While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 233 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

andrei nicolae g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip. so many things to see, so many things to remember. Especially the trip on Etna Mountain was very interesting and the guide was great.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

andrei nicolae g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I liked very much this trip. Panarea so rustic. Stromboli impressive. I 'met' Ingrig Bergman there...!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Peter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a long day 10hours but worthwhile. Our guide Alfredo was knowledgeable and enthusiastic with a great sense of humor. The Circumetnea railway ride is a real plus but the Alcantara Gorges trip slightly irrelevant. Mount Etna is well organized and well worth while but, as advised, not for people with heart or breathing problems. I would happily recommend this trip to all fit and healthy people

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jess T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Whilst this is a long day tour, I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Sicily. The Valley of the Temples is a much larger area than we were expecting In a good way and the Roman Villa mosaics amazing. The tour also gives you a chance to explore more of the countries scenery. My mum is disabled on crutches so is slower, Elizabeth our guide was fantastic and walked with her whilst we had our tour from the local guide.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Jess T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My top tip for this tour is be prepared for temperature changes and have a warm coat. When we left Taormina it was 19C, 3000m up Mt Etna not only was it windy.... hello snow blizzard. We upgraded our tour to include transport to the top, it's worth it for the views and craters. My mum is on crutches, whilst it wasn't the easiest terrain for her we were aware it wouldn't be she did what she could and it was manageable.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Chitsanu K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Unique experience!
We visited on April 2016. The weather is highly windy such that the cablecar had to occationally pause the operation, and swinging travellers mid-air. There's no need to fear, it's just that it took us more time up and down than usual.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

meandpam Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommend this tour. 6.30am - 7.30pm. 500km travelled. Long day but worth it. Our guide Alfredo was fantastic, really knew his stuff and looked after us superbly. We travelled in a Mercedes mini bus and was very comfortable . Both attractions were excellent but the highlight was the mosaics at the villa. Haven't seen anything like it. So well preserved. Great photo opportunities. Great scenery along the way. Plenty of comfort breaks. Well done.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Shawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

GOod. On time and very clear!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Gretchen Cole United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour company that coordinated this trip did a great job. But the wind in midApril at the top of the crater was intense and very cold. Should have rented the coat from the shop at mid mountain!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Stephanie N

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Nice to see the islands but 2.5 hours free time on each island was far too long. An hour would have sufficed. We didn't get back until midnight which meant it was a very long day. Meal was very bad - tuna pasta and a carton of white wine. I expected more for such an expensive trip. Greta was a great guide though.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Douglas M New Zealand

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

This is a very long say. 1.5 hours by bus then another 1.5 hours by boat. Then 2 hours on the first island with little to do. Stromboli itself was great and we saw a red tinge at the top of the volcano at night. It would be better to offer this with a noon pickup and skip the first island.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Lesleyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an incredible tour! I met the bus at the Recanati bus station no problem and it was only an hour to the 2000m station where there are a number of shops and restaurants. People who don't upgrade stay here were they can walk to two dead craters. However, the price of the upgrade is worth every red cent. We took a cable car and then a 4x4 minibus to the 3000m level and got a guided walk around one of the four active craters at the summit. The highest and largest crater is off limits and given the amount of smoke pouring out of it, a visit there would be out of the question. On the walking tour, the guide dug down a foot and offered us a chance touch the bottom if we wanted. It was almost too hot to touch! That crater had erupted in 2002. When we were done with the walk, we could choose when we took a bus and cable car down. Once I got down, I even had time to visit one of the dead craters at the 2000m level. In total, we had 3 hours on the mountain and I never felt rushed. Please note that one cannot walk from the 2000 to the 3000m level in that time frame as one couple on our bus wanted to do. Hats off to our guide Lisabeth for a great day.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

All in all, a worthwhile trip. However, I feel you could eliminate the visit to the Alcantara Gorges. Also, I think there was too much time allotted for the Mount Etna ascension.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

causje

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Alcantara Gorges and the Circumetnea Railway Ride weren't that impressive but Mount Etna was amazing. You simply must climb this giant when you're in Sicily!

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Robert W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Long way to go to see a couple of nice villages. Stromboli did not perform as hoped.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Mario S Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A long but very interesting trip to two great places in Central Sicily, showcasing fantastic remains from the Greek and Roman periods of Sicily's history. Tour guide Lisabeth was giving very detailed background information regarding the two locations, while at Agrigento we had a very professional tour guide who brought the ancient sites to life. The trip is also a good opportunity to view the fertile countryside of this region of Sicily. A trip not to be missed.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

lisa.collins123

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

fab tour - Etna great, coach long and too packed but nice journey although squashed, tour operator awful - we booked the trip with train and to the top, leaves at 7am, couldn't reach the contact number and wasn't staying nearby, got lost was 4 mins late - they went without us!, we spent nearly 2 hours from 7am in S

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Weichen H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

I traveled alone so it's difficult for me to visit many place if only take public transportation. This is the only choice to meet my request visiting these 2 must-see places within one day. Good trip.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Cheryl E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Tour guide was helpful, funny and entertaining.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of my 22 day trip to Rome, southern Italy, and Sicily. Stopped to take photos and taste honey on the way to Mount Etna. I would definitely recommend to go to the near summit of Mount Etna and not to spend your three hours solely on the lower level. We had enough time to go on a cable car, then on a jeep, and take a 40 minute tour with a guide around the craters, return to the lower level and walk around the shops and Silvestra Crater. There are restaurants to get a sandwich. I would not recommend buying lava jewelry at Mount Etna. You can get it so much cheaper in Taormina.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was a packed day but worth it to see the two site. I would recommend that you stay near the local guide at Agrigento to hear what she has to say and also stay near the Viator guide at Villa Romana to get the most out of your day. For our lunch break, the Al Porticciolo Restaurant was recommended by our guide. I would not recommend going there at all-poor service, mediocre food, and flies galore. It is rated 20/21 on tripadvisor for restaurants in this area and after you dine there, you can understand why it is rated so low.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Elizabeth M S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I was very pleased to be able to do this tour from Taormina - my hotel was probably about 100 metres from the bus station. This made it almost door to door taking the hassle out of getting to the ferry for the voyage to the islands.
It was a long day but worth it.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Elizabeth M S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

My hotel was about 100 metres from the Taormina bus station so it was very convenient to be able to catch the bus to and from the boat as an inclusion to the days outing. It was a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Mike M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We really enjoyed this tour! When visiting Lipari the taxi tour around the island is essential. The tour costs 10 Euros and lasts about 75 minutes! It had incredible views as the taxi had photo stops along the way. The only downside was on our stop at Vulcano. There simply was not enough time if someone wanted to hike up to the crater. We were told the hike was 50 minutes to the top. After a brief introduction by the guide to the island, we had 1hour and 40 minutes to hike up, take in the views and pictures, and then hike back down. The risk was not worth missing the boat so we reluctantly never tackled it as it was too rushed.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message