While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous, like nothing on earth. We had a clear day which helped so the views were incredible. Other people at our hotel had cloudy days and were cold and a bit disappointed. It was like a moonscape at the summit. Guides didnt speak much english but were helpful. Not many toilets !!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a long long day from Taormina. Having seen the photos of the Valley of the Temples site the 'real thing' wasnt adding anything extra. The Villa on the other hand was stunning. There were so many rooms that were decorated it was unbelievable.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Nature decides the star rating of this trip. If Stromboli is active then 5 stars, the day we went then 2 stars. The boat carried about 200 people and made unnecessary stops to Panarea and Stromboli to fill up the day. Stromboli eruptions are more active later, after this tour has left for home.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

we enjoyed our trip to the Aeolian islands. The scenery was beautiful and it was nice to check ou tthe two islands. I just think it was a very long day and I dont thnk I knew ahead of tine how much travel was involved in getting to the islands. The boat was also very crowded and may have been oversold so it was difficult for us to find good seating on the boat. We ended up having to sit on the stairs to the lower level of the boat. Our guide was great though and he did a nice job of narrating the trip.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was very interesting even though the weather was freezing. A surreal experience going to the summit of one of the world's most active volcano's. In my minds eye I was picturing heat, smoke, maybe even lava, I certainly wasn't prepared for 3meters of snow, minus 1 Celsius and blowing a gale. This tour is well worth doing but make sure you dress appropriately.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip - excellent guide - exceptional driver - well worth the extra money to go to the top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day up a fabulous geological feature. It was very interesting and very beautiful and very awe inspiring.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

NOTE: everything below applies to the technical part of our journey on Saturday May 30th:

An absolute must-see attraction that will live long in the memory. We pre-booked through Viator and the tour was delivered by a buss company. Just to note, the price in Taormina to the summit and you really must go to the summit! was 88. If you're lucky with exchange rates then it works out just about cheaper than pre booking for 65, but that is a big if. In any case, those who left it to the day to upgrade their tour to the summit had to pay a hefty 60 increase on top of their original ticket!

The bus terminal is located on Via Pirandello on the right a few minutes after the cable car station, heading downhill. The clearly identified coach was large and comfortable. It arrived 15 minutes before departure and left on time. I wasn't asked to show my ID but your experience may be different. The journey up with accompanying tour guide was very scenic and provided amazing views along the way.

Elizabeth was our guide up to the bus station and she provided competent frequent tour guide speeches in English, Italian and German. We had phenomenal weather and were warned that at short notice things could change which would impact our excursion. Luckily they didn't for us but the next day the summit looked very cloudy and I'm sure would have impacted many visitors that went up on that day. So please check the weather in advance as best you can, because we just got lucky.

At the summit, you will change from the coach to a cable car for the last leg of the journey. After this is where you can rent clothes and gear: 3 boots /6 jacket rental about 50-70 to buy jackets. Hiking sticks were available too. Do you need to hire stuff? Well, we chose to take a chance and only wore our regular running trainers, jeans, and fairly thick jackets. I only put on my jacket halfway through our time at the summit when the wind picked up.

Phenomenal experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day but well worth the effort. The temples were great but do not do this on a very hot day. I have an arthritic ankle and use a walking stick but I was able to do this tour quite readily. There is a walk of about 2 miles or 5 km. Villa Romana del Casale was an absolute mind blowing experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was quite disappointed as the local guide who took us around the crater couldn't speak good english.
But with such awesome views it was hard to stay disppointed for long. Really worth the money for such a spectacular trip.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative guides both on the bus and on the walk around the crater. Would have loved more time but thats usually always the case. Would definitely recommend the upgrade.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip, very knowledgeable guide. I would recommend taking some very warm cloths if you intend to go to the top of Etna, which I would recommend as it is fascinating to see.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Solid tour with good value. Very informative.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Super trip and great value but a little too long.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is an excellent trip! We pre booked and paid 66 each, this included the air conditioned double decker coach from Taormina bus station with a guide speaking in English, Italian and German, he was interesting and helpful explaining the arrangements of the trip. We had warm weather and clear sky, when we arrived at the base of Etna we had a half hour break for snacks at a cafe and toilet break then we collected our tour pass from our guide which gave us access to the cable car ride, 4x4 minibus and guide round the lip of a crater. There were queues for the cable car but with our pass we walked past these and got straight on, the views were brilliant. At the top of the cable car ride we climbed into one of the 4x4 mini buses and were bounced around as it zig zagged up the side of Etna. We were then met by a guide and followed him up to and around the lip of a crater which he informed us was last active in 2002 and we were shown small areas of steam where the ground was increadibly hot. The tour was slow paced with plenty of time and space for some dramatic photographs of Etna, the crators and the views. One member of the group was on crutches and another with a damaged knee and both made it round fine. Our guide wasn't particularly informative other than this but showed us the way to walk and allowed everyone to take their time. We then got back on one of the waiting 4x4 minibuses and had about 30 minutes to buy food from one of the cafes and look in the souvenir shops before we were due back on pur coach. We took warm clothes, waterproof jacket, hat and scarf but due to the weather we only wore jeans, tee shirt and trainers. This was a fantastic, dramatic and relaxing trip.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

worth the upgrade!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic. Really worth while seeing but unfortunately like all tours never enough time but at least I have been there are have lots of photos to relive the experience.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a long trip. We left at 6.30am and was dropped of at about 8pm. But certainly worht it to see The sites. The trip is as described in the information. Does not include entry or meals. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

When you reach Lipari, there are many taxis offering a 1 and a half hour trip tour around the island.
I thought it was very worth the money, try to assemble a group of at least 4 people to lower the individual cost. Look for Giovanni from the company Pit Stop, he is a very nice chap and speaks good english.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Firstly, on a purely practical note, take a small bottle of water when walking around the Temples and also a snack of some sort. It's hot and takes about two hours and breakfast was a while ago. We also wished we had eaten the packed lunch we took rather than eat the 'lunch' that was on offer.

We arrived at the bus station at 5.45am as they asked us to be there by 6am and the coach left at 6.30am so there's no need to panic It's a very comfortable coach with air conditioning. You can't eat breakfast on the coach so it's worth knowing that there is a stop for breakfast and the loo at a motorway station at about 8.30 am. It's a long drive - about 3 hours in total, including the stop for breakfast. The Valley of the Temples is absolutely worth it though - they are huge and awe inspiring and surrounded by superb countryside and views of the sea in the distance and we were lucky to have an excellent tour guide for the morning. Our 'coach' guide was lovely but very talkative. .

Then we were taken to a beach restaurant for lunch with a choice of menus. The area where the restaurant is was about twenty minutes away and set on a beach. It's in a very poor, light industrial area but the beach, though windy, was silver sand and deserted. I ordered spaghetti with a tomato and basil sauce which translated to bottled pasatta and a tiny basil leaf on top of some pasta. Someone had a mozzarella salad which was a Pyrex bowl with chopped iceberg lettuce and a ball of mozzarella on the top . Pretty dire to be honest. A packed lunch would have been much better. The wine was ok though - it cost us about 16 each.

The Roman Villa is about an hour and a half from there. It is absolutely stunning. The mosaics were massive, almost perfectly preserved and of such beauty and skill that this visit alone was worth the trip. There are loos and places to eat if you're hungry.

The trip home was about three hours non stop and we arrived home at about 8pm. A long day but wo

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Coach and organisation excellent. Shame we experienced worst spring weather in 25 years according to a local artist.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a lot of fun. The islands were spectacular. We were a little bummed that we didn't see the kava flow at Stromboli but Mother Nature had other plans.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message