• USD ($)
  • English

Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Kranji War Memorial

The Kranji War Memorial, located in northern Singapore, is an impressive structure built in 1946 immediately following the Second World War to commemorate the soldiers from the allied and regional countries who fought and died protecting Malaysia ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent. The pick up and drop off went off without a hitch. We enjoyed a really informative commentary by our guide. The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Memorial were very moving. The Buddhist Temple, simply spectacular and the lunch provided was really delicious.
Really terrific day for first time visitors to Singapore!

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was my first opportunity for a Viator tour and I'm so glad we did. It was an outstanding way to have a very complete tour of the whole island of Singapore. We originally signed up for the tour since we wanted to see the Kranji War Memorial and museum but it is much, much more. The bus went all around the island, into and through - very thorough. We found out all about the history, including WW II, the people, industry, retirement system, housing, road system, current events, -- you name it, we learned it. Great guide. I highly recommend this tour and will go out of my way to take another Viator tour in the future.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great way to see the island, tour guide was very informative, both Kranji and Changi very moving and worthwhile seeing

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great tour that shows a different part of Singapore in all four directions - it truly is a round island tour. Kranji cemetery and the Changi chapel were moving experiences. The temple is huge and colourful and lunch was amazing.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Museum were very sobering to visit, beautifully kept, a memorial to be proud of. The tour was a great way to get an overall view of the island.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

this was a gem. haw par was different and the kranji and changi experience is special from a history perspective and only reinforces that there are no winners in war, only dead troops

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent and interesting tour !! ,Carol was an expert guide even went well out of her way to meet us at Little India MRT!, .We had lived in Singapore 10 years ago for a year and only ever went to Changi so this tour was great to hear about the significance of the sites of Mt Faber and Labrador Nature Reserve ,we also went to the Kranji War Memorial and it was very moving for me when we had a minutes silence that I had a lady next to me crying that had come to see a relative's resting place.

Doing what: Singapore 1942 Battlefield Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

The guide had exceptional knowledge and was able to answer all questions. She was happy and obliging. We weren't rushed and were given all the time we needed. The Kranji War cemetary was very moving, and is a must see for those visiting Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore 1942 Battlefield Tour

Lindsay M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was most informative and educational under the leadership of our guide. He was a wealth of information and very entertaining as we were taken through the various stages of the invasion of Singapore and final surrender. This tour included a visit to Kranji cemetery, the final resting place of many of the people that did not survive the occupation of the island. The information we received also cleared up many myths surrounding the invasion and final surrender. We would recommend this experience to anyone that has an interest in the history of the second world war and the fall of Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore 1942 Battlefield Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed kicking back and letting someone else drive, but with such a small amount of people on the tour, a smaller vehicle may have added to the atmosphere a little. Booking, confirmation and pick up was very easy and the trip very relaxed. Our guide was very good and gave us lots of excellent information about not only our destinations but Singapore in general, our congrats to him. We both felt that the time at the Changi Prison could have been longer, more time to read the exhibits and maybe a bit more going inside the temple visit, we only just walked round outside and it would have been good to see more internals. It was good that you could choose to stay with the tour at the last stop or find your own way around Gardens by the Bay, we decided to stay longer and pay the extra to go inside the domes, both excellent displays.
The lunch was also good, nice location and the chinese meal was very good, maybe offer an alternative for those that cannot eat seafood.
I would recommend two things, have water on board the busand maybe a quick toilet stop mid way to the Kranji War Memorial.
If you are after a fast paced day with lots of action, this is not for you, if you would like a nice easy day touring the Island and getting some very good background while visiting some very good sights, then book this trip.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Interesting tour, enjoyed it. Guide was helpful with lots of information re experiences of the local people during the war. Moving experience visiting the Changi Prison and Kranji War memorial. Gardens by the Bay well woth seeing.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Excellent, our host Maggie was very knowledgeable, really moved going to Kranji and Changi

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message