• USD ($)
  • English
Palermo is Sicily’s capital and largest city, located on the northern coast of the island and known for its historic, artistic and cultural attractions. As is the case with most historic cities, a modern city has grown up around the old center of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nice car, easy to find, on time and driver made us feel confident and relaxed.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent driver. Car was very clean.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Should not call it 5 days- it is a 3 day tour with 4 nights in hotels. Good points: only 6 of us in nice van; saw most of what I wanted to see; hotels nice; driver tried to be helpful, had some good local information, made sure we had stops for toilets,etc. Local tour guides all excellent. Not so good: not enough detail ahead of time; others in group booked through different agencies, and we each had different information. Driver himself had different information from what he provided in our packages and had not studied them (they also had the wrong dates and mis-spelled my name, which did not inspire confidence) so for example he argued at Siracusa we could not go to old town of Ortygia, but that was in all our tour plans. To his credit, he did call and straighten that out. Viator website said one could hike to top of Mt Etna,- in fact that was not possible, and ski gondola was very expensive- plus no time. Driver scared us by talking on phone and reading papers about the tour while driving. Our group was quite demanding, and he did try to accommodate us. I still do not see why this tour cannot include the Villa Romana near Piazza Armerina- it was quite an effort to get there by myself. I was told via Viator that tour organizers thought it was just too much, but it would be short detour from the route we took anyway on the last day going from Taormina to Agrigento to Palermo, and tour takes under an hour. All worked out in the end, but felt lack of communication and attention to detail- e.g., I was told when I did my confirmation someone would be at hotel all day to greet us as we arrived, and to meet at 7 outside dining room for dinner at 7.30. Driver turned up about 7 in the lobby- he had no information about what time and where to meet and dinner was in fact at 8- little things like that. High quality, but expensive- especially given entry to sites was not included and tips were expected. That, and lack of Villa Romana, is why I give 3 not 4 stars.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Had to wait 45 minutes for the next bus came around to hop back on. A lot of time wasted, in my opinion. They also changed the order of stopping points without informing passengers, causing quite a few to hop off at the wrong stops.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The only complaint I have is that the hop on/hop off bus doesn't start until 9:30 but our cruise ship got in at 8:00. So there is a lot of waiting in the beginning. The bus was very timely and easy to find.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a great trip. Marco the guide and Nino the driver were very good. However, the local guide in Palermo would not wait for us to run back into the cathedral to retrieve a hat (it took us 2 minutes!). By the time we came out, she and the group had disappeared! Although we could hear her on our "Whisper", she gave no clue as to her location. Our instruction was to meet ultimately at a restaurant, which we eventually found. She said she had gone searching for us but she couldn't possibly have had time. We felt she was unprofessional not to wait , for tourists in an unfamiliar city, for no more than 2 minutes.

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I would recommend this. Easy way to see the city.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable and informative day.I would encourage any visitor to Sicily to take this trip.
The road traffic accident delayed us but we did not feel that we missed anything at all.

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent,they were very good

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Caught the "A" tour Sun. AM. Went back to same stop for the "B" tour that afternoon, which was supposed to be every hour on the hour. I stood in the rain from 1:40 PM until 2:20 PM-no show

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great locations, easy on and off.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Our hop-on hop-off experience in Palermo was great. Had a bit of a demonstration by students, but did not interfere to much with the bus schedule. Where was fine and saw what we wanted.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

This a good way to see all of the main attractions in Palermo. The headphones and audio supplied were very helpful. This company also provides a bus trip to Monreale. It was well worth the time and small fee to see the Cathedral there. I would highly recommend taking this additional tour.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Not enough buses for the number of people using system. Said buses would run every 30 minutes but had to wait almost an hour. This severely limited our site seeing time. The downstairs area was extremely hot and stuffy some of it due to crowded conditions.

Doing what: Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message