Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Changi Memorial and Chapel

Having moved from the prison site to its new location directly across the Changi Gaol in 2001, the Changi Memorial and Chapel is a testament to those prisoners of war who were made to suffer and perish during World War II. In the memorial, several ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really lovely tour. The visit to Kranji War Memorial was especially moving. Changi Prison should actually be said to be the museum not the prison which is still in use as a prison!! We has a lovely luncha dn the gardens by the bay was a lovely end to the day. The guide was really good and he was very knowledgable about all the places. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

susan g
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very knowledgeable guide. Had a nice day. Kranji war memorial and Changi museum were moving and fascinating. Could have done with more time at Changi as there are lots of artifacts and a lot to read. Lunch was good and we also enjoyed the temple. Gardens on the Bay were stunning. Perhaps could have done without seeing every public housing development on the island but it was a very good introduction to Singapore and gave an insight into how people live today as well as to the historical context.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about Changi and its history. We learnt so much more that we already knew.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved this tour, very well organised. Tour guide was great. places visited were very interesting especially the Changi prison Museum. Lunch was nice. Only thing was we stopped at the waterfront overlooking Malaysia for about 30 minutes which was way too long.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Definitely a must do. Would have like to spend more time at Changi prison though. Thank you to our Great Guide who gave us lots of information on Singapore and its pathway to Independence.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very interesting tour. Well worth the money. The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Museum and Chapel were very moving places. The Lunch at the Naval Base was very delicious.
This tour gives a great insight into the second world war and the affect it had on Singapore. Our Guide was very Knowledgeable Recommend this tour..

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour wax excellent. Out tour guide was very knowledgable.
The trip to Kranji was very moving and lovely to see how our soldiers have been remembered.

The trip to the Changing memorial was very relevant to me ax my 4 uncles were in there and I was able to see their names in the book.

Lunch at the restaurant by the sea wax very good ,great range of food and very well presented.

Gardens by the bay was a bit rushed but at least we got yo go there in the limited time we had in Singapore.

Great Tour would recommenf

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An excellent value trip lasting a full day with a very knowledgable an interesting guide (named Foo). The morning was taken up with a tour of the western and north western side of the island. The Kranji War memroial is beautiful and poignant at this time of the year. I proudly bought my poppy there. The next stop was the Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery, a surprise as it wasn't mentioned in the itinery but for me the highlight of the day. The 13.8 metre 55 ton Buddah is an awe inspiring sight and the many Monestry buildings are beautiful. On to a very tasty lunch in Sembawang Park and then on to Changi for the Prison Museum tour. A very sobering place. Back to the coach for a drvie poast the Jahore Battery and then down the eastern side of the island to the Gardens by the bay. Things that also were not mentioned but we saw on the tour included the container port, the cable car to Sentosa island, Haw Par Villa (Tiger Balm Gardens), the various cemeteries, horticultural area, the site where the Japanese landed in world war two, the remaining Jungle areas and the various residential areas. All the while Foo was providing most interesting facts about the history and the modern way of life in Singapore. The tour was a fabulous experience and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Enjoyed this tour immensely. Our tour guide was very informative. Pity you don't get to see the inside of the Changi Prison, but that's Govt regulations.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful experience at the Changi Museum. The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke about each section in a personalised manner which was probably much better than doing the standard audio tour there. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We caught a taxi to the collection point in the morning but caught the MRT back which wasn't too difficult.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great way to get your bearings. Our guide was informative, especially knowledgeable regarding the Kranji War Cemetery, helping anyone looking for a particular grave site. We had a relaxing and plentiful lunch and Changi is a sobering and thought provoking experience that will stay with me. I highly recommend this tour; you'll get a good look round Singapore and a grasp of the history of the place.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! This was our first tour in Singapore. Our guide was so informative we learned so much not only about Changi POW camp and Kranji War Memorial but all about Singapore. This tour gave us a real insight into Singapore's history as well as modern Singapore. We had a delightful chinese style banquet lunch with iced tea. Would definitely recommend this tour and would recommend this as a first tour so to get your bearings of where things are as it takes you all around the island.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was very informative and had an emotional connection to the events depicted at the memorial museum. It was very moving to read and hear of prisoners' experiences and to see the persoanl stories told through photographs and diary entries and art work. We had a good look around and travelled to Changi Beach to see wthe site of a massacre as well.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic trip. Guide very knowledgeable. The visit to Kranji war memorial and Changi war prison was very moving. The Chinese temple was beautiful, and the lunch was excellent.i would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an experience to remember especially the Kranji War Memorial and the Changi Prison. I was unaware of the atrocities these people suffered at the hands of the Japanese, so it was an eye opener and Foo our guide was just wonderful with his tales. The War Memorial is a lovely place and so well maintained all the soldiers are really at peace there. The Gardens by the Bay were so great we went back the next day for a good look around and boy what an eye opener that was. A fantastic tourist attraction and definitely worth a second visit if I go again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message