Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Sonya L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellant!!! A must do! Our tour guide was really nice so informative so much fun!!!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant experience. Well worth the money to do the cable car and 4 x 4 minibus. Our guide was very informative and took us round a crater explaining the formation etc. A very well organised trip - picked up and dropped off right outside our hotel.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Jenane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Tanya D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide and driver! Mt Etna tour was amazing. Make sure to dress warm as it is cold near top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Emma S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great - be prepared for lots of travel, but so worth it

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Ruth S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It was an o.k. experience and what we expected.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

andrei nicolae g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip. so many things to see, so many things to remember. Especially the trip on Etna Mountain was very interesting and the guide was great.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Peter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a long day 10hours but worthwhile. Our guide Alfredo was knowledgeable and enthusiastic with a great sense of humor. The Circumetnea railway ride is a real plus but the Alcantara Gorges trip slightly irrelevant. Mount Etna is well organized and well worth while but, as advised, not for people with heart or breathing problems. I would happily recommend this trip to all fit and healthy people

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jess T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My top tip for this tour is be prepared for temperature changes and have a warm coat. When we left Taormina it was 19C, 3000m up Mt Etna not only was it windy.... hello snow blizzard. We upgraded our tour to include transport to the top, it's worth it for the views and craters. My mum is on crutches, whilst it wasn't the easiest terrain for her we were aware it wouldn't be she did what she could and it was manageable.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Chitsanu K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Unique experience!
We visited on April 2016. The weather is highly windy such that the cablecar had to occationally pause the operation, and swinging travellers mid-air. There's no need to fear, it's just that it took us more time up and down than usual.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Shawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

GOod. On time and very clear!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Gretchen Cole United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour company that coordinated this trip did a great job. But the wind in midApril at the top of the crater was intense and very cold. Should have rented the coat from the shop at mid mountain!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Lesleyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an incredible tour! I met the bus at the Recanati bus station no problem and it was only an hour to the 2000m station where there are a number of shops and restaurants. People who don't upgrade stay here were they can walk to two dead craters. However, the price of the upgrade is worth every red cent. We took a cable car and then a 4x4 minibus to the 3000m level and got a guided walk around one of the four active craters at the summit. The highest and largest crater is off limits and given the amount of smoke pouring out of it, a visit there would be out of the question. On the walking tour, the guide dug down a foot and offered us a chance touch the bottom if we wanted. It was almost too hot to touch! That crater had erupted in 2002. When we were done with the walk, we could choose when we took a bus and cable car down. Once I got down, I even had time to visit one of the dead craters at the 2000m level. In total, we had 3 hours on the mountain and I never felt rushed. Please note that one cannot walk from the 2000 to the 3000m level in that time frame as one couple on our bus wanted to do. Hats off to our guide Lisabeth for a great day.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

All in all, a worthwhile trip. However, I feel you could eliminate the visit to the Alcantara Gorges. Also, I think there was too much time allotted for the Mount Etna ascension.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

causje

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Alcantara Gorges and the Circumetnea Railway Ride weren't that impressive but Mount Etna was amazing. You simply must climb this giant when you're in Sicily!

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

lisa.collins123

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

fab tour - Etna great, coach long and too packed but nice journey although squashed, tour operator awful - we booked the trip with train and to the top, leaves at 7am, couldn't reach the contact number and wasn't staying nearby, got lost was 4 mins late - they went without us!, we spent nearly 2 hours from 7am in S

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

ivanabosco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic, absolutely worth paying for, keep in mind it will get very cold at the top.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Cheryl E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Tour guide was helpful, funny and entertaining.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of my 22 day trip to Rome, southern Italy, and Sicily. Stopped to take photos and taste honey on the way to Mount Etna. I would definitely recommend to go to the near summit of Mount Etna and not to spend your three hours solely on the lower level. We had enough time to go on a cable car, then on a jeep, and take a 40 minute tour with a guide around the craters, return to the lower level and walk around the shops and Silvestra Crater. There are restaurants to get a sandwich. I would not recommend buying lava jewelry at Mount Etna. You can get it so much cheaper in Taormina.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Warren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was fantastic, my girlfriend and I were so glad we decided to book it! going up mount ETNA is definitely the best way to see the mountain as you get to go through the forest and off track roads really emphasizing that sense of adventure and the views were fantastic the whole way up. The tour guides are really friendly and took us to a mini cave which was carved out from the lava flow in which they explained how these formations were made. The trip was definitely one of the main highlights of our trip and many photos were taken.....our friends were very jealous. Overall it was worth the money and would do it again.
Advice: Take Sunglasses just in case there was a bit of dust, take sun screen in the summer months and if you go in November like we did take something warm for when you get to the top.

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide.Good variety but gorge possibly not necessary for a good day.A bit early starting at 7.00 am

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message