etna it is worth it and most people do it. Good informative guides and plenty of spare time for lunch and browsing.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Mt Etna is certainly not to be missed if you are travelling in the area. The tour itself was quite good: the guide was excellent - well informed of the science and history of Etna; and the tour to the higher elevation is worth it. The whole environment is very different from the first stop and it is kind of a shame to take the time to do the trip and not include that. Viatour's service was perfect - no glitches. Our name (and at least one other couple I saw) was not on the guide's list, but we had our receipt as instructed and he just penciled us in, and advised the driver for the second leg that we were aboard. I would use Viatour again: no add-on fees and everything is already checked out - so "one-stop shopping", hassel-free.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We chose to use the cable car and mini buses to get further up the volcano. The weather was very wet but after a short delay, it went ahead. It was well worth it and the rain added to the atmosphere. My only criticism is that it was too short and we did not have enough time to also explore at 2000 metres. I would have loved to visit the Silvestri craters! We left the site at 2pm and was back in Taormina for 3.30 pm. We could easily have stayed longer!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour leader from the coach was helpful and friendly.
When we arrived at our destination, everything about our visit was clearly explained. You can stop at the first level and walk on a small crater, but this involved a much more slippery slope than higher up. Having a pre-booked ticket does not mean that you ‘queue jump’, as some people in the party thought, but it does mean you are all ready to go. The queue is because the cable cars are small, for just four persons. At the top, the small ski-type buses were waiting to take us to a smoking crater. Try hard not to be put off if you are a bit slow or elderly or have children with you. My husband is 65, has spinal problems and walks with a stick – tie your courage to the mast and do it! The guide was wonderful, waiting at intervals around the crater in order that those with children or less able walkers could keep up. His descriptions and answers to questions were very clear.
The views are breathtaking; indeed, the whole experience is breathtaking. This is the nearest we mortals will ever come to walking on the moon! We are well travelled and this day out will be among the most memorable of a lifetime.
You do need to take a fleece and possibly a waterproof as the weather can change very quickly. We were exceptionally lucky as the weather was superb and it was neither cold nor windy. We each wore only a light fleece. On the day of our visit, the wind was blowing the sulphur fumes away from us, but a buff would be useful on a colder and windier day to cover either head or mouth or both.
As the tour returns to Taormina in the afternoon, you do not need to buy lunch. We had red wine, mixed fruit and excellent cakes for two for around 10 Euros.
Make sure you ring the day before to confirm your trip and they will state time and place of departure,usually from your hotel or very close by.
Excellent value for money if you can afford it.
A fantastic day out!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was definitely a full-day trip. The portion of the trip that was focused on Mount Etna was exactly what we expected, and we enjoyed this very much. However, I expected something a little more dramatic on the Alcantara Gorges portion of the trip, based on the pictures advertised - instead, we had to pay extra to go into the gardens, and really, it was to see water flowing in a river downstream of the gorges. So perhaps the description of the trip was a bit exaggerated. However, I will say our tour guide was very knowledgeable (in three languages at a time, no less!); and I must mention that our bus driver did a fabulous job getting us around on some very tiny streets with challenging traffic.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. Unfortunately for us the weather didn't co-operate and therefore there was not sunset at the top. The guide was excellent and the driver who took us to the top was really good. It got extremely dark at the top but he was confident with his driving and we all felt extremely safe. Walking around the top of the craters was a little scarey as it was quite windy and very loose ash underfoot but we all returned safe and sound. It is quite an experience and one I can recommend to anyone interested in the tour.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I would highly recommend going to the top of Mt Etna - it as great. The tour guide was a little bland and we didn't get much history and background. But what we actually saw on the tour was great - the gorge and etna were a must see.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This Etna excursion was great. Mount Etna is incredible. It felt like we were on another planet. We took the tour to the summit. Mount Etna is 3323 meters high and we got to 3000 meters. The day was clear and warm. We truly enjoyed the top of Mount Etna. The Alcantara Gorges stop was just OK. Actually we were disappointed there. The railway ride was also disappointing. It circles around the base of Mount Etna, as mentioned in the tour description. However, what tripadisor did not mention is that it is a public train (even though it is a 1950's era train) and therefore stops to pick-up and let-off passengers. I think that skipping both the Alcantara Gorges and the train would have given us longer at the summit of Mount Etna, which to me was the highlight of the excursion. The guide on the bus spoke German, English and Italian. Whenever he described something on the way to Mount Etna, he did so in the 3 languages, changing the order in which he spoke all the time. However, it also meant that sometimes we were way passed the sight he was describing by the time he got to speak our language. These are things that Tripadvisor should consider and maybe improve on for this tour. But like I said, Mount Etna itself is fabulous and worth the money.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This Etna excursion was great. Mount Etna is incredible. It felt like we were on another planet. We took the tour to the summit. Mount Etna is 3323 meters high and we got to 3000 meters. The day was clear and warm. We truly enjoyed the top of Mount Etna. The Alcantara Gorges stop was just OK. Actually we were disappointed there. The railway ride was also disappointing. It circles around the base of Mount Etna, as mentioned in the tour description. However, what tripadisor did not mention is that it is a public train (even though it is a 1950's era train) and therefore stops to pick-up and let-off passengers. I think that skipping both the Alcantara Gorges and the train would have given us longer at the summit of Mount Etna, which to me was the highlight of the excursion. The guide on the bus spoke German, English and Italian. Whenever he described something on the way to Mount Etna, he did so in the 3 languages, changing the order in which he spoke all the time. However, it also meant that sometimes we were way passed the sight he was describing by the time he got to speak our language. These are things that Tripadvisor should consider and maybe improve on for this tour. But like I said, Mount Etna itself is fabulous and worth the money.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour. Alcantara gorge very pretty and trip up to Mt Etna was amazing but be prepared for the cold. Circumetnea train was a bit of a train wreck. Train is crowded and hot and the trip pretty boring. Should be dropped from the tour as it's a waste of time.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

An interesting drive up but too much waiting to load up the jeeps. Not a lot of information from the guide. We did not see the sunset as it was foggy.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Positives about the tour- ease of getting to and from Mt Etna without having to worry about language barriers, the tour guide spoke in several languages so repeated everything over and over for all non Italian speaking guests, the final destination itself which is spectacular, the amount of time given so it does not feel like you are rushed.
Negatives - why bother with the train ride? In my families opinion, this was not value added at all and the description of this part of the tour is far more romantic that what it really is. The train is very old, toilet facilities are questionable and the view of a dirty town ruined our expectation. My suggestion would be to remove this from the itinerary.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message