• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Singapore

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Merlion Park is not as much a park as it is a standing symbol for all of Singapore. Spread out over 2,500 square meters, or about 27,000 square feet, the park is perhaps most famously known for its centerpiece, a 2 meter tall, or seven foot, Merlion ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James A
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a nice experience, though it rained so we didn't have the chance to take pictures at Merlion, Singapore Flyer and Marina Bay . But over all it was a great and nice experience with a friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

Oli
Bangladesh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Would certainly recommend. Gives you a quick, worthy, beautiful glimpses of the city and, interesting, its culture with a nice li'l bit of history. We had a very good guide from Tour East, Dzul (pronounced as Zul). Dzul was knowledgable and pleasantly welcoming with a good sense of humor. And, it seemed, he relayed just the relevant, useful information throughout.

The stops were nicely planned out. Everyone loved the time in Nat'l Orchid Garden, among other interesting places. For example, the Merlion park!

And, the Flyer – please, do go there! It's NOT at all imposing (you won't fear the heights, trust us. Our 5-year fresh daughter loved it. We saw other little kids enjoying it, too!). You're likely to have a private/semi-private experience as we saw them fitting in only six or so individuals (one/two families) in an individual 'room'. It's a marvel! You'd love the architecture, the engineering works, and the beautiful interesting displays!

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

I took this tour on the first day I arrived. The bus was clean, the tour guide was knowledgeable, and there were several stops for photos - Chinatown, Little India, Merlion/Harbourfront, and Orchid Garden. It was a great way to get an introduction and orientation to the city.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Disappointed that Merlion was closed for restoration and we couldnt see it working. Otherwise rest of morning was lovely. Loved Singapore Flyer.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

A wonderful tour starting with the Merlion and ending with a trip to Little India. We visited the Thian Hock Keng Temple, the gems factory and botanical gardens on the way. A truly insightful tour into Singapore.

Doing what: Private Tour: Singapore City Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We found the routes to be well thought out and informative. We saw the Botanical Gardens, little India, the Mosque, the Chinese quarter, Raffles, the Merlion, the Singapore Flyer, the malls on Orchard, and many other sites as well. Our only complaint was that we ended up stranded at the "hub station" for over an hour when both buses went to lunch at the same time. We lost an hour of touring time, something that could have been avoided if the driver's lunch times had been staggered.

Doing what: Singapore City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour was a good orientation of the city. It was good to see the Merlion before there were too many tourists around. Didn't think much of the Little India area - it stank!

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The tour of the Garden by the Bay and Chinatown were awesome. The dinner included was perfect - sitting out on a patio was wonderful. The Bumboat Ride on the other hand was a total fiasco. The tour operators at the location we went to (near the Merlion) was so disorganized and had no communications with the boats what so ever. Very confusing. Not a perfect ending to what otherwise was a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Singapore Night Sightseeing Tour with Gardens by the Bay, Bumboat Ride and Bugis Street

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

It was a good introduction for first-timers in Singapore. We went to the Botanic Gardens, Merlion Park, a Gem Factory and the Singapore Flyer. Choose the Singapore Flyer Option since it became the highlight of our day. It were in time for the Army Show. My husband enjoyed seeing the tanks and helicopters. The hotel pick-up was also a bonus.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Fasilitas, Guide and Driver Ok. agak kecewa Saya terlambat dijemput di Hotel sehingga Sy dan keluarga tidak bisa mengikuti Tour saat di Merlion.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

Mari
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The tour guide was fantastic, very informative. I felt rushes at some viewing spots yet by the time we reached the last destination, the Orchid Garden, we had plenty of time there. I would have preferred more time at the Merlion.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

We enjoyed this very much. The Big Merlion was being repaired or something, because it was all covered up in scaffolding. A smaller version was on display.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The tour was pleasant. Only issue, we had a hard time hearing and understanding the tour guide. A suggestion...maybe add more time at the Merlion stop.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

We enjoyed the tour, but the guide was a bit difficult to understand. Also, we were perplexed by the 2 Merlion statues, which were not adequately explained. There was confusion, because I thought that I had already purchased the optional Flyer tickets online but apparently had not. I did buy them at the site. The cultural commentary about where and how the working class and the wealthy live in Singapore was very interesting. It was helpful to get that kind of overview. In general, the tour stops that were made were worthwhile. It was a way to see a number of areas in a short time. I would recommend the tour with some reservations. The online form needs clarification regarding the Flyer option.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback!

For this tour, we offer packages with and without the Flyer option. I am showing that you booked the 2 PM Tour by itself -- please note that you would need to select the "[Tour Time] with Flyer" option to ensure that the Flyer is included. We simply wanted to clarify for anyone who may be thinking about taking this tour, and may be worried that something similar would happen to them.

I hope this information helps! Thank you again for your feedback, and Happy Travels.

Ali_Hawk
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This is a very good snapshot of Singapore city. If you don't have much time, you see a lot in a short time on this tour - you learn a lot of history and see temples, shopping areas, fantastic architecture, the wonderful National Orchid Garden, Marina Bay and the Merlion - the key things to see. This is very good, either for orientation when you first arrive - then you can decide what to go back to see with more time - or to see the highlights of Singapore if you don't have much time. I did the Singapore Flyer also, it's good. It is well worth doing this tour.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour with optional Singapore Flyer

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message