A must on any trip to Singapore is to visit a hawker center; a variety of food stalls under one roof. The hawker stalls are somewhere between street food and a restaurant, with lots of seating, eating utensils provided, and a wide variety of foods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! Food was delicious and plentiful. We were able to see a lot of Chinatown as well. The guide Rene was extremely knowledgeable and gave some fantastic recommendations for further sightseeing in Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great with Rene. Very knowledgeable and lots of information about the history of Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour of Chinatown, South Bridge road and the Singapore City Gallery.Really enjoyed the variety of food,and Renee was fun and very informative. Maxwell street Hawker Centre and Chinatown complex were great with lots of variety and can't wait to return on our next visit. Will look for other Viator food tours on our next holiday too, a great way to get to know a new location.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

First we walk through the spice garden park to smell the various fragrances. Next we go to a little shop where we sample a couple of appetizers. Finally we go to the Pernankan museum to learn about the people and culture of the country.

As a reviewer had mentioned, this is not a tour to just sit down and eat like a fat lazy (insert country here). Thus I do agree that the tour title should be changed. However, I had no issues understanding what the tour would entail because I read the entire description and information like any conscientious traveler should.

I would recommend the tour to someone who enjoys both cooking and learning about different cultures. If you can identify a spice by the smell - then you would appreciate the spice garden. If you care about the history of the city and how the residents came to be - you need to have liked history in school - then the museum is a good place.

I had the fortune like others to have Mr. Foo as my guide. (I also had him for the Round Island tour, lucky me!) Plus there were only 3 of us in the group, so the tour was very intimate. It's hard to hear a guide when there is a large group of people, so having such a small group helped immensely for me to be able to listen to him and ask a lot of questions.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable
I was glad I decided to join the tour I be using more of your tour around the world
It was great.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

doovywacky
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. Our tour guide was full of information and the food tasting was lovely. A great insight into the Peranakan people and culture.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour! Only our family of 4 on it. Guide was very accommodating, friendly and went out of his way to be helpful. Do this the first or second day in Singapore then you'll eat with confidence in all the hawker centres. Got not only food tour but also some history, culture and good shopping tips

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very informative and enjoyable. great value for money.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was absolutely brilliant....the guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and made the entire tour fun and entertaining. I would definitely recommend this tour to anybody looking to visit Singapore

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic Tour! Our tour guide Renee was full of interesting facts and information about Singapore in general. We learnt a great deal more about Chinatown than just the amazing food within. Highly recommended and Renee will cater to your needs. Look forward to going on another tour again one day!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I was very impressed with this tour, especially our guide, Mr Foo - what a wealth of knowledge. I was fortunate to have a small group of 3 with Mr Foo, so we gained enormous benefit of listening to his stories and understanding of local history. I did, however find the title of the tour slightly misleading as the tour was more cultural than food tasting i.e. we started at the Spice Gardens, then drove around observing the local architecture and some of the heritage listed properties, then onto a market shop for local handicrafts and plate of 3 small bites of food followed by a visit to the Peranakan museum. If anyone signs up to this tour for food they would be disappointed.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I have visited Singapore many times but knew nothing of the Peranakan Trail. What an amazing interesting morning. I learned more from your guide in 3 hours than I have on many previous visits to the country. The only disappointment was the short amount of time we had in the Museum, others I think it was wonderful. The guide was really knowledgeable, not only about his subject but about the overall history of Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is an excellent tour. Our guide, Phillip, was very good with his comments, knowledge and feeling for the history and food of the Peranakan. The tastings were excellent and the Museum was extremely interesting. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

Bing
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a delicious tour to start our 3-day trip to Singapore!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour local tour guide was excellent a very interesting tour

Doing what: Singapore Peranakan Trail Food Tasting Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message