• USD ($)
  • English
All over Singapore you’ll find references to Sir Stamford Raffles in place names, businesses, institutions and – most famously of all – the city-state’s premier hotel and home of the Singapore Sling. So who was this man? Spend the afternoon ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pick up superb. Organisation superb.Quick look in the colonial museum again offering all the right information in a nut shell.
High tea at Raffles Hotel was a treat. Service and food all exceptionally good. An experience not to be missed. Singapore sling was very good even if the price was as stated then ++. (our guide did warn us so no real surprises) Bum Boat trip was not as good as we had on the previous evening, was more of a river taxi ride. Overall an excellent tour.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

worth every penny. Raffles Hotel is gorgeous and the food wonderful. Fun boat ride

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I would highly recommend everyone to take this tour. The Raffles Hotel High Tea is a must. Lovely hotel with great service. Food was delicious and well presented. I loved the harp music. The river cruise is a must too.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Once again, we got the same tour guide, Andrew.
First he brought us to the place where have so many selection for seafood lover like us. There we could see the hotel we are staying, Marina Bay Sands. Beautiful view I could say.
and later, another driver and him and my family, drove around the city area,
he provided a lot of information about the history of Singapore,
the stops around Raffles Hotel and the place where the nightmarket was great.
He even added a great stop for us in the merlion. It was the best add on. A laser light shop from the Marina Bay Hotel. This is a great view from that point of view at night.
Thank you Andrew.

Doing what: Private Tour: Singapore by Night Tour with Dinner along Singapore River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We highly recommend this tour because of the visit and high tea at the Raffles Hotel itself, which was especially pretty at Christmas time, when we were there. The staff were very friendly and eager to ensure that we were well fed and also happy to take our photos. The visit to the museum and also the bum boat ride were very informative. All in all, a very good value tour. Although we sometimes could not hear our guide as she talked about the history and provided information during the tour we were glad we booked it.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great experience the Raffles City and Hotel is. After taking a very interesting and informative Tour of the City, in the footsteps of Sir Stamford Raffles, my Husband and I had High Tea at Raffles Hotel. Our Guide, Philip was a joy. Not only pointing out the various buildings and their history, but by being very amusing too. The splendid Raffles Hotel is one of best in Singapore and the Buffet were amazing. Due to Philip's insight, our group of 12 were in place nice and early outside the Tiffin Room and were the first people to be seated. He advised us to take our places, then make our way immediately to the Buffet, which we did. Philip also advised that if we were considering ordering Singapore Sling, to do this as soon as possible, as it can take some time for the bill to be issued. As well as the food at the Buffet, which you can visit as many times as you like, there are several plates of sandwiches and cakes on the tables, and copious amounts of tea and coffee. We decided that you cannot visit Raffles in Singapore, without a Singapore Sling, so did this as soon as were returned to the table. Photo's are allowed to be taken, but only of members of your table and certainly not of the Buffet. Several Members of our Group took photo's without problems.
After our visit to Raffles, we went to a Pewter Factory/Showroom and a Guild explained the process by which the Pewter is made usable for tankards, jewellery, ornaments etc which an opportunity to bye items of your choice. I purchased a small Pewter "Merlion", which is the Singaporean mythical creature half Lion and half Fish, as a little memento of our trip to Singapore.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Afternoon Tea at Raffles Hotel - wonderful. Our Guide Linda Chan was great fun and very informative. Every thing about this tour was great - the "Bum Boat " ride on the Singapore River, Clarke Quay and the history of Singapore - covered a lot of ground and learned a lot. If you don't have much time in Singapore this is a good tour to do.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was my favourite. The museum was excellent the guide was really good. Seeing the places where Sir Stanford landed was nice but the best was Raffles Hotel all I can say is WOW. Great food at the High Tea. Had the Singapore Sling it was a bit pricey but hey it's Raffles. Pewter museum was ok

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was my favourite. The museum was excellent the guide was really good. Seeing the places where Sir Stanford landed was nice but the best was Raffles Hotel all I can say is WOW. Great food at the High Tea. Had the Singapore Sling it was a bit pricey but hey it's Raffles. Pewter museum was ok

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We totally enjoyed this tour. The guide was very good mixing humour with in-depth knowledge about Singapore's history and current development. The river cruise was spectacular, seeing the city from the river was wonderful. The real highlight was the High Tea at Raffles Hotel. The food and service were excellent, and we expected the usual three tier plate serving of sandwiches and cakes. We were pleasantly surprised when the waiter came and refilled the plates, then advised there was a buffet around the corner which we could help ourselves to. The buffet included more cakes, sandwiches and hot snacks including dim sums and pastries. The tour was well organised and the guide allocated 1 hour and 20 minutes for the High Tea so we were able to relax, enjoy and take in the ambiance of the Tiffin Room. Well done Viator.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Really good value trip. Raffles hotel afternoon tea would be worth it on its own. TIP:Dont eat lunch beforehand, there is so much to eat and not just sandwiches and cake, there are some lovely asian dishes too such as steamed dumplings. Service was excellent. If going on this trip in the monsoon season,as we did(NOV)DEC) then try and take a brolly!!

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The tour was very informative with highlights of the Raffles Hotel and enjoyingt an afternoon Tea buffet, the cruise on the bumboat seeing the colonial buildings, traditional chinese shops, going through the different bridges with different statues like the children hanging from the side of the river and seeing how Pewter is made. We would recommend this tour for those who enjoy the history of places or even to experience an afternoon tea buffet and bumboat ride.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

Irene D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Iniotially when we rung the local tour company to confirm, there was a confusion about the tour inclusions we had booked with Viator, and what they thought it included, however the next day a differnt person had it correct. Viator's support was appreciated when we were initially concerened. The Raffles High Tea was well worth it, excellent variety and quality of food, as well as the wonderful service and the whole raffles Hotel expereince. The river boat trip and Pewter factory were also very enjoyable with wonderful guides.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Our very knowledgable tour guide Eliza ensured that this was a most informative tour .Ending as it did in the Tiffin Room at Raffles hotel for the most amazing Afternoon Tea . The pleasure of this incredible spread was enhanced moreso by the accompanying lady harpist.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

Stephen P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Informative tour around the riverside to explain the history behind Raffles hotel and its founder. Hghlight was obviously high tea in the hotel, expecting a tray of snacks, scones etc, what they didnt tell us prior to us eating the cakes on the table...was that we could have free access to the fantastic savoury buffet as well! A note if you intend to go to Raffles tour, do not eat previously! Certainly enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Raffles Hotel Singapore Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message