Siena ATTRACTIONS See all

Chiesa di San Domenico

St Catherine of Siena brought this basilica to prominence by taking her vows here in 1363 when she was just 15. Having had her first vision at the age of 6 near this church and deciding to follow a religious life from 7, she went on to lead a highly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1551 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding! We lucked out and only had the two of us and one other member on our tour. We loved everything about Siena, even its steep hills and will plan our next trip to Italy to coincide with the famous Palio de Siena, the horserace between the various contradas. Siena was the banking capital of Italy and has close ties to Rome as a result. And the she-wolves are everywhere!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Maria Teresa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour. The guide was excelent and the itinerary was well programmed. The only thing i regret is not beeing able to visit the Siena Cathedral .

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceptionally good value for the money. The highlight of our first trip to Florence. Cannot believe how much was packed into the day. There is no way we would have managed to see and experience everything that was included in the tour. The tour guide and arrangements throughout was first class and we all fell in love with San Gimignano which was something like out of a film set! Siena was also amazing and we were taken to places that were certainly off the main tourist routes. All in all a magical day and one that all our family will certainly not forget for a long while. Would have no hesitation in recommending this tour - worth every penny!!!

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Lesleyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to see the ancient towns. Martel was a great guide and it wasn't hard to find the bus stop near the train station. We got about an hour to explore San Gimignano which isn't hard - it's quite small. As Martel recommended, it's better to visit the fort for the views than climb the towers. After all, better to get pics of the towers than pics from the towers. Siena was much larger and we had much more time there. The square where the Palio takes place is amazing. We had time to get lunch and walk around and then got a walking tour and we got some great views of Siena on the walk. The day ended with a visit to a winery through a very scenic area and after a short stop in Greve, we headed back to Florence.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sylvia was a great tour guide, very informative and with a sense of humour. Good knowledge and also happy to answer any questions. Gave us great insights into Siena's people and history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

LYDIE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Cette excursion est très bien organisée. Notre guide dans le car et celle à Sienne étaient parfaites. Elles parlaient un français impeccable. Notre guide à Sienne nous a parlé de sa ville avec beaucoup de détails historiques. C'était une visite très intéressante. Les deux petits villages visités en Toscane étaient typiques et très dépaysant. Je recommande cette excursion.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

geraldineburton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous day, well paced and enjoyable. I would have loved a little more time in San Gimignano.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Judy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was excellent! The guides were wonderful and clearly enjoy doing what they do. The trip was extremely organized and ran very smoothly. We did a lot in one day and it was truly memorable!!

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great overview of the city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful experience. Our tour guide in Siena was engaging, she made the tour come to life. Sa Gimignano is beautiful. You need to be prepared to walk, a lot. Wear comfortable thick soled shoes. The uneven stones and inclines are numerous. The wine tasting was very informative. You will know all about Chianti when you are done. Highly recommended. Have fun.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Mrs B M Hurst H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Expire the pouring rain all day, this was a superb tour. The coach guide was absolutely fantastic, he never tired of telling us bits of information all along the route, spoke perfect English and Spanish. The walking guide in Siena was also passionate about her city and the wine tasting was a treat!
Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The best guide and the best information! Thanks so much

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I simply cannot say enough about the quality, value, and excellence of this tour. Our tour guide Keyko was superb. She was lively, cheerful, entertaining, and interested in us as well as the points of interest on the tour. She had accurate descriptions of the city that we were passing as we were leaving. She explained what the day would be like and gave us details all along the way. Our first stop in San Gimignano was perfect. Keyko took us to the very top of the city for an amazing view. She gave us options and opportunities to do what interested us the most. As we boarded the bus for Siena, she explained what the tour of that city would be like. She then offered us options for lunch and told us when to meet our local guide. The local guide Maria was phenomenal. She truly loved her city and exposed us to many places that were off the paths and not available to most tourists. As we boarded the bus for our stop at a winery, we saw the beautiful rolling landscape of Tuscany. The winery stop consisted of plentiful 'tastings' of wine, explanation of the wine, and some delicious local salami and cheeses. We then boarded the bus for a stop at Greve. Even though it was low season and later in the day, the town still welcome us and the quaintness of it was heartwarming. We then boarded our bus for our trip back to Florence where Keyko gave us dinner suggestions and even walked us to some excellent restaurants. Our bus driver Franco was an excellent driver, making us feel very safe and well taken care of. All in all, one amazing day!

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Jean D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The visit to these two towns was super. They were charming and steeped in history. We had a delightful day. Touring accommodations were great.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Andrew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had been to both places before many years ago. The tours showed and taught us more than we remembered. A good way to go.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Lynne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guide was very informative and her English was great. While Siena is small and we did go around it by ourselves, it was worth paying for the walking tour so that we could see things we would have bypassed or ignored and get the history as well. I recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Carl O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful day and tour...highly recommend this excursion!!!!

Very relaxing. An enchanting town, environment and history.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Sophie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip is totally worth it. All of our guides were exceptional, and most of them spoke more than two languages. Tuscany is known for it's countryside, great wine, and excellent food. San Gimignano is an adorable little town, and Siena is simply a must see. 10/10 would recommend

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Sally R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful trip. This was a great way to see some f the countryside outside of Florence.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Norie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was my favorite bus tour during my trip to Italy. It is definitely a must see especially if you love nature. Siena had such wonderful history and San Gimignano was a world of it's own.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

neda f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was lovely. The bus ride was very comfortable and the guide was very helpful and friendly. It was perfect I will recommend your company to others.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

david m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide and the service that provided the guide were excellent. Out guide loved her city and she made it come alive. It is clear she was not just going through the motions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message