Katong District is one of the more noticeable neighborhoods in Singapore, lined with 19th century villas and mansions belonging to some of the richest folks in the country. With many of its inhabitants coming from the Far East, the town is also ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour local tour guide was excellent a very interesting tour

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour conducted by a very informative Tour Guide.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mr Foo was a very informative guide who told and showed us many interesting facts on herbs,traditions and history of the Peranakan people. The store where we had food tasting was like a small museum with many artefacts , it also sold food stuffs.
The actual museum we visited was excellent

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

Fezwyck
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. I really enjoyed seeing how spices grow in Fort Canning, the museum and food.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

If you like learning about other cultures then this the tour to do. It was my favourite and Phillip our guide, who was one of the Peranakan people was so lovely and informative. The whole tour was totally. Enjoyable.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

i didn't go the tour because I joined 2 tours. The 1st tour, the guide just left me at the Botanic garden where no public transportation because he didnt mention where to wait and I wait at difference place. I asked to cancel the 2nd tour 48hours in advance but Viator said the local agent Tour East wouldnt refund!!!

I called local tour agent...no APOLOGY. Only blaming I was responsible and "FUNNY" that only 4ppl were left behind.

Itinerary included 15 mins 5 place which gem factory is not in itinerary.

VIATOR will only gave me their terms and conditons! They sold me to the local agent!!! They hv nothing to do!!!

If you want to try how to be abandoned under hot and no transportation... go for their tour!!! EXTREME EXPERIENCE!!!!

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was really interesting, guide knew a lot and gave extra information on the herb and spices in garden. Museum tour he also explained much more than we would of seen walking it alone, wasn't sure of this when I booked it but found it full of different things.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Absolutely fabulous. We had a great time. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had a very good sense of humour which made our excursion very enjoyable. The visit to the Peranakan shop house was excellent and our food guide was very knowledgeable and dexterous - I don't know that I can do the proper folds to make that delicious food parcel. The Peranakan museum is a little jewel which was well explained by our guide. All in a all, a well worthwhile tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A highlight of our trip - a must do!!

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an interesting tour, which one would not be able to do on ones own. The information of Peranakan food was interesting and the food tasted great. the visit to the Peranakan museum was interesting.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We did several tours on Singapore with different companies but without question this was the best. It was a great mix of history and culture with the promise of some authentic Peranakan food at the end. Our guide (Mr Foo) was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining - so much so we booked up for another tour with him. We'd recommend this over the normal city tour to get behind the scenes in Singapore...

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

I loved this tour. Part of it may have been partly due to my travel companions.We were a small group of six and thoroughly enjoyed the Pernakan Museum and the tea and snacks that followed. Walking through the spice garden wasn't that interesting to me, but was the first time I'd found any green space in Singapore and no crowds and that was WONDERFUL!

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The tour was very informative. It gave us an insight in to the Singaporean culture and Peranakan heritage. The visit to the museum was a highlight for us.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The tour was very informative. It gave us an insight in to the Singaporean culture and Peranakan heritage. The visit to the museum was a highlight for us.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My daughters and I took the Peranakan trail tour recently and were absolutely delighted. Our host was very knowledgeable and clearly enjoyed his subject. We were taken to a Peranakan woman's home where she made dumplings and talked with us about her food and culture. It was a unique experience and very worthwhile. We were also the only ones on the tour, so received lots of attention.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message