Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Raffles Landing Site

The Raffles Landing site in the Boat Quay area of downtown Singapore is the apparent location of the landing place for Sir Stamford Raffles in 1819 when he signed a treaty that established modern day Singapore. Marked by a white marble statue ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took the 48 hour pass which gave us three routes plus river cruise. Excellent value and a great way to see the main sites of Singapore, especially if you have never been before. We enjoyed a Singapore Ski g at the Raffles stop, lunchtime specials at the river, tranquil sailing along the river, roof top shade and also aircon lower level, extremely friendly and helpful drivers who would remind you of your stop, decent earphones that actually worked and stayed in your ears. I was in Singapore for a day and a half and this ticket ensured I saw an enormous amount,

Doing what: Singapore City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Gareth J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent value for money and the ideal way to discover Singapore. This gives you the foundation to know where the sites are in relation to each other so even when the pass runs out you know what is possible to visit on your own and the distances between each site. Plan your visit wisely as various locations are quite spread out. The Botanical Gardens are quite a way up but well worth a visit. You can get off and get back on the bus here but allow time for going around the gardens as they are quite big.
We got on the bus with our voucher outside our hotel which fortunately was one of the stops (no not Raffles) and showed our Viator voucher. We were allowed to board the bus which took us to the main terminal to have our ticket validated. Have a look around the shops at the main terminal before getting your ticket validated and you will then have longer to travel as the tickets is from validation and NOT when you board the bus originally. A must do in Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Really enjoyable, did both the City and Heritage Tour - hopped off for a while at the Botanical Gardens which was nice, also had a Singapore Sling in Raffles, which is a must do!! Would recommend as a good way to see a bot of Singapore if you were short on time like me.

Doing what: Singapore City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We found the routes to be well thought out and informative. We saw the Botanical Gardens, little India, the Mosque, the Chinese quarter, Raffles, the Merlion, the Singapore Flyer, the malls on Orchard, and many other sites as well. Our only complaint was that we ended up stranded at the "hub station" for over an hour when both buses went to lunch at the same time. We lost an hour of touring time, something that could have been avoided if the driver's lunch times had been staggered.

Doing what: Singapore City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We enjoyed our bus tour in Singapore but we did not have enough time in one dy to do it justice! We got off at the botanical garden and that was that! What a fabulous place.
The only negative thing was finding the bus again having got off at Raffles hotel. In fact we had missed the connection to the cruise dock and had to take a cab to avoid missing our ship. That shopping centre is huge and it is hard to find a taxi around the stop.

Doing what: Singapore City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

PETE B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Perhaps worth saying that main ticket office of Hippo/Duck tours who operate this service seems to be based in Suntec Mall which is not far from Raffles Hotel area of city ( get a local map from your hotel concierge) . Staff are very approachable and helpful .Buses take you around key points of interest with detailed timetables available Good value for money and although taxis are quite cheap this is a much more economical way of getting about .

Doing what: Singapore City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viv M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour was good value - as far as what we paid - but we would prefer to pay a bit more and get a better service. There were only four of us doing the complete tour so maybe that was why it seemed a bit amateur. We checked in and were rushed off to O'Learys pub for our dinner. We had 20 minutes for this to be ordered, served and eaten although we arrived in good time. Very noisy - choice of food limited to chicken or fish and chips was ok. Probably what we paid for as the rest of the tour was getting us around in the hop-on-hop-off bus. The commentary was very hard to understand - not the guide's fault - just poor sound equipment in the bus. The Gardens By the Bay was fascinating ( I have done a separate review). Bugis st was a huge rush. The ride on the bum boat was a bit too long as we went up and down and back again picking up people before we got going. We were taken back to Clarke Quay - not the Raffles or Singapore Flyer as advertised but that suited us as we were staying at Clarke Quay. The itinerary is a bit rushed - but if you don't have much time and on a budget it is excellent value - we would have preferred something more leisurely.

Doing what: Singapore Night Sightseeing Tour with Gardens by the Bay, Bumboat Ride and Bugis Street

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

This was disappointing as the description on Viator turned out to be last years tour - that's what I was told anyway. Expecting the tour to finish at the Raffles hotel (just across the road from where we were staying) we were not happy to find out that it finished at Clark Quay and we were expected to make our own way back to our hotel. Seeing the city lit up at night was memorable but we didn't end up getting the tour that we expected.

Doing what: Singapore Night Sightseeing Tour with Gardens by the Bay, Bumboat Ride and Bugis Street

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, and we apologize for any inconvenience that was caused during your tour. We have contacted the local operator to ensure that Viator's tour description is in line with theirs, and will update our information immediately.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Too bad we were suckered into this cheesy tour.

Hotel pick-up successfully accomplished, and arrived at booking center. Received a voucher to have dinner at that iconic Singapore restaurant, O'Leary's. Three choices on the menu: all appeared to be DOA. Really, too costly to give us a bun and sandwich set-up for the chicken? The chicken arrived in need of emergency resuscitation. Perhaps the Singapore Flyer location is not ground zero for fine dinning, but this was just silly. Onward to Gardens by the Bay, an unusual venue. Worth a stop to say that we have seen the show, but definitely not worth another visit. Not sure why we stopped at Bugis Street; not enough time to do any shopping or sightseeing. I would describe the entire experience as standing on the corner waiting for the bus to reappear. We headed to the bumboat where we were advised along the way that this would be the end of the tour. Surprise, Surprise! Our voucher said the tour would end with a drop-off at the Raffles Hotel. After asking the guide for clarification, we were summarily blown off and advised to make our own arrangements to return to our hotel.

To say that everything sucked would be inaccurate - we throughly enjoyed the bumboat ride. Perhaps the bumboat should be the focus of the tour, not the other distractions.

Doing what: Singapore Night Sightseeing Tour with Gardens by the Bay, Bumboat Ride and Bugis Street

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message