Singapore is a treasure trove of World War II sites and memorials, a poignant testament to the harship and cost of war. The 'Gibraltar of the East,' Singapore fell to the Japanese on February 15, 1942 in the largest surrender of British-led ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour would recommend this to anyone going to Singapore. Really great to see how they honour the war dead.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent tour with a very informative guide who gave us time to take in the various sites we visited. This was particularly important for the visit to Kranji War Memorial

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour, revealing all the suffering of war at Changi and surrounding areas! Our guide Wina was first class giving us insights into the cruelty, suffering and even some of the humour of the POWs while in captivity. She presented with some humour and had a vast knowledge of the tragedies that occurred , with a little personal history of her own families involvement! I would highly recommend this tour, our only wish was to have spent more time in the museum!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative tour. The tour guide Foo is very well informed and interesting. The war stories are very moving.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.It was quite emotional for me as my step father had been captured in Singapore in WW2 and had been a P.O.W in Changi and Railway for 3 years! Our tour guide Wui Wui was excellent and her knowledge of Changi history was excellent !! Would highly recommend this tour !!!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very informative and a great introduction to Changi and Singapore in the war years. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Changi Chapel and Museum Half-Day Tour from Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thankyou for such a wonderful tour. Special thanks to our guide Sharul. Very rewarding tour.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

OZYMIKE2
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour of Singapore,we saw a large temple,had lunch by the water and the guide was great.The war memorial was a very good lesson about war,We saw a very big temple had lunch by the water and our guide was fantastic.I recommend this tour when you go to Singapore,the Gardens by the bay are spectacular.The indoor gardens under the domes are also something to marvel at,all in all a great tour by a great company Take some water with you as it gets very hot n humid..Michael from Sydney Australia.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide was good and my husband was able to find his Aunts record of imprisonment in Changi during the war.
Also went to a beach where a lot of locals were killed and visited the edge of the airstrip and a big gun emplacement.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I took my 26 year old son Tom on this tour.

The tour was very interesting and well done.
The tour guide told several stories about people during and after the war.

This made the tour easier to relate to.
I highly recommend

Dan Moore
Melbourne
Australia

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really lovely tour. The visit to Kranji War Memorial was especially moving. Changi Prison should actually be said to be the museum not the prison which is still in use as a prison!! We has a lovely luncha dn the gardens by the bay was a lovely end to the day. The guide was really good and he was very knowledgable about all the places. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Singapore.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

susan g
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very knowledgeable guide. Had a nice day. Kranji war memorial and Changi museum were moving and fascinating. Could have done with more time at Changi as there are lots of artifacts and a lot to read. Lunch was good and we also enjoyed the temple. Gardens on the Bay were stunning. Perhaps could have done without seeing every public housing development on the island but it was a very good introduction to Singapore and gave an insight into how people live today as well as to the historical context.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent pick up and tour. The lunch was very good and we learned a great deal. We found the war memorial respectful and moving.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The war memorial is a solemn place to honor those who fought in WWII. Very well kept. The prison museum has a lot of history to read, allowing you to understand the conditions the people faced at the time. The garden is a great place to spend an entire day - it is at the end of the tour, so you can opt to stay there instead of taking the bus back to your hotel. I highly advise you stay and spend time here, and besides you can also walk over the bridge to get to the Marina Bay Sands for even more sightseeing.

I had the good fortune of having Mr. Foo as the guide for this and the Pernankan tours. As a lot of reviewers here agree, he is a great wealth of information.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

doovywacky
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour of the island with a lovely lunch included. Attractions were interesting however we were given 45 minutes at the Kranji War Memorial which was way too long. 20 minutes was more than enough. The other 25 minutes should have gone on Gardens By The Bay as there was only 20 minutes allowed there. We ended up staying and getting a taxi back later as it is kind of pointless only going for 20 minutes. The tour guides commentary flowed nicely and was interesting to listen to. A great full day tour.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very interesting tour. Well worth the money. The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Museum and Chapel were very moving places. The Lunch at the Naval Base was very delicious.
This tour gives a great insight into the second world war and the affect it had on Singapore. Our Guide was very Knowledgeable Recommend this tour..

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We learnt so much about Singapore during the war and the round island tour was an eyeopener .

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour wax excellent. Out tour guide was very knowledgable.
The trip to Kranji was very moving and lovely to see how our soldiers have been remembered.

The trip to the Changing memorial was very relevant to me ax my 4 uncles were in there and I was able to see their names in the book.

Lunch at the restaurant by the sea wax very good ,great range of food and very well presented.

Gardens by the bay was a bit rushed but at least we got yo go there in the limited time we had in Singapore.

Great Tour would recommenf

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An excellent value trip lasting a full day with a very knowledgable an interesting guide (named Foo). The morning was taken up with a tour of the western and north western side of the island. The Kranji War memroial is beautiful and poignant at this time of the year. I proudly bought my poppy there. The next stop was the Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery, a surprise as it wasn't mentioned in the itinery but for me the highlight of the day. The 13.8 metre 55 ton Buddah is an awe inspiring sight and the many Monestry buildings are beautiful. On to a very tasty lunch in Sembawang Park and then on to Changi for the Prison Museum tour. A very sobering place. Back to the coach for a drvie poast the Jahore Battery and then down the eastern side of the island to the Gardens by the bay. Things that also were not mentioned but we saw on the tour included the container port, the cable car to Sentosa island, Haw Par Villa (Tiger Balm Gardens), the various cemeteries, horticultural area, the site where the Japanese landed in world war two, the remaining Jungle areas and the various residential areas. All the while Foo was providing most interesting facts about the history and the modern way of life in Singapore. The tour was a fabulous experience and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic. The tour guide was brilliant and knowledgable. Most memorable was the trip to Kranji where my Uncle was buried. First one in my family to visit his grave. Very emotional time and plenty of time on the program to linger a while. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My boyfriend and I loved this tour it was very interesting! Going to the war memorial was very moving and the site is beautiful! Our tour guide was amazing she was really funy and friendly and very informative, she knew everything! However 30mins is not long enough at gardens by the bay.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour guide very knowledgeable,it is a long trip worth seeing the coast of Singapore and how close the surrounding countries are and how vulnerable Singapore was. Very emotional seeing how many men and women perished in the war, when visiting the War Memorial and Museum. A must tour.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great way to get your bearings. Our guide was informative, especially knowledgeable regarding the Kranji War Cemetery, helping anyone looking for a particular grave site. We had a relaxing and plentiful lunch and Changi is a sobering and thought provoking experience that will stay with me. I highly recommend this tour; you'll get a good look round Singapore and a grasp of the history of the place.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! This was our first tour in Singapore. Our guide was so informative we learned so much not only about Changi POW camp and Kranji War Memorial but all about Singapore. This tour gave us a real insight into Singapore's history as well as modern Singapore. We had a delightful chinese style banquet lunch with iced tea. Would definitely recommend this tour and would recommend this as a first tour so to get your bearings of where things are as it takes you all around the island.

Doing what: Best Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message