While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip! Panarea is so beautiful and the little beach is worth a visit. On Stromboli we did the walking tour around the small town offered by our guide. After we had dinner on the boat and watched lava trickle down the side of the volcano!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome trip, well organized, departure and arrival were on time, English, German and French speaking guides, comfortable Transportation and valuable details about monteh Etna!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day tour, make sure you pay the extra and book the tour to the top of Etna it is worth it and most people do it. Good informative guides and plenty of spare time for lunch and browsing.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Mt Etna is certainly not to be missed if you are travelling in the area. The tour itself was quite good: the guide was excellent - well informed of the science and history of Etna; and the tour to the higher elevation is worth it. The whole environment is very different from the first stop and it is kind of a shame to take the time to do the trip and not include that. Viatour's service was perfect - no glitches. Our name (and at least one other couple I saw) was not on the guide's list, but we had our receipt as instructed and he just penciled us in, and advised the driver for the second leg that we were aboard. I would use Viatour again: no add-on fees and everything is already checked out - so "one-stop shopping", hassel-free.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic day trip, would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We chose to use the cable car and mini buses to get further up the volcano. The weather was very wet but after a short delay, it went ahead. It was well worth it and the rain added to the atmosphere. My only criticism is that it was too short and we did not have enough time to also explore at 2000 metres. I would have loved to visit the Silvestri craters! We left the site at 2pm and was back in Taormina for 3.30 pm. We could easily have stayed longer!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a LONG trip but it is well worth it. It was interesting to see the landscape in the centre of Sicily. I would never have expected to see these amazing temples outside of Greece. The villa was also described as having well preserved mosaics. This is an understatement! They were amazing as was the whole villa. You can really imagine how it was to live back in Roman times. We had a heavy thunderstorm on the return journey with fork lightning and huge rainbows!

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour leader from the coach was helpful and friendly.
When we arrived at our destination, everything about our visit was clearly explained. You can stop at the first level and walk on a small crater, but this involved a much more slippery slope than higher up. Having a pre-booked ticket does not mean that you ‘queue jump’, as some people in the party thought, but it does mean you are all ready to go. The queue is because the cable cars are small, for just four persons. At the top, the small ski-type buses were waiting to take us to a smoking crater. Try hard not to be put off if you are a bit slow or elderly or have children with you. My husband is 65, has spinal problems and walks with a stick – tie your courage to the mast and do it! The guide was wonderful, waiting at intervals around the crater in order that those with children or less able walkers could keep up. His descriptions and answers to questions were very clear.
The views are breathtaking; indeed, the whole experience is breathtaking. This is the nearest we mortals will ever come to walking on the moon! We are well travelled and this day out will be among the most memorable of a lifetime.
You do need to take a fleece and possibly a waterproof as the weather can change very quickly. We were exceptionally lucky as the weather was superb and it was neither cold nor windy. We each wore only a light fleece. On the day of our visit, the wind was blowing the sulphur fumes away from us, but a buff would be useful on a colder and windier day to cover either head or mouth or both.
As the tour returns to Taormina in the afternoon, you do not need to buy lunch. We had red wine, mixed fruit and excellent cakes for two for around 10 Euros.
Make sure you ring the day before to confirm your trip and they will state time and place of departure,usually from your hotel or very close by.
Excellent value for money if you can afford it.
A fantastic day out!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was definitely a full-day trip. The portion of the trip that was focused on Mount Etna was exactly what we expected, and we enjoyed this very much. However, I expected something a little more dramatic on the Alcantara Gorges portion of the trip, based on the pictures advertised - instead, we had to pay extra to go into the gardens, and really, it was to see water flowing in a river downstream of the gorges. So perhaps the description of the trip was a bit exaggerated. However, I will say our tour guide was very knowledgeable (in three languages at a time, no less!); and I must mention that our bus driver did a fabulous job getting us around on some very tiny streets with challenging traffic.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great 1-day trip with visiting the awesome island Panarea and Panarea. Highly recommended to see, but for the host there is still room for improvement: the ship was totally crowded, to many people booked in for a such small place (some of them startet already to panic before the ship left Stromboli). The dinner on the boat was quite poor, therefore also not necessary during this trip. Some of the guests were preatty angry, because there was not enough space to sit and eat. Overall Impression: nice trip, but the organization has to be improved!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I would highly recommend going to the top of Mt Etna - it as great. The tour guide was a little bland and we didn't get much history and background. But what we actually saw on the tour was great - the gorge and etna were a must see.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

You get on a tour bus in Taormina, and then drive about an hour to Messina. From Messina, you meet other buses and all load onto a rather large cruise/ferry boat that goes around the Islands. You'll have approximately an hour and a half on Panarea (which is beautiful) and then cruise by some rocks on the way to Stromboli. Stromboli has an active volcano, which erupted while we were passing by. It was truly very beautiful. On Stromboli, you'll also have about two hours on the (volcanic) beach. Overall, I would do it again, but would look into staying on Pararea.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day out, the islands are a must see. Would have benefited from more detail about the day's activities and schedule but apart from the it was a great day out. The islands are stunning and a must see. We did our own activities on both islands instead of sticking with the tour group.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The day out was very good, well organised and managed, some 13 hours but enjoyable throughout, the boat was crowded but that was as expected. Only one thing presented a big problem, we were not staying in Taormina (11 miles outside) we hade planned to drive to the meeting point at the bus station DON'T do it Taormina is a nightmare to drive in arrange to be picked up en-route the coach makes many stops at other hotels or (bottom of the cable car has a car park) this would be lots easier. However, Panarea and Stromboli are worth the effort the boat sits off shore at Stromboli and you acn watch lava flows do their thing, quite remarkable and worth the trip on its own.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This Etna excursion was great. Mount Etna is incredible. It felt like we were on another planet. We took the tour to the summit. Mount Etna is 3323 meters high and we got to 3000 meters. The day was clear and warm. We truly enjoyed the top of Mount Etna. The Alcantara Gorges stop was just OK. Actually we were disappointed there. The railway ride was also disappointing. It circles around the base of Mount Etna, as mentioned in the tour description. However, what tripadisor did not mention is that it is a public train (even though it is a 1950's era train) and therefore stops to pick-up and let-off passengers. I think that skipping both the Alcantara Gorges and the train would have given us longer at the summit of Mount Etna, which to me was the highlight of the excursion. The guide on the bus spoke German, English and Italian. Whenever he described something on the way to Mount Etna, he did so in the 3 languages, changing the order in which he spoke all the time. However, it also meant that sometimes we were way passed the sight he was describing by the time he got to speak our language. These are things that Tripadvisor should consider and maybe improve on for this tour. But like I said, Mount Etna itself is fabulous and worth the money.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message