While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Denise C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I very good day, which had an excellent guide, and luckily, excellent weather too.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very busy as it was August and lots of buses doing the same tour. Well worth going just to see Stromboli performing. Unfortunately we could not hear the commentary on the boat or our English guide on the coach (but to be fair there were an awful lot of American/Australian/English people speaking at the same time).

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

It was more of an expensive bus journey than tour. The guide did give some commentary on the way but it was given in 4 languages so it felt rushed and a bit boring when going through the over languages. Spent a bit too much time telling us about a lady who sells honey halfway up, guess he is on commission! There was no information given when on the foothills other than when to return so we were just left to our own devises. Guide did not really say anything on the return home only how we can tip the driver (he repeated this twice so guess he gets a cut of that as well). Very expensive for what it was!!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour is worth the money. The information provided was insightful and the restaurant chosen for lunch was nice.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What can you say other than WOW about this trip? Volcano's, black sand beaches, sulfur baths, and of course Italian food along with a boat ride. It was delightful. We loved Taormina anyway, it was almost our favorite place, (sorry Florence is still top of the list). There is no place like Taormina though and the views are incredible. We could see lava flowing from Mt. Etna from our patio. WOW!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is breathtaking. We used the funicular and minibus to go up and we ran and walk down. The Alpine guides were fantastic and the souvenir shop was a great one!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very much enjoyed this well organised trip. We met the coach in Taormina and were transported to Millazzo port. First stop Panarea where we had a delicious lunch on a hill overlooking the port, then onto Stromboli where we swam from the volcanic beach. Gave the meal onboard a miss and enjoyed pulling out of port at it gradually got dark, waiting for Stromboli to erupt. A long day but would recommend.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great trip, no dinner option for vegetarians though.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Needed more time to be able to get to ground level of gorges to appreciate them. If going on full Etna trip with cable car and jeep need more time to explore ground level with shops and to get something to eat. Was quite rushed to get back to coach.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and amazing experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very thorough and saw everything. I like the idea of eating on your own so you can decide if you want to spend more time eating or touring by yourself.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I only wish I'd paid to ascend Etna on the day...
It was a wonderful trip, the villages were beautiful to travel through and the train, although very very hot and uncomfortable, offered us the chance to view Etna and the flat lands from a different view point.
The guide was excellent and knowledgable

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wow!
Seeing a live volcanic eruption and visiting those beautiful islands were a wonderful life fulfilling opportunity

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message