While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 161 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous, like nothing on earth. We had a clear day which helped so the views were incredible. Other people at our hotel had cloudy days and were cold and a bit disappointed. It was like a moonscape at the summit. Guides didnt speak much english but were helpful. Not many toilets !!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good in every single way!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip to the top of Etna. Tour consists of approx. 75 mins on a bus, followed by a short cable car ride and then about 15 mins in a jeep to the top. Keep in mind the temperature difference between the town and the summit: When we were there in early June, the temperature was 30 C in Taormina town, yet we experienced thunderstorms, hail and torrential rain at the top! But even despite the poor visibility on that particular day, the scenery on Mount Etna itself was still beautiful - the landscape appears almost 'lunar'.

We particularly liked the fact that after the tour of the summit, you are free to choose whether to spend the remaining time at the summit or at the first or second stations. Only very minor quibble is that the bus left Etna relatively early and we were back at Taormina bus station a good half an hour before the advertised finishing time. But overall, highly recommended.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a fantastic day out. It's a long day and pretty tiring, but really worth it for the easy opportunity to see these islands. Panarea is a beautiful island with a nice little village. While there, we chose to eat at the restaurant called Antonio's, as recommended by our tour guide, and had a really nice meal. We thought the village on Stromboli was less picturesque and there was less to see there, but the really good part was afterwards when the boat pulls out and gives you the chance to see the sunset and the explosions of the volcano. Unfortunately there were no spectacular explosions when we went, but the weather conditions were great and the sunset was awesome. We were knackered at the end of the day and didn't get back to our hotel until around midnight - but it was well worth it.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour. Lots of variety and activity.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

excellent trip! It's a very long day, very hot and lots of walking. Bring plenty if water. Very informative, the guide was excellent!

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Knowledgeable tour guides at the top made the experience interesting even if it was a rather cloudy day.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a long long day from Taormina. Having seen the photos of the Valley of the Temples site the 'real thing' wasnt adding anything extra. The Villa on the other hand was stunning. There were so many rooms that were decorated it was unbelievable.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A delightful day out that was very well managed and led by Greta. Perhaps a little less time spent at Pinarea would have been ideal, particularly as it was known in advance that the swimming options there are limited and not very accessible. Otherwise, excellent.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a really fun day on this tour. It gives you a great chance to see what this part of Sicily has to offer, cramming quite a lot in to a relatively short space of time, without making it feel rushed. The star of the show is definitely the Etna trip - it's a fascinating place even though it was extremely cloudy at the top so there weren't many views to see!. I would urge people going on this trip to bring warm clothing, even if it feels like a hot day down below, as it's very cold at the high altitude and there were patches of snow on the ground even though we went in June and the temperature in Taormina down below was 30C..

The Alcantara gorges provided a nice walk around, though we didn't think they were particularly spectacular. Personally I think the tour could ditch the Randazzo part completely as it's not an especially nice village and there's not much to do there although the stop-off does provide an opportunity to grab lunch.

I feel it important to mention that a few things mentioned on the itinerary on the Viator tour didn't actually happen. For example:
- the guide did not come around the gorges with us we were left to walk around on our own
- there was no cable car on the trip and this was not even mentioned at any stage.
- the guide did not come with us to the craters: we were basically dumped out of the 4x4 and left to wander around on our own.
- disappointingly, we did not actually go to the summit. We went high up Etna, but not to the summit. The guide actually said to someone on the way back that it is not allowed for tourists to visit the summit any more - so why advertise otherwise?

None of these issues were massively problematic and we still had a good day, but it seems odd to mention things like this on the itinerary if they're not going to be provided, or even mentioned. I would urge Viator to revise the details provided on this site, so that they match what is actually provided.

Doing what: Mount Etna, Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful day was spent on the water , and in it when stopped at various locations

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour guide, Great lunch place with the option to eat at restaurant or bistro. The piazza Armenia was amazing. Perhaps if we could have bought some water bottles on the bus as the day was really hot and we really needed to have had more water.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. The circle additional cost tour was great a necessity really but not enough time to do that and have a little look around the city itself as we were on the bus. The vulcano trip was great with free time to do as we liked. Just a note that if you want to go into the mud baths DONT wear your best swimmers or your jewellery as they will get damaged.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Nature decides the star rating of this trip. If Stromboli is active then 5 stars, the day we went then 2 stars. The boat carried about 200 people and made unnecessary stops to Panarea and Stromboli to fill up the day. Stromboli eruptions are more active later, after this tour has left for home.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

we enjoyed our trip to the Aeolian islands. The scenery was beautiful and it was nice to check ou tthe two islands. I just think it was a very long day and I dont thnk I knew ahead of tine how much travel was involved in getting to the islands. The boat was also very crowded and may have been oversold so it was difficult for us to find good seating on the boat. We ended up having to sit on the stairs to the lower level of the boat. Our guide was great though and he did a nice job of narrating the trip.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was very interesting even though the weather was freezing. A surreal experience going to the summit of one of the world's most active volcano's. In my minds eye I was picturing heat, smoke, maybe even lava, I certainly wasn't prepared for 3meters of snow, minus 1 Celsius and blowing a gale. This tour is well worth doing but make sure you dress appropriately.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Good tour overall. Run by SAS. I probably would have taken the more expensive Aeolian Island trip if I had to do it over again. Not much to do in Lipari. Lots of gift shops. Not much historical to see on the walk.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Had to pay 20 euros to get to bus station, coach was waiting to pick us up elsewere, etna tour, paid to go up to top, but as it was raining, the poor guides, wouldnt quide, waited an hour, then had to go back down as we were running out of time. not a fab day !!!!

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

VERY poor - the islands and free time on them compensated. Hotel transfer. NOT 1 HOUR. Giardini - it took 2.30 hours each way and from Taormina - about 1.50 hours. Eruptions DO NOT happen every 30min as advertised. Boat was very busy and dinner was poor quality
-Impersonal and learned nothing.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip - excellent guide - exceptional driver - well worth the extra money to go to the top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day up a fabulous geological feature. It was very interesting and very beautiful and very awe inspiring.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

NOTE: everything below applies to the technical part of our journey on Saturday May 30th:

An absolute must-see attraction that will live long in the memory. We pre-booked through Viator and the tour was delivered by a buss company. Just to note, the price in Taormina to the summit and you really must go to the summit! was 88. If you're lucky with exchange rates then it works out just about cheaper than pre booking for 65, but that is a big if. In any case, those who left it to the day to upgrade their tour to the summit had to pay a hefty 60 increase on top of their original ticket!

The bus terminal is located on Via Pirandello on the right a few minutes after the cable car station, heading downhill. The clearly identified coach was large and comfortable. It arrived 15 minutes before departure and left on time. I wasn't asked to show my ID but your experience may be different. The journey up with accompanying tour guide was very scenic and provided amazing views along the way.

Elizabeth was our guide up to the bus station and she provided competent frequent tour guide speeches in English, Italian and German. We had phenomenal weather and were warned that at short notice things could change which would impact our excursion. Luckily they didn't for us but the next day the summit looked very cloudy and I'm sure would have impacted many visitors that went up on that day. So please check the weather in advance as best you can, because we just got lucky.

At the summit, you will change from the coach to a cable car for the last leg of the journey. After this is where you can rent clothes and gear: 3 boots /6 jacket rental about 50-70 to buy jackets. Hiking sticks were available too. Do you need to hire stuff? Well, we chose to take a chance and only wore our regular running trainers, jeans, and fairly thick jackets. I only put on my jacket halfway through our time at the summit when the wind picked up.

Phenomenal experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day but well worth the effort. The temples were great but do not do this on a very hot day. I have an arthritic ankle and use a walking stick but I was able to do this tour quite readily. There is a walk of about 2 miles or 5 km. Villa Romana del Casale was an absolute mind blowing experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message