While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Noel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very long day, but well worth the money

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

E.M. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very long day, but the two sites were so well worth seeing. Good to be able to find our own way round the Roman Villa, after an interesting description from Santos first.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Rita P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great Tour, Lipari was a great little island... the hike up Vulcano is pretty good as well, not all of us made it to the top, we didnt come prepared with the correct shoes... the caves, the views along the way were beautiful

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

judy.lawrence.nz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An enjoyable day and two different islands which were very charming. Unfortunately Strombili only puffed some smoke and no fireworks but the boat trip past the islands and the blue blue water was exquisite. Only complaint was that the sound system on the boat was inaudible as it was too loud and very difficult to hear anything. All up worth going on a beautiful day.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant experience. Well worth the money to do the cable car and 4 x 4 minibus. Our guide was very informative and took us round a crater explaining the formation etc. A very well organised trip - picked up and dropped off right outside our hotel.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Tanya D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide and driver! Mt Etna tour was amazing. Make sure to dress warm as it is cold near top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Emma S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great - be prepared for lots of travel, but so worth it

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Ruth S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It was an o.k. experience and what we expected.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Sonya L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The islands are beautiful. Our tour guide was very nice. The organisation of the ship crew was awful. They warn you to be ontime and when we were they made us wait 45 min were so disorganised and angry that they even got hansy with 2 other tourists (tried it on me) so not impressed!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

andrei nicolae g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip. so many things to see, so many things to remember. Especially the trip on Etna Mountain was very interesting and the guide was great.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

andrei nicolae g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I liked very much this trip. Panarea so rustic. Stromboli impressive. I 'met' Ingrig Bergman there...!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Peter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a long day 10hours but worthwhile. Our guide Alfredo was knowledgeable and enthusiastic with a great sense of humor. The Circumetnea railway ride is a real plus but the Alcantara Gorges trip slightly irrelevant. Mount Etna is well organized and well worth while but, as advised, not for people with heart or breathing problems. I would happily recommend this trip to all fit and healthy people

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jess T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Whilst this is a long day tour, I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Sicily. The Valley of the Temples is a much larger area than we were expecting In a good way and the Roman Villa mosaics amazing. The tour also gives you a chance to explore more of the countries scenery. My mum is disabled on crutches so is slower, Elizabeth our guide was fantastic and walked with her whilst we had our tour from the local guide.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Jess T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My top tip for this tour is be prepared for temperature changes and have a warm coat. When we left Taormina it was 19C, 3000m up Mt Etna not only was it windy.... hello snow blizzard. We upgraded our tour to include transport to the top, it's worth it for the views and craters. My mum is on crutches, whilst it wasn't the easiest terrain for her we were aware it wouldn't be she did what she could and it was manageable.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Chitsanu K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Unique experience!
We visited on April 2016. The weather is highly windy such that the cablecar had to occationally pause the operation, and swinging travellers mid-air. There's no need to fear, it's just that it took us more time up and down than usual.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

meandpam Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommend this tour. 6.30am - 7.30pm. 500km travelled. Long day but worth it. Our guide Alfredo was fantastic, really knew his stuff and looked after us superbly. We travelled in a Mercedes mini bus and was very comfortable . Both attractions were excellent but the highlight was the mosaics at the villa. Haven't seen anything like it. So well preserved. Great photo opportunities. Great scenery along the way. Plenty of comfort breaks. Well done.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Shawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

GOod. On time and very clear!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Gretchen Cole United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour company that coordinated this trip did a great job. But the wind in midApril at the top of the crater was intense and very cold. Should have rented the coat from the shop at mid mountain!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Stephanie N

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Nice to see the islands but 2.5 hours free time on each island was far too long. An hour would have sufficed. We didn't get back until midnight which meant it was a very long day. Meal was very bad - tuna pasta and a carton of white wine. I expected more for such an expensive trip. Greta was a great guide though.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Douglas M New Zealand

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

This is a very long say. 1.5 hours by bus then another 1.5 hours by boat. Then 2 hours on the first island with little to do. Stromboli itself was great and we saw a red tinge at the top of the volcano at night. It would be better to offer this with a noon pickup and skip the first island.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Lesleyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an incredible tour! I met the bus at the Recanati bus station no problem and it was only an hour to the 2000m station where there are a number of shops and restaurants. People who don't upgrade stay here were they can walk to two dead craters. However, the price of the upgrade is worth every red cent. We took a cable car and then a 4x4 minibus to the 3000m level and got a guided walk around one of the four active craters at the summit. The highest and largest crater is off limits and given the amount of smoke pouring out of it, a visit there would be out of the question. On the walking tour, the guide dug down a foot and offered us a chance touch the bottom if we wanted. It was almost too hot to touch! That crater had erupted in 2002. When we were done with the walk, we could choose when we took a bus and cable car down. Once I got down, I even had time to visit one of the dead craters at the 2000m level. In total, we had 3 hours on the mountain and I never felt rushed. Please note that one cannot walk from the 2000 to the 3000m level in that time frame as one couple on our bus wanted to do. Hats off to our guide Lisabeth for a great day.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

All in all, a worthwhile trip. However, I feel you could eliminate the visit to the Alcantara Gorges. Also, I think there was too much time allotted for the Mount Etna ascension.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message