The pretty Tuscan hill town of Montalcino is about 25 miles southeast of Siena, and perhaps best known for its exceptional Brunello di Montalcino wine. The founding of Montalcino is closely associated with the nearby Abbey of Sant'Antimo – ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dnmpm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The small group Brunello wine tasting tour was a highlight our recent trip to Italy. Marella, our driver/guide was both informative and fun. Our first stop was the small town of Montalcino, the center of Brunello wine production. We then visited three wineries, a nice sample of sizes and wine making styles and tasted three wines at each one. Marella was very information in describing the wineries and the beautiful Tuscan scenery. We had lunch at the home of one of the winery families and were treated as family guests. A delightful day in Tuscany.

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

wino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely DO this tour if you are in Siena. Our guide, Daniel, picked me up at the hotel and began what was one of the highlights of my stay in Italy. Daniel knew much about the region that is Brunello di Montalcino and with humor and insight created fascinating explanations about the wineries we visited, the regulations about Brunello wine, and the kind, interesting people who run the estates. Oh, and then there is the wine. Yea, if you love a Sangiovese wine, a small-group Brunello di Montalcino trip is definitely the tour for you!

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

Rainbow Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time. The trip was beyond expectation which involved visits to three winery, at one of which we were served homemade meal. We also visited the town of Montalcino and an abby. The mini-van for transportation was of well condition and the timing of the trip was well managed.
Mare, our guide, was talented and interesting. She showed knowledge, passion and understanding of Tuscany.

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

Sleek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour in Montalcino and the opportunity to taste various wines was amazing. The tour is very organized and our tour guide Elena was great. She is very knowledge about wine and the Tuscany region. The overall tour was outstanding and we highly recommend it.
The winery visits were very welcoming. We felt that the owners and staff went above and beyond to host the guest. So if youre a Brunello wine lover, this tour is a must! Hope you all enjoy it like we did. Cheers!

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

Ruud R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our group of 4 2 mid-lifers and 2 young 20s loved this trip. We visited wineries with interesting business models and tasted a variety of wines. Our guide was attentive to people's needs and added to the enjoyment of the trip with his knowledge of wine, the wineries and Tuscany. Overall the pace was good except we would have preferred a little less time at lunch for a little more time in Montalcino or just ending a little earlier. We highly recommend this tour for casual wine enthusiasts who want to taste several wines and take in some of the Tuscan countryside.

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

Stephen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Marella is an absolute dynamo.I Learned a lot about the culture and history about the place thanks to her. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole day affair with my group. Brunello di Montalcino trip was a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

Christina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a truly amazing and unforgettable experience. My husband and I are wine lovers, but we would recommend this tour to anyone! Our tour guide Danielle spelling? was great. He was so knowledgeable and personable. All 3 vineyards were very different, but each was incredible in their own way. Montalcino was beautiful and the Brunello wines are fantastic. We brought a few bottles home with us. Lunch was delicious and so fresh. We can't wait to go back and do this again!

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

jcelgin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was the highlight of our entire trip to Italy. It is so hard to believe how much we crammed in to one day. Starting with a morning in scenic Siena, we met our wonderful guide and wine expert who took us to three Montalcino wineries, each with its own distinct character. We had the best meal of our trip, home cooked by one of the winery owners. But I'm not even done. We ALSO visited an 800 year old church and saw monks chanting, and visited the castle at the top of Montalcino. Oh, and of course the wine was incredible. We were a little hesitant to book this tour because of the cost, but it was money very well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

merryberry China

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

While I had to admit that I'm not a big fan of wine, this tour completely exceeded my expectation. Daniel took us to places and wineries that we could've never known and found on our own. We visited three vineries and enjoyed them all. Montalcino might not be the biggest tourist destination but it was still a beautiful place.

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

Kenneth Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Of my Family's two weeks in Italy, this tour was the highlight of the trip. It was unanimously the best experience all 8 of us had. Even if you are not into wine, it is great tour. If you enjoy wine, then this is a must. The three vineyards (Piombaia, Molino di Sant' Antimo, and Il Paradiso di Frassina) were great, and all showcased differences in winemaking technique and philosophy. The Lunch we ate in one of the winemaker's homes was cooked by the wife of the vineyard owner, and was the best meal of our trip. We also enjoyed time in Montalcino, and a small church nearby. Milo, the tour guide did an amazing job and kept us informed with information about Siena, Montalcino, the local wines, and customs. This is a must see for wine lovers, or those who simply want to get a closer look at a more personal side of Tuscany. Set aside some extra money for purchasing some wines, you will definitely want to take some with you.

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

Vivienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Such a fantastic afternoon!! Our guide, Marianna was wonderful - and Brunello Wine Tasting was just fantastic! Beautiful setting; a lovely hospitable and fun host in Paulo, whose English was wonderful; and with a setting to die for........The abbey at Sant'Antimo was just beautiful in fabulous surroundings; and Montalcino picture postcard! The only negative for me would be that half an hour isn't really enough time to visit Montalcino........but all in all a hugely enjoyable afternoon; where we met some wonderful people, who will surely remain friends!! x

Doing what: Montalcino and Abbazia di Sant’Antimo Day Trip from Siena including Wine-Tasting

Elizabeth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour started in Sienna, which gave us the chance to explore the city, which was absolutely wonderful. Our guide picked us up. He was a wonderful man, who knew a lot about the region and shared lots of stories about Sienna and Florence history. We stopped along the way and had lots of photo opportunities. After some driving we got to Abbadia Ardegna, the winery where we walked around the factory and some vineyards. The absolute highlight was the owner of the winery, Mr. Mario. A vivacious and passionate about wine, 80 something year old man who has been working there for the majority of his life. He only speaks Italian, but whether you understand the language or not, you can still understand his passion for his winery and his Brunello de Montalcino wines! Otherwise the guide translates everything perfectly well into English. We tried several wines, which were delicious! After the wine tasting we drove on to Sant'Antimo which is a beautiful abbey. The architecture is sobre and gives space to reflect. On the ride back to Sienna all of us fell asleep in the car. I guess the wine tasting did it's work properly!

Thanks for a very wonderful and unforgettable day! The price and quality are a definite 5 star for us!

Doing what: Montalcino and Abbazia di Sant’Antimo Day Trip from Siena including Wine-Tasting

Kirsi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Trip was excellent. We had really good guide, who knew so much about wines and the region. Landscape is beatiful and wineries we visited were good. Day in Montalcino was absolutely great!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

James R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

When we left Siena is was a rainy cloudy day, but when we got to the mountains around Montalcino, there wasn't a cloud in the sky. The scenery was breathtaking. The town was quaint but with steep hills that would challenge anyone. Unfortunately, very few shops were open when we got to the town and the only food to eat was gelato. The abby was awesome too. We could hear the monks chanting while in there which was very nice. The wine tasting visit was better than your traditional sales pitch to buy wine. The guide there I think his name was Tony spoke no English the tour guide translated and was 80 years old. He flirted with all the women. The samples of wine and food passed out were very generous and the atmosphere there was fun. We were all a little tipsy on the bus ride home. It was a beautiful day. When we got back to Sienna, it was still raining.

Doing what: Montalcino and Abbazia di Sant’Antimo Day Trip from Siena including Wine-Tasting

Jay

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A nice trip, to two scenic spots. Most of the trip time was taken up with the wine-tasting: five wines and then grappa to wash it down. Unguided time of an hour in Montalcino more time would have been appreciated, and 45 minutes at the abbey Abbazia di Sant'Antimo, where 20 minutes was more than enough. But still, a nice inexpensive excursion to 3 interesting places in an afternoon 2-8 pm .

Doing what: Montalcino and Abbazia di Sant’Antimo Day Trip from Siena including Wine-Tasting

Cathy S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good tour overall.

Abbey was interesting but would be better if we had been there for the chants- they could sequence the tour to ensure that.
cons- No guided tour of Montalcino- bus dropped us off for an hour on our own

Doing what: Montalcino and Abbazia di Sant’Antimo Day Trip from Siena including Wine-Tasting

CRBaby

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A very nice afternoon! Really wanted to get to the Abbazia di Sant'Antimo, but Montalcino is also a favorite of mine. Despite a rainy day, I really enjoyed this tour. Only suggestion is a little more time in Montalcino.

Doing what: Montalcino and Abbazia di Sant’Antimo Day Trip from Siena including Wine-Tasting

John H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Nice tour but WAY overpriced. Our tour guide/driver Elena ? was very nice and very informative, but we were supposed to sample 3 wineries. The first Roggio Rubino was very well donequite informative, 5 tastings, great overview and discussion by the winemaker. The 2nd dei Barbi was really only lunch at the winerys public restaurantand only one bottle of wine on the table to be shared by 6 people.no background, no discussion, not even a hello from the winemaker. No comparison to another wine let alone even bringing out another bottle of the same wine, and no tastings. What a wasted opportunity not to have a different tasting with each of the three courses. We thought they were being stingy with the one bottle because there would be a tour and tasting after lunch, but that didnt happen. Found the same bottle they served us in a store that evening for 5!! And it was sitting next to the dei Barbi Brunello for 28!! Really?? We couldnt have sampled that?? Third winery Il Paradiso di Frassina/Mozart was well done, and the tour did stop along the way at the town and the abbey, but there are many other Brunello di Montalcino tours out there for less than half the price paid on this onethough they dont include lunch---but still, this was disappointing for the money, the marketing hype, and the expectations.

Doing what: Small-Group Brunello di Montalcino Wine-Tasting Trip from Siena

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message