The Sicilian city of Syracuse - spelled Siracusa in Italian - sits on the island’s eastern coast, south of Messina and Catania. While much of Italy is dominated by ancient Roman history, the area around Syracuse is famous for its ancient Greek ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Not recommended. No bad words about organization of the tour or the guides, but... City of Syracuse is nothing special. The main site of Greek Theater is expensive and not impressive. You can see and explore similar ruins for free in Catania. If you still want to visit Syracuse just take a public bus.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well organised. The guides were exquisite. Congratulations and many thanks to them.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide Alfredo was a very pleasant and knowledgeable man. He brought the buildings to life.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

trip was wonderful, however, I wish I had known in advance that alfredo would be catering to several different languages. When I booked this trip I was under the impression that English was the tour language exclusively. for this reason, I will be a little skeptical in the future.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Interesting tour which we enjoyed. Would be nice if water had been supplied - a little tacky to not have some on board the bus. The Whisper that we had to pay for was far from state-of-the art. Could hardly hear the tour guide with all the static. I have used items like this on many tours and this was the worst we've encountered. Think it's time for an upgrade.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The archeological site was very interesting and we had and excellent guide who spoke very good English! We had an offer of a boat trip which included lunch which we declined and chose to wander round the town. The main square and duomo was very picturesque.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Very knowledgeable guide and interesting historical city. I felt the 'free time' towards the end of the walk through the old town could have been better used with some further explanations and guidance, or some suggestions for lunch or eating places.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I prefered Valley of Temples tour, most of this trip we did spend in bus and on lunch.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour did what it said on the tin, but the organisation was challenging. The coach makes many stops at hotels for pick up, so it took 2.5 hours to reach Syracuse. The pace of the guided tour was too fast for real appreciation so we skipped the afternoon element in order to enjoy free time.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Despite the 4 star rating, we felt a little ripped off in that the 5 day tour was actually 3 days plus a 7:30Pm start for Dinner on day one and ended with breakfast on day 5. The actual tour and guides were excellent value and very informative.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guide was excellent at explaining the history of Syracuse

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed this tour as well. Felt like we saw everything. Discovered aranchinas and ate great pizza at the boat tour.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very pleasant and interesting trip. The tour guide 'Eve' gave us lots of information and the pace of the tour was just right giving opportunities for drinks etc. I would recommend the 'Echo' headphone device so you don't miss any information and it only cost a few euros. Well worth the money

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I would have liked more time to explore in syracruse. Most of the time was taken up with lunch. The ampitheatre ruins are not that interesting and we spent too long there.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

VERY NICE, BUT EXTREMELY WARM. THE BUS DRIVER DID NO PUT THE AC ON

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A bit rushed. Good guide, but too much squeezed into one day.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Interesting and informative. After you've been to Rome, Ephesus and other sites, the remains just aren't as awe inspiring. The guide pushed an optional harbor cruise with lunch (15 euros a piece, cash only). Viator should not be associated with this tour. We cruised around the harbor with no narration and the food was pizza, rice balls and jug wine. Staying in the town squares would have been much nicer and with quality food.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Good tour with very good guides. To our surprise the optional lunch and cruise were very enjoyable with good food (including vegetarian options) The only reason I haven't given the tour 4 stars is the huge amount of people on the tour - double decker coach with german, Italian and English announcements!

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

This excursion was extremely disappointing mainly attributable to the services provided by the tour company.
As with our other excursion to the Aeolian Islands, the bus journey times were much longer than indicated. This was due to an additional 40 minutes being taken to pick-up people from hotels around Taormina. The coach had not been cleaned thoroughly (litter behind and beside the seats) and the toilet facilities were not available to the passengers (we were advised that the driver was unable to unlock the toilet door).
There was an insufficient number of working headsets to enable all the passengers to hear the broadcast of the guide (who was excellent) at both the sites of interest visited.
On the return journey the coach broke down on the Autostrada. The coach courier lacked the authority to ensure that the passengers adhered to the safety regulations on the Autostrada during the breakdown.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Good trip to Syracuse, and our guide at the site, Eva, was fabulous--so knowledgeable, articulate, and responsive. Amazing site and she made it come alive with her descriptions. Added lunch on boat from the harbour was very well-done and a great addition. Only problem was size of group --full busload of almost 60 people was divided into German and English speaking groups at the site, and vast majority were English speakers. Too many for one guide, especially with the all-too-common fellow tour member-idiots who don't listen, ask the same question she just explained, make "jokes", complain about their headsets, etc. Her patience and good cheer were remarkable. Limiting the group size would be a huge improvement.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

A well-organised and informative tour

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was a nice relaxing day trip from Taormina. The bus was prompt, clean and comfortable. Our tour guide did double duty narratining the tour in both German and English as we had a group of about 2/3 German and 1/3 English speakers. She did a great job juggling. The Greek ruins at Siracusa were very interesting and the trip to Olgyn island was interesting and pleasant. We had been to Pompeii two days earlier so the Siricusa ruins were a bit underwhelming after that. We had a nice seafood lunch on the bay.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour and the guides were excellent. Just enough time to see everything, and free time to go back or relax at the port. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message