The Sicilian city of Syracuse - spelled Siracusa in Italian - sits on the island’s eastern coast, south of Messina and Catania. While much of Italy is dominated by ancient Roman history, the area around Syracuse is famous for its ancient Greek ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynnemac007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day and our guide was amazing with so much information that brought history to life.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Would definitely recommend this tour. Saw the Greek theater, archeological park and Ear of Dionysius. Spent the afternoon at Ortygia. Saw the Duomo, Piazza, Fountain, and wondered about the quaint streets.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Mike M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a worthwhile tour with about a 1 hour guided tour upon arriving and then ample time to be on our own before heading back.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great job by Marco G. He is so much fun and full of knowledge. Great personality. We had only five of us and we saw a lot in the short trip. Keep in mind, it is not really a 5 day. It really is three nights. Hotel change was not brought to my attention so I ended up at the wrong hotel. Thank goodness I had the paper work that showed who was the tour operator it is not viator but a local outfit. Tip: Always bring the information with you that describes the local tour operator. We were able to get in touch with them and discovered that the hotel changes had been implemented for at least one year. Viator never updated their information to reflect the hotel changes. Bad for the customer. it cost me 10 euros to have another local driver come get me and hook me up with my tour director who was waiting for me at dinner. Thank goodness I had a great meal and met my co travelers for this trip. Marco is wonderful and you will be lucky to get him on this fabulous beautiful journey through Sicily-a hidden treasure. Also note, they use a local operator for the tour who stays with you for its entirety, but engage local tour guides at each stop. Be prepared to tip those smart guides-they too were simply excellent. Enjoy!

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

Lena D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting, but would be better if all in one language.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Theresa D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Marina was a great tour guide. we had an excellent group and the smalls towns of the Godfather filming were beautiful. The bus driver was excellent and pleasant. The hotels were not that of the advertised but acceptable.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

Steven R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Continuing the review from a previous submission.

We then walked along the ancient city walls. There was no explanation of the insignias along the wall but there was plenty about all the trees. Once again, we had to wait for everything to be said twice in English and German and we could not go ahead because we didn't know where we were going. Once we reached the Pizza del Duomo we were so fed up that we left the tour.

We got back to the bus at the required time. It had been sitting in the 88 degree sun for 2 1/2 hours but they hadn't turned on the air conditioning and would not do so until the bus was moving. The driver had kept the air conditioning low on the trip down but at least it was on. The trip back was utterly intolerable.

And of course, we had to wait to get back to Taormina because they dropped the Giardini Naxos passengers off at their individual hotels.

Do you now know why our review is one star - only because we couldn't give zero stars? If you have the courage and integrity to do so, we would like to hear your reply.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well organized and informational. Our guides were good, both our escort and local guides were professional. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in the ancient sites.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

marlene s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

the guide was very informative and made the trip very interesting. all the guides on the trips that I took were excellent

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Mario S Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A very enjoyable day trip from Taormina. After arrival in Syracuse, the large group was met with local tour guide, Eva, who did a wonderful job of describing in detail the various points of interest during the tour, first at the Archeological Park, and then at the old city of Ortygia, which is where the city of Syracuse had its beginnings in the 6th Century BC during Greek domination.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Terence W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Syracuse is definitely worth a visit and it would have been good to have had more time and energy for the main city. Our lack of time was at least partly due to the time 'wasted' at the start and end on our local tour to pick up and drop off people - this needs to be reduced! Our energy was affected by the temperature and having the two parts of the guided tour done without a break between in the heat.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Garland J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide, great hotels, very good and reasonably priced.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

Francesco P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very informative and relaxed tour. The guide really looked after our safety on the roads. Got to see a lot mor of Syracuse and Ortigia than would otherwise have been possible. Segways are easy to master after short lesson at the beginning of the tour

Doing what: Syracuse Segway Tour

JUDITH G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have never been on a guided tour before and were dubious as to whether we would enjoy it. It was great. Our guide, Marina, was delightful: enthusiastic, knowledgable, caring and charming. Our fellow travellers were interesting and educated. The hotel accommodation was certainly 4 star. The only quibble - a better air-conditioned coach would have been appreciated.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

Andrew Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Unfortunately, we had a very hot day so we couldnt wait to get out of the sun. The whole day was really just walking round and seeing the sites. The ampitheatre was impressive to look at but otherwise not very interesting. Syracuse itself is really just the square in the centre which is spectacular, the rest being like any other Italian town. Of our 3 trips this was the one to miss.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Roman S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Not recommended. No bad words about organization of the tour or the guides, but... City of Syracuse is nothing special. The main site of Greek Theater is expensive and not impressive. You can see and explore similar ruins for free in Catania. If you still want to visit Syracuse just take a public bus.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Marianna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well organised. The guides were exquisite. Congratulations and many thanks to them.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

patricia d

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide Alfredo was a very pleasant and knowledgeable man. He brought the buildings to life.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

marciabeth07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

trip was wonderful, however, I wish I had known in advance that alfredo would be catering to several different languages. When I booked this trip I was under the impression that English was the tour language exclusively. for this reason, I will be a little skeptical in the future.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Martin G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Interesting tour which we enjoyed. Would be nice if water had been supplied - a little tacky to not have some on board the bus. The Whisper that we had to pay for was far from state-of-the art. Could hardly hear the tour guide with all the static. I have used items like this on many tours and this was the worst we've encountered. Think it's time for an upgrade.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Jillian A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The archeological site was very interesting and we had and excellent guide who spoke very good English! We had an offer of a boat trip which included lunch which we declined and chose to wander round the town. The main square and duomo was very picturesque.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Anne T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Very knowledgeable guide and interesting historical city. I felt the 'free time' towards the end of the walk through the old town could have been better used with some further explanations and guidance, or some suggestions for lunch or eating places.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Marianna S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I prefered Valley of Temples tour, most of this trip we did spend in bus and on lunch.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Georgina K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour did what it said on the tin, but the organisation was challenging. The coach makes many stops at hotels for pick up, so it took 2.5 hours to reach Syracuse. The pace of the guided tour was too fast for real appreciation so we skipped the afternoon element in order to enjoy free time.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message