The beaches of Sicily are incredibly popular in the summer months, both with vacationing Italians and Europeans from further afield. Perhaps no beach resort town on the island is more popular than Taormina. This town on Sicily’s eastern coast isn’t ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great fun really enjoyable group and the hosts were knowledgeable and friendly. Would recommend this to anyone who loves great food

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide, great hotels, very good and reasonably priced.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have never been on a guided tour before and were dubious as to whether we would enjoy it. It was great. Our guide, Marina, was delightful: enthusiastic, knowledgable, caring and charming. Our fellow travellers were interesting and educated. The hotel accommodation was certainly 4 star. The only quibble - a better air-conditioned coach would have been appreciated.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the day. The visit to local market to buy the fresh produce was a great way to start and the people were very friendly. We were shown and cooked 3 courses of Caponata, fresh pasta and a fish dish and all of them were delicious! We were part of a rather large group but it was well organised and we were kept busy learning various things or watching demonstrations. And in between we were offered refreshments of coffee and Prosecco or wine. A great way to learn how to make local dishes from the experts and meet new people.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to see Taormina. Guide was extremely knowledgeable about Taormina and its history. Segway technician who accompanied us ensured we were confident in the use of the Segway and provided us with helmets.

Doing what: Taormina Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

With a small group of 5, trip to the local market, hands on class at a charming restaurant with mom the chef and son the tour leader was the highlight of my 3 days in Taormina. A sit down lunch of prepared foods by us was spectacular with local wines and breads. Do it.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing experience. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Simply wonderful. Friendly and knowledgeable hosts, good facility, terrific foods, good wine, and lots of fun. We enjoyed every minute of the experience and hope to do it again someday. Thank you Memo and Mama Francesca.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Quite simply a lot of fun. I couldn't think of a more pleasant way to spend a morning and an afternoon. Learn a little, cook a little, laugh a little, what could be better.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our Segway tour was so much fun. None of us had been on a Segway before, and they spent the time teaching us how to operate it. It was scary at first thinking about driving through all the tourists on the streets, but it was surprising very easy. Would definitely do another Segway tour again. My husband now wants one. Our guides were very good.

Doing what: Taormina Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was so much fun, I would do it again. And the food was excellent.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Exceptional. Family run operation and they could not be better at what they do! The mother who taught the class obviously really knows what she is doing and everything we made turned out super delicious. We had a great time with the 8 other people in our class and the whole day was super inclusive, comfortable and fun. The son who picks you up and takes you to the market and explains everything is super hospitable and friendly and really made everyone feel welcome. We made pasta from scratch! Something I did not expect to get to do. And the caponata which we ate a lot of throughout Sicily was the best we tasted. Really fun day in an intimate setting. I expected this to run the risk of being somewhat cheesy or not very hands on because of too many people on the tour but it really exceeded my expectations. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband, daughter and I attended this class. From start to finish, we were so very happy. Meimo spelling? and his mother Francesca were charming, informative, patient, and so gracious!!! I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone. Exceeded my expectations for sure!!!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I were fortunate to be the only participants on this day, not that it would have made any difference I am sure. Mimo met us and took us for a walk to the local market. We had the opportunity to taste some of the produce before purchasing a few items for the cooking class. When we arrived at the family restaurant his Mum, Francesca was our instructor. She had us doing it all while she patiently showed us how to do things correctly. We prepared and cooked everything while Mimo helped with English translations and plied us with Prosecco and Vino Bianco. Then we relaxed while we were served up a banquet style meal that would have fed 4 of us. We finished off with Pistachio and Almond pastries which were amazing! I was just so full with all the good food that I could only eat one of each. They were delicious and I wish I could have eaten many more. This is a must do for anyone interested in Italian cooking.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Lots of fun and great food!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This Sicilian Cooking Class at Ristorante Il Nettuno in Taormina was one of the highlight of our trip to the south of Italy. Mimmo and his family are great hosts. As mentioned in the tour, we started with a trip to the market to pick up fresh ingredients for the dishes that we were going to cook. Then we walked to the restaurant where everything was set up in the dining area which was sort of outside (all the patio doors were open as it was a gorgeous day). The décor of the dining area is all white and pristine. We then proceeded to start cooking. Mimmo's mom was the chef and she was very patient with us. She took her time explaining every steps. Mimmo served up some white wine from the region as we were cooking. When everything was ready, we took our seat at a table and we enjoyed the fruits of our labor, along with more wine. The whole afternoon was absolutely amazing. Oh, and did I mention that usually, this course is set up to accommodate about 12 people. But somehow, maybe because it was later in the season, my husband and I were the only ones cooking that day. That was fabulous. I highly recommend this Sicilian cooking class. You will not be disappointed. It is one thing to enjoy Sicilian food when visiting Sicily. But it is a whole new experience when you actually cook it and then eat it.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Such fun! Mimo and his mum Francesca were delightful tutors in shopping for and preparing a delicious Sicilian lunch. The food was incredible and I can't wait to try these receipes at home.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If there was a 10 star rating, this tour would deserve it! Unbelievable experience - great food, great instruction, very relaxing and enjoyable day! Mimo has a great gift for teaching and a love of Sicilian food that he graciously shared in the courtyard of his families beautiful restaurant. The tour started with a visit to the local market where we purchased fresh fish and vegetables to cook our meal. We then took a short walk through the streets of Taormina to the restaurant. We prepped the food and made 3 delicious courses - all accompanied by lovely wine and espresso. We can wait to come back again!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This cooking class was great fun. Would recommend it.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the most fun! We were only 3 and we shopped at the market, selected the best fish, basil, tomatoes, onions, eggplant, and such. Also we had a free tasting of cheeses - fresh made that day. We then went back to a restaurant with a garden and cooked outside. We created wonderful tasting eggplant, made our own pasta and sauce from scratch, and finished it off with a tasty sea bass with vegetables. The tour guide Mimo is charming, his mom is a great teacher, and the food was delicious. We then went back to the restaurant for dinner with the guys and enjoyed some other Sicilian specialties. Wonderful experience!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We'll worth booking this class, friendly hosts, a very good day. Plenty of wine and water for the group. A very enjoyable day.
Only one issue, we made our own pasta, but in hindsight, I felt it would have been better if we had just practiced, because then end product was disappointing and under cooked, spoiling the experience.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Despite the 4 star rating, we felt a little ripped off in that the 5 day tour was actually 3 days plus a 7:30Pm start for Dinner on day one and ended with breakfast on day 5. The actual tour and guides were excellent value and very informative.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Spent a wonderful afternoon cooking with Mimo and his mother at Ristorante Nettuno...We made three wonderful dishes; enjoyed a glass of wine while sitting in the garden and of course ended with a delicious cannoli!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding, real hands on cooking class. We learned so much. It was great to go to the marked, buy the ingredients, make the pasta and other food, and then eat it in a beautiful setting. One of the best tours of our lives.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message