Singapore is one of the great transport hubs of the world, with a major passenger and freight sea port and an airport servicing some quarter of a million flights per year to destinations all over the world. However if you want to leave the island by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The trip to Malaysia was great. It was time consuming getting through the checkpoints at the borders but that has to be done. The guide we had was very knowledgeable and although it was not a long tour we managed to see a little of the sights of Johore Bahru. Would recommend this tour to get a feel for Malaysia.

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

We enjoyed the short tour to Johore Bahru but
not enough time to soak up the scenery. Perhaps the tour should be longer as we spent too much time crossing the border.

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Although the border formalities are time consuming, the visit to Johore Bahru was most interesting. I had a great and knowledgeable tour guide with a lot of great information to share, and a lot of pride in her country. It was a pleasure.

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We went on this Malaysia tour with my family (2 adults, 2 children) and my wife and I really liked it. This was our first visit to Malaysia, and as a half-day introduction to Malaysia, it was nice. That being said, I can understand why others may rate this trip lower.

The day went like this:
- 8:00am hotel pick-up in a van
- Drive to Johore Bahru (JB)
- Visit a traditional village home. (included an introduction to local plants and fruits, a dance performance, local fruit and drink sampling, a pewter workshop, and a gift shop)
- Visit to the Mosque with an explanation of its unique architectural features and history. (couldn't go in as I am not a Muslim)
- Visit to a Muslim Cemetery. This is unique to Malaysia as Muslims are traditionally buried in unmarked graves, but here they have adopted some British customs and it resembles a European style graveyard with a beautiful mausoleum of the Sultan and his family
- Drive back to Singapore, arrived at our hotel around 2:00pm

Things we loved about this tour:
- private and personal tour. It was only our driver, our tour guide, and us in the van so the trip felt personal and private and we went at our own pace. The driver and the guide were very flexible and accommodating.
- Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. I personally enjoyed the history of the mosque and the mausoleum as it has adopted unique characteristics and customs compared to other more traditional muslim sites.

Things we didn't like about the tour:
- Not very interesting for children. The stop in the traditional village home was interesting for my daughter as she tried some food and drinks, watched a dance performance, and saw a man working with pewter. The rest of the day she stayed in the car and just played on the I-Pad.
- The border crossing. Cool experience, but the traffic was heavy. We waited 30 minutes in the morning, and 1 hour in the afternoon. Good thing is, we didn't have to get out of the car so the kids slept.

Doing what: Private Tour: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The tour guide was really knowledgeable. I like the idea that you make us taste the culture of Malaysia. Hope you can include Legoland next time since it is located in Johore Bahru.

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

My 2 kids, my brother and I enjoyed our trip to Johore Bahru, Malaysia. It was very interesting, although we just stayed there for a short period of time. It was worth it.

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

We very much enjoyed the cross-border trip to Johore Bahru. Each of the three tour stops was interesting and well chosen. I was, however, astounded at the complexity of the border crossing process - but that is not the tour operator's fault.

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

Consuelo C
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Johore Bahru is a beautiful town! It was a very educational and informative trip!!!

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Johor Bahru is of secondary interest and obviously struggling economically. The contrast with Singapore, coming from Singapore, is clear. I felt the tour company could have organized a more interesting trip. Nonetheless we had an opportunity to meet and see people who were gracious and and very friendly. The batik workshop, Islamic mosque and Catholic church were all good stops.

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

Ali_Hawk
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This was an interesting tour. Malaysia is so different to Singapore! I loved the craftsmanship of the Batik - the designs and fabrics were beautiful. The Mosque was very interesting and I was pleased to get the background information from the Guide on this, as it was a new thing for me. The view of the Straits from the Mosque is marvellous and the gardens there are lovely. The city of Johore Baru is very interesting and the Guide was so knowledgable - including all the medicinal uses of the plants we saw. One thing to note, the immigration/departure process between Singapore and Malaysia may take up some time and there is no control over this, so you should expect potential adjustment to your itinerary if the process takes longer than usual. Overall, a good tour.

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

There is not much to see in Johore Bahru; the guide, a Malaysian, was average. We enjoyed the tour as a contrast to Singapore.

Doing what: Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message