• USD ($)
  • English
Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and amazing experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I only wish I'd paid to ascend Etna on the day...
It was a wonderful trip, the villages were beautiful to travel through and the train, although very very hot and uncomfortable, offered us the chance to view Etna and the flat lands from a different view point.
The guide was excellent and knowledgable

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Awesome afternoon and evening. Was amazing to go 2800 ft up the volcano and see the many craters, beautiful landscapes and wildlife. The sunset was incredible and one of those experiences you will remember for a lifetime.

I would advise you wear very sensible shoes (trainers or hiking boots) as you will be walking over the volcano and mountain and can be very unstable coming down! Also wrap up warm as although it was 30 degrees at the foothills, up 2800ft is very windy and wind chill probably brought temp down to 10 degrees.

The restaurant at the end of the tour was a charming mountain lodge with delicious (but small) a la carte menu with a choice of three starters and three mains. Service very good seeing as they were serving 40 guests all at the same time.

Only constructive feedback would be that our guide could have been a little more informative to the group when taking us up the Volcano (by foot and jeep). He was very friendly but would have been great to hear more facts and information about Mount Etna.

The sunset trip is definitely a must do.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I really enjoyed the Mount Etna part of the trip, it was fun going up to the top. The Circumetnea was a bit boring. The view from my side of the train was rubbish and it was hot and cramped. I would rather have had longer either at Etna or at the Alcantara Gorge which I felt was a little rushed and I didnt have time to really enjoy.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Quite good but not as good as I expected. I feel that there's too much 'free time' included and if you don't like wandering aimlessly through the abundant souvenir shops, there's a lot of time wasted. Would be better to shorten the time at Etna and include another point of interest.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Quite good but not as good as I expected. I feel that there's too much 'free time' included and if you don't like wandering aimlessly through the abundant souvenir shops, there's a lot of time wasted. Would be better to shorten the time at Etna and include another point of interest.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

It certainly was an experience but unfortunately it was misty at the top of Etna so got NO view. You travelled to the top in jeep/buses, very bumpy and dusty. It was interesting to see the craters and lava but in our case with the mist around, it was a lot of money for very little.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

In Taormina bus station there was no sign showing which bus was for viator customers, neither anyone knew it. We had to ask to each coming bus to find, which was not very good. After we found the bus, the tour was well orginized and very interesting.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wow what a fantastic experiance would highly recommend , our tour guide was very informative and knew his stuff

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Best experience I had. It's a great view from 3,000m if you choose to do the summit tour

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was one of the best paid day excursions I have ever been on - wonderfully organised and fascinating. The bus driver Francesco was an artist who drove down scenic small roads with breathtaking aplomb. Elizabeth's commentary was very informative and the experience of climbing up Mt Etna's slopes was wonderful. An unforgettable experience that I would highly recommend to anyone. One bit of advice - if you book directly via Viatour don't forget to give them your hotel address so that they can collect you.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour starts off in Taormina Terminal bus station. So if you're staying in Giardini-Naxos, you'll need to take a morning bus to Taormina (believe me, you don't wanna go that on foot - I've been there!).

The guide was very friendly and in control. He spoke Italian, English and German quite well. First, the bus takes you to Refugio Sapienza (restaurant/bar/accommodation). Then the guide will give you tickets for the summit tour (if you choose to do so - I highly recommend it). The ticket allows you to travel by the cable car and then subsequently by the 4x4 to the top. Now, you won't get all the way to the top. "Only" to 2950m, where there are multiple guides waiting to show you around the craters.

The tour was precisely on time (8 hours, no less no more).

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was very enjoyable, a highlight of our holiday. The guide was informative and entertaining. Etna was amazing and well worth the visit. We took the option to take the cable car and 4x4 bus to the top and I am so glad we did. We really experienced the power of the Volcano and also the altitude of the mountain as it was very cold and windy up there. If the guide recommends it, take their advice and hire a jacket when you get to the top. Two days later Etna erupted!! What an experience.....

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

PAUL R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A well organised tour with helpful guides and comfortable double decker coach.
A little more time may have been useful in the gorges a bit rushed as you only get about an hour and with a early start about 7am, does not give enough time for a food or drink break.
The train ride is pleasant as you can see the surrounding countryside which lasts about an hour.
The trip to Etna is the best with sufficient time to see everything and worth paying the extra to reach the summit.
We went at the end of May and would advise if you go at this time to take a jacket, hat and gloves as it is pretty cold as snow was still at the top with a cold wind.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Long day with rather repetitive scenery.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message