Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Kranji War Memorial

The Kranji War Memorial, located in northern Singapore, is an impressive structure built in 1946 immediately following the Second World War to commemorate the soldiers from the allied and regional countries who fought and died protecting Malaysia ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour wax excellent. Out tour guide was very knowledgable.
The trip to Kranji was very moving and lovely to see how our soldiers have been remembered.

The trip to the Changing memorial was very relevant to me ax my 4 uncles were in there and I was able to see their names in the book.

Lunch at the restaurant by the sea wax very good ,great range of food and very well presented.

Gardens by the bay was a bit rushed but at least we got yo go there in the limited time we had in Singapore.

Great Tour would recommenf

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An excellent value trip lasting a full day with a very knowledgable an interesting guide (named Foo). The morning was taken up with a tour of the western and north western side of the island. The Kranji War memroial is beautiful and poignant at this time of the year. I proudly bought my poppy there. The next stop was the Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery, a surprise as it wasn't mentioned in the itinery but for me the highlight of the day. The 13.8 metre 55 ton Buddah is an awe inspiring sight and the many Monestry buildings are beautiful. On to a very tasty lunch in Sembawang Park and then on to Changi for the Prison Museum tour. A very sobering place. Back to the coach for a drvie poast the Jahore Battery and then down the eastern side of the island to the Gardens by the bay. Things that also were not mentioned but we saw on the tour included the container port, the cable car to Sentosa island, Haw Par Villa (Tiger Balm Gardens), the various cemeteries, horticultural area, the site where the Japanese landed in world war two, the remaining Jungle areas and the various residential areas. All the while Foo was providing most interesting facts about the history and the modern way of life in Singapore. The tour was a fabulous experience and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic. The tour guide was brilliant and knowledgable. Most memorable was the trip to Kranji where my Uncle was buried. First one in my family to visit his grave. Very emotional time and plenty of time on the program to linger a while. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great way to get your bearings. Our guide was informative, especially knowledgeable regarding the Kranji War Cemetery, helping anyone looking for a particular grave site. We had a relaxing and plentiful lunch and Changi is a sobering and thought provoking experience that will stay with me. I highly recommend this tour; you'll get a good look round Singapore and a grasp of the history of the place.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! This was our first tour in Singapore. Our guide was so informative we learned so much not only about Changi POW camp and Kranji War Memorial but all about Singapore. This tour gave us a real insight into Singapore's history as well as modern Singapore. We had a delightful chinese style banquet lunch with iced tea. Would definitely recommend this tour and would recommend this as a first tour so to get your bearings of where things are as it takes you all around the island.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic trip. Guide very knowledgeable. The visit to Kranji war memorial and Changi war prison was very moving. The Chinese temple was beautiful, and the lunch was excellent.i would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an experience to remember especially the Kranji War Memorial and the Changi Prison. I was unaware of the atrocities these people suffered at the hands of the Japanese, so it was an eye opener and Foo our guide was just wonderful with his tales. The War Memorial is a lovely place and so well maintained all the soldiers are really at peace there. The Gardens by the Bay were so great we went back the next day for a good look around and boy what an eye opener that was. A fantastic tourist attraction and definitely worth a second visit if I go again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Denise C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A brilliant day with an excellent guide who knew his history inside and out (and probably back to front!). He was a mind of information. The visit to the Kranji War Memorial was very moving, and the whole area is kept in spit spot condition by the team of hard working gardeners.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour, covered a good number of items with enough time at all attractions (bar the gardens by the bay - but its the last stop so you can make your way home yourself like we did)
Kranji was amazing, Changi memorial was a good reminder about how bad the war was.
Good commentary with facts all along the way too.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent. The pick up and drop off went off without a hitch. We enjoyed a really informative commentary by our guide. The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Memorial were very moving. The Buddhist Temple, simply spectacular and the lunch provided was really delicious.
Really terrific day for first time visitors to Singapore!

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was my first opportunity for a Viator tour and I'm so glad we did. It was an outstanding way to have a very complete tour of the whole island of Singapore. We originally signed up for the tour since we wanted to see the Kranji War Memorial and museum but it is much, much more. The bus went all around the island, into and through - very thorough. We found out all about the history, including WW II, the people, industry, retirement system, housing, road system, current events, -- you name it, we learned it. Great guide. I highly recommend this tour and will go out of my way to take another Viator tour in the future.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great way to see the island, tour guide was very informative, both Kranji and Changi very moving and worthwhile seeing

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message