• USD ($)
  • English
While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and amazing experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very thorough and saw everything. I like the idea of eating on your own so you can decide if you want to spend more time eating or touring by yourself.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I only wish I'd paid to ascend Etna on the day...
It was a wonderful trip, the villages were beautiful to travel through and the train, although very very hot and uncomfortable, offered us the chance to view Etna and the flat lands from a different view point.
The guide was excellent and knowledgable

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wow!
Seeing a live volcanic eruption and visiting those beautiful islands were a wonderful life fulfilling opportunity

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fabulous Outing!!...It was an absolutely beautiful day!--from the wonderful demeanor of our tour guide, Santo to the transportation to the beautiful islands...My daughter and I rented a paddle boat on Panarea--we paddled around, docked the boat and swam in the sea. It was beautiful...Stromboli was gorgeous- with its black sand beach and the volcano exploded 4 times!! while we watched from the boat!...The dinner was okay, but it the grand scheme of the day``wonderful!!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall, it was a good trip. Would have been nice if we had more time in Panarea to stay at the beach. The dinner served on the boat was so so because it was only a plate of pasta and bread. No roast beef as they said was being served. Also, wished we got to see more explosions but once a big one occurred we rushed to get out of Stromboli.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a very long day ...6.30 am and I was back to my hotel after 10minute walk from bus stop at 8.15 pm. But a very memorable day and saw some of the best of sicily. The lunch break stop gave 2 food options or bring a picnic to eat on the beach.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I really enjoyed the Mount Etna part of the trip, it was fun going up to the top. The Circumetnea was a bit boring. The view from my side of the train was rubbish and it was hot and cramped. I would rather have had longer either at Etna or at the Alcantara Gorge which I felt was a little rushed and I didnt have time to really enjoy.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Valley of the Temples was fantastic. Our local guide was great, very knowledgeable and kept us moving without rushing anyone who wanted to take photos. Villa Romana was interesting too, the mosaics were amazing. However, it was a very long day (I dont think I got back until almost 8 after all the drop offs) Also, when I booked there was only 1 option for a pick up at Taormina bus station. The company who do the trip (SAT?) do several pick ups round Taormina and also in Gardini Naxos so its worth checking with them to see if you can arrange a pick up nearer your hotel, especially if like me youre down by the beach rather than Taormina itself as the funivia does not fun at early in the morning so you need to do the long walk up or get a taxi which adds a good amount of time or money to the trip.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Quite good but not as good as I expected. I feel that there's too much 'free time' included and if you don't like wandering aimlessly through the abundant souvenir shops, there's a lot of time wasted. Would be better to shorten the time at Etna and include another point of interest.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Quite good but not as good as I expected. I feel that there's too much 'free time' included and if you don't like wandering aimlessly through the abundant souvenir shops, there's a lot of time wasted. Would be better to shorten the time at Etna and include another point of interest.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This was the trip I was looking forward to most during my stay in Taormina, Sicily but I was quite disappointed with the overall trip and specifically the guide. I was travelling alone so was quite keen to engage with the tour guide and learn as much about the Islands history as possible.

Understandably, there were quite a few nationalities on the tour so the guide needed to translate everything said in three languages. I believe that although English may have been understood by a lot more of the group, it was not the majority nationality, so the guide decided to limit what was communicated in English. Whenever I asked a question, I found her to be quite short, dismissive and unfriendly!

Also, she was quite keen to make the group go off on their own during the time on the islands.

Lipari, was quite quaint and pleasant enough but Vulcano was very primitive and the smell of Sulphur was quite intoxicating at times. There is a large beach cafe opposite the mud baths which appeared very popular. I decided to have my lunch there and was so disappointed as the food was absolutely appalling.

To give a fair overall review, I think I was unlucky with my experience with my visit to the islands and maybe with a different tour guide and better choice of restaurant, the trip may have been more enjoyable!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

VERY long day, didn't like having to pick upand drop off different groups of people at other hotels or bus stops. Added 2 extra hours to the day. Didn't like having to listen to everything the guide said in 5 different languages. Didn't enjoy the additional tour of Lipari by bus, some pretty views but not much else. We are glad we went on this tour but wouldn't recommend it to anyone or do it again..

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

In Taormina bus station there was no sign showing which bus was for viator customers, neither anyone knew it. We had to ask to each coming bus to find, which was not very good. After we found the bus, the tour was well orginized and very interesting.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message