While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 218 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lisa.collins123

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

fab tour - Etna great, coach long and too packed but nice journey although squashed, tour operator awful - we booked the trip with train and to the top, leaves at 7am, couldn't reach the contact number and wasn't staying nearby, got lost was 4 mins late - they went without us!, we spent nearly 2 hours from 7am in S

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Weichen H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

I traveled alone so it's difficult for me to visit many place if only take public transportation. This is the only choice to meet my request visiting these 2 must-see places within one day. Good trip.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Cheryl E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Tour guide was helpful, funny and entertaining.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of my 22 day trip to Rome, southern Italy, and Sicily. Stopped to take photos and taste honey on the way to Mount Etna. I would definitely recommend to go to the near summit of Mount Etna and not to spend your three hours solely on the lower level. We had enough time to go on a cable car, then on a jeep, and take a 40 minute tour with a guide around the craters, return to the lower level and walk around the shops and Silvestra Crater. There are restaurants to get a sandwich. I would not recommend buying lava jewelry at Mount Etna. You can get it so much cheaper in Taormina.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was a packed day but worth it to see the two site. I would recommend that you stay near the local guide at Agrigento to hear what she has to say and also stay near the Viator guide at Villa Romana to get the most out of your day. For our lunch break, the Al Porticciolo Restaurant was recommended by our guide. I would not recommend going there at all-poor service, mediocre food, and flies galore. It is rated 20/21 on tripadvisor for restaurants in this area and after you dine there, you can understand why it is rated so low.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Elizabeth M S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I was very pleased to be able to do this tour from Taormina - my hotel was probably about 100 metres from the bus station. This made it almost door to door taking the hassle out of getting to the ferry for the voyage to the islands.
It was a long day but worth it.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Elizabeth M S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

My hotel was about 100 metres from the Taormina bus station so it was very convenient to be able to catch the bus to and from the boat as an inclusion to the days outing. It was a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Mike M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We really enjoyed this tour! When visiting Lipari the taxi tour around the island is essential. The tour costs 10 Euros and lasts about 75 minutes! It had incredible views as the taxi had photo stops along the way. The only downside was on our stop at Vulcano. There simply was not enough time if someone wanted to hike up to the crater. We were told the hike was 50 minutes to the top. After a brief introduction by the guide to the island, we had 1hour and 40 minutes to hike up, take in the views and pictures, and then hike back down. The risk was not worth missing the boat so we reluctantly never tackled it as it was too rushed.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Mike M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed this tour! In order to get to the top of the island for a view we were told it was 45 minutes. We decided to take the golf cart taxi 9 Euros each way. The taxi takes you as far as it can and then its another 20 minute hike to the top. This is necessary as if you hike from the dock it can be easy to get lost and miss out on the beautiful views from the top. This decision gave us time to stroll in the town afterwards.

Stromboli was fun as well seeing the volcano from the boat and strolling around the town afterwards. After we stopped and watched the lava explosions in the dark from the boat! It was incredible! The downside is this: They make everyone get inside on one deck of the boat there are three decks when leaving Stromboli to feed them a small pasta dish. The problem is they then pull in front of the vulcano. When you have a volcano erupt you don't want to be eating, but rather on the outside decks taking pictures! They should give people 15 minutes to eat at the dock and then move the boat in front of the vulcano. This to me is really simple. I don't understand why they would park the boat in front of the vulcano before people are ready.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Mike M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The trip was very enjoyable! The Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana were both awesome. This trip only received a four star rating due to two factors. First, we were picked up 45 minutes late. Not impressed! Secondly, the lunch stop was 90 minutes which is fine. The problem was it was in a place that there was nothing to browse at or see after lunch. Waiting around after lunch was quite boring. If we stayed at the temple area, people could have had lunch and shopped if they liked to kill time.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Aleksandar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I made this tour just yesterday and really loved it. Yes it is rather crowded, but if you want to be on your own, the guide gives you the possibility while directing you to good spots. I did so and it was really wonderful: this is a really charming part of the world and the weather was great, can you ask for more?

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide.Good variety but gorge possibly not necessary for a good day.A bit early starting at 7.00 am

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

datson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent day out and fantastic guide. Would recommend the tour to anyone!

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Lorie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Mount Etna is a must see if you are in Sicily. Breathtaking views. Fantastic experience. Worth every penny to take the cable car and jeep to the top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Linda B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Did not enjoy this tour at all. What we got once we arrived at Mount Etna was a guide that spoke minimal english and was more interested in speaking italian to another new tour guide. Very disappointing and very bored with the whole thing.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Sven V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good guide, well organised. Convenient pick up at Taormina bus terminal. Amazing views, well worth the money

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Velyan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good trip with a good guide.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Ketevan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well organised tour. Exceptional experience. Do not miss it!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

marlene s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

very good and the guide was excellent

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Shirley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Lovely boat trip to Panarea where we had a lovely lunch and free time to wander before going back on the boat to Stromboli where we chose to swim then explore have a drink and back to the boat for supper of pasta with tuna wine and bread.We then sailed to a vantage point to watch Stromboli in action plenty of smoke and steam and minor eruptions. Throughout the tour our guide Greta was a delight keeping us fully informed and sharing her extensive knowledge.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Shirley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Lipari is a beautiful island and where we stopped was very picturesque with lovely streets and lots of shops, bars etc We then went on to Vulcano where we wandered and had lunch didn't try the mud baths though they looked like fun. Franco our guide was very informative throughout the trip and readily made himself available to answer the groups questions. Would definetly recommend.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful day trip. Water around Stromboli and Panarea was such an incredible BLUE color. Enjoyed seeing the volcanic eruptions on Stromboli at night.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message