Palermo is Sicily’s capital and largest city, located on the northern coast of the island and known for its historic, artistic and cultural attractions. As is the case with most historic cities, a modern city has grown up around the old center of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Overall a good tour option for getting to know Palermo. The best way to see this manic city is to be in something big and elevated from the the road. The printed form had different starting times to actual times but this was actually an improvement as the tours started earlier. it was disappointing that the cafe in the gardens and part of the Palace were closed (outside the tour's scope). The stops were clearly marked with accurate timetable and commentary was also very good.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We arrived in Palermo in the early afternoon and decided to go straight on the tour.
We were instructed to walk up the main road for a couple of hundred metres to locate the starting point of both tour routes. We waited about 10 mins and then got on tour A. The pre printed voucher was immediately accepted and we were given 2 tickets .
The tour was good but the commentary was intermittent with long gaps of no commentary and several people complained that their headphones were not working.
We got off the tour at the same place we started and after having lunch we returned to the start point and waited for about 15 mins and then got on tour B . This took us a different route and again was interesting but again with periods of nothing on the commentary .
We got off the tour at the stop before the end because it was nearest to the cruise terminal.
All in all it was worth the money.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The hop on hop off bus tour is very easily reached by foot from the port. Its 15 minute walk. The buses are timely and clean. The audio is very informative on the many landmarks and history of this city. I did both routes which are very different. I would recommend if you have the time to do both - ( with perhaps a gelato in between).

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Despite the 4 star rating, we felt a little ripped off in that the 5 day tour was actually 3 days plus a 7:30Pm start for Dinner on day one and ended with breakfast on day 5. The actual tour and guides were excellent value and very informative.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nice car, easy to find, on time and driver made us feel confident and relaxed.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent driver. Car was very clean.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Had to wait 45 minutes for the next bus came around to hop back on. A lot of time wasted, in my opinion. They also changed the order of stopping points without informing passengers, causing quite a few to hop off at the wrong stops.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The only complaint I have is that the hop on/hop off bus doesn't start until 9:30 but our cruise ship got in at 8:00. So there is a lot of waiting in the beginning. The bus was very timely and easy to find.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a great trip. Marco the guide and Nino the driver were very good. However, the local guide in Palermo would not wait for us to run back into the cathedral to retrieve a hat (it took us 2 minutes!). By the time we came out, she and the group had disappeared! Although we could hear her on our "Whisper", she gave no clue as to her location. Our instruction was to meet ultimately at a restaurant, which we eventually found. She said she had gone searching for us but she couldn't possibly have had time. We felt she was unprofessional not to wait , for tourists in an unfamiliar city, for no more than 2 minutes.

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I would recommend this. Easy way to see the city.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable and informative day.I would encourage any visitor to Sicily to take this trip.
The road traffic accident delayed us but we did not feel that we missed anything at all.

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent,they were very good

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Caught the "A" tour Sun. AM. Went back to same stop for the "B" tour that afternoon, which was supposed to be every hour on the hour. I stood in the rain from 1:40 PM until 2:20 PM-no show

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great locations, easy on and off.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message