Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Changi Memorial and Chapel

Having moved from the prison site to its new location directly across the Changi Gaol in 2001, the Changi Memorial and Chapel is a testament to those prisoners of war who were made to suffer and perish during World War II. In the memorial, several ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was very informative and had an emotional connection to the events depicted at the memorial museum. It was very moving to read and hear of prisoners' experiences and to see the persoanl stories told through photographs and diary entries and art work. We had a good look around and travelled to Changi Beach to see wthe site of a massacre as well.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic trip. Guide very knowledgeable. The visit to Kranji war memorial and Changi war prison was very moving. The Chinese temple was beautiful, and the lunch was excellent.i would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an experience to remember especially the Kranji War Memorial and the Changi Prison. I was unaware of the atrocities these people suffered at the hands of the Japanese, so it was an eye opener and Foo our guide was just wonderful with his tales. The War Memorial is a lovely place and so well maintained all the soldiers are really at peace there. The Gardens by the Bay were so great we went back the next day for a good look around and boy what an eye opener that was. A fantastic tourist attraction and definitely worth a second visit if I go again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had the best tour!!! The guide was very very well versed in the history of what we were seeing.

The aborted attempt by the British Army to repel the Japanese was one of the greatest blunders in the history of war and thus led to the infamous Changi Prisoner of war camp where hundreds of soldiers either starved or were beaten to death. You can feel it in the war Museum.

A very moving exoerience.

The rest of the tour was also very good particularly the visit to the Garden by the Bay.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We made our way by taxi from an hotel near Orchard Rd to a local shopping centre near Changi where we met the tour. The taxi ride was inexpensive at about $15 but if you are prepared to use a little more time it would have been easy enough to catch the train. The local train/tube system (MRT) is extensive, cheap and easy to use.
Once there we met up with our guide and were conducted to an air conditioned coach for the tour. There were about 15 people in our group, so not too large.
From there we were taken to the Changi Museum with several significant sites pointed out and explained along the way.
The museum was small but well presented.
From the museum we went to one site of the British artillery batteries for a brief stop, with several other sites pointed out along the way.
Finally we visited Changi Beach, the site of the mass execution of a number of Chinese locals shortly follow my the Japanese occupation.
The tour finished when we were dropped back at the pick up point.
Throughout, the commentary was informative, clear and engaging.
As an Australian visiting Changi in honour of the many Australians who suffered there as POW's during WWII I was very pleased about the sensitivity and knowledge of our guide, Helena.
What I was not expecting was Helena's clear presentation about the impact of the Japanese occupation of Singapore on the general population and the Chinese population in particular.
She also talked about how WWII marked the death knell for British Colonialism in Singapore and Malaysia and finished up with a potted social and political history of Singapore and Malaysia to the present day.
I found the tour as a whole to be a moving tribute to all, military and civilian, who suffered and died during those dark days; and a tribute to this small nation that has pulled itself from the ashes of that tragedy into what appears to be a bright future.
Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour, covered a good number of items with enough time at all attractions (bar the gardens by the bay - but its the last stop so you can make your way home yourself like we did)
Kranji was amazing, Changi memorial was a good reminder about how bad the war was.
Good commentary with facts all along the way too.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Guide very informative and easy to understand. Good value. Changi Chapel and Museum very interesting.

Doing what: Changi Chapel and Museum Half-Day Tour from Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting.our guide,krish,was really informative and we learned a lot about singapore both past and present.
The war memorial and changi were well worth the visit and the lunch was good.
Overall this is a tour that should not be missed

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was very friendly and extremely informative. We were eager to learn more about the history of Changi and this tour was very comprehensive.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great tour. Most informative and educational. Highlight was the Changi Prison and Chapel and we did enjoy Gardens by the Bay. Our guide was very knowledgible with historical WW 11 information. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Helena was a fantastic tour guide, adding insights in between facts as she lead us around each location which really made the tour a unique experience. We could have listened to her all day! I have no personal connection to the Changi history, but everything I saw, read and heard on this tour has made me want to continue reading the stories that have shaped Singapore into the amazing country it is today. I think all cultures can appreciate this tour. Booking through Viator was also quick and stress free and I'd happily do the whole thing again. A big thank you to fellow reviewees :)

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an amazing experience. Helena was the best tour guide I've ever had worldwide. I'm really thankful for the work she and the Museum are doing to preserve Singapore's history in the face of constant development.

I'll definitely do more Changi tours when I'm in Singapore next.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent. The pick up and drop off went off without a hitch. We enjoyed a really informative commentary by our guide. The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Memorial were very moving. The Buddhist Temple, simply spectacular and the lunch provided was really delicious.
Really terrific day for first time visitors to Singapore!

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Helena our tour guide was awesome. She oozed passion and knowledge. The tour was well planned and cover some great historical spots. Bonus I was able to find my grandfather's name on the POW list and got a copy. Highly recommended for anyone interested in Singapore history or have links to Changi.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

There was a lot of waiting around before the tour actually started, but once we got going, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of information about Changi specifically and Singapore generally. Changi itself was excellent… a very well laid out museum, and gave enough information without being either too overwhelming or too superficial. The stop at the Tampines (a suburb in Singapore) and the visit to the Malay quarter were interesting. A must see while in Singapore.

Doing what: Changi Chapel and Museum Half-Day Tour from Singapore

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message