Palermo is Sicily’s capital and largest city, located on the northern coast of the island and known for its historic, artistic and cultural attractions. As is the case with most historic cities, a modern city has grown up around the old center of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

robert m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was Fabio, and his assistant her name translates to snow. Very informative, personable, eager to please, even suggesting restaurants. Out hi light was the gountain in the park, the water fountains designed and laid out by Gaudi. They are opening up a new office BCN segway near the arc d triompf, which is an easy 10 blocks from Ramblas, or 12 blocks from sagrada familia cathedral. Loved the port are, we have ridden segways 10-15 times so orientation period waived, yet they are very safety conscious for new riders. Loved to weave through crowds along the beach, highly recommend this Co are there are several companies in Barcelona

Doing what: Palermo Segway Tour

JOHN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

First rate, on time and very pleasant1

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

STEVE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a lot of fun, You were carefully watched, head of tour was very caution and attentive with everyone
A good way to see the town

Doing what: Palermo Segway Tour

Mike M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This is a long tour which we were ready for. The disappointment is this. We had a 1hr 45 minute tour in Palermo which has a lot to see. We spent over an hour seeing two churches! One church was fine. You have to cater to all tourists on a tour so a mix is necessary. This is especially true when time is limited! Cefalu on the other hand was really good. We were allowed ample time to explore on your own. I would not recommend this tour if they plan on visiting more than one church in Palermo. It's too far to go only to have a limited experience.

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great job by Marco G. He is so much fun and full of knowledge. Great personality. We had only five of us and we saw a lot in the short trip. Keep in mind, it is not really a 5 day. It really is three nights. Hotel change was not brought to my attention so I ended up at the wrong hotel. Thank goodness I had the paper work that showed who was the tour operator it is not viator but a local outfit. Tip: Always bring the information with you that describes the local tour operator. We were able to get in touch with them and discovered that the hotel changes had been implemented for at least one year. Viator never updated their information to reflect the hotel changes. Bad for the customer. it cost me 10 euros to have another local driver come get me and hook me up with my tour director who was waiting for me at dinner. Thank goodness I had a great meal and met my co travelers for this trip. Marco is wonderful and you will be lucky to get him on this fabulous beautiful journey through Sicily-a hidden treasure. Also note, they use a local operator for the tour who stays with you for its entirety, but engage local tour guides at each stop. Be prepared to tip those smart guides-they too were simply excellent. Enjoy!

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

cristina.rosu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

the trip is well organized, good guide, we had very little time for Palermo cathedral

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

Theresa D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Marina was a great tour guide. we had an excellent group and the smalls towns of the Godfather filming were beautiful. The bus driver was excellent and pleasant. The hotels were not that of the advertised but acceptable.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

dharmaval

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

the two shared transfers had the same experience:They forgot to pick usthat they sent a van .At least they respoded timely when we called them and it was AFTER we called

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Awesome experience! We loved our Segway tour of Palermo. Instruction on Segway use and our guide were the best! Highlight of tour was traveling through the back streets and through the Market area! Loved it!

Doing what: Palermo Segway Tour

Mario S Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

An interesting excursion to Palermo and Monreale. Monreale Cathedral is the highlight of this trip, but one also gets a good dose of the Palermitan streets, as most of the tour of Palermo is done on foot. Sometimes the hustle and bustle of the place can be a bit overwhelming, but tour guide Elizabeth did a very good job of explaining the sights in various languages in a non-stop commentary. The visit to the mummies at the Capuchin monastery is an unusual place to visit, but not for the faint-hearted.

Doing what: Monreale and Palermo Day Trip from Cefalu

Aybike Turkey

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This is a MUST DO trip if you are staying at the eastern side of Sicily and do not have time to go to the Western part. Palermo is a beautiful city with a lot of history and in my opinion it would be a big loss if you come alI the way to Sicily and miss visiting Palermo. I would like to thank our tour guide Rosalia Tramuto for such an enjoyable and informative tour. Our only concerns about the tour was 1- We had to pay for the head phones which is not logical as I never had to pay for head phones in any guided tour I bought. 2- If I were a Siclian I would not want any tourist to see that market place anyway. It is a dirty and stinky place where they sell meat and fish in open air with flies all over them. 3- The tour drops you off and picks you up in front of a restaurant. It is a little expensive but I must admit that food is great. You may try some other place for a cheaper lunch. But no matter what, I strongly reccomend this tour to everyone. Worth it!

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

Patrick V

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was nice because our family of 4 with 2 bigger children first experience with a segway.
2 people from the organisation, 1 to help/guide with the Segway Leo who was very helpfull and funny and 1 guide, but she did not want/dare to use the segway so had to go by foot and had to adapt to her pace and she came only to the real highlights.
Palermo is also not such a special city, but was better then on foot as it was really hot.

Doing what: Palermo Segway Tour

Garland J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide, great hotels, very good and reasonably priced.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

JUDITH G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have never been on a guided tour before and were dubious as to whether we would enjoy it. It was great. Our guide, Marina, was delightful: enthusiastic, knowledgable, caring and charming. Our fellow travellers were interesting and educated. The hotel accommodation was certainly 4 star. The only quibble - a better air-conditioned coach would have been appreciated.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

richer21601

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

About double the cost of a taxi but worth every penny. My flight was delayed several times and they were able to change my pick up time with no problems. Car and driver clean and prompt.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

curtis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Don't take this trip! Bus was half empty. They say you can either go to Palermo or Monreale (for extra money). Monreale is truly the jewel of Sicily. But there was no shuttle to Monreale. They tried to put me on a public bus.

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

Donna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

On time. Courteous and professional. We will use this service again when traveling

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

Nat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were picked up by the customs exit of the airport in a timely fashion and driven to our hotel in a Mercedes. We arrived to our hotel in style! The driver was not as conversant as we would have liked due to the language barrier but was polite and helpful. The ride was smooth and stress free.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

Craig C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Driver spoke enough English to get by, lucly my wife speaks some Italian and everything worked out. Was waiting upon our arrival and prompley got us to our hotel.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

Roman S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Palermo should improve as the tourist attraction. Cefalu is charming. The tour itself is good. But you better find your own place for lunch.

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

DEBORAH W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent job. Competent and punctual service just when we needed it.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

patricia d

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A long journey but the scenery crossing the central plain made it worth the effort.

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

vegaschick_jw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The driver was right there to meet us and got us to our hotel in a timely manner. Would highly recommend this service.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our driver met us as we arrived in Palermo and cheerfully took us to our hotel. We appreciate the excellent service.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Palermo Airport to Hotel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message