A must on any trip to Singapore is to visit a hawker center; a variety of food stalls under one roof. The hawker stalls are somewhere between street food and a restaurant, with lots of seating, eating utensils provided, and a wide variety of foods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I was ill and unable to attend the tour, 3 others in our party did join Gerry and had a great time. Our party returned to Singapore cruise ship about a week after our original tour and Gerry ended up being a huge help to us in coordinating a logistical issue we'd run into. Gerry went well above and beyond. In short Gerry is one of those guides that we hope to be able to return the favor to some day. We hope when he visits our home town we'll have an opportunity help him learn about the local flavors!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was great. We learned so much about the history of Chinatown and the city of Singapore. He took us around to many food stalls and fed us a lot more than we ever imagined. This tour was five star.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

jemr72

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were privileged to have a tour with Gerry who has a wealth of knowledge of this beautiful country. Gerry took us through the wet markets, Sri Mariamman temple, hawkers market where we sampled many of the local dishes famous to Singapore. The food was in abundance and absolutely delicious. As walked through Chinatown we learnt about the history and culture. We found this a very informative tour and definitely worth doing. Thanks Gerry.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

Sarai M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic introduction to life in Singapore. We thought it was simply a food tour but were treated to lots of information on modern Singapore. After the tour we felt confident enough to try Hawker centres on a daily basis. Thanks!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Sammy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome experience. Rene did a great job of showing the culture and history of Singapore and Chinatown as well as the food. He also gave me some great tips for going out at night. Would definitely recommend again, and I will do this trip again the next time I am in Sinagpore

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderfully knowledgeable entertaining guide Rene. Passionate about Singapore. We tried many different dishes, many of which we probably wouldn't have tried without his guidance. All of which were excellent. We also visited the market under the Hawker Centre which was fascinating. It was a well worthwhile tour. Would love to do it again.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Kaz Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

英語が理解できてディープなチャイナタウン探索をしたい方、ホーカーフード初心者の方、そしてシンガポールの文化や成り立ちについて知りたい方にお勧めのツアーです。純ジャパの娘高校生は「経済の話はよくわからなかったけど、あとは結構理解できた」と申しておりました。ガイドのルネは日本語を勉強した経験があり、結構単語はご存知でした。

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent and far exceeded our expectations. Rene is so enthusiastic and passionate about Singapore, it's food, history and daily life. I would recommend this to anyone. Anne New Zealand

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Vicky M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was really great. Rene is so knowledgable making Singapore come alive for us. The food was fabulous, we enjoyed it so much that we went back to the market the next day.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Janine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

HugoS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Rene was entertaining, knowledgeable and informative in an enthusiastic manner. Well worth the fee. Better to take the MRT than a taxi as easier to find the meeting spot from within the station than without.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

S A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very nice guide - I liked the herb garden tour and seeing and tasting the food. Such wonderful coloured houses - nice to see that they have been preserved.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

frost81

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! Food was delicious and plentiful. We were able to see a lot of Chinatown as well. The guide Rene was extremely knowledgeable and gave some fantastic recommendations for further sightseeing in Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Brendon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great with Rene. Very knowledgeable and lots of information about the history of Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Marcella B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour of Chinatown, South Bridge road and the Singapore City Gallery.Really enjoyed the variety of food,and Renee was fun and very informative. Maxwell street Hawker Centre and Chinatown complex were great with lots of variety and can't wait to return on our next visit. Will look for other Viator food tours on our next holiday too, a great way to get to know a new location.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

John K.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

First we walk through the spice garden park to smell the various fragrances. Next we go to a little shop where we sample a couple of appetizers. Finally we go to the Pernankan museum to learn about the people and culture of the country.

As a reviewer had mentioned, this is not a tour to just sit down and eat like a fat lazy (insert country here). Thus I do agree that the tour title should be changed. However, I had no issues understanding what the tour would entail because I read the entire description and information like any conscientious traveler should.

I would recommend the tour to someone who enjoys both cooking and learning about different cultures. If you can identify a spice by the smell - then you would appreciate the spice garden. If you care about the history of the city and how the residents came to be - you need to have liked history in school - then the museum is a good place.

I had the fortune like others to have Mr. Foo as my guide. (I also had him for the Round Island tour, lucky me!) Plus there were only 3 of us in the group, so the tour was very intimate. It's hard to hear a guide when there is a large group of people, so having such a small group helped immensely for me to be able to listen to him and ask a lot of questions.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable
I was glad I decided to join the tour I be using more of your tour around the world
It was great.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

doovywacky Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. Our tour guide was full of information and the food tasting was lovely. A great insight into the Peranakan people and culture.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Robyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour! Only our family of 4 on it. Guide was very accommodating, friendly and went out of his way to be helpful. Do this the first or second day in Singapore then you'll eat with confidence in all the hawker centres. Got not only food tour but also some history, culture and good shopping tips

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Taf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very informative and enjoyable. great value for money.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Lloyd B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was absolutely brilliant....the guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and made the entire tour fun and entertaining. I would definitely recommend this tour to anybody looking to visit Singapore

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Monica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic Tour! Our tour guide Renee was full of interesting facts and information about Singapore in general. We learnt a great deal more about Chinatown than just the amazing food within. Highly recommended and Renee will cater to your needs. Look forward to going on another tour again one day!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Stephanie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I was very impressed with this tour, especially our guide, Mr Foo - what a wealth of knowledge. I was fortunate to have a small group of 3 with Mr Foo, so we gained enormous benefit of listening to his stories and understanding of local history. I did, however find the title of the tour slightly misleading as the tour was more cultural than food tasting i.e. we started at the Spice Gardens, then drove around observing the local architecture and some of the heritage listed properties, then onto a market shop for local handicrafts and plate of 3 small bites of food followed by a visit to the Peranakan museum. If anyone signs up to this tour for food they would be disappointed.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

practicalgardensolut ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I have visited Singapore many times but knew nothing of the Peranakan Trail. What an amazing interesting morning. I learned more from your guide in 3 hours than I have on many previous visits to the country. The only disappointment was the short amount of time we had in the Museum, others I think it was wonderful. The guide was really knowledgeable, not only about his subject but about the overall history of Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message