While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kia Ora from Paihia New Zealand
thanks for your Review request on our Tour
We have already reviewd this and it was an amazing Tour specially our wonderful guide Alfreddo
Regards
Janine and Kevin Smith

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good. It was a good trip although the guide Santo seemed to be a bit tired. We travelled through the hills of central Sicily up to Agrigento where we visited 4 Greek temples. The guide was exquisite. She perfectly spoke in four languages giving us all the details we needed in a most professional way. In an end we were advised to have our lunch in a restaurant which looked like a canteen. Unfortunately for us, the prices were those of a restaurant. Excepting this issue, the trip was interesting and OK. Do go there, as it is the cradle of our civilisation. To me each stone was precious.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

An exciting trip which goes through Alcantara Gorges. We visited that wonderful place and, in an end, we were late 3 minutes, to find that the coach left. I must mention that our guide was Santo who left us there as he did not count his passengers. Someone from the same company took us by car and raced us up to a crossway to catch the coach back. From that point up to the end our trip was gorgeous.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Efficient transport but little sdditional

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

First of all, we really enjoyed this tour - weather was nice and walking around creators was stunning experience. On the other hand, I also need to mentioned about failures in operation. Due to the mechanical troubles, tour bus was replaced twice ! during the tour. First occasion was still acceptable cause we were announced at very beginning of the tour, and it didn't took us long to switch them. However, second one was terrible, the bus was hot inside lucking a/c and we saw steam plume raising from the bus then were asked to get off on the middle of motorway. Everyone on the tour were forced to wait at the hard shoulder of motorway which is scary for more than 30 minutes until another bus coming... Mechanical problem is somehow unavoidable but when it happens twice in a day, I can't help being sceptical about appropriateness of safety consciousness. It's a shame to comment like this way cause If we did't have this problem, I could give 5star for our memorable experience at Mt. Etna.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The trip was good but he only covered Mount Atna. This trip covers Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges. They never even mentioned those two places once in the trip. I paid for all three and got only one out of this.

Doing what: Mount Etna, Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Its nice and worth seeing but it is a long day . The was no Lava on our trip but you win some and loose some . Dont think its a trip you want to do with children .
The food on the boat is pretty slap up but the islands have plenty to choose from.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This was a very interesting and comfortably paced tour that explored a unique area of Italy. The tour took us to two islands Vulcano and Lipari which have rather distinct difference in their population patterns while sharing a common geological origin. Franco, our guide, was very competent in informing us about the area and the various attractions we could visit. I would emphasize that the tour is designed to give the individual maximum time to explore the town and areas of the islands on your own. The obvious advantage of the tour is that it manages the transportation logistics in a competent manner while informing you of key attractions and points of interest to explore at your pace.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

From my point of view we spent far too much time riding on a bus and a train and not enough time enjoying and photographing the countryside, vineyards, pistachio nut bushes and learning about the geology of volcanic activity from a native speaker. I did not enjoy long portions of the narration in German and while Elizabeth was pleasant, her directions were often unclear.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The islands were beautiful. There was a lot of time spent traveling on the bus picking up and dropping off other customers as well as on the ferries which included other tour groups. There is just enough time to do about one thing on each island. So, if you really want to experience them, you should travel to the islands outside of the excursion. The dinner was not very good, and thus I would personally prefer to have that removed from the amenities offered, lowering the price.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

good. only thing is it was not so well organised. the tourist did not know where to go at 2500ft. no one was there to direct. guide stoped at 1900ft so after that the group was like a heard of let loose cattle runung all over not knowing what to do. the gorup got mixsd several times with other groups.whic was not pleasent.
basically after we left the bus it was thourley disorganised. i have travelled many times with viator but never an experienc like this. Dr M. Perera

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This tour was beyond disappointing. Let me start by saying that I fully recognize that the tour company cannot control whether or not you actually get to see volcanic activity at Stromboli. We were unlucky and didn't get to see anything but that's not their fault. What IS their fault is making this a 12 hour tour. Even if we had seen Stromboli explode I'm not convinced it would have been worth spending an entire day of vacation sitting around waiting for it. The tour should be a night tour. Panarea flat out sucks. There is nothing to see or do there. The shops are yuck, the restaurants are whatever and save for one tiny little family bakery we found down a random street there is nothing charming or beautiful about this place. There are no cars only golf carts ... peaceful and charming right? Wrong. It's all gasoline operated golf carts and forklifts running back and forth between the dock and down all the streets. You can't escape them - it's constant. And if you bother to try and wander the island in search of something worthwhile don't bother you are constantly moving out of their way. We spent 2.5 hours here ...the kids on the trip swam in the dirty port water but all of the adults were busy sitting at either the lackluster bars or on the curbs right next to the pier so we could all bum rush the ferry to get the heck off the island ASAP. Awful and pointless stop along this tour. Then we head to Stromboli and wander around aimlessly for hours with nothing to see or do. It would have been awesome to do some of the trekking they offer but by this point there wasn't enough time. Back to the boat then once darkness hits we spend less than 20 minutes waiting for Stromboli to show signs of life. Only 20 minutes!!! The tour should start at 6pm, skip Panarea and head to Stromboli and dedicate ample time to see it erupt instead of wasting 12 hours away from beautiful Taormina doing/seeing nothing for 200. A real shame and truly the worst tour I've ever been on.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

An exciting failure. The sea was furious and did not let us land on any of the islands. We spent over 12 hours on a troubled sea. We were offered some macaroni prepared by the staff and drank a cheap white. A lot of the passengers had diarrhea and vomiting. One of them requested a helicopter to be taken out of that nightmare. The queue to the toilet was huge. The way back was a race between the waves. It was as if the captain got mad at something. The guide, who promised us a lot of things, became invisible and uttered his first pathetic words only later when we were close to Taormina. Many of us got drenched from the very beginning as we sat at the prora to take photos and no one warned us to go away when the boat went on. None of the objectives of the trip was accomplished: just an adventure on the sea and be happy we are still alive when we landed in the port. However, Stromboli and Panarea are great places to visit and such adventures don't happen daily. Be courageous, be brave and try it.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A must do trip - pay the extra to go to the top its totally worth it for the amazing views. Be aware that even in April there is lots of snow and the wind is bitter so dress appropriately

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very interesting tour with a very enthusiastic guide.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Very enjoyable day. Santo was great. The islands were very beautiful. Special treat hearing the choir singing for Pasqua in cathedral on Stromboli.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Pick up was prompt and the journey to Etna with the guide on the bus was informative and interesting. There was some unavoidable delay collecting tickets for the cable car and 4WD, but then seemed to be rather disorganised queueing which felt like wasted time. The 4WD trip to the upper level was great but because the group could not stay together over the walk at the 2900m level the guides descriptions and explanations were not heard by all. One of the group failed to return to the coach at the specified return time and the wait of over 30 minutes for a return journey of just over an hour seemed excessive. Worth doing but spoiled by waiting and delays.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It is a long day but if you have a trip to Etna on your bucket list, you must do it. Viator is just one of the vendors who sell this trip and they subcontract it out so that you end up on a big, double-decker bus with a lot of other people at least that was our experience.. We thought our trip was booked for English - it was but was also given in German. Overall, it is well worth the money. If you go to the highest point extra charge be aware that even in late April, it was quite cold and gloves are a must. You also need hiking shoes for grip.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Interesting but disappointingly the clouds closed in. Luck of the draw. Still worth doing.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

beautiful place!!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Panarea can be called the first step toward Heaven; Now you know how it is - each with his heaven :)
An oasis of tranquility, discretion, beauty, in the midst of the sea ...
Do not miss a meal at Da Francesco! The food absolutely exquisite, tasteful, refined and the service outstanding. If you add the nice view to the sea, you have a wonderful day. Sorry I spent just a few hours ...
Stromboli, fascinated me in the middle of the night when he offered a fascinating eruption of the volcano, with lava like trying to color the sea in red..

Is "a must do" , this trip .

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Do not miss this trip! Fantastic view, feeling on top of the Volcano ...

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Enjoy the whole day. The highlight of the day was Mount Etna. We were so lucky to have had a beautiful and clear day. Would highly recommended this day tour to everyone. The tour company was excellent as they had organised the day before to pick us up from our hotel and take us closer to the pick up point for the tour.

Doing what: Mount Etna, Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A long day (13hrs), but worth the effort. The remains of the city of Arigentum, 4 temples plus parts of the city's walls, are impressive and the guide added to my (scant) knowledge of Greek temples. The mosaics at the Villa Romana are vast and fascinating in their portrayal of Roman life and interests. Do protect yourself against the sun: you will spend several hours with little shade. I was somewhat annoyed that I was not informed that entrance to the sites was an extra 25Eu, and would also advise you to take your own lunch. If you don't have a lot of time in Sicily, this tour will also provide scenic interest.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message