Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Fabulous day, however a bit disappointed that our guide did not accompany us up to the top of Etna as a previous reviewer's had. When we got off the jeep an alpine guide met us and another jeep full of people. He basically spoke no English and admitted he couldn't, by that time it was too late as we were half way round the crater, leading us to not knowing what on earth Etna was about. Apart from that it was an amazing trip which we did enjoy.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A fabulous day. Everything was great. Our coach guide Elizabeth I think was very friendly and spoke really good English. She organised everything and came up with us to the start of the walking tour at the top to make sure everything was organised properly. Our walking guide was great fun and spoke perfect English.
Only problem and nothing to do with Viator was the state of the toilets at the coach stop. Too few and dirty.
Completely recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very well organised tour. Amazing sunset and it was very exciting to visit the top of an active volcano.
Only thing of improvement would be that the alpine guide could have spoken a bit more loud and made sure he caught people's attention as many missed out on the great stories he had to tell.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This is the only way to see Etna.guide and jeeps made it easy to take in the whole concept of Etna
Tour was on time and guide was informative although a little too formal.Much confusion when reaching the top as to who was going to take us around so most did their own thing-a bit of a disappointment as we missed some of the history
Overall just ok

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This trip was very good. There were two guides, one for the coach journey to Rifugio Sapienza, explaining details about the area's history and geography, and another guide for the walk round the crater at the top. The weather was fine, but cloudy for a while. The views across the bay and wider area around Etna were wonderful.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A visit to Mt Etna is a 'must do', so we organised this trip in advance. No complaints at all. The service was good, the coach was modern and air conditioned, the guide informative. Everything you would want and expect really. Would use Viator again without hesitation.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Alcantara Gorges is just alright but Etna was really cool. Wish we had a little more time to see the smoking peak.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I found the start of the trip very frustration. We had to meet at the bus station where there was 5 or 6 bus waiting, there was no indication which bus was for our trip, they were all going to Etna. We joined 5 queues in the heat only to be told our name was not on the list. Finally a bus arrived and oh joy our names was on the list but oh no we did not have a scrap of paper confirming we had paid for the trip. A heated argument ensured over the validity of the e-voucher provided. Eventually the tour rep relented and we were allowed on the bus. Great start to the day. Once the tour started it was worth the effort to visit Etna, the tour rep and mountain guide were knowledgeable and both spoke good English.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Mt Etna was magnificent but the upgraded tour DOES NOT go to the summit - this is false advertising. We got the coach from a convenient location close to our hotel and it was around 1.5 hours to 'base camp'. From here those who chose the summit option went on the cable car upwards and then into a 4x4 mini bus even higher. Once there we got a 15-20 minute guided tour around the 2006-7 craters and then we had 2 hour 'free time' which we could spend at this height, around the top of the cable car or around base camp. When I asked if we were going to walk to the summit I was told no, this tour didn't do that. Other companies clearly do as I did see a group heading off in that direction. I was very disappointed and quite upset by this misrepresentation of the tour as I was desperate to get to the top.
If I were to go to Etna again I would research companies that actually do go to the summit or do the much cheaper tour to base camp as that was fantastic and had some great craters within easy walking distance. You don't gain much by going for the upgrade.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous, like nothing on earth. We had a clear day which helped so the views were incredible. Other people at our hotel had cloudy days and were cold and a bit disappointed. It was like a moonscape at the summit. Guides didnt speak much english but were helpful. Not many toilets !!

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good in every single way!

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

John V
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A fantastic tour - beautiful scenery, Etna sunset was magical. Well managed with a stop off on the way back for the best pasta we had in Sicily.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip to the top of Etna. Tour consists of approx. 75 mins on a bus, followed by a short cable car ride and then about 15 mins in a jeep to the top. Keep in mind the temperature difference between the town and the summit: When we were there in early June, the temperature was 30 C in Taormina town, yet we experienced thunderstorms, hail and torrential rain at the top! But even despite the poor visibility on that particular day, the scenery on Mount Etna itself was still beautiful - the landscape appears almost 'lunar'.

We particularly liked the fact that after the tour of the summit, you are free to choose whether to spend the remaining time at the summit or at the first or second stations. Only very minor quibble is that the bus left Etna relatively early and we were back at Taormina bus station a good half an hour before the advertised finishing time. But overall, highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide, great hotels, very good and reasonably priced.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have never been on a guided tour before and were dubious as to whether we would enjoy it. It was great. Our guide, Marina, was delightful: enthusiastic, knowledgable, caring and charming. Our fellow travellers were interesting and educated. The hotel accommodation was certainly 4 star. The only quibble - a better air-conditioned coach would have been appreciated.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour. Lots of variety and activity.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Knowledgeable tour guides at the top made the experience interesting even if it was a rather cloudy day.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a really fun day on this tour. It gives you a great chance to see what this part of Sicily has to offer, cramming quite a lot in to a relatively short space of time, without making it feel rushed. The star of the show is definitely the Etna trip - it's a fascinating place even though it was extremely cloudy at the top so there weren't many views to see!. I would urge people going on this trip to bring warm clothing, even if it feels like a hot day down below, as it's very cold at the high altitude and there were patches of snow on the ground even though we went in June and the temperature in Taormina down below was 30C..

The Alcantara gorges provided a nice walk around, though we didn't think they were particularly spectacular. Personally I think the tour could ditch the Randazzo part completely as it's not an especially nice village and there's not much to do there although the stop-off does provide an opportunity to grab lunch.

I feel it important to mention that a few things mentioned on the itinerary on the Viator tour didn't actually happen. For example:
- the guide did not come around the gorges with us we were left to walk around on our own
- there was no cable car on the trip and this was not even mentioned at any stage.
- the guide did not come with us to the craters: we were basically dumped out of the 4x4 and left to wander around on our own.
- disappointingly, we did not actually go to the summit. We went high up Etna, but not to the summit. The guide actually said to someone on the way back that it is not allowed for tourists to visit the summit any more - so why advertise otherwise?

None of these issues were massively problematic and we still had a good day, but it seems odd to mention things like this on the itinerary if they're not going to be provided, or even mentioned. I would urge Viator to revise the details provided on this site, so that they match what is actually provided.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna, Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was very interesting even though the weather was freezing. A surreal experience going to the summit of one of the world's most active volcano's. In my minds eye I was picturing heat, smoke, maybe even lava, I certainly wasn't prepared for 3meters of snow, minus 1 Celsius and blowing a gale. This tour is well worth doing but make sure you dress appropriately.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Had to pay 20 euros to get to bus station, coach was waiting to pick us up elsewere, etna tour, paid to go up to top, but as it was raining, the poor guides, wouldnt quide, waited an hour, then had to go back down as we were running out of time. not a fab day !!!!

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip - excellent guide - exceptional driver - well worth the extra money to go to the top.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day up a fabulous geological feature. It was very interesting and very beautiful and very awe inspiring.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

NOTE: everything below applies to the technical part of our journey on Saturday May 30th:

An absolute must-see attraction that will live long in the memory. We pre-booked through Viator and the tour was delivered by a buss company. Just to note, the price in Taormina to the summit and you really must go to the summit! was 88. If you're lucky with exchange rates then it works out just about cheaper than pre booking for 65, but that is a big if. In any case, those who left it to the day to upgrade their tour to the summit had to pay a hefty 60 increase on top of their original ticket!

The bus terminal is located on Via Pirandello on the right a few minutes after the cable car station, heading downhill. The clearly identified coach was large and comfortable. It arrived 15 minutes before departure and left on time. I wasn't asked to show my ID but your experience may be different. The journey up with accompanying tour guide was very scenic and provided amazing views along the way.

Elizabeth was our guide up to the bus station and she provided competent frequent tour guide speeches in English, Italian and German. We had phenomenal weather and were warned that at short notice things could change which would impact our excursion. Luckily they didn't for us but the next day the summit looked very cloudy and I'm sure would have impacted many visitors that went up on that day. So please check the weather in advance as best you can, because we just got lucky.

At the summit, you will change from the coach to a cable car for the last leg of the journey. After this is where you can rent clothes and gear: 3 boots /6 jacket rental about 50-70 to buy jackets. Hiking sticks were available too. Do you need to hire stuff? Well, we chose to take a chance and only wore our regular running trainers, jeans, and fairly thick jackets. I only put on my jacket halfway through our time at the summit when the wind picked up.

Phenomenal experience!

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was quite disappointed as the local guide who took us around the crater couldn't speak good english.
But with such awesome views it was hard to stay disppointed for long. Really worth the money for such a spectacular trip.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative guides both on the bus and on the walk around the crater. Would have loved more time but thats usually always the case. Would definitely recommend the upgrade.

Doing what: Best Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message