The beaches of Sicily are incredibly popular in the summer months, both with vacationing Italians and Europeans from further afield. Perhaps no beach resort town on the island is more popular than Taormina. This town on Sicily’s eastern coast isn’t ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This Sicilian Cooking Class at Ristorante Il Nettuno in Taormina was one of the highlight of our trip to the south of Italy. Mimmo and his family are great hosts. As mentioned in the tour, we started with a trip to the market to pick up fresh ingredients for the dishes that we were going to cook. Then we walked to the restaurant where everything was set up in the dining area which was sort of outside (all the patio doors were open as it was a gorgeous day). The décor of the dining area is all white and pristine. We then proceeded to start cooking. Mimmo's mom was the chef and she was very patient with us. She took her time explaining every steps. Mimmo served up some white wine from the region as we were cooking. When everything was ready, we took our seat at a table and we enjoyed the fruits of our labor, along with more wine. The whole afternoon was absolutely amazing. Oh, and did I mention that usually, this course is set up to accommodate about 12 people. But somehow, maybe because it was later in the season, my husband and I were the only ones cooking that day. That was fabulous. I highly recommend this Sicilian cooking class. You will not be disappointed. It is one thing to enjoy Sicilian food when visiting Sicily. But it is a whole new experience when you actually cook it and then eat it.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Such fun! Mimo and his mum Francesca were delightful tutors in shopping for and preparing a delicious Sicilian lunch. The food was incredible and I can't wait to try these receipes at home.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If there was a 10 star rating, this tour would deserve it! Unbelievable experience - great food, great instruction, very relaxing and enjoyable day! Mimo has a great gift for teaching and a love of Sicilian food that he graciously shared in the courtyard of his families beautiful restaurant. The tour started with a visit to the local market where we purchased fresh fish and vegetables to cook our meal. We then took a short walk through the streets of Taormina to the restaurant. We prepped the food and made 3 delicious courses - all accompanied by lovely wine and espresso. We can wait to come back again!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This cooking class was great fun. Would recommend it.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the most fun! We were only 3 and we shopped at the market, selected the best fish, basil, tomatoes, onions, eggplant, and such. Also we had a free tasting of cheeses - fresh made that day. We then went back to a restaurant with a garden and cooked outside. We created wonderful tasting eggplant, made our own pasta and sauce from scratch, and finished it off with a tasty sea bass with vegetables. The tour guide Mimo is charming, his mom is a great teacher, and the food was delicious. We then went back to the restaurant for dinner with the guys and enjoyed some other Sicilian specialties. Wonderful experience!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We'll worth booking this class, friendly hosts, a very good day. Plenty of wine and water for the group. A very enjoyable day.
Only one issue, we made our own pasta, but in hindsight, I felt it would have been better if we had just practiced, because then end product was disappointing and under cooked, spoiling the experience.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Despite the 4 star rating, we felt a little ripped off in that the 5 day tour was actually 3 days plus a 7:30Pm start for Dinner on day one and ended with breakfast on day 5. The actual tour and guides were excellent value and very informative.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Taormina to Palermo: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Spent a wonderful afternoon cooking with Mimo and his mother at Ristorante Nettuno...We made three wonderful dishes; enjoyed a glass of wine while sitting in the garden and of course ended with a delicious cannoli!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding, real hands on cooking class. We learned so much. It was great to go to the marked, buy the ingredients, make the pasta and other food, and then eat it in a beautiful setting. One of the best tours of our lives.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic driver and guide. They informed us all the way throughout the day and even took us to little known spots. I would highly recommend this tour for all ages.

Doing what: Messina Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Taormina and Mt Etna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message