Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Changi Memorial and Chapel

Having moved from the prison site to its new location directly across the Changi Gaol in 2001, the Changi Memorial and Chapel is a testament to those prisoners of war who were made to suffer and perish during World War II. In the memorial, several ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Corney L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour with great guide. Very informative. We learned so much about many aspects of Singapore, a place like no other! The Changi Prison and Museum is amazing. Note that Gardens by the Bay is only a stop - not admission.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Pam H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was very informative. Changi is a very emotional 'step back in time' and it certainly makes you think. It is very humbling to see pictures and read stories about the suffering which people endured.
We would suggest all should visit and remember.

Doing what: Private Changi Chapel and Museum Tour from Singapore

Danijela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful walking tour, we felt very emotional at the beach and also the Changi chapel. Our tour guide was wonderful and very friendly wui wui you were great thank you for making the trip so wonderful..

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic guide, Maggie, was a fountain of knowledge about everything from politics to housing! Very interesting lady. The tour was vary good. First visit was to a monastery where an actual cremation was taking place in the crematorium below. We learned about burial and death customs for the different religions and nationalities that make Singapore their home. The Kranji war museum was interesting as was Changi museum. Lunch was excellent and well worth the money. We ran out of time at Gardens by the Bay so we didn't get to enjoy this part of the tour for more than 30 minutes due to tardy people on the bus. A great tour, worth doing.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Veronica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip around the island. We thought timings may have been a little tight but actually worked well. The guide was very informative. Changi Prison Museum and the Kranji Memorial are extremely moving. The Gardens at the Bay are stunning we spent 3 hours there without any trouble. The tour price only allows for the outside gardens but it is well worth S28 to go inside the different domes.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Keena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Changi tour was excellent and at times emotional. Our guide Sha was great and very knowledgeable. This tour is a must.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very interesting tour of the usually unseen parts of Singapore. The Changi museum was a bit disappointing. Very pleasant lunch.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Warwick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband and I were so impressed with our tour with Carol. We were so lucky to only have 6 in our group 4 Aussies and 2 Kiwis and so she tailored the tour to what we wanted to hear and do. We could have spent almost 1 day listening to her and browsing through the museum, instead of the 3 hour visit. My husbands father was a POW in Changi prison so being able to visit these areas, see the chapel although not the original,wander through the museum, listen to the stories was a very moving and quite emotional experience. Being able to pay our respects also was so very important. The staff even printed out my husbands fathers war history and details whilst he was imprisoned. There was so much to appreciate and we could have stayed longeras it was we didnt return back to Pasir Ris station till almost 6pm. It is an easy MRT trip to the meeting place and dont be anxious if you wondering if you are at the right point for meeting your tour guideliterally stand at the steps at Exit B and she/he will be there around 2.00pm. Thank you Carol for an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Laurence H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide on this trip Joo Ling was very interesting and informative. She seemed to work with the museum and had met many POW's who had returned to Changi at various times. Knew a lot about the museum and guided the group through and told lots of stories about the background of various items. On this tour you also get out to see the Battery gun. It is such a shame the actual prison was torn down and only a wall with two guard towers remain and you can see it driving by on the bus. Although the tour does not pick up from hotels it is very easy to get to the meeting point at Pasir Ris on the MRT, and was no problem at all.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Gregory J E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour, revealing all the suffering of war at Changi and surrounding areas! Our guide Wina was first class giving us insights into the cruelty, suffering and even some of the humour of the POWs while in captivity. She presented with some humour and had a vast knowledge of the tragedies that occurred , with a little personal history of her own families involvement! I would highly recommend this tour, our only wish was to have spent more time in the museum!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Gary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.It was quite emotional for me as my step father had been captured in Singapore in WW2 and had been a P.O.W in Changi and Railway for 3 years! Our tour guide Wui Wui was excellent and her knowledge of Changi history was excellent !! Would highly recommend this tour !!!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

catherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very informative and a great introduction to Changi and Singapore in the war years. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Changi Chapel and Museum Half-Day Tour from Singapore

Janet W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide was good and my husband was able to find his Aunts record of imprisonment in Changi during the war.
Also went to a beach where a lot of locals were killed and visited the edge of the airstrip and a big gun emplacement.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

ghousbey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Planning this tour, was a no brainer. Having a family member survive the Changi prison and the infamous death railway made the tour even more poignant. Just listenening to the guide, and trying to imagine how it was, brought tears to my eyes. I also learnt a lot form the experience that I didn't know as well, so for me, it was a very moving and humbling experience...

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Joan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really lovely tour. The visit to Kranji War Memorial was especially moving. Changi Prison should actually be said to be the museum not the prison which is still in use as a prison!! We has a lovely luncha dn the gardens by the bay was a lovely end to the day. The guide was really good and he was very knowledgable about all the places. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

susan g United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very knowledgeable guide. Had a nice day. Kranji war memorial and Changi museum were moving and fascinating. Could have done with more time at Changi as there are lots of artifacts and a lot to read. Lunch was good and we also enjoyed the temple. Gardens on the Bay were stunning. Perhaps could have done without seeing every public housing development on the island but it was a very good introduction to Singapore and gave an insight into how people live today as well as to the historical context.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Jan & Daz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about Changi and its history. We learnt so much more that we already knew.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Lucy A F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved this tour, very well organised. Tour guide was great. places visited were very interesting especially the Changi prison Museum. Lunch was nice. Only thing was we stopped at the waterfront overlooking Malaysia for about 30 minutes which was way too long.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

kjack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Definitely a must do. Would have like to spend more time at Changi prison though. Thank you to our Great Guide who gave us lots of information on Singapore and its pathway to Independence.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

kell09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very interesting tour. Well worth the money. The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Museum and Chapel were very moving places. The Lunch at the Naval Base was very delicious.
This tour gives a great insight into the second world war and the affect it had on Singapore. Our Guide was very Knowledgeable Recommend this tour..

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Gayle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour wax excellent. Out tour guide was very knowledgable.
The trip to Kranji was very moving and lovely to see how our soldiers have been remembered.

The trip to the Changing memorial was very relevant to me ax my 4 uncles were in there and I was able to see their names in the book.

Lunch at the restaurant by the sea wax very good ,great range of food and very well presented.

Gardens by the bay was a bit rushed but at least we got yo go there in the limited time we had in Singapore.

Great Tour would recommenf

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Mr Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An excellent value trip lasting a full day with a very knowledgable an interesting guide (named Foo). The morning was taken up with a tour of the western and north western side of the island. The Kranji War memroial is beautiful and poignant at this time of the year. I proudly bought my poppy there. The next stop was the Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery, a surprise as it wasn't mentioned in the itinery but for me the highlight of the day. The 13.8 metre 55 ton Buddah is an awe inspiring sight and the many Monestry buildings are beautiful. On to a very tasty lunch in Sembawang Park and then on to Changi for the Prison Museum tour. A very sobering place. Back to the coach for a drvie poast the Jahore Battery and then down the eastern side of the island to the Gardens by the bay. Things that also were not mentioned but we saw on the tour included the container port, the cable car to Sentosa island, Haw Par Villa (Tiger Balm Gardens), the various cemeteries, horticultural area, the site where the Japanese landed in world war two, the remaining Jungle areas and the various residential areas. All the while Foo was providing most interesting facts about the history and the modern way of life in Singapore. The tour was a fabulous experience and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Bruce W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Enjoyed this tour immensely. Our tour guide was very informative. Pity you don't get to see the inside of the Changi Prison, but that's Govt regulations.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Kylie Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful experience at the Changi Museum. The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke about each section in a personalised manner which was probably much better than doing the standard audio tour there. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We caught a taxi to the collection point in the morning but caught the MRT back which wasn't too difficult.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

suz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great way to get your bearings. Our guide was informative, especially knowledgeable regarding the Kranji War Cemetery, helping anyone looking for a particular grave site. We had a relaxing and plentiful lunch and Changi is a sobering and thought provoking experience that will stay with me. I highly recommend this tour; you'll get a good look round Singapore and a grasp of the history of the place.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message