The beaches of Sicily are incredibly popular in the summer months, both with vacationing Italians and Europeans from further afield. Perhaps no beach resort town on the island is more popular than Taormina. This town on Sicily’s eastern coast isn’t ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

francoise s

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Pleasant enough!
The cook was personable and the other participants kind of fun and the venue attractive.
The food however was hardly memorable, the cheapest fish in the market in particular.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Domenick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you book ONE thing in Taormina it
needs to be this! Mimo takes to the local market, explains what you and #39;ll be making and the ingredients you and #39;ll be using. Then, at his restaurant you meet the other star of the day, his mother Francesca. She and #39;s the epitome of a Sicilian Mom. A MUST DO!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Tahlia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

was amazing, first class of the season, so it was just me and my husband. We had a great time, highlight of Taormina. My husband isnt much of a cooker and he has even made the dishes since coming back to Australia. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

gmt18

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

For some reason, my mother had trouble controlling the Segway. Leo very kindly offered to guide her all the way through, even though the streets were crowded, and his son was also helpful. The French-speaking guide, Vero, was very communicative and interesting, bringing a wealth of historical perspective and personal insight into the monuments, the architecture, but also the cultural background and the diversity of influences that characterizes this region and Taormina in particular. We appreciated the content as well as the attention and patience. The tour is definitely worth the money and time, even for people who do not have mobility problems. Recommended!

Doing what: Taormina Segway Tour

gracie h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing experience. I was able to learn a great deal about selecting the best ingredients for a meal. Cooking with the kids just made it even more fun. I had a really wonderful couple who I cooked with and enjoyed the morning too. Thank you so much to the family and viator for allowing me the opportunity to learn and enjoy my own great meal.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An enjoyable, entertaining and instructive experience with Mimo and his family. Mimo is passionate about Sicilian food and cooking and was eager to answer our questions and to volunteer details about the food he showed us and bought at the market and how it was to be cooked.
We had a great time preparing and cooking the lunch with Francesca, his expeienced chef mother, and Bianca, his apprentice 10 year old daughter - it was all great fun yet educational. This was serious instruction and I really copped it for my heavy handed use of pepper....
Even more serious was to sit down and enjoy the fruits of our labour cabonata, hand made macaronni with tomato and basil sauce, and rolled fish fillets in savoury breadcrumbs with lemon - the fish was the local delicacy the extraordinary long, thin, silver spatula - just delicious! All washed down with an excellent DOC Etna Insolia white wine.
Just do it!
Buon appetito
Dave

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Carl B Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great fun. I lovely balance between teaching and entertainment. And a great way to spend lunch in Taormina. We may have been fortunate to share our class with a great group of people, but I suspect our guide Mimmo and his mother the chef did a lot to encourage the lovely atmosphere that developed.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

lgoff22

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had a great time! I highly recommend this cooking class.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Danielle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful way to spend a rainy day in Taormina. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Carolin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guides took the time to be sure we were comfortable using the Segways before heading off. We covered a lot of area that would have been difficult on a walking tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and our small group made the experience very personal. I recommend you try it!

Doing what: Taormina Shore Excursion: City Segway Tour

datson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very Welcoming and informative host Mimmo and excellent cook - his father!
We cooked caponata, made pesto,Sicilian style with almonds beef patties in Orange leaves and macaroni!
The subsequent lunch in their beautiful Redtaurant Nettuno was accompanied by Prosecco, Sisilian White wine and coffee. Would recommend to anyone!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Sheri L. A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved it! I would highly recommend this class. First we shopped for our groceries with the son of the chef. He explained what to look for in the produce and fish that we selected. Then we went to the restaurant where we met the chef and started cooking. She explained everything thoroughly. My favorite part of the class was learning to make fresh pasta. Following the cooking we had a lovely lunch with our classmates.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great job by Marco G. He is so much fun and full of knowledge. Great personality. We had only five of us and we saw a lot in the short trip. Keep in mind, it is not really a 5 day. It really is three nights. Hotel change was not brought to my attention so I ended up at the wrong hotel. Thank goodness I had the paper work that showed who was the tour operator it is not viator but a local outfit. Tip: Always bring the information with you that describes the local tour operator. We were able to get in touch with them and discovered that the hotel changes had been implemented for at least one year. Viator never updated their information to reflect the hotel changes. Bad for the customer. it cost me 10 euros to have another local driver come get me and hook me up with my tour director who was waiting for me at dinner. Thank goodness I had a great meal and met my co travelers for this trip. Marco is wonderful and you will be lucky to get him on this fabulous beautiful journey through Sicily-a hidden treasure. Also note, they use a local operator for the tour who stays with you for its entirety, but engage local tour guides at each stop. Be prepared to tip those smart guides-they too were simply excellent. Enjoy!

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

Theresa D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Marina was a great tour guide. we had an excellent group and the smalls towns of the Godfather filming were beautiful. The bus driver was excellent and pleasant. The hotels were not that of the advertised but acceptable.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

Ivonne L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was an great experience. I only suggest that they have actual recipes to in proper format to follow afterwards not just tips and tricks. I would recommend this to others.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide was excellent and the place was pleasant to sit there. The experience of going to the local market was very nice and leisurely. The only problem was that not enough background was given - history of cooking, types of vegetables used, tips for cooking, etc. Other than that it is a highly recommended experience. Thanks!!

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide promised photos, took our emails never received them

Doing what: Taormina Segway Tour

ELISABETH C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My daughter and I were the only ones booked for the cooking class on the day we attended, so we had the personal attention of the chef and her son. First of all we went to the market used by the local Toarmina people to select the vegetable, fish etc for the dishes we were going to prepare. We then went to the restaurant and we shown what to do by the chef, but did most of the cooking ourselves. The meal was delicious, and served with wine, prosecco and coffee, and the surroundings were lovely. Altogether it was a very good time and well worth what we paid for it.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

KAREN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Was very good. Everyone was so nice and the guide was very knowledgeable .

Doing what: Taormina Segway Tour

Arlene B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We as so much fun on this cooking class, great food, good wine and our hosts were very nice.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

unicoach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great fun really enjoyable group and the hosts were knowledgeable and friendly. Would recommend this to anyone who loves great food

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Garland J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide, great hotels, very good and reasonably priced.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

JUDITH G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have never been on a guided tour before and were dubious as to whether we would enjoy it. It was great. Our guide, Marina, was delightful: enthusiastic, knowledgable, caring and charming. Our fellow travellers were interesting and educated. The hotel accommodation was certainly 4 star. The only quibble - a better air-conditioned coach would have been appreciated.

Doing what: 5-Day Eastern Sicily Tour from Palermo to Taormina: Mt Etna, Syracuse and Agrigento

Janet A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the day. The visit to local market to buy the fresh produce was a great way to start and the people were very friendly. We were shown and cooked 3 courses of Caponata, fresh pasta and a fish dish and all of them were delicious! We were part of a rather large group but it was well organised and we were kept busy learning various things or watching demonstrations. And in between we were offered refreshments of coffee and Prosecco or wine. A great way to learn how to make local dishes from the experts and meet new people.

Doing what: Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message