Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Singapore Food Trail

The Singapore Food trail is a massive themed food palace located in the famous Singapore Flyer designed to bring back the cultural glory days of the1960s. With more than 600 seats, the throwback dining hall contains dozens of makeshift food stalls, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very nice guide - I liked the herb garden tour and seeing and tasting the food. Such wonderful coloured houses - nice to see that they have been preserved.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

doovywacky
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. Our tour guide was full of information and the food tasting was lovely. A great insight into the Peranakan people and culture.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I was very impressed with this tour, especially our guide, Mr Foo - what a wealth of knowledge. I was fortunate to have a small group of 3 with Mr Foo, so we gained enormous benefit of listening to his stories and understanding of local history. I did, however find the title of the tour slightly misleading as the tour was more cultural than food tasting i.e. we started at the Spice Gardens, then drove around observing the local architecture and some of the heritage listed properties, then onto a market shop for local handicrafts and plate of 3 small bites of food followed by a visit to the Peranakan museum. If anyone signs up to this tour for food they would be disappointed.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is an excellent tour. Our guide, Phillip, was very good with his comments, knowledge and feeling for the history and food of the Peranakan. The tastings were excellent and the Museum was extremely interesting. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mr Foo was a very informative guide who told and showed us many interesting facts on herbs,traditions and history of the Peranakan people. The store where we had food tasting was like a small museum with many artefacts , it also sold food stuffs.
The actual museum we visited was excellent

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Fezwyck
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. I really enjoyed seeing how spices grow in Fort Canning, the museum and food.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Absolutely fabulous. We had a great time. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had a very good sense of humour which made our excursion very enjoyable. The visit to the Peranakan shop house was excellent and our food guide was very knowledgeable and dexterous - I don't know that I can do the proper folds to make that delicious food parcel. The Peranakan museum is a little jewel which was well explained by our guide. All in a all, a well worthwhile tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an interesting tour, which one would not be able to do on ones own. The information of Peranakan food was interesting and the food tasted great. the visit to the Peranakan museum was interesting.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We did several tours on Singapore with different companies but without question this was the best. It was a great mix of history and culture with the promise of some authentic Peranakan food at the end. Our guide (Mr Foo) was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining - so much so we booked up for another tour with him. We'd recommend this over the normal city tour to get behind the scenes in Singapore...

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My daughters and I took the Peranakan trail tour recently and were absolutely delighted. Our host was very knowledgeable and clearly enjoyed his subject. We were taken to a Peranakan woman's home where she made dumplings and talked with us about her food and culture. It was a unique experience and very worthwhile. We were also the only ones on the tour, so received lots of attention.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

I really enjoyed the tour. It was very informative of the early people of singapore. I also enjoyed the food tasting.. you have a chance to learn how to make it.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Eryl U
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Basic tour but very informotive, great guide. At the spice gardens he knew it all. Only sorry i didn't write down what he told us about the spices. Food allthough small was delicious. Well worth a go at this tour.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was an excellent tour! We were shown the highlights at the Spice Garden and the Peranakan Museum and given insight that wasn't on any of the plaques. I was able to make a pork-rice dumpling with some assistance and then to eat a cooked one. The food was good and something I would not have tried on my own, but would love to try again! We learned about the Peranakan bead work and saw samples, amazing! We also saw examples of embroidery at really high quality, and a traditional dress I modeled. It was a morning well spent!

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Susan G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

This was our favorite trip. Learned a lot about Singapore and the people. Food was good but different. They even dressed me up as a Peranakan. Great!

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Loved the food, loved the insight into Singapore. What a great way to discover Singapore cuisine.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Sharryn L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was very interesting to learn about some of Singapore's history and culture. The food tasting was great and our guide was very helpful.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Our guide,Mr Foo was very good. He managed the time and us with competence and humour! The food tasting was delightful and his insights made the experience , special. The time of 3 hrs 3 min was just right. A very good introduction to Peranakan culture and recommended for it's good value,too.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Lyn
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was a very pleasant way to spend the morning. We were lucky and had a private tour. Very informative and easy pace. Food tasting was delicious. Our guide could not have been better qualified. Nice one.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good tour. Food was great. The history was good. The guide knew his stuff.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

wambeggy
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A tour with a difference. we were taken to a spice garden in Fort Canning park first of all, then to a Peranakan establishment for an insight into their food, customs and dress. After that informative and tasty visit, we were taken to the Peranakan Museum (also near Fort Canning park) which had a good variety of exhibits. the tour was something different to the 'usual' Singapore visits.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Enjoyed the tour and the food was fantastic.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a bad start to this tour as the scheduled pick-up from our hotel was late arriving, and there was chaos and confusion because 'the office had made a mistake.' We were therefore late starting the tour and it became rather rushed which was a shame as it was very interesting and we would have liked more time in the Peranakan Museum.
We also visited the Spice Garden, and a lovely Peranakan lady called Doris who demonstrated the preparation of a typical
food and then we were able to try some of the foods. We enjoyed the tour very much in spite of the inauspicious start.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Michele R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The tour started with a visit to the spice gardens which was interesting. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Next was the Peranakan museum and then a visit to a Peranakan home to try some food. I enjoyed the tour but felt there was a bit too much hanging around at the last 2 places and would have liked more information about how the food was cooked and perhaps a recipe or two.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Helen J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Most enlightening tour touching on history, customs, architecture, & Peranakan food that is not widely known. Most enlightening & personable guide, driver & presenters, who took time to ensure they imparted knowledge to our benefit. Highly recommended for those interested in Singapore's history & food culture.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

This was fun. Got to see the garden where they grow peranakan herbs. Wear bug spray - we got eaten up! Little food tasting, culture museum. Enjoyed the experience!

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message