Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Kranji War Memorial

The Kranji War Memorial, located in northern Singapore, is an impressive structure built in 1946 immediately following the Second World War to commemorate the soldiers from the allied and regional countries who fought and died protecting Malaysia ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nancy was an excellent guide and this tour is a very worthwhile experience. Thank you for helping me understand not only Australia's involvement in the Battle of Singapore but also the other Allied forces involved and that of the Singapore people. The tour of the Battle Box the underground command centre constructed under Fort Canning was very good, followed by the comfortable bus trip to Kranji War Memorial. We had been there the day before for the Anzac Day Dawn Service but seeing the memorial again at a quieter time with a smaller group gave us more time to walk amongst the graves and reflect upon reading the headstones with the added advantage of being able to ask questions of Nancy. This tour is the perfect compliment to the Changi WW2 War Trail and Museum Tour, so I recommend both tours if you are in Singapore long enough.

Doing what: Singapore 1942 Battlefield Tour

Joyce G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a fantastic tour and well worth the money. The lady who did the commentary was wonderful. Her knowledge of Singapore was comprehensive. She spoke clearly and slowly so that she could be understood. Each time we made a stop we were given plenty of time to look around. The Kranji war memorial was moving Although we could not go into Changi Prison itself, we were able to look around Changi Chapel and Museum. This was very interesting. We were given the opportunity to stay at the Gardens by the Bay or return to our hotel. Lunch was provided at a local Chinese restaurant on the coast facing Malaysia. It was delicious. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Judy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was knowledgeable and was able to teach us lots about Singapore's history during the war. The Kranji War Memorial is a very moving place to visit. Highly recommend it as a way to give honor to those who died in the war.

Doing what: Singapore 1942 Battlefield Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic guide, Maggie, was a fountain of knowledge about everything from politics to housing! Very interesting lady. The tour was vary good. First visit was to a monastery where an actual cremation was taking place in the crematorium below. We learned about burial and death customs for the different religions and nationalities that make Singapore their home. The Kranji war museum was interesting as was Changi museum. Lunch was excellent and well worth the money. We ran out of time at Gardens by the Bay so we didn't get to enjoy this part of the tour for more than 30 minutes due to tardy people on the bus. A great tour, worth doing.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Veronica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip around the island. We thought timings may have been a little tight but actually worked well. The guide was very informative. Changi Prison Museum and the Kranji Memorial are extremely moving. The Gardens at the Bay are stunning we spent 3 hours there without any trouble. The tour price only allows for the outside gardens but it is well worth S28 to go inside the different domes.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Bettine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent tour with a very informative guide who gave us time to take in the various sites we visited. This was particularly important for the visit to Kranji War Memorial

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Joan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really lovely tour. The visit to Kranji War Memorial was especially moving. Changi Prison should actually be said to be the museum not the prison which is still in use as a prison!! We has a lovely luncha dn the gardens by the bay was a lovely end to the day. The guide was really good and he was very knowledgable about all the places. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

susan g United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very knowledgeable guide. Had a nice day. Kranji war memorial and Changi museum were moving and fascinating. Could have done with more time at Changi as there are lots of artifacts and a lot to read. Lunch was good and we also enjoyed the temple. Gardens on the Bay were stunning. Perhaps could have done without seeing every public housing development on the island but it was a very good introduction to Singapore and gave an insight into how people live today as well as to the historical context.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

doovywacky Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour of the island with a lovely lunch included. Attractions were interesting however we were given 45 minutes at the Kranji War Memorial which was way too long. 20 minutes was more than enough. The other 25 minutes should have gone on Gardens By The Bay as there was only 20 minutes allowed there. We ended up staying and getting a taxi back later as it is kind of pointless only going for 20 minutes. The tour guides commentary flowed nicely and was interesting to listen to. A great full day tour.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

kell09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very interesting tour. Well worth the money. The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Museum and Chapel were very moving places. The Lunch at the Naval Base was very delicious.
This tour gives a great insight into the second world war and the affect it had on Singapore. Our Guide was very Knowledgeable Recommend this tour..

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Gayle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour wax excellent. Out tour guide was very knowledgable.
The trip to Kranji was very moving and lovely to see how our soldiers have been remembered.

The trip to the Changing memorial was very relevant to me ax my 4 uncles were in there and I was able to see their names in the book.

Lunch at the restaurant by the sea wax very good ,great range of food and very well presented.

Gardens by the bay was a bit rushed but at least we got yo go there in the limited time we had in Singapore.

Great Tour would recommenf

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Mr Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An excellent value trip lasting a full day with a very knowledgable an interesting guide (named Foo). The morning was taken up with a tour of the western and north western side of the island. The Kranji War memroial is beautiful and poignant at this time of the year. I proudly bought my poppy there. The next stop was the Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery, a surprise as it wasn't mentioned in the itinery but for me the highlight of the day. The 13.8 metre 55 ton Buddah is an awe inspiring sight and the many Monestry buildings are beautiful. On to a very tasty lunch in Sembawang Park and then on to Changi for the Prison Museum tour. A very sobering place. Back to the coach for a drvie poast the Jahore Battery and then down the eastern side of the island to the Gardens by the bay. Things that also were not mentioned but we saw on the tour included the container port, the cable car to Sentosa island, Haw Par Villa (Tiger Balm Gardens), the various cemeteries, horticultural area, the site where the Japanese landed in world war two, the remaining Jungle areas and the various residential areas. All the while Foo was providing most interesting facts about the history and the modern way of life in Singapore. The tour was a fabulous experience and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Diane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic. The tour guide was brilliant and knowledgable. Most memorable was the trip to Kranji where my Uncle was buried. First one in my family to visit his grave. Very emotional time and plenty of time on the program to linger a while. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

suz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great way to get your bearings. Our guide was informative, especially knowledgeable regarding the Kranji War Cemetery, helping anyone looking for a particular grave site. We had a relaxing and plentiful lunch and Changi is a sobering and thought provoking experience that will stay with me. I highly recommend this tour; you'll get a good look round Singapore and a grasp of the history of the place.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Bronnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! This was our first tour in Singapore. Our guide was so informative we learned so much not only about Changi POW camp and Kranji War Memorial but all about Singapore. This tour gave us a real insight into Singapore's history as well as modern Singapore. We had a delightful chinese style banquet lunch with iced tea. Would definitely recommend this tour and would recommend this as a first tour so to get your bearings of where things are as it takes you all around the island.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

joyce16657

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic trip. Guide very knowledgeable. The visit to Kranji war memorial and Changi war prison was very moving. The Chinese temple was beautiful, and the lunch was excellent.i would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

SUZANNE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an experience to remember especially the Kranji War Memorial and the Changi Prison. I was unaware of the atrocities these people suffered at the hands of the Japanese, so it was an eye opener and Foo our guide was just wonderful with his tales. The War Memorial is a lovely place and so well maintained all the soldiers are really at peace there. The Gardens by the Bay were so great we went back the next day for a good look around and boy what an eye opener that was. A fantastic tourist attraction and definitely worth a second visit if I go again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Denise C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A brilliant day with an excellent guide who knew his history inside and out (and probably back to front!). He was a mind of information. The visit to the Kranji War Memorial was very moving, and the whole area is kept in spit spot condition by the team of hard working gardeners.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Blake P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour, covered a good number of items with enough time at all attractions (bar the gardens by the bay - but its the last stop so you can make your way home yourself like we did)
Kranji was amazing, Changi memorial was a good reminder about how bad the war was.
Good commentary with facts all along the way too.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Julie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent. The pick up and drop off went off without a hitch. We enjoyed a really informative commentary by our guide. The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Memorial were very moving. The Buddhist Temple, simply spectacular and the lunch provided was really delicious.
Really terrific day for first time visitors to Singapore!

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Julie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

George H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was my first opportunity for a Viator tour and I'm so glad we did. It was an outstanding way to have a very complete tour of the whole island of Singapore. We originally signed up for the tour since we wanted to see the Kranji War Memorial and museum but it is much, much more. The bus went all around the island, into and through - very thorough. We found out all about the history, including WW II, the people, industry, retirement system, housing, road system, current events, -- you name it, we learned it. Great guide. I highly recommend this tour and will go out of my way to take another Viator tour in the future.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Neil B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great way to see the island, tour guide was very informative, both Kranji and Changi very moving and worthwhile seeing

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Michelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great tour that shows a different part of Singapore in all four directions - it truly is a round island tour. Kranji cemetery and the Changi chapel were moving experiences. The temple is huge and colourful and lunch was amazing.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Museum were very sobering to visit, beautifully kept, a memorial to be proud of. The tour was a great way to get an overall view of the island.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message