Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Singapore Chinatown

For many visitors, Singapore Chinatown is the sightseeing focus of the city, home to traditional shop houses, temples and cultural heritage. Take a wander down the atmospheric streets, dropping into shop houses to see what’s for sale. Admire ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fantastic tour! Began in Chinatown and got free time to explore the markets, dinner was at a lovely restaurant and was Yum-Cha style. The tri-shaw tour was definitely a highlight of this whole night: it began in Chinatown, went along the streets of Singapore, finishing in Clarke Quay. The riders were all friendly and made it such a great experience. Our bum boat ride was equally amazing, it went right past Marina Bay Sands and the Merlion which were highlights to see at night. Highly recommend this tour to anyone seeing Singapore for the first time, or just looking for a different experience. Great for all ages!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was great. We learned so much about the history of Chinatown and the city of Singapore. He took us around to many food stalls and fed us a lot more than we ever imagined. This tour was five star.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Just finished the tour and loved it! It had a little of everything...Chinatown's history, an exhilarating trishaw ride, a good Chinese dinner, and a night cruise on the Singapore River. Would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Tomi O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guide did an excellent job presenting the history and culture of Chinatown. We visited an herbalist, took part in the tea ceremony, learned about the wedding and funeral customs and the food of Singapore. It was a very interesting and educational tour.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Helen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a MUST do tour. Loved every minute of it especially the Trishaw ride. We had a very entertaining rider with excellent boom boom box playing music. Public were waving and taking pics of us. Dinner was very tasty and fresh. Just the right amount of time spent shopping/viewing in Chinatown. Loved the harbour boat ride and commentary. Night time view of Singapore completely different. Well worth the money and highly recommend this. Another box ticked.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was fabulous. We had the best time doing this tour out of all things we did on our 16 night holiday. The tour host was really funny and entertaining, the included meal was excellent, looking around Chinatown was great. The Trishaw ride was sooo good. We had great weather and they all worked hard to make sure we had fun. The bumboat ride was also excellent and we saw so much in a short time. Everything was timed to perfection and it couldn't have been better !! loved every minute of it !! I highly recommend this to anyone wanting a good night out.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Emma J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a blast this tour was. Being picked up late, was not the best way to start, but the whole night after that was unforgettable. Started at a Chinese pharmacy with traditional and Western cures for just about everything, unfortunately the cost of some of the cures was enough to make you well by yourself. We then went for a small walk to a Chinese restaurant for a meal.
Chinese tea was served first up and this is definitely an acquired taste, and I haven't acquired it but the rest of the meal was great. We hen went to meet up with our Trishaw Drivers at Smith Street I still can't get over this street name being used in Chinatown. The trishaw ride was incredible, and really demonstrated the tolerance of Singapore drivers.
With both of us being on the larger side, we sought out a trishaw with what looked like the youngest and fittest driver, because we new someone was in for a hard time. The driver we ended up with was fantastic. He had a great sense of humour and answered the many questions that we asked of him. The highlight of the ride had to be the drag down the main road to Clarke Quay. We were three trishaws wide, taking up three lanes, have a drag race to get to the corner first. Everyone in the group couldn't stop laughing at this, and the cars and buses just casually passed us by without a care in the world. I could not imagine this happening in Pitt Street in Sydney.
Finally we arrived at Clarke Quay and went on a Bumboat ride. What we were in was the Singapore River and Marina Bay and it became a tour of Singapore from a different perspective and a view of many of the sights of Singapore that you might not normally get.
To add to the thrill we were treated to a light and laser show from Marina Sands, an added bonus.
This was an excellent night and one that I will do again when we return to Singapore.
This is definitely one of the best value for money tours available and you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Sammy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome experience. Rene did a great job of showing the culture and history of Singapore and Chinatown as well as the food. He also gave me some great tips for going out at night. Would definitely recommend again, and I will do this trip again the next time I am in Sinagpore

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

fionatully

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved this tour of Chinatown, and learned so much from our guide Siew Tin about the Chinese rituals around birth, death and marriage.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Damien P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good tour with very good guide. The food quality was just above average on this excursion. Boat ride was very good. We had 45 minutes to walk around Chinatown. We didnt get this as described Watch a calligrapher at work and receive a personal sample of Chinese writing to keep but did go to a Traditional Chinese medicine shop and had an informative talk there, then recieved a free gift.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great evening with Benny. Just a fun evening exploring some of Chinatown, having a trishaw ride and great trip around the waterways seeing the various landmarks. I did this tour 5 years ago and recommended it to the group I was with this time and we all enjoyed it.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Elaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great night. Our guide was knowledgeable, dinner was good, and we had a bit of time to wander the shops in Chinatown. The trishaw ride was great fun - those guys really work hard. The boat ride gave us a different perspective on the waterfront, and we even got a surprise light show on the water.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Linda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Viator's Singapore Chinatown TrIshaw Night Tour - was truly AWESOME!! This tour is a must do in Singapore... Our guide was exceptional-- he allowed us extra time to shop in the night market while seeing all of the beautiful illuminated sights that Singapore had to offer coupled with delicious dinner... A real treat.... We were a group of 18 - folks .... From the beginning to the end..... everyone truly enjoyed the experience.... It was WELL WORTH THE MONEY SPENT..... I would do it again when i return to beautiful Singapore... Thanks Viator -- for a Great Great Job--- Look forward to working with you again on our next voyage...
Classic Soul Cruise and Travel, Linda Taylor, president.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

cmfletcher1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was just the greatest fun, and so packed full of content. Meal, trishaw ride, Chinatown, river cruise, how could you fit any more in. Delightful restaurant.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

OZYMIKE2 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is great,we went to Chinatown and saw hoe the locals live and eat,went for a ride through the heart of the city on a trishaw,that was great all the bikes were trying to overtake each other,we had dinner in a Chinese restaurant,and then a bum boat ride through the Singapore river doing the night lights of Singapore.All in all a great tour and a very good and funny tour guide.Michael from Sydney australia

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

francesrenteria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an excellent tour with Siew Tin yesterday. She was very knowledgeable and the tour was very interesting. We learned about customs surrounding food, marriage, death and tea. We've been to Chinatowns and China on multiple occasions but didn't know most of what we learned from our guide. It was three hours well spent.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

ROY T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a great experience. The guide took good care of us. The variety of activities was adequate. The meal was a good Chinatown meal.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

ROY T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a great experience. The guide took good care of us. The variety of activities was adequate. The meal was a good Chinatown meal.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

ROY T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a great experience. The guide took good care of us. The variety of activities was adequate. The meal was a good Chinatown meal.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

ROY T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a great experience. The guide took good care of us. The variety of activities was adequate. The meal was a good Chinatown meal.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Thomas M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great evening,. We had a short time for shopping in Chinatown, a very nice dinner, an exciting trishaw ride to the dock and a lovely night cruise on the river. Everything ran smoothly, we did not ever feel rushed, and we enjoyed it all.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

frost81

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! Food was delicious and plentiful. We were able to see a lot of Chinatown as well. The guide Rene was extremely knowledgeable and gave some fantastic recommendations for further sightseeing in Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Marcella B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour of Chinatown, South Bridge road and the Singapore City Gallery.Really enjoyed the variety of food,and Renee was fun and very informative. Maxwell street Hawker Centre and Chinatown complex were great with lots of variety and can't wait to return on our next visit. Will look for other Viator food tours on our next holiday too, a great way to get to know a new location.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip. Funny tour guide. Trishaw and Boat ride best bits. Chinatown great. Restaurant meal ok and rushed. Allowed to stay in town when tour finished.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Deanna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Chinatown was enjoyable. The trishaw ride was delightful and the boat ride spectactular. Totally touristy but fun.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message