Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum

The Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum is perhaps the best place in Singapore for a look at Chinese Buddhism. Located in the heart of Chinatown, the temple is believed to house a sacred relic of the Buddha, housed within a gold stupa inside the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tomi O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guide did an excellent job presenting the history and culture of Chinatown. We visited an herbalist, took part in the tea ceremony, learned about the wedding and funeral customs and the food of Singapore. It was a very interesting and educational tour.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

fionatully

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved this tour of Chinatown, and learned so much from our guide Siew Tin about the Chinese rituals around birth, death and marriage.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

francesrenteria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an excellent tour with Siew Tin yesterday. She was very knowledgeable and the tour was very interesting. We learned about customs surrounding food, marriage, death and tea. We've been to Chinatowns and China on multiple occasions but didn't know most of what we learned from our guide. It was three hours well spent.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

sj.reading

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had this tour to ourselves. I had booked the morning tour and it was truly wonderful. Our guide oozed knowledge and she was very amenable to spending time explaining various items of fresh produce for sale in the market. Our trip sped past in 'super quick' time, it was so fascinating. I love cooking and learning about produce with which I'm unfamiliar and this trip managed to provide insights into ingredients as well as an insight into some of the traditions of the Chinese community here in Singapore.
It was a great tour.
Wear your comfy shoes!

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

ostrip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent! An enjoyable intimate tour of Chinatown including tea and egg tart tasting-yum! Our guide Eliza explained lots of Singaporean customs and beliefs and answered all our questions as well as providing dining recommendations! We voted this our favourite tour ever.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Nora N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We enjoyed our tour with our guide very much and learnt a lot of the Chinese habits. We were lucky to be the only guests this morning and had the full attention of our charming guide.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Rob L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Loved it. Best tour I have been on. Great guide. Very informative- would highly suggest all my friends go on this tour

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Emerson R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I absolutely loved this walking tour. Our guide Bernard was knowledgeable, engaging and answered all my questions. It was a great way to learn about the Chinese culture, particularly rituals and traditions of birth, death and marriage. Would highly recommend this tour, ask for Bernard!

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

rebecca r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very interesting tour
Lot of interesting topics to discover in very nice group

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Barnard was an awesome guide who added personal touches throughout the entire tour! This is a not-to-be-missed tour while in Singapore!

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Natalia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Excellent tour. 2 and 1/2 hours flew and we did not even notice. Our party had children of 3 and 4 years of age and they did even show signs of disinterest or fatigue. Worth every penny. Will be signing for other tours for sure.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Jane A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We really enjoyed every minute of this tour and our guide was so generous in sharing her own first hand experiences plus her extensive knowledge about the life experiences of the community that she knew intimately. From the insight into the intriguing ingredients in the market, to the extravagant marriage traditions, the fascinating funeral rituals, and the partaking of several traditional beverages and delicious pastries, all included in the tour price, we had a wonderful time, a personal connection, and a marvelous introduction to several areas of interest that we could then follow up in our own time. Thanks Marcia for a most interesting and enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

di_law

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Ivy was our guide and she was terrific and certainly knew her stuff. Told us so much about the old ways of Singapore and the various uses of different herb. Well worth doing and it was like a private tour as there were only two of us that morning.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Keith B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

On the day we were the only two on the the Walking tour so we had the full attention of the Guide which was great. Very informative and learned a lot from the tour. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

adrick_fish2004

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A very informative tour. This is a great way to learn about the cultures that make up Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Arlene L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

There was a little confusion at the beginning because the guide did not have our names. After that she did a lovely job. The tour is exactly as outlined in thr description.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Paulette P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I very much enjoyed the tour AND our tour guide. She was very welcoming, knowledgeable and interesting!

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Peter W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Picked up at hotel, interesting tour of Chinatown and tea tasting was good. Learnt a lot about the rituals and traditions.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Kerry C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

My main complaint was the tickets stated that the tour started at 10.00am. We arrived at 9.45 to be told that the tour stared at 9.30. You need to make sure that your info is correct. We caught with the tour missing the first 15min. Once on the tour we found it very informative and the tour guide Ivy was excellent.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Jacquie

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Tour was late starting and then seemed to be a little rushed, good value for the price we paid but tour guide didn't seem that knowledgeable.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Terry

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

you can see all they show you by exploring for yourself

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Corinna K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Learning about the customs was interesting. I was disappointed to not have seen more of Chinatown. Only a few stops and sitting there for a long time. Not enough walking around!

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message