Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This is the only way to see Etna.guide and jeeps made it easy to take in the whole concept of Etna
Tour was on time and guide was informative although a little too formal.Much confusion when reaching the top as to who was going to take us around so most did their own thing-a bit of a disappointment as we missed some of the history
Overall just ok

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I found the start of the trip very frustration. We had to meet at the bus station where there was 5 or 6 bus waiting, there was no indication which bus was for our trip, they were all going to Etna. We joined 5 queues in the heat only to be told our name was not on the list. Finally a bus arrived and oh joy our names was on the list but oh no we did not have a scrap of paper confirming we had paid for the trip. A heated argument ensured over the validity of the e-voucher provided. Eventually the tour rep relented and we were allowed on the bus. Great start to the day. Once the tour started it was worth the effort to visit Etna, the tour rep and mountain guide were knowledgeable and both spoke good English.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous, like nothing on earth. We had a clear day which helped so the views were incredible. Other people at our hotel had cloudy days and were cold and a bit disappointed. It was like a moonscape at the summit. Guides didnt speak much english but were helpful. Not many toilets !!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good in every single way!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

John V
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A fantastic tour - beautiful scenery, Etna sunset was magical. Well managed with a stop off on the way back for the best pasta we had in Sicily.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip to the top of Etna. Tour consists of approx. 75 mins on a bus, followed by a short cable car ride and then about 15 mins in a jeep to the top. Keep in mind the temperature difference between the town and the summit: When we were there in early June, the temperature was 30 C in Taormina town, yet we experienced thunderstorms, hail and torrential rain at the top! But even despite the poor visibility on that particular day, the scenery on Mount Etna itself was still beautiful - the landscape appears almost 'lunar'.

We particularly liked the fact that after the tour of the summit, you are free to choose whether to spend the remaining time at the summit or at the first or second stations. Only very minor quibble is that the bus left Etna relatively early and we were back at Taormina bus station a good half an hour before the advertised finishing time. But overall, highly recommended.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide, great hotels, very good and reasonably priced.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have never been on a guided tour before and were dubious as to whether we would enjoy it. It was great. Our guide, Marina, was delightful: enthusiastic, knowledgable, caring and charming. Our fellow travellers were interesting and educated. The hotel accommodation was certainly 4 star. The only quibble - a better air-conditioned coach would have been appreciated.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour. Lots of variety and activity.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Knowledgeable tour guides at the top made the experience interesting even if it was a rather cloudy day.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a really fun day on this tour. It gives you a great chance to see what this part of Sicily has to offer, cramming quite a lot in to a relatively short space of time, without making it feel rushed. The star of the show is definitely the Etna trip - it's a fascinating place even though it was extremely cloudy at the top so there weren't many views to see!. I would urge people going on this trip to bring warm clothing, even if it feels like a hot day down below, as it's very cold at the high altitude and there were patches of snow on the ground even though we went in June and the temperature in Taormina down below was 30C..

The Alcantara gorges provided a nice walk around, though we didn't think they were particularly spectacular. Personally I think the tour could ditch the Randazzo part completely as it's not an especially nice village and there's not much to do there although the stop-off does provide an opportunity to grab lunch.

I feel it important to mention that a few things mentioned on the itinerary on the Viator tour didn't actually happen. For example:
- the guide did not come around the gorges with us we were left to walk around on our own
- there was no cable car on the trip and this was not even mentioned at any stage.
- the guide did not come with us to the craters: we were basically dumped out of the 4x4 and left to wander around on our own.
- disappointingly, we did not actually go to the summit. We went high up Etna, but not to the summit. The guide actually said to someone on the way back that it is not allowed for tourists to visit the summit any more - so why advertise otherwise?

None of these issues were massively problematic and we still had a good day, but it seems odd to mention things like this on the itinerary if they're not going to be provided, or even mentioned. I would urge Viator to revise the details provided on this site, so that they match what is actually provided.

Doing what: Mount Etna, Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was very interesting even though the weather was freezing. A surreal experience going to the summit of one of the world's most active volcano's. In my minds eye I was picturing heat, smoke, maybe even lava, I certainly wasn't prepared for 3meters of snow, minus 1 Celsius and blowing a gale. This tour is well worth doing but make sure you dress appropriately.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Had to pay 20 euros to get to bus station, coach was waiting to pick us up elsewere, etna tour, paid to go up to top, but as it was raining, the poor guides, wouldnt quide, waited an hour, then had to go back down as we were running out of time. not a fab day !!!!

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip - excellent guide - exceptional driver - well worth the extra money to go to the top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day up a fabulous geological feature. It was very interesting and very beautiful and very awe inspiring.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

NOTE: everything below applies to the technical part of our journey on Saturday May 30th:

An absolute must-see attraction that will live long in the memory. We pre-booked through Viator and the tour was delivered by a buss company. Just to note, the price in Taormina to the summit and you really must go to the summit! was 88. If you're lucky with exchange rates then it works out just about cheaper than pre booking for 65, but that is a big if. In any case, those who left it to the day to upgrade their tour to the summit had to pay a hefty 60 increase on top of their original ticket!

The bus terminal is located on Via Pirandello on the right a few minutes after the cable car station, heading downhill. The clearly identified coach was large and comfortable. It arrived 15 minutes before departure and left on time. I wasn't asked to show my ID but your experience may be different. The journey up with accompanying tour guide was very scenic and provided amazing views along the way.

Elizabeth was our guide up to the bus station and she provided competent frequent tour guide speeches in English, Italian and German. We had phenomenal weather and were warned that at short notice things could change which would impact our excursion. Luckily they didn't for us but the next day the summit looked very cloudy and I'm sure would have impacted many visitors that went up on that day. So please check the weather in advance as best you can, because we just got lucky.

At the summit, you will change from the coach to a cable car for the last leg of the journey. After this is where you can rent clothes and gear: 3 boots /6 jacket rental about 50-70 to buy jackets. Hiking sticks were available too. Do you need to hire stuff? Well, we chose to take a chance and only wore our regular running trainers, jeans, and fairly thick jackets. I only put on my jacket halfway through our time at the summit when the wind picked up.

Phenomenal experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was quite disappointed as the local guide who took us around the crater couldn't speak good english.
But with such awesome views it was hard to stay disppointed for long. Really worth the money for such a spectacular trip.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative guides both on the bus and on the walk around the crater. Would have loved more time but thats usually always the case. Would definitely recommend the upgrade.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip, very knowledgeable guide. I would recommend taking some very warm cloths if you intend to go to the top of Etna, which I would recommend as it is fascinating to see.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is an excellent trip! We pre booked and paid 66 each, this included the air conditioned double decker coach from Taormina bus station with a guide speaking in English, Italian and German, he was interesting and helpful explaining the arrangements of the trip. We had warm weather and clear sky, when we arrived at the base of Etna we had a half hour break for snacks at a cafe and toilet break then we collected our tour pass from our guide which gave us access to the cable car ride, 4x4 minibus and guide round the lip of a crater. There were queues for the cable car but with our pass we walked past these and got straight on, the views were brilliant. At the top of the cable car ride we climbed into one of the 4x4 mini buses and were bounced around as it zig zagged up the side of Etna. We were then met by a guide and followed him up to and around the lip of a crater which he informed us was last active in 2002 and we were shown small areas of steam where the ground was increadibly hot. The tour was slow paced with plenty of time and space for some dramatic photographs of Etna, the crators and the views. One member of the group was on crutches and another with a damaged knee and both made it round fine. Our guide wasn't particularly informative other than this but showed us the way to walk and allowed everyone to take their time. We then got back on one of the waiting 4x4 minibuses and had about 30 minutes to buy food from one of the cafes and look in the souvenir shops before we were due back on pur coach. We took warm clothes, waterproof jacket, hat and scarf but due to the weather we only wore jeans, tee shirt and trainers. This was a fantastic, dramatic and relaxing trip.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

worth the upgrade!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Coach and organisation excellent. Shame we experienced worst spring weather in 25 years according to a local artist.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was like being on another planet. Dress warm because it's freezing up there. They do rent coats for 3 Euro which was well worth it.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

rcroyster
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good day, reasonable time around the craters.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message